人工智能驱动的流程发现有助于推动采购到付款环节的优化
IBM Process Mining 解决方案如何找出自动化的最佳平衡点
高空作业的电信工程师正在通信塔上安装新天线

对于内部采购流程来说,一致性不失为一种优势。为最大限度降低成本并提高效率,大多数大型组织都会制定一系列政策和标准化工作流程,引导员工按预先安排的步骤与供应商建立联系。

当员工选择按自己的方式行事(这种做法称为独立购买)时,他们就会放弃标准化采购渠道中固有的所有定价优势和其他效率优势。独立活动越普遍,对利润的影响就越大。

Global Manufacturing Company 是一家业务遍及 50 个国家或地区的先进电缆生产商,对于这家公司来说,采取激励措施来遏制非标准采购行为意义重大。正如该公司的流程负责人所指出的那样,挑战也在于此。她说:“我们深刻认识到,不合规采购是一种相对普遍的现象。而我们缺少方法来查明这类采购事件发生的方式、地点和程度。”

一个特别强大的动因是我们希望将机器人流程自动化 (RPA) 工具应用于采购到付款 (P2P) 周期。在采购领域,不合规的采购(比如在没有匹配采购单 (PO) 的情况下创建发票)会产生一些“异常”,需要手动去处理。鉴于自动化在很大程度上依赖于标准化流程,不言而喻,异常和自动化两者互不相容。因此,尽量减少异常是当务之急。

但首先您必须找到异常。现有的最佳证明是该公司的 SAP ERP 数据流。

确实,对于采购负责人来说,在数据驱动的层面上详细了解所发生的情况对于实际的流程优化至关重要。她解释说:“在我们长期的数字化转型路线图中,我们认为,实现过程流的透明度是我们自动化工作的重要前提。”

成本节省

 

减少所发生的独立采购事件,节省 60,000 美元的采购订单返工成本

达成自动化目标

 

利用 RPA 工具,让 75% 的生产线创建和交付活动实现了目标自动化

由于 IBM 框架以组织的数字孪生为核心,因此我们能够以数据驱动的方式,更加深入地了解运营工作流程。这使其成为用于加速自动化的一款强大工具。 Procurement Process Owner Global Manufacturing Company
动态流程建模可产生详细见解

在认识到需要一款流程发现解决方案后,该公司考虑了多种选择。采购流程负责人表示,该公司最终选择了 IBM® Process Mining 解决方案,因为该解决方案所基于的组织数字孪生 (DTO) 技术非常强大。她解释道:“IBM Process Mining 产品真正出众的优势在于其动态流程建模框架的灵活性和详细程度。由于 IBM 框架以组织的数字孪生为核心,因此我们能够以数据驱动的方式,更加深入地了解运营工作流程。这使其成为用于加速自动化的一款强大工具。”

原因如下。DTO 的定义属性是能够通过分析数据流准确反映流程,因而它不仅对于发现独立购买等流程缺陷很有价值,还提供了人工智能驱动的“假设”模拟机制,使流程专家能够直观地了解包括自动化在内的具体改进对于成本、工作效率和流程循环时间等指标的影响情况。

流程负责人表示,正是出于这个原因,IBM Process Mining 解决方案称得上是一款非常宝贵的自动化规划工具。她解释道:“投资流程自动化的决策最终取决于预期的业务价值。但更困难的是平衡有限的资源投资,在获得最高回报的同时尽可能降低风险,这也是商业案例的本质。而正是模拟这些结果的能力使得 IBM Process Mining 得以脱颖而出。”

IBM Process Mining 是所有 IBM Cloud Automation Pak(包含 IBM Cloud Pak® for Business Automation 在内)中的一项基础功能。

我们借由 IBM 解决方案获得的流程透明度对于采购到付款环节的自动化决策产生了颠覆性影响。 Procurement Process Owner Global Manufacturing Company
从痛点到自动化

为测试这些功能,该公司与其转型合作伙伴合作,作为概念验证 (PoC) 实施了 IBM Process Mining 解决方案。利用该公司 ERP 系统中的实时数据,该解决方案的算法几乎立即暴露出有可能增加自动化工作复杂程度的流程偏差。

通过查看模型生成的图表和流程图,流程所有者和她的团队发现,其关键订单创建流程(包括生产线创建和交付活动)足足有一半是手动完成的,因此并不合规。更重要的是,流程扫描显示,这些活动中因人为错误而导致的返工率非常高。除了拖延采购周期之外,这些流程缺陷每年还导致成本增加约 250,000 美元。

