全球制药公司
战略端点和移动计划获得高度安全的 IT 支持
免费试用 MaaS360 30 天
戴着 VR 耳机且伸出手的男士

一家位列“财富 100 强”的全球制药公司希望简化其业务部门部署的物联网 (IoT)、可穿戴设备和其他非标准设备所需的 IT 支持。IT 团队采用 IBM® MaaS360® with Watson 统一终端管理 (UEM) 方案,推动整个企业的生产力和创新力,并将间接成本降至最低。

业务挑战

为了更好地服务其业务线客户并降低管理成本,一家全球制药公司需要安全、高效地管理整个组织的非标准移动设备。

变革

IT 团队扩展其MaaS360 with Watson 平台,从而为移动设备管理 (MDM) 打造高度安全的集中式枢纽。现在,它可以快速配置、更新和跟踪物联网和其他智能设备。

结果 在非标准设备上 5–15 分钟即可完成用户注册,
从而帮助提高员工满意度和工作效率
加速物联网和其他战略业务计划
而不损害数据安全或隐私
约 82,000 个标准和非标准设备
受到基于云的 UEM 解决方案的支持,并可降低间接成本
业务挑战案例
移动异常情况挑战企业 IT

在企业 IT 环境中,非托管设备本质上是一种不安全的设备,并且会使公司数据和资产面临风险。IT 部门需具备安全进入并监控员工在工作中所用每台公司及个人设备的能力。然而,个人有效完成其工作所需的设备列表却变得越来越长,尤其是当公司开始开发针对物联网和其他智能技术的业务用例时。

一家总部位于美国且在世界各地均设有研究和生产设施的大型制药公司的 IT 专家感受到了这一变化的压力。“我确信其他大公司一开始也像我们一样,移动设备由一个人用于一个用途 — 访问电子邮件、联系人、日历和其他主要应用程序”,该公司的移动运营与支持总监说道。在“一人一台设备”的最初工作原则下,他的团队批准使用仅运行 Apple iOS 和 Google Android 操作系统的设备。

该团队还部署了 MaaS360 with Watson 解决方案(使用 IBM Cloud® 基础架构上的软件即服务 (SaaS) 模型来实现)以作为其企业 UEM 平台。该解决方案可提供对全公司全球设备足迹的清晰呈现和控制,而该足迹已发展到包括 80,000 多个公司及员工拥有的设备以及约 800 个应用程序。它还通过自动执行关键配置和支持流程来帮助团队节省时间并降低成本。

随着时间的推移,该团队扩大了对更多移动设备的支持,包括定期向销售团队发放 Apple iPad 平板电脑以便开展现场工作。然而,在智能手机和平板电脑等标准设备类型范围之外,多个业务部门开始对一种将新的共享设备集成到其业务流程中的方法产生了需求。这提出了一个挑战,因为其中很多设备均不符合批准使用的公司标准。例如,一些制造工厂希望使用 Zebra 条码扫描仪和 Google Glass 设备来提高生产力。还有一些则希望使用 Microsoft Surface Hub 交互式白板来促进协作。

在每种情况下,仅由三人组成的移动运营和支持团队必须为非标准设备的使用授予特例批准,并手动配置其现有的 MaaS360 with Watson 环境从而支持更多设备。该团队全面遵守公司对设备安全的核心要求,例如完全加密以保护数据安全和隐私。除此之外,配置还视业务部门和设备类型而异,具体取决于行业和政府法规以及特定的业务控制手段。

由于对偏离公司标准的设备提出了更多支持请求,团队的响应时间变慢,同时管理成本也在增加。但担忧并不止于此,因为团队希望帮助员工保持对工作的满意度。“作为 IT 的一部分,我们不仅要提高生产力,还要提高用户体验。我们想让公司成为一个很酷、很有趣的工作场所”,该总监解释道。该团队求助于 IBM 来帮助扩展其 UEM 功能,从而涵盖非标准设备。

人们通常期望相关技术存在并能有效运行。MaaS360 帮助我们以最低的运营成本实现了这一目标。 Director Mobile Operations & Support Global Pharmaceuticals Company
变革案例
统一平台可简化 IT 支持

