IBM 是世界上最大的技术与咨询公司之一。 但这个说法还是太低调了。

282000 名员工和 50000 名 IBM 业务合作伙伴共同撑起了公司的云、SaaS,全球市场和 IBM Consulting™ 业务部门。 这些业务部门为 IBM 遍布全球的 530000 多家 IBM 客户提供所用到的专业知识,解决方案和服务。

在数以百计的应用程序和系统中,客户和 IBM 员工通过这些应用程序和系统进行通信,并最终使用强大但日益复杂的人员,技术和数据 Web。

对于大型企业运作的复杂性, IBM 并不陌生。

该组织已成功管理多个业务线,包括硬件、软件、服务、新收购和分拆公司。 此外,客户通常使用来自几个 IBM 业务线的解决方案,这些解决方案通常由不同的团队使用自己的通信渠道提供支持。

IBM 认识到这些不同的渠道只会增加其原有系统的复杂性,而不会改善团队之间的信息共享。

过去,是基于客户的产品或服务查询而将客户引导到不同的支持渠道,并且通常必须从每一个新的互动开始。 他们的电话、电子邮件和聊天记录分散在各种存储库中,而其他业务部门的客服和销售人员无法访问这些存储库。

在内部, IBM 客户服务和 IBM 销售专业人员无法洞察完整的客户数据和活动历史,这样就很难实现个性化的客户服务和销售方法。 客服和销售人员还负责切换多个系统以解决客户问题或管理其业务。 这使得难以找到客户查询的相关答案,并增加了对数字销售体验的摩擦。

在行业层面,客户和组织都渴望转向数字化的工作方式和沟通方式。

作为混合云和 AI 技术的创新者,来自 IBM 客户服务和 IBM 销售的领导者寻求开发一个数字化、精简、注重服务的平台,以整合其基础架构并降低复杂性。

IBM Watson 虚拟助手超过 9 个月实现了

58%

的遏制率

解决时间缩短

26%

- 这要得益于问题助手和认知案例路由

开始 360 度转型

IBM 转向 Salesforce(市场领先的基于云的软件公司),以帮助其转型工作。

Salesforce 创建并支持一个名为 Customer 360 (位于 ibm.com 外部的链接 ) 的集成 CRM 平台,该平台将所有客户、客户服务和销售商体验统一个单一的事实来源。 这种单一的真相来源使 IBM 的客户服务和销售组织,无论其业务部门如何,都能全面了解客户的旅程。 世界各地的团队可以在一个平台中进行协作和合作,以提供快速,数据驱动的互动,在客户所在地满足客户需求。

IBM 360 战略兼 CTO,财务兼运营主管 Geoff Marinski 认为,由于其开放性和可扩展性,“Salesforce 是支持 IBM 的明显选择。 当您查看我们想要实现的产品范围,并考虑到 IBM 的规模时, Salesforce 是具有开放式 API 的为数不多的平台之一,该产品提供了所需的可扩展性,并提供了大量关键的现成功能”。

在客户 360 的旅程中, IBM 开始使用其客户服务业务。 如上所述, IBM 的联系中心以前使用了许多不同的工具和渠道来支持客户。

在 IBM Consulting 内部 Salesforce 产品和云专家的帮助下, IBM 得以将其电话,电子邮件和交谈支持工具整合到 Salesforce Service Cloud 上。 这个单一的解决方案使代理对每个客户的支持活动(包括以前的查询)具有完全的透明度。 有了相关的客户数据和支持工具,所有客服都能更好地提供个性化、数据驱动的服务。

尽管每天接到数千个电话和查询,Service Cloud 的问题解决时间 (TTR) 却减少了 26%。 此外, IBM 案例支持的净促销人员分数在 2021 的 Q4 中增加了 25 个百分点。 通过消除重复性任务和对客户活动的新见解,客服能够比以往更快地回答问题。

梭鱼在海洋中旋转

IBM Watson® Assistant 还提供有助于减少 TTR 的路由功能。 为此,它使用自动化来智能地直接查询到正确的客服。 IBM 认知支持平台 (CSP) 的变更管理负责人 Holly Payton 说: “当我们将 Salesforce 与 Watson 的认知能力结合起来时,我们创建了一个 CSP ,创造了只有 IBM 才能提供的独特体验。 我们的客户获得了两全其美的优势 — Customer 360 的强大功能和 Watson 的智能”。

自助服务虚拟助手在 12% 的会话中解决客户问题,而无需创建新案例。 “案例优先级划分” 向 IBM 支持专业人员提供个性化和优先级的待办事项列表,每天最多可为每个客服节省 45 分钟。

