Global Payment Services (GPS)
以强大架构推动增长和创新
一个人将手机伸向摄像头

GPS 与 IBM 合作伙伴 Gulf Business Machines (GBM) 协作,实施灵活的 IT 基础架构,通过使用 IBM® Power Systems 硬件更新数据中心,轻松应对快速增长的业务需求。新的解决方案还采用先进的虚拟化功能,支持建立高度安全可靠的业务环境。

业务挑战

在经历了连续数年的显著增长之后,Global Payment Services (GPS) 准备启动一项积极的扩张计划,需要通过升级数据中心环境来应对这一增长挑战。

变革

为此,GPS 采用全新 IBM Power Systems 硬件更新服务器架构,为公司提供虚拟化处理环境,从而轻松跟上不断提升的交易处理速度。

结果 处理时间缩短约 50%
适用于金融交易
支持未来增长
灵活、高可用性的 IT 架构
降低数据库许可成本
提升硬件利用效率
业务挑战案例
体量扩张,挑战升级

GPS 是中东最大的第三方支付处理商之一,但业务的成功也带来了一些复杂挑战。在过去几年间,该组织的金融交易业务经历了爆炸性的增长,而其现有的硬件设施却难以跟上这种快速扩张的步伐。

“2016 年,”GPS 总经理兼联合创始人 Ali Arab 回忆道,“我们处理了 4,000 万笔支付交易。2017 年,我们执行了 8,000 万笔交易。这样的增长速度确实需要不断努力才能跟上。我们预计今年相关业务量还会翻一番。”

与此同时,公司也在积极调整,以适应各种行业颠覆因素(例如金融科技和加密货币)带来的影响,其中许多因素给对 IT 资产造成了额外的压力,并对公司适应这些挑战的能力提出了更高的要求。为此,GPS 希望更新其公司数据中心,采用性能更强大的硬件。但是,这些服务器还必须具备更大的扩展能力,而不仅满足应对当前的增长水平。

“过去,我们一直专注于为巴林及周边地区的客户提供服务,”Arab 解释道。“但我们的新愿景是扩展到更多国家或地区,并创造新服务来吸引更多客户。”

我们希望拥有一个能够不断成长的平台,而 POWER9 提供了这样的解决方案。 Ali Arab 总经理兼联合创始人 Global Payment Services (GPS)
变革案例
强劲助力

为实现这些雄心勃勃的发展规划,GPS 联系了长期技术顾问 GBM。在与支付处理商展开一系列讨论之后,GBM 团队制定了一项围绕 IBM Power Systems 硬件构建的新架构计划。

“自从我们于 2005 年开展业务来,就一直与 GBM 保持合作,”Arab 回忆道。“他们始终在我们需要帮助时给予支持。因此,当我们需要更新服务器时,他们自然而然成为我们的首选合作伙伴。相应地,他们也建议我们继续使用 IBM Power。”

实际上,GBM 推荐了两台搭载 IBM POWER9 处理器技术的 IBM Power System S924 服务器。而 GBM 团队在客户位于巴林麦纳麦的新公司总部部署了这批新硬件。

除了处理能力提升之外,Power System 服务器具备其他实用的优势。“从安全角度来看,”Arab 解释道,“我们需要为我们支持的每家机构分隔处理和数据。IBM 通过提供虚拟化工具,让我们能够控制数据去向,真正帮助我们实现了这一目标。”在每台服务器上,GPS 使用 IBM PowerVM 技术为每家受支持的企业创建唯一的独立IBM AIX V7.2操作系统实例。通过隔离这些流程,GPS 可以更轻松地遵守金融行业的各种监管和合规标准。

我们需要应对的合规和技术挑战非常多。在为客户提供高效服务的同时,我们需要解决这些挑战。通过携手 GBM 和 IBM,我们不仅有能力应对这些难题,还能战胜它们。 Ali Arab 总经理兼联合创始人 Global Payment Services - GPS
案例成果
问题解决

随着新硬件的部署,GPS 可以更轻松地追求其宏伟的增长目标。“随着客户数量的增加,”Arab 说,“我们需要有足够的性能来支撑,毕竟,技术是我们为客户提供服务的支柱。我们希望拥有一个能够不断成长的平台,而 POWER9 提供了这样的解决方案。”

