飞行员以前所未有的方式为起飞做准备
FlightSafety 利用数据和人工智能彻底改变飞行员培训

2009 年,Chesley “Sully” Sullenberger 在一群鹅飞入两个引擎使其瘫痪后,成功地将一架商用飞机降落在寒冷的哈德逊河上。机上 155 人全部生还。Sully 机长被誉为“哈德逊河上的奇迹” 背后的英雄飞行员。

航空业称赞 Sullenberger 是一位航空和安全专家,因为在危急时刻,他利用自己所受的飞行员训练拯救了生命,避免了悲剧的发生。这种最糟糕的情况—双引擎故障—是飞行员们已经做好准备但希望永远不会遇到的情况。

专业航空培训提供商 FlightSafety International 认识到,所有飞行员并非生来平等。例如,两名不同的飞行员,一名操控积极,另一名操控平稳。两者都获得了美国联邦航空管理局的认证,但更激进的飞行员会给乘客带来不太理想的体验。FlightSafety 制定了非官方的 “Sully 机长标准”,以此作为飞行学校毕业的飞行员的目标。但是,该组织如何识别那些天生就有能力达到 Sully 机长标准的飞行员,或者如何以更高的标准对学生进行最佳培训呢?

除了以更高的标准培训飞行员外,FlightSafety 还努力加快培训速度,以满足拟议的需求。2017 年,航空业宣布,根据主要航空公司的飞机销售情况,到 2021 年将需要新增 63.7 万名飞行员。FlightSafety 的战略家们知道,满足这一需求的方法就在飞行模拟器数据中。

大规模实时监控

 

FlightSmart 实时客观地监控 4000 多个变量

更快地提供培训

 

加快培训速度,以帮助满足到 2021 年预计的 63.7 万名新飞行员的需求

从飞行模拟器中提取数据情报

全飞行模拟器是一种大型系统,相比之下,大致相当于一辆工作卡车的大小。内饰仿造了一个全尺寸驾驶舱,配有传感器、仪表和背光屏幕。这些设备的设计和制造成本高达数百万美元。为了模拟真实的飞行体验,FlightSafety FS1000 等模拟器配备了先进的音频、视频和全动态功能。

在飞行员训练过程中,模拟器会围绕每一次操作、按键和屏幕触控生成大量实时数据。FlightSafety 希望利用这些数据并从中获得有意义的见解。同样重要的是,FlightSafety 认识到数据排放的重要性。该公司之所以决定与 IBM 合作,是因为美国国防部将 IBM 列为三大人工智能供应商之一,而且 IBM 在数据安全方面拥有良好的记录。

IBM 和 FlightSafety 现在可以捕获这些数字排放并加以利用。飞行员完成培训课程后,他们可以打开一个仪表板,将他们的表现分解为图表、报告和分析。仪表板突出显示了飞行员所做的工作、表现如何以及可以在哪些方面进行补救。飞行员可以查看自己执行了多少项任务,紧急程序后的反应时间是否有所改善,以及接下来应该关注哪些参数。该系统可提供与每位飞行员的培训水平相关的信息,并记录飞行员是否取得了正常进展或有需要解决的问题。

通过全面查看这些数据,教员可以了解到哪些飞行员表现出色,哪些飞行员需要额外关注,以及是否出现了负面趋势—不仅是个别飞行员,还包括整个飞行员群体。

将敏捷应用于飞行员培训

FlightSafety 领导者与来自 IBM 的专家携手合作,应用了 IBM Garage™ 模型,这是一种大胆、全面的创新和转型方法,可以快速创建和扩展新想法。他们开始共同探索如何通过数据来改变传统的以教学大纲为导向的飞行员培训方法—即无论飞行员是否掌握了某项技能,他们都要按照教学大纲的要求或多或少地练习该技能—转而采用适应性学习理念。