“在 IBM Consulting 与我们的世界级集成团队合作,帮助我们获得了 CRM 平台,并以正确的数据运行。 一旦 Service Cloud 在我们的联络中心上线,我们就能够利用 Salesforce 的内置功能来快速跟踪我们向 Sales Cloud 和组织其他部门的转型,“Marinski 说。

在 Salesforce Service Cloud 初战告捷之后, IBM 以相同方式部署了 Sales Cloud: 快节奏集成、资源和流程优化、开箱即用功能和单一真相来源。

以前, IBM 销售团队无法跨源分析相关客户和商机的信息。 卖家发现很难知道该联系谁以及优先考虑哪些机会,并且许多卖家难以将潜在客户转换和预测阶段的标准与其他团队保持一致。 随着迁移到 Salesforce,IBM 内部 Sales Cloud 实例的执行项目经理 Kendra Siegle 等转型领导者试图解决这些痛点,并为销售流程带来重大改进。

“Sales Cloud 使用 Salesforce 的体系结构,配合其领先的实践,以此来推动成功的 CRM 平台,该平台专为所有进入市场的途径而构建”,Siegle 说。 Sales Cloud 拥有全球最大的面向卖家、销售经理和合作伙伴的业务应用程序市场。 在那里,用户友好的应用可用于虚拟销售、预测、社区建设等,有助于提高生产力并加快客户的销售过程。

Salesforce 卓越的行业声誉让 IBM 做出采用 Sales Cloud 的决定变得更加容易。 大多数卖家都熟悉该平台,并且可能在他们职业生涯的某个阶段使用过该平台。 目前,成千上万的 IBM 销售人员、销售经理和合作伙伴使用 Sales Cloud 来加强客户关系、管理工作流程并加速达成交易。

推进整个企业团结一致

随着 IBM 客户服务和销售团队统一使用 Salesforce CRM 平台,IBM 正在将 Salesforce Customer 360 变为现实。 Customer 360 将 IBM 的每个人都连接到一个来源,让所有员工都能使用相关数据更明智、更快速做出决策。

在整个集成和入职流程中,IBM 使用 Salesforce 的开放 API体系结构将 IBM Watson 的认知能力注入 Customer 360。 IBM Watson 虚拟助理使用 AI 来回答客户疑问并简化来自不同部门的客服之间的沟通。

IBM Watson 的认知案例路由功能将客户案例与适当的卖家或支持客服配对,既能节省员工时间,又能鼓励更富有成效的客户互动。 借助机器人流程自动化,管理任务和常见解决方案可以自动化,以便客服可以专注于技能培养和个性化客户沟通。 2021 年,Slack 成为 IBM Customer 360 转型的必备补充。 IBM 是 Slack 全球最大的客户,也是第一个展示 Slack 和 Customer 360 集成价值的公司。

IBM 使用 Slack 作为其“DigitalHQ”,以此来消除传统基于电子邮件沟通方式产生的噪音。 目标是鼓励整个公司的端到端协作。 Slack 的快速消息传递系统提高了 IBM 员工、合作伙伴和客户之间的透明度,并通过通道创建激发了更深入的互动。 在许多同行和竞争对手争先恐后地适应办公室、远程和混合工作模式之际,Slack 还为 IBM 提供了竞争优势。

自 2017 年以来,IBM 和 IBM Consulting 的专家已将 30,000 多名 IBM 客户服务和销售用户加入 Salesforce Customer 360 平台。 IBM 与 IBM Watson 集成的 Customer 360 实施加强了该组织的数字化、数据驱动以及以服务为中心的未来。

IBM 徽标

关于 IBM

IBM 是领先的云平台与认知解决方案公司。IBM 拥有超过 282,000 名员工,为 170 个国家/地区的客户提供服务,是世界上最大的技术和咨询雇主。

解决方案组件

IBM Consulting™
IBM Watson®
IBM Watson Assistant
IBM 和 Salesforce

© Copyright IBM Corporation 2022. IBM Corporation, IBM Consulting, New Orchard Road, Armonk, NY 10504

美国出品,2022 年 7 月。

IBM、IBM 徽标、ibm.com、IBM Consulting 和 Watson 是 International Business Machines Corp. 在全球许多管辖区域注册的商标。 其他产品和服务可能是 IBM 或其他公司的商标。Web 站点 www.ibm.com/legal/copytrade 上提供了 IBM 商标的最新列表。

本文档为自最初公布日期起的最新版本,IBM 可随时对其进行修改。IBM 并不一定在开展业务的所有国家或地区提供所有这些产品或服务。

引用的性能数据和客户示例仅用于演示目的。实际性能结果可能因具体配置和运行条件而异。本文档中的信息“按现状”提供,不附有任何种类的(无论是明示的还是默示的)保证,不包含任何有关适销、适用于某种特定用途的保证以及有关非侵权的任何保证或条件。IBM 产品是根据产品提供时所依据的协议条款和条件提供保证的。

One platform, one source of truth, one IBM

Salesforce unites IBM’s client, partner and employee experiences on one platform

by Jasmine Bonds
7-minute read
Colleagues sitting at a desk, putting puzzle pieces together.