Power Systems 服务器还有助于降低数据库许可成本。GPS 可以为每个处理核心分配更高的工作量,从而减少维持正常运营所需的数据库许可数量。同时,POWER9 技术每秒可以处理更多的客户交易,平均将支付卡处理时间缩短一半。

除性能提高以外,IBM 硬件还提供了专注于高可用性的架构。“最初,在我们还未改用 IBM 之前,”Arab 回忆道,“每个月会有大约半小时的停机时间。自从改为与 IBM 合作之后,我们再也没有遇到任何可用性问题。”这种可靠性反过来又帮助增强了 GPS 客户群对我们的信心。

“这个行业正在发生变化,”Arab 总结道。“新的支付方式、新的银行业务方式、金融科技、加密货币、跨境支付法规——我们需要应对如此多的合规和技术挑战。在为客户提供高效服务的同时,我们需要解决这些挑战。通过与 GBM 和 IBM 合作,我们不仅可以应对这些挑战,还有能力克服它们。”

企业徽标
Global Payment Services (GPS)

GPS 成立于 2004 年,现已发展成为中东最大的第三方支付处理组织之一。公司总部位于巴林麦纳麦,为地区银行和金融机构提供一系列服务,包括信用卡、借记卡和预付卡处理、POS 和 ATM 管理、商户收单、欺诈管理和 EMV 卡个性化等等

关于 Gulf Business Machines

IBM 合作伙伴 GBM 为整个中东和北非的企业提供技术服务和支持。该公司成立于 1990 年,总部设在迪拜。公司拥有超过 1,200 名专家,专门从事“智慧城市”解决方案的开发以及以零售、金融和石化为重点的 IT 项目的交付。

采取后续步骤

要详细了解本案例中介绍的 IBM 解决方案,请联系您的 IBM 代表或 IBM 业务合作伙伴,或访问以下网站:

要了解有关其全球 IT 解决方案以及 Gulf Business Machines 可以为您做什么,更多详情请访问:GBM

查看更多客户案例 联系 IBM
脚注

 

© Copyright IBM Corporation 2019. IBM 公司,IBM Systems,New Orchard Road,Armonk,NY 10504

美国出品,2019 年 6 月

IBM、IBM 徽标、ibm.com、AIX、Power、POWER9 和 PowerVM 是 International Business Machines Corp. 在世界各地司法辖区的注册商标。其他产品和服务名称可能是 IBM 或其他公司的商标。www.ibm.com/cn-zh/legal/copytrade.shtml 上的“版权和商标信息”部分中提供了 IBM 商标的最新列表。

本文档为自最初公布日期起的最新版本,IBM 可能随时对其进行更改。IBM 并不一定在开展业务的所有国家或地区提供所有产品或服务。

文中引用的性能数据和客户示例仅作演示说明之用。实际性能结果可能因具体配置和操作条件而异。本文档中的信息均“按原样”提供,不涉及任何明示或暗示的保证,包括适销性、特定用途适用性的任何保证,以及不侵权的任何保证或条件。IBM 产品根据其提供时所依据的协议条款和条件获得保证。

客户负责确保遵守适用的法律和法规。IBM 不提供任何法律咨询,也不声明或保证其服务或产品经确保客户遵循任何法律或法规。

IT 系统安全性涉及通过预防和检测来自企业内部和外部的不正当访问并做出相应反应来保护系统和信息。不正当访问可导致信息被更改、破坏、盗用或滥用,也可能导致系统被损坏或滥用,包括用于攻击他人。任何 IT 系统或产品都不应被视为完全安全,任何单一产品、服务或安全措施都不能完全有效防止不正当使用或访问。IBM 系统、产品和服务旨在成为合法、全面的安全措施的一部分,这必然涉及其他操作程序,且可能需要借助其他系统、产品或服务才能发挥最大作用。IBM 不保证任何系统、产品或服务可免于或使您的企业免于受到任何一方恶意或非法行为的影响。

Business challenge

After several consecutive years of substantial growth and poised to launch an aggressive expansion plan, Global Payment Services (GPS) needed to meet this growth challenge by upgrading its data center environment.

Transformation

GPS updated its server architecture with new IBM Power Systems hardware, providing the firm with a virtualized processing environment able to keep pace with its increased transactions processing.

Results

~50% drop in processing times

for financial transactions

Supports future growth

with a flexible, highly-available IT architecture

Cuts database licensing costs

with more efficient hardware utilization

Business challenge story

Greater volume, greater challenge

GPS, one of the largest third-party payment processors in the Middle East, was struggling with complications from its success. Over the past few years, the organization experienced explosive growth among its financial transactions, and its current hardware struggled to keep pace.

“In 2016,” recalls Ali Arab, General Manager and Cofounder at GPS, “we handled 40 million payment transactions. In 2017, we executed 80 million. That’s a lot of growth to keep up with. And we expect those numbers to double this year as well.”

At the same time, the business was adjusting to various industry disruptors — such as fintechs and cryptocurrencies — many of which placed increased pressures on IT assets and the firm’s ability to adapt to those challenges. In response, GPS wanted to refresh its corporate data center with more powerful hardware. However, these servers would need to be able to accommodate more than just current growth levels.

“We’ve traditionally been focused on serving customers in Bahrain and the surrounding region,” explains Arab. “But our new vision is to expand out into more countries and create new services to touch more customers.”

We wanted a platform that could grow, and POWER9 delivered.

Ali Arab, General Manager and Cofounder, Global Payment Services (GPS)

Transformation story

Powering through

With these aggressive growth plans in mind, GPS reached out to GBM, its long-time technical advisor. The GBM team, after a series of discussions with the payment processor, developed a new architecture plan built around IBM Power Systems hardware.

“We’ve worked with GBM since our business began back in 2005,” recounts Arab. “They are always there when we need them. So when it came time to update our servers, they were our first choice. And they, in turn, suggested that we continue with IBM Power.”

In fact, GBM recommended a pair of IBM Power System S924 servers, featuring IBM POWER9™ processor-based technology. And the GBM team deployed this new hardware at the client’s new corporate headquarters in Manama, Bahrain.

Beyond the increased capacity, the Power System servers offer other useful advantages. “From a security perspective,” explains Arab, “we need to segregate processing and data for each institution that we support. IBM has really helped us accomplish this by providing virtualization tools that let us control where data goes.” On each of the servers, GPS uses IBM PowerVM® technology to create unique, encapsulated IBM AIX® V7.2 operating system instances for each supported business. By isolating these processes, GPS can more easily comply with the various industry and compliance standards that regulate the financial industry.

[T]here are so many compliance and technical challenges that we need to navigate. And we need to meet these challenges while delivering a cost-effective service to our clients. By working with GBM and IBM, we can not only address these challenges, we can overcome them.

Ali Arab, General Manager and Cofounder, Global Payment Services - GPS

Results story

Problem solved

With the new hardware in place, GPS could more easily pursue its aggressive growth goals. “As we added more customers,” explains Arab, “we needed the performance to be there — after all, technology is the backbone of our services to our customers. We wanted a platform that could grow, and POWER9 delivered.”

The Power Systems servers also helps reduce database licensing costs. GPS can assign higher workloads to each processing core, requiring fewer database licenses to maintain normal operations. At the same time the POWER9 technology can work through more customer transactions per second, cutting its payment card processing timelines in half, on average.

Beyond the increased performance, the IBM hardware delivers an architecture designed for high availability. “Before we switched to IBM originally,” recalls Arab, “we would have around half an hour of downtime each month. But since we’ve switched, we haven’t had any availability issues.” This reliability, in turn, helps builds greater confidence within GPS’s customer base.

“The industry is changing,” concludes Arab. “New payment methods, new banking methods, fintech, cryptocurrency, cross-border payment regulations — there are so many compliance and technical challenges that we need to navigate. And we need to meet these challenges while delivering a cost-effective service to our clients. By working with GBM and IBM, we can not only address these challenges, we can overcome them.”

business logo

About Global Payment Services (GPS)

Founded in 2004, GPS has grown to become one of the largest third-party payment processing organizations in the Middle East. The business, headquartered in Manama, Bahrain, provides regional banks and financial institutions with a host of services including credit, debit and prepaid card processing, POS and ATM management, merchant acquisition, fraud management and EMV card personalization

About Gulf Business Machines

IBM Business Partner GBM provides technology services and support to businesses throughout the Middle East and Northern Africa. The organization was founded in 1990 and is headquartered in Dubai. With a staff of over 1,200 experts, the company specializes in the development of “smart city” solutions as well as the delivery of retail-, finance- and petrochemical-focused IT projects.

Take the next step

To learn more about the IBM solutions featured in this story, please contact your IBM representative or IBM Business Partner, or visit the following websites:

To learn more about its global IT solutions and what Gulf Business Machines can do for you, please visit: GBM