IBM 帮助其快速开发出一个新的、高度安全的环境来管理非标准设备,并将其与该公司基于云的现有 MaaS360 with Watson 平台相集成。IBM 专家与该移动运营和支持团队已有多年合作,并运用他们对公司端点管理要求的深入了解,为非标准设备打造出独家自动化工作流程。IBM 还促进了与不同制造供应商的讨论,从而验证针对其特定设备和平台的 API。

“新增一个 MaaS360 实例对我们来说是一个完美的答案。它很快就投入了使用;事实上,我们在同一天就搭建起一个新环境。同时,我们已经很熟悉这款产品,而它使用起来也非常简单直观”,该总监表示。

现在,该团队可通过单个 UEM 门户来全面管理标准和非标准设备。同时,该门户可自动执行最终用户注册、应用程序配置和更新、VPN 和 Wi-Fi 网络连接、策略实施以及其他功能。团队还可根据特定于每个业务部门和设备的策略和配置来快速引入非标准设备。

除了该解决方案的易用性之外,IBM Cloud 基础架构还可快速扩展,以适应公司不断增长的移动足迹,且无论用户和设备的数量如何。“鉴于我们是一家拥有 80,000 多台设备的全球性组织,无论出于哪种原因,我们在任何一天都可能会遇到数百个设备注册请求,但我们并不担心负载性能”,该总监表示。“IBM 系统可以处理它,我们相信它能够继续在我们新的非标准环境中发挥作用。”

该解决方案通过一种 SaaS 模型交付,同时还最大限度地减少了基础设施管理任务。如今,该团队可以自信地专注于帮助企业以创新方式部署新的移动技术。

MaaS360 提供了通过单个管理控制台来支持多个平台的灵活性,从而减少了运营资源需求,且不影响我们满足业务需求的能力。 Director Mobile Operations & Support Global Pharmaceuticals Company
案例成果
随着创新的涌现,IT 成本却在降低

移动运营和支持团队预计在未来几个月内将与各业务部门开展合作,以便引入约 2,000 个物联网和其他新的非标准设备。该主管表示,员工将有望享受到出色的体验。最终用户可在 5-15 分钟内完成从注册到应用程序下载的整个自助注册流程。如果用户遇到问题,IT 团队还可提供远程支持。

利用统一的端点管理,三人团队可高效满足数万用户的需求。“大家总是期望相关技术已经存在并能有效发挥作用。MaaS360 已帮助我们以最低运营成本实现了这一目标”,该总监说道。

他的团队可在不影响安全性的情况下,为各大业务部门提供更多创新自由。“如果我们没有能力支持各种平台和设备类型,我们就无法帮助各业务线灵活决定最适合他们业务的资源”,他解释道。“我们正在努力为他们提供所有可能的选项,从而让整个公司取得成功,无论是研发、制造还是销售部门。”

该团队与 IBM 的长期合作关系也是该解决方案成功的关键所在。“我们从一开始就与 IBM 和 MaaS360 产品建立了良好的合作伙伴关系,并且日复一日地持续了下去”,该总监评论道。“他们是专家,我们会继续与他们携手合作,共同制定未来路线图并解决我们的业务问题。”

作为 IT 的一部分,我们不仅要提高生产力,还要提高用户体验。我们想让公司成为一个很酷、很有趣的工作场所。 Director Mobile Operations & Support Global Pharmaceuticals Company
全球制药公司

这家以研发为基础的生物医学和制药公司总部位于美国,其业务遍及全球。该公司在多个业务领域开展了药物研究并开发医疗方法,其中包括初级保健、专科护理、成熟产品和新兴市场、肿瘤学、动物健康、营养和消费者保健。

采取下一步行动

要详细了解本案例中介绍的 IBM 解决方案,请联系您的 IBM 代表或 IBM 业务合作伙伴。

查看更多客户案例 联系 IBM
法律

© Copyright IBM Corporation 2019. IBM Corporation, IBM Security, New Orchard Road, Armonk, NY 10504