了解到这些后,该公司在这两项活动中都实施了自动化工具。通过自动完成 75% 的交付活动,该公司能够大幅减少订单返工,同时降低约 60,000 美元的相关成本。生产线创建活动实施类似的自动化后,交货时间缩短了三天,节省了 50,000 美元的成本。

与大多数正在进行数字化转型的公司一样,该公司的总体愿景是使流程更加敏捷、高效,并能在云端完成。对于流程负责人来说,她的公司正在采用数据驱动型方法处理流程自动化决策的具体细节,即了解痛点所在,以及如何以最佳方式解决这些问题,实际操作后,公司的效率发生了翻天覆地的变化。她指出:“我们借由 IBM 解决方案获得的流程透明度对于采购到付款环节的自动化决策产生了颠覆性影响。随着我们不断开展更广泛的转型,我们认为数据驱动的决策是我们成功的核心。”

关于 Global Manufacturing Company

Global Manufacturing Company 成立于 100 多年前,在 50 个国家或地区运营着 100 多家工厂,员工数量超过 20,000 人。该公司的目标市场包括电信、能源传输、建筑和交通运输行业。

采取后续步骤

要详细了解本案例中介绍的 IBM 解决方案,请联系您的 IBM 代表或 IBM 业务合作伙伴。

阅读 PDF 查看更多案例 Forrester TEI 研究

深入探索 IBM Automation 的潜在投资回报率

阅读报告
流程发现和挖掘评估

IBM Process Mining 在 NelsonHall 的 NEAT 流程发现和挖掘评估中被评为领导者

注册以阅读报告
申请演示

将处理时间缩短 70%,实现 176% 的投资回报率

预约咨询
法律

© Copyright IBM Corporation 2022. IBM Corporation, New Orchard Road, Armonk, NY 10504

美国出品,2022 年 3 月。

IBM、IBM 徽标、ibm.com 以及 IBM Cloud Pak 是 International Business Machines Corp. 在全球许多司法管辖区注册的商标。其他产品和服务名称可能是 IBM 或其他公司的商标。Web 站点上的“Copyright and trademark information”部分中包含了 IBM 商标的最新列表:ibm.com/trademark

本文档为自最初公布日期起的最新版本,IBM 可能随时对其进行更改。IBM 并不一定在开展业务的所有国家或地区提供所有产品或服务。

该个案研究中的客户最初与 myInvenio 合作,myInvenio 于 2021 年 8 月 1 日开始以 IBM 名义开展业务。该个案研究中的 myInvenio 产品 myInvenio Process Mining 现为 IBM Process Mining。

文中引用的性能数据和客户实例仅作说明之用。实际性能结果可能因具体配置和操作条件而异。本文档内的信息“按现状”提供,不附有任何种类的(无论是明示的还是默示的)保证,包括不附有关于适销性、适用于某种特定用途的任何保证以及非侵权的任何保证或条件。IBM 产品根据其提供时所依据的协议条款和条件获得保证。

AI-powered process discovery helps drive procure-to-pay optimization

How the IBM Process Mining solution pinpoints “sweet spots” for automation
by Dave Fawcett
6-minute read
Worker on telecommunications tower

When it comes to internal procurement processes, conformity is a virtue. To minimize costs and maximize efficiency, most large organizations create policies and standardized workflows that steer employees toward prearranged links with suppliers.

When employees choose to go their own way — a practice known as maverick buying — they’re foregoing all the pricing advantages and other efficiencies that are built into standardized buying channels. The more widespread the maverick activity, the bigger the impact on the bottom line.

For this global manufacturing company, a producer of advanced cables with operations spread across 50 countries, the incentives for curbing nonstandard procurement practices were significant. As the company’s process owner points out, so were the challenges. “We recognized at a high level that noncompliant purchasing was a relatively widespread phenomenon,” she says. “What we lacked was a way to pinpoint how, where and to what extent it was happening.”

Determined man using laptop

Reduced the incidence of maverick buying, saving

USD 60,000

in procurement order reworking costs

Enabled the targeted automation of

75%

of line creation and delivery activities using RPA tools

Because the IBM framework has digital twin of an organization at its core, it provides a more in-depth, data-driven look at our operational workflows. And that makes it a powerful tool for accelerating automation.
Procurement Process Owner
Global Manufacturing Company

One particularly potent impetus for action was the desire to apply robotic process automation (RPA) tools to the procure-to-pay (P2P) cycle. In the realm of procurement, noncompliant purchasing — such as when an invoice is created without a matching purchase order (PO) — generates “exceptions” that require manual handling. Given that automation largely relies on standardized processes, it’s self-evident that exceptions and automation don’t mix. So minimizing exceptions is a priority.

But first you have to find them. And the best evidence at hand is the company’s SAP ERP data flows.

Indeed, to the procurement owner, seeing what’s happening at a granular, data-driven level is critical to real process optimization. “In the context of our long-term digital transformation roadmap,” she explains, “we believe gaining transparency into our process flows is an essential prerequisite to our automation efforts.”

Two women looking at warehouse orders
Woman working in a warehouse
The process transparency we’ve gained through the IBM solution has had a game-changing impact on the automation decisions we’ve made around procure-to-pay.
Procurement Process Owner
Global Manufacturing Company
Dynamic process modeling yields granular insights
The process transparency we’ve gained through the IBM solution has had a game-changing impact on the automation decisions we’ve made around procure-to-pay.
Procurement Process Owner
Global Manufacturing Company

Recognizing the need for a process discovery solution, the company looked at several options. According to the procurement process owner, the company ultimately chose the IBM® Process Mining solution on the strength of the digital twin of an organization (DTO) technology that it’s built on. “What made the IBM Process Mining offering truly stand out was the flexibility and granularity of its dynamic process modeling framework,” she explains. “Because the IBM framework has digital twin of an organization at its core, it provides a more in-depth, data-driven look at our operational workflows. And that makes it a powerful tool for accelerating automation.”

Here’s why. The defining attribute of DTO — the ability to accurately mirror processes by analyzing data flows — isn’t only valuable for finding process flaws like maverick buying. It also provides an AI-powered “what if” simulation mechanism that enables process experts to visualize how specific improvements, including automation, will impact metrics such as cost, productivity and process cycle time.

For that reason, says the process owner, the IBM Process Mining solution represents an invaluable automation planning tool. “The decision to invest in process automation is ultimately about anticipated business value. But the harder thing is to balance finite resource investments in a way that maximizes the payoff while minimizing risk, which is the essence of making a business case,” she explains. “That’s where the ability to simulate these outcomes makes IBM Process Mining stand out.”

IBM Process Mining is included as a foundational capability across all IBM Cloud Paks for Automation including the IBM Cloud Pak® for Business Automation.

From pain points to automation

To put these capabilities to the test, the company worked with its transformation partner to implement the IBM Process Mining solution as a proof of concept (PoC). Using live data from the company’s ERP system, the solution’s algorithms almost instantly laid bare the process deviations that threatened to complicate its automation efforts.

Looking at the graphs and flow charts generated by the model, the process owner and her team saw that fully half of its key order creation processes — including line creation and delivery activities — were manual and thus noncompliant. What’s more, the process scan revealed a high incidence of reworking in these activities resulting from human error. In addition to dragging out the procurement cycle, these process flaws had increased costs by roughly USD 250,000 annually.

Informed by these insights, the company implemented automation tools within both activities. By automating 75% of delivery activity, the company was able to sharply reduce order reworking, while reducing associated costs by roughly USD 60,000. Comparable automation on line creation activities shortened lead times by three days, representing costs savings of USD 50,000.

Like most companies in the midst of digital transformation, this firm is guided by an overarching vision of making its processes more agile, efficient and cloud-based. To the process owner, the fact that her company is taking a data-driven approach to the specifics of process automation decisions — knowing where the pain points are and how to best address them — makes a big difference in terms of efficacy. “The process transparency we’ve gained through the IBM solution has had a game-changing impact on the automation decisions we’ve made around procure-to-pay,” she notes. “As our broader transformation continues to unfold, we see data-driven decision-making as central to our success.”

About the global manufacturing company

Founded over 100 years ago, the global manufacturing company operates over 100 plants in 50 countries and has over 20,000 employees. The company’s target markets include the telecommunications, energy transmission, construction and transportation industries.

Solution components
About the global manufacturing company

Founded over 100 years ago, the global manufacturing company operates over 100 plants in 50 countries and has over 20,000 employees. The company’s target markets include the telecommunications, energy transmission, construction and transportation industries.

Solution components