IBM is one of the largest technology and consulting companies in the world. But that’s an understatement.

Over 282,000 employees and 50,000 IBM Business Partners work together to support the company’s cloud, SaaS, global markets and IBM Consulting™ business units. These business units provide the expertise, solutions and services utilized by more than 530,000 IBM clients worldwide.

Factor in the hundreds of applications and systems through which clients and IBM employees communicate, and you end up with a robust but increasingly complex web of people, technology and data.

IBM is no stranger to the complexity that comes with running a large enterprise.

The organization has successfully managed multiple business lines that include hardware, software, services, new acquisitions and spinout companies. Additionally, clients typically use solutions from several of IBM’s business lines — solutions traditionally supported by different teams using their own channels of communication.

IBM recognized these disparate channels were only adding more complexity to its legacy systems, without improving information-sharing between teams.

Clients were directed to different support channels based on their product or service inquiry and often had to start from square one with each new interaction. Their phone calls, emails and chat histories were dispersed in various repositories that were inaccessible to agents and sellers from other parts of the business.

Internally, IBM Client Service and IBM Sales professionals lacked insight into the complete client data and activity history, which made a personalized customer service and sales approach challenging. Agents and sellers were also tasked with juggling multiple systems to address client concerns or manage their business. This made it difficult to find relevant answers to client inquiries and added friction to the digital sales experience.

At the industry level, both customers and organizations were eager to shift towards digital ways of working and communicating.

As an innovator of hybrid cloud and AI technologies, leaders from IBM Client Service and IBM Sales sought to pioneer a digitized, streamlined, service-focused platform that could consolidate its infrastructure and reduce complexity.

Businessman using a laptop in front of cityscape.
Today, clients expect the type of experiences they’re getting in their consumer lives, even in a business environment. Things need to be very transparent and fast. To provide that kind of modern client experience, we had to make a radical change.
Geoff Marinski
IBM 360 Strategy and CTO, Finance and Operations, IBM

Beginning 360-degrees of transformation

Barracuda swirl in the ocean

IBM turned to Salesforce, a market-leading cloud-based software company, to assist with its transformation efforts.

Salesforce creates and supports an integrated CRM platform called Customer 360External Link, which unifies all client, client service and seller experiences under a single source of truth. This single source of truth gives IBM’s Client Service and Sales organizations, regardless of business unit, a holistic view into the client journey. Teams all over the world can collaborate and work together in one platform to provide fast, data-driven engagement that meets the client where they are.

Because of its openness and extensibility, Geoff Marinski, IBM 360 Strategy and CTO, Finance and Operations, felt “Salesforce was the obvious choice to support IBM. When you look at the scope of things we wanted to achieve, and account for IBM’s size, Salesforce was one of the few platforms with an open API that provided the scalability we needed with tons of critical out-of-the-box features.”

On the journey to Customer 360, IBM started with its Client Service business. As mentioned above, IBM’s contact centers formerly employed dozens of different tools and channels for client support.

With the help of Salesforce products and cloud experts from within IBM Consulting, IBM was able to consolidate its phone, email and chat support tools onto Salesforce Service Cloud. This single solution gave agents complete transparency into each client’s support activity, including previous inquires. With relevant client data and support tools all in one place, agents were better equipped to deliver personalized, data-driven service at speed.

Despite receiving thousands of calls and inquiries daily, Service Cloud has seen a 26% decrease in time to resolution (TTR). Additionally, IBM case support saw a 25-point increase in its Net Promoter Score in Q4 of 2021. Agents are answering questions faster than ever with the elimination of repetitive tasks and new insights into client activities.

IBM Watson® Assistant also provides routing capabilities that help reduce TTR. It does so by using automation to intelligently direct inquiries to the correct agents. Holly Payton, Change Management Lead for IBM’s Cognitive Support Platform (CSP), says: “When we combined Salesforce with Watson’s cognitive capabilities, we created a CSP that delivers unique experiences only IBM can offer. Our clients get the best of both worlds — the power of Customer 360 and the intelligence of Watson.”

Self-service virtual assistants resolve customer questions in 12% of sessions without needing to create new cases. Case Prioritization, which delivers a personalized and prioritized list of backlogs to IBM Support Professionals, saves each agent up to 45 minutes a day.

“Working with our world-class integration team in IBM Consulting helped us get our CRM platform up and running with the right data. Once Service Cloud was live in our contact centers, we were able to leverage Salesforce’s built-in features to fast-track our transformation into Sales Cloud and the rest of the organization,” says Marinski.

Following the initial success of Salesforce Service Cloud, IBM deployed Sales Cloud using the same formula: fast-paced integration, resource and process optimization, out-of-the-box features and a single source of truth.

Previously, IBM Sales teams were unable to share relevant customer and opportunity information across sources. Sellers found it difficult to know who to contact and which opportunities to prioritize, and many struggled to align criteria for lead conversion and forecast stages with other teams. With the move to Salesforce, transformation leaders like Kendra Siegle, Executive Program Manager for IBM’s internal instance of Sales Cloud, sought to remedy these pain points and bring major improvements to the sales process.

“Sales Cloud uses Salesforce’s architecture, coupled with its leading practices, to drive a successful CRM platform that’s built for all routes to market,” says Siegle. Sales Cloud is home to the world’s largest business application marketplace for sellers, sales managers and partners. There, user-friendly apps for virtual selling, forecasting, community-building and more help to increase productivity and accelerate clients through the sales journey.

IBM’s decision to adopt Sales Cloud was made even easier by Salesforce’s strong industry reputation. Most sellers are familiar with the platform and have likely used it at some point in their career. Currently, tens of thousands of IBM sellers, sales managers and partners use Sales Cloud to build stronger client relationships, manage workflows and accelerate deals.

We were looking for a solution that could handle an enterprise-scale transformation. The right CRM platform for IBM should be able to unify our Client Service and Sales organizations, creating a 360-degree customer experience. That platform was Salesforce.
Geoff Marinski
IBM 360 Strategy and CTO, Finance and Operations, IBM

IBM Watson virtual assistants held a

58%

containment rate for over 9 months

Reduced resolution time by

26%

with question assistant and cognitive case routing

Optimized operational efficiency led to hundreds of

millions

of dollars in savings

Driving towards unity across the enterprise

As the IBM Client Service and Sales teams unify on the Salesforce CRM platform, IBM is bringing Salesforce Customer 360 to life. Customer 360 connects everyone at IBM under one source, giving all employees the power to make smarter, faster decisions using relevant data.

Throughout the integration and onboarding process, IBM used Salesforce’s open API architecture to infuse the cognitive capabilities of IBM Watson into Customer 360. IBM Watson virtual assistants use AI to answer client inquiries and streamline communication between agents from different departments.

IBM Watson’s cognitive case routing functions pair client cases with the appropriate seller or support agents, saving employees time and encouraging more fruitful customer interactions. With robotic process automation, administrative tasks and common resolutions are automated so that agents can focus on skill-building and personalizing client communications. In 2021, Slack became an integral addition to IBM’s Customer 360 transformation. IBM is the world’s largest Slack customer, and the first to demonstrate the value of a Slack and Customer 360 integration.

IBM uses Slack as its ‘DigitalHQ’ to cut through the noise of traditional email-based communications. The goal is to encourage end-to-end collaboration across the entire company. Slack’s speedy messaging system increases transparency between IBM employees, partners and clients and inspires deeper interactions through channel creation. Slack also gives IBM a competitive edge at a time when so many of its peers and competitors are scrambling to adapt to in-office, remote and hybrid work models.

Since 2017, IBM and experts from IBM Consulting have onboarded over 30,000 IBM Client Service and Sales users onto the Salesforce Customer 360 platform. IBM’s Customer 360 implementation with IBM Watson integration has fortified the organization for a digital, data-driven, service-focused future.

IBM logo
About IBM

IBMExternal Link is a leading cloud platform and cognitive solutions company. With more than 282,000 employees serving clients in 170 countries, IBM is the largest technology and consulting employer in the world.

Solution components
IBM logo
About IBM

IBMExternal Link is a leading cloud platform and cognitive solutions company. With more than 282,000 employees serving clients in 170 countries, IBM is the largest technology and consulting employer in the world.

Solution components
Improving client experiences has been our goal throughout this transformation. We wanted everyone on a single source of truth around the client relationship. Optimizing those connections between teams and platforms allows us to better anticipate our clients’ needs and respond more efficiently than ever.
Kendra Siegle
Executive Program Manager, IBM Sales Cloud, IBM