Fiserv
实时合规监控让金融服务业客户对 IT 安全充满信心
了解更多信息
两个人一起在多台显示器上查看代码

作为金融机构的服务提供商,Fiserv 将 IT 安全放在首位。为履行保护客户数据的承诺,Fiserv 决定采用新的合规性监控平台 IBM® PowerSC,简化并自动化 IBM® AIX 环境的 IT 安全管理。

业务挑战

为符合 PCI、SOX-Cobit 和 CIS 安全基准,Fiserv 系统管理员需要花费数小时配置服务器;为检索合规性数据,他们必须分别登录服务器。

变革

Fiserv 将 IBM PowerSC Standard Edition (PowerSC) 应用到 IBM® Power Systems 资产,简化服务器配置并获得实时合规与报告能力。

结果 一键
设置服务器群组安全策略,简化维护
实时
监控,助力即时干预,修复配置问题
即时
合规性报告,在审计期间节省数十小时的工作量
业务挑战案例
聚焦 IT 安全

Fiserv 的使命是帮助客户转移资金并传送信息,从而推动世界向前发展。该公司专注于金融服务技术,提供支付、处理服务、客户和渠道管理、风险与合规性以及洞察和优化领域的解决方案。

管理金融交易必然会涉及交换、存储和处理敏感数据。Fiserv 必须不断向客户和审计人员证明,公司将负责任地管理这些数据,且赢得客户信任是其首要任务之一。

因此,公司的 IT 团队极其重视安全问题。该公司的 IT 系统每年都要接受多次复杂的内部和外部审计,并需要符合众多行业和监管标准。然而,定期审计不足以保证持续的合规性:公司还必须全天候监控其系统,确保每台服务器始终保持正确的配置。

作为系统配置基准,Fiserv 采用称为互联网安全中心 (CIS) 基准的最佳实践安全框架。公司的每台服务器都应满足基准中所定义标准的强制性设置和最低总体分数阈值。

Fiserv 的 IBM Power Systems 工程师 Zach Floen 解释说:“从安全角度来看,服务器的理想配置是将其完全锁定,使其根本无法与任何其他系统交换任何数据。但如果服务器无法通信,便毫无用处。”

虽然 Fiserv 已经对其服务器的安全配置加以监控,但他们寻求在其服务器资产中开展集成度更高的端到端合规性管理。例如,如果公司的工程师需要安装一台新服务器,他们必须花费四到五个小时手动核对清单来“强化”配置,以便通过合规性阈值。

同样,该团队在进行维护和升级时经常需要对服务器配置进行临时更改。工程师必须手动实施这些更改,然后在维护任务完成后将服务器恢复到原始设置。尽管 Fiserv 制定了策略来缓解忘记正确恢复设置的风险,但公司希望找到一种方法,通过以集中、自动化方式控制配置更改来消除可能出现的人为错误。

最后,该团队希望简化其合规性报告流程,并消除管理员必须承担的耗时任务,例如必须手动检索大量服务器的合规性报告。

IBM PowerSC 正在迅速演变为一款功能异常强大的合规性管理工具。它提供了一系列功能,助力我们实现业务价值。 Zach Floen IBM Power Systems 工程师 Fiserv
变革案例
寻找更好的方法

Fiserv 服务器架构的很大一部分由运行 IBM AIX 操作系统的 IBM Power Systems 服务器构成,用于支持核心财务系统和数据库。当公司开始审查可供选择的全新合规性管理平台时,发现 IBM 提供了一个量身定制的解决方案:IBM PowerSC。Zach Floen 表示:“IBM PowerSC 正在迅速演变为一款功能异常强大的合规性管理工具。它提供了我们现有工具所没有的功能,且涵盖在我们现有的 AIX 企业版许可证中,因此我们不必担心会产生额外成本。”当时,Fiserv 正准备通过将不同的服务器组整合到单个私有云环境,来使其 IBM AIX 环境更加合理化。这一举措提供了从公司现有合规性工具转向 PowerSC 的绝佳机会。

案例成果
始终保持合规,赢得客户信任

Fiserv 在其 AIX 资产中推出 PowerSC 软件后,该团队迫切希望利用该解决方案的合规性自动化功能。

例如,PowerSC 会监视允许在每台服务器上运行的一系列程序,并在执行任何未经授权的程序时通知管理员。在维护会话期间,可以为服务器组关闭此功能,并设置为在某段时间后自动重新开启。因此,工程师在维护过程中不再需要手动更改配置,大大降低了系统意外暴露的风险。

PowerSC 还提供了预构建的安全配置文件,支持 PCI-DSS、HIPAA 和 GDPR 等行业和监管标准。管理员只需单击一下即可将配置文件应用于服务器,而不必花费数小时检查每台新计算机的安全清单。

Zach Floen 表示:“我们正在与 IBM 合作构建一个完全符合 CIS 基准的开箱即用型安全配置文件。一旦有了配置文件,我们在最新的虚拟化 AIX 平台中设置机器时,便能够消除数小时的手动配置。”

这些配置文件还有助于快速修复配置问题,Zach Floen 解释道:“我们能够监控服务器并在服务器设置出现问题时及时发现,但为了修复这些问题,我们仍然必须登录各个机器。借助 PowerSC,我们只需单击管理界面中的一个按钮,它就会立即将配置文件重置为正确的状态。”

Fiserv 在服务器合规性监督流程中节省了大量时间,预计未来会节省更多时间。目前,从每台服务器检索合规性信息是一个手动且耗时的过程。借助 PowerSC