航空业的从业人员倾向于在结构和纪律中成长,因此 IBM Garage 的可预测节奏和快速迭代非常适合 FlightSafety。在 IBM Garage Enterprise Design Thinking™ 研讨会上,IBM 数据科学家和 FlightSafety 航空专家集思广益,探讨了将 AI 和机器学习融入 FlightSafety 业务的方法。该研讨会产生了使用用于高级分析的开源技术为云构建的最简化可实施产品 (MVP) 的愿景和路线图。

“IBM Garage 模型的设置方式有很多互动。我认为,有这样的合作环境会更有趣,” FlightSafety 政府战略管理总监 Bert Sawyer 说道。“这很令人兴奋,因为当团队通过两周的冲刺工作,开始提出问题和建议时,就会有所有这些新的见解。”

遵循以用户为中心的敏捷 IBM Garage Methodology,该团队共同创建了 FlightSmart 的第一个迭代版本,这是一种与飞行模拟器集成的自适应学习技术。FlightSmart 的每次新迭代都纳入了用户和教员的反馈意见,甚至包括一些设计细节,例如改变仪表盘的背景颜色,使其与飞机驾驶舱的深色屏幕相匹配。

尽管发生了新冠肺炎(COVID-19)疫情,但 FlightSafety 始终坚持创新。IBM Garage 的敏捷和协作方法可以轻松地从面对面的互动转移到虚拟团队合作中。“如果我们没有实施 IBM Garage 模型,当新冠肺炎来袭时,我们的开发速度将会严重放缓。我们可能会比现在落后几个月,” Sawyer 解释说。“但是,通过虚拟工作,我们能够保留 IBM-FlightSafety 团队中所有人员的专业知识。”

如果我们没有实施 IBM Garage 模型,当新冠疫情来袭时,我们的开发速度将会严重放缓。我们可能会比现在落后几个月。 Bert Sawyer 政府战略管理主任 FlightSafety International

学生在模拟器中进行训练时,FlightSmart 可实时客观地监控约 4000 多个变量。数据显示学生在特定机动动作上的表现,还能区分不同的飞行风格。根据这些趋势,团队创建了诸如胆小型、反应型、冒险型和进取型等用户角色。

行业标准规定了教员在模拟器中的位置。假设教员可以看到飞行员所做的一切。结果,数据却告诉我们一个不同的故事。当 FlightSafety 和 IBM 开始分析飞行模拟器数据时,灵敏度模式显示,尽管与接受指导和刻意观察的飞行员距离如此之近,但该技术仍能捕捉到人类根本无法捕捉的细微差别。以方向舵控制器为例。由于飞行员的脚隐藏在控制台下方,因此教员无法确定飞行员对方向舵控制器施加了多大的力。但在某些情况下,过度使用方向舵控制会导致负面结果。借助 FlightSmart,教员可以看到数据中以前潜在的行为,并可以在需要时进行个性化辅导。

AI 驱动的飞行员培训改变航空业

FlightSmart 有可能为航空业建立新的标准。除了改变飞行员培训外,数据洞察力还可能影响航空业对保险、飞机制造和飞行员退休年龄的处理方式。此外,FlightSmart 中蕴含的算法、高级分析和数据建模可随时应用于其他行业。想象一下,AI 和机器学习能为火车工程师、航运船长、卡车司机和外科医生做些什么。

对于第一个用例,FlightSafety 在密西西比州哥伦布市的美国空军基地成功部署了 FlightSmart。FlightSmart 通过改善培训和安全性,可以减少飞行员失误,加快其达到合格水平的速度。数据不仅能显示飞行员在技术上是否正确执行了操作,还能显示操作的顺利程度。通过挖掘人物角色和见解,教员可以为具有相似飞行经历的个人或团体定制和调整培训。飞行员可以把更少的时间花在最近掌握的技能上,而把更多的时间花在最需要的地方。这些见解减少了学生流失和教师负担。正如一位教员所说,对每个动作进行客观、自动的表现分析是对他们现在使用的工具的“巨大改进”。