美国出品,2019 年 8 月。

IBM、IBM 徽标、ibm.com、IBM Cloud、MaaS360 和 Watson 是 International Business Machines Corp. 在全球许多司法辖区的注册商标。其他产品和服务名称可能是 IBM 或其他公司的商标。以下网站上的“Copyright and trademark information”部分包含了 IBM 商标的最新列表:ibm.com/trademark

本文档为自最初公布日期起的最新版本,IBM 可能随时对其进行更改。IBM 并不一定在开展业务的所有国家或地区提供所有产品或服务。

文中引用的性能数据和客户实例仅作说明之用。实际性能结果可能因具体配置和操作条件而异。本文档内的信息“按现状”提供,不附有任何种类的(无论是明示的还是默示的)保证,包括不附有关于适销性、适用于某种特定用途的任何保证以及非侵权的任何保证或条件。IBM 产品根据其提供时所依据的协议条款和条件获得保证。

良好安全实践声明:IT 系统安全涉及通过预防、检测和响应企业内部和外部的不当访问来保护系统和信息。不正当访问可导致信息被更改、破坏、盗用或滥用,也可能导致系统被损坏或滥用,包括用于攻击他人。任何 IT 系统或产品都不应被视为完全安全,任何单一产品、服务或安全措施都不能完全有效防止不正当使用或访问。IBM 系统、产品和服务旨在成为合法、全面的安全措施的一部分,这必然涉及其他操作程序,且可能需要借助其他系统、产品或服务才能发挥最大作用。IBM 不保证任何系统、产品或服务可免于或使您的企业免于受到任何一方恶意或非法行为的影响。

Business challenge

To better serve its line-of-business customers and reduce overhead costs, a global pharmaceuticals company needed to securely and efficiently manage nonstandard mobile devices across the organization.

Transformation

The IT team expanded its MaaS360 with Watson platform to create a security-rich, centralized hub for mobile device management (MDM). Now, it can quickly provision, update and track IoT and other smart devices.

Results

5 – 15 minutes to complete user enrollment

on nonstandard devices, helping increase employee satisfaction and productivity

Speeds IoT and other strategic business initiatives

without jeopardizing data security or privacy

~82,000 standard and nonstandard devices

supported by a cloud-based UEM solution that cuts overhead costs

Business challenge story

Mobile outliers challenge enterprise IT

In an enterprise IT environment, an unmanaged device is essentially an unsecured device — and one that puts company data and assets at risk. IT departments need the ability to securely onboard and monitor every company and personal device employees use on the job. However, the list of devices individuals need to perform their jobs effectively just keeps getting longer — especially as companies start to develop business use cases for IoT and other smart technologies.

The IT specialists at a large, US-based pharmaceuticals company with research and production facilities around the world felt the pressures of this change. “I’m sure other large companies started out just like us, where mobile devices were used by a single person for a single purpose — to access email, contacts, calendar and other primary apps,” says the company’s Director of Mobile Operations & Support. Initially working under this “one person, one device” premise, his team sanctioned use of devices running only Apple iOS and Google Android operating systems.

The team also deployed the MaaS360 with Watson solution — delivered using a software as a service (SaaS) model on IBM Cloud™ infrastructure — as its enterprise UEM platform. The solution provided clear visibility into and control over the company’s global device footprint, which grew to include more than 80,000 corporate- and employee-owned devices and approximately 800 apps. It also helped the team save time and reduce costs by automating key configuration and support processes.

Over time, the team expanded support for a wider variety of mobile devices, including regularly issuing Apple iPad tablets to sales teams for field work. However, outside the scope of standard device types such as smartphones and tablets, multiple business units began demanding a means to integrate new, shared devices into their business processes. This presented a challenge, as many of these devices didn’t meet corporate standards for approved use. Some manufacturing facilities, for example, wanted to use Zebra barcode scanners and Google Glass devices to boost productivity. Others wanted to employ Microsoft Surface Hub interactive whiteboards to facilitate collaboration.

In each case, the Mobile Operations & Support team, comprising just three individuals, had to grant a special exception for nonstandard device use and manually configure its existing MaaS360 with Watson environment to support a wider range of devices. Across the board, the team adhered to the company’s core requirements for device security, such as full encryption to safeguard data security and privacy. Beyond that, the configurations varied by business unit and device type, depending on industry and government regulations and specific business controls.