数据还可以帮助预测军事或商业飞行员的职业道路。在初期,教员可以利用数据和 AI 来发现擅长驾驶战斗机的激进飞行员,或者清楚地识别不太可能获得证书的表现最差的学生。模拟器每小时的操作成本约为 1000 美元,因此能够预测学生成功的可能性可以帮助 FlightSafety 及其客户节省大量的时间和金钱。一名接受过飞行训练但未能获得证书的学生确实是一个“百万美元的错误”。这就是客户(例如空军或航空公司)在每个飞行员身上投资的大致成本。

下次您享受免费的椒盐卷饼和机上娱乐节目时,请放心,FlightSmart 正在以更高的效率培训更多的飞行员,让他们充分发挥自己的潜力—这就是 Sully 机长的标准。

想了解数据和 AI 如何帮助您的企业腾飞?请咨询 IBM Garage 专家

FlightSafety International 标志
关于 FlightSafety International

FlightSafety  (链接位于 ibm.com 外部)成立于 1951 年,是一家专业航空培训公司,也是为商业、政府和军事组织提供飞行模拟器、视觉系统和显示器的供应商。 FlightSafety 总部位于美国纽约州梅尔维尔,拥有约 5000 名员工,每年为来自近 170 个国家/地区的客户提供超过 140 万小时的培训。

探索防止 AI 出现偏见的解决方案

采取下一步行动

如需详细了解本案例中介绍的 IBM 解决方案,请联系您的 IBM 代表或 IBM 业务合作伙伴。

查看更多案例研究 联系 IBM Frito-Lay North America 和 IBM

零食帝国如何保持新鲜

阅读成功案例
VW 和 IBM Garage

加速汽车工业走向未来

阅读成功案例
气候服务和 IBM Garage

每日预报:极端天气和金融稳定

阅读成功案例
法律

© Copyright IBM Corporation 2022. IBM Corporation, IBM Garage, New Orchard Road, Armonk, NY 10504

美国出品,2022 年 3 月。

IBM、IBM 标志、ibm.com、IBM Garage 和 Enterprise Design Thinking 是 International Business Machines Corp. 在世界各地司法辖区的注册商标。其他产品和服务名称可能是 IBM 或其他公司的商标。IBM 商标的最新列表可在  ibm.com/legal/copyright-trademark 网站上找到。

本文档为自最初公布日期起的最新版本,IBM 可能随时对其进行更改。IBM 并不一定在开展业务的所有国家或地区提供所有产品或服务。

文中引用的性能数据和客户示例仅作演示说明之用。实际性能结果可能因具体配置和操作条件而异。本文档中的信息均“按原样”提供,不涉及任何明示或暗示的保证,包括适销性、特定用途适用性的任何保证,以及不侵权的任何保证或条件。IBM 产品根据其提供时所依据的协议条款和条件获得保证。

良好安全实践声明:IT 系统安全涉及通过预防、检测和响应企业内部和外部的不当访问来保护系统和信息。不正当访问可导致信息被更改、破坏、盗用或滥用,也可能导致系统被损坏或滥用,包括用于攻击他人。任何 IT 系统或产品都不应被视为完全安全,任何单一产品、服务或安全措施都不能完全有效防止不正当使用或访问。IBM 系统、产品和服务旨在成为合法、全面的安全措施的一部分,这必然涉及其他操作程序,且可能需要借助其他系统、产品或服务才能发挥最大作用。IBM 不保证任何系统、产品或服务可免于或使您的企业免于受到任何一方恶意或非法行为的影响。

Pilots prepare for takeoff like never before

FlightSafety revolutionizes pilot training with data and AI
by Allison Leking
5-minute read

In 2009, Chesley “Sully” Sullenberger successfully landed a commercial airplane on the frigid Hudson River after a flock of geese flew into both engines, disabling them. All 155 souls on board survived. Captain Sully was dubbed the hero pilot behind the “Miracle on the Hudson.”

The airline industry lauds Sullenberger as an aviation and safety expert because, in a moment of crisis, he tapped into his pilot training to save lives and avoid tragedy. This worst-case scenario — a dual engine failure — is what pilots prepare for but hope to never encounter.

FlightSafety International, a provider of professional aviation training, recognizes that all pilots are not created equal. Take for example, two differing pilots — one who is aggressive on the controls and one who is smooth. Both receive Federal Aviation Administration certification, but the more aggressive pilot is going to provide a less desirable passenger experience. FlightSafety established the unofficial “Captain Sully standard” as a target for pilots graduating from flight school. But how does the organization identify pilots who either have the natural ability to meet the Captain Sully standard or best train students to a higher standard?

In addition to training pilots to a higher standard, FlightSafety sought to speed its training throughput to keep pace with proposed demand. In 2017, the aviation industry announced that, based on aircraft sales from major airlines, it would need an additional 637,000 new pilots by 2021. FlightSafety strategists knew that the response to this demand lay somewhere in the flight simulator data.

FlightSafety simulators in a warehouse

FlightSmart objectively monitors

4,000+

variables in real time

Speeds training throughput to help provide for the predicted need of

637,000

new pilots by 2021

Extract data intelligence from flight simulators

Full flight simulators are large systems — for comparison, roughly the size of a work truck. The interior replicates a full-scale cockpit, with sensors, gauges and backlit screens. These devices cost millions of dollars to engineer and manufacture. To mimic an authentic flight experience, simulators such as the FlightSafety FS1000 are equipped with advanced audio, visual and full-motion capabilities.

As pilots train, simulators generate vast amounts of real-time data around every maneuver, button-push and screen-touch. FlightSafety wanted to harness this data and extract meaningful insights from it. Equally significant, FlightSafety recognized the importance of data exhaust. The company decided to work with IBM because the United States Department of Defense ranked IBM as one of its top three AI vendors, and IBM has a proven track record in data security.

IBM and FlightSafety now capture and make sense of this digital exhaust. After pilots finish a training session, they can pull up a dashboard that breaks down their performance into charts, reports and analytics. The dashboard highlights what the pilots did, how they performed and where they can remediate. The pilots can view how many tasks they executed, whether their reaction times are improving after an emergency procedure, and which parameters they should focus on next. The system provides insights relative to each pilot’s level of training, and it notes whether the pilot is making normal progress or has items that need addressing.

By reviewing this data comprehensively, instructors can see which of their pilots are excelling, which ones need additional attention and whether there are negative trends developing — not just among individual pilots, but across a population set as well.

FlightSafety simulators

Apply agile to pilot training

FlightSafety building

FlightSafety leaders joined forces with experts from IBM and applied the IBM Garage™ model, a bold, comprehensive approach to innovation and transformation that quickly creates and scales new ideas. Together, they began to explore how data could transform the traditional syllabus-driven approach to pilot training — where regardless of pilots’ mastery of a particular skill, they practice that skill as much or as little as the curriculum dictates — and move toward adaptive learning concepts.

People in aviation tend to thrive on structure and discipline, so the predictable cadence and rapid iteration of the IBM Garage was a great fit for FlightSafety. During an IBM Garage Enterprise Design Thinking™ Workshop, IBM data scientists and FlightSafety aviation experts brainstormed ways to incorporate AI and machine learning into FlightSafety’s business. The workshop resulted in a vision and a roadmap for a minimum viable product (MVP) built for the cloud with open source technologies for advanced analytics.

“The way the IBM Garage model is set up, there’s a lot of interaction. I think it’s more fun when you have that type of collaborative environment,” says Bert Sawyer, Director of Government Strategic Management at FlightSafety. “It’s exciting because there are all these new insights as the teams work through two-week sprints and start to ask questions and make suggestions.”

Following the user-centered and agile IBM Garage Methodology, the team co-created the first iteration of FlightSmart, an adaptive learning technology that integrates with a flight simulator. Each new iteration of FlightSmart incorporated user and instructor feedback, even around design details such as changing the dashboard background color to match the dark screens found in an aircraft cockpit.

In spite of the COVID-19 pandemic, FlightSafety’s commitment to innovation maintained pace. The agile and collaborative IBM Garage approach easily transferred from face-to-face interactions to virtual teamwork. “If we hadn’t implemented the IBM Garage model, our development pace would have slowed severely when COVID hit. We’d probably be months behind where we are today,” Sawyer explains. “But, working virtually, we were able to keep the expertise of all the people on the IBM-FlightSafety team.”

Inside FlightSafety simulator
If we hadn’t implemented the IBM Garage model, our development pace would have slowed severely when COVID hit. We’d probably be months behind where we are today.
Bert Sawyer
Director of Government Strategic Management, FlightSafety International
FlightSafety classroom

As students train in simulators, FlightSmart objectively monitors approximately 4,000+ variables in real time. The data shows a student’s performance on specific maneuvers and also distinguishes different flying styles. Based on these trends, the team created user personas such as Timid, Reactive, Risky and Aggressive.

Industry standards dictate where an instructor may sit in the simulator. The assumption is that the instructor sees everything the pilot is doing. As it turns out, the data tells a different story. When FlightSafety and IBM began to analyze flight simulator data, patterns of sensitivity showed that despite such close proximity to a pilot under instruction and deliberate observation, the technology captured nuances that a human simply could not. Take rudder controls, for example. An instructor lacks the ability to determine how much force a pilot is applying to the rudder controls because the pilot’s feet are hidden under a console. But excessive use of rudder controls can lead to negative outcomes in certain circumstances. With FlightSmart, instructors can see previously latent behaviors in the data and can apply personalized coaching when needed.

AI-driven pilot training transforms aviation

Pilots around Graphical Flight Deck Simulator

FlightSmart has the potential to establish new standards for aviation. In addition to transforming pilot training, data insights could affect the airline industry’s approach to insurance, aircraft manufacturing and pilot retirement age. Furthermore, the algorithms, advanced analytics and data modeling embedded in FlightSmart could readily transfer to other industries. Imagine what AI and machine learning could do for train engineers, shipping captains, truck drivers and surgeons.

For its first use case, FlightSafety successfully deployed FlightSmart at a US Air Force base in Columbus, Mississippi. By improving training and safety, FlightSmart can reduce pilot errors and increase the speed to competency. Data shows not just whether a pilot is technically executing a maneuver correctly but also how smoothly. By unearthing personas and insights, instructors can customize and adapt training for an individual or a group of individuals who fly similarly. Pilots can spend less time on the skills they’ve recently mastered and more time learning where it’s needed most. These insights reduce student attrition and instructor burden. As one instructor put it, having an objective, automated breakdown of performance for each maneuver is a “huge improvement” over the tools they use now.

Data can also help predict a military or commercial aviator’s career path. Early on, an instructor can use data and AI to spot aggressive pilots who would excel with combat aircraft, or clearly identify the lowest-performing students who are unlikely to achieve certifications. Simulators cost approximately USD 1,000 per hour to operate, so being able to predict a student’s likelihood of success can help FlightSafety and its customers save a significant amount of time and money. A student who goes through flight training and fails to attain certification is a “million-dollar mistake” — literally. That is the approximate cost that a customer, such as the Air Force or an airline, invests in each individual pilot.

The next time you’re enjoying complimentary pretzels and in-flight entertainment, take comfort in knowing that FlightSmart is training more pilots, more efficiently, who are on the path to realize their full potential — the Captain Sully standard.

Want to see how data and AI can help your business take off? Experience virtual IBM Garage.

About FlightSafety International logo

About FlightSafety International

Founded in 1951, FlightSafetyExternal Link is a professional aviation training company and supplier of flight simulators, visual systems and displays to commercial, government and military organizations. Headquartered in the US in Melville, New York, FlightSafety employs approximately 5,000 people and delivers more than 1.4 million hours of training each year to customers from nearly 170 countries.

Solution component
About FlightSafety International logo

About FlightSafety International

Founded in 1951, FlightSafetyExternal Link is a professional aviation training company and supplier of flight simulators, visual systems and displays to commercial, government and military organizations. Headquartered in the US in Melville, New York, FlightSafety employs approximately 5,000 people and delivers more than 1.4 million hours of training each year to customers from nearly 170 countries.

Solution component