Fielding more support requests for devices that deviated from corporate standards, the team’s response times slowed while overhead costs increased. The concerns didn’t stop there, as the team wanted to help keep employees satisfied in their work. “As part of IT, we're looking to improve productivity but also the user experience. We want to make it a cool, fun place to work,” explains the director. The team turned to IBM to help scale its UEM capabilities to include nonstandard devices.

People just expect technology to be there and work. MaaS360 has helped us make that a reality at the lowest operational cost.

Director, Mobile Operations & Support, global pharmaceuticals company

Transformation story

A unified platform streamlines IT support

IBM helped rapidly develop a new, security-rich environment for managing nonstandard devices and integrated it with the company’s existing cloud-based MaaS360 with Watson platform. Having worked with the Mobile Operations & Support team for many years, IBM specialists applied their in-depth knowledge of the company’s endpoint management requirements to create distinct, automated workflows for nonstandard devices. IBM also facilitated discussions with different manufacturing vendors to validate APIs for their specific devices and platforms.

“Another MaaS360 instance was the perfect answer for us. It was quick to stand up; literally within the same day we had a new environment stood up. And we already understood the product, which is very easy and intuitive to use,” says the director.

Now, the team can fully manage both standard and nonstandard devices through a single UEM portal that automates end user registration, app provisions and updates, VPN and WiFi network connections, policy enforcements, and other functions. The team can also quickly onboard nonstandard devices according to policies and configurations specific to each business unit and device.

In addition to the solution’s ease of use, the IBM Cloud infrastructure can rapidly scale to accommodate the company’s growing mobile footprint, regardless of user and device numbers. “Given that we're a global organization with 80,000-plus devices, we could have hundreds of device registrations on any given day for any given reason, but we’re not worried about load performance,” says the director. “The IBM system can handle it, and we trust it to continue working with our new nonstandard environment.”

Delivered through a SaaS model, the solution also minimizes infrastructure management tasks. The team can confidently focus on helping the business deploy new mobile technologies in innovative ways.

MaaS360 offers the flexibility of supporting many different platforms through a single management console, limiting operational resource requirements without impacting our ability to serve our business needs.

Director, Mobile Operations & Support, global pharmaceuticals company

Results story

IT costs decrease as innovations increase

The Mobile Operations & Support team anticipates working with individual business units to onboard approximately 2,000 IoT and other new, nonstandard devices in the upcoming months. Employees can expect an excellent experience, says the director. End users can complete the entire self-service enrollment process, from registration to app downloads, within 5 – 15 minutes. If users encounter problems, the IT team can provide remote support.

With unified endpoint management, the team of three can efficiently meet the needs of tens of thousands of users. “People just expect technology to be there and work. MaaS360 has helped us make that a reality at the lowest operational cost on our side,” says the director.

His team can give business units more freedom to innovate without jeopardizing security. “If we didn’t have the capability to support various platforms and device types, we couldn’t offer the business lines the flexibility to decide what is best for their business,” he explains. “We're trying to give them every option possible to make our company successful, whether it’s research, manufacturing or sales.”

The team’s long-term relationship with IBM was also key to the solution’s success. “We’ve had a great partnership from the beginning with IBM and the MaaS360 product, and that continues day in and day out,” comments the Director. “They are experts with whom we continue to work hand-in-hand to build a roadmap for the future and solve our business problems.”

As part of IT, we're looking to improve productivity but also the user experience. We want to make it a cool, fun place to work.

Director, Mobile Operations & Support, global pharmaceuticals company

About this global pharmaceuticals company

Headquartered in the US, this research-based biomedical and pharmaceuticals company operates worldwide. It conducts drug research and develops medical treatments in several business areas, including primary care, specialty care, established products and emerging markets, oncology, animal health, nutrition, and consumer healthcare.

Take the next step

To learn more about the IBM solutions featured in this story, please contact your IBM representative or IBM Business Partner, or visit the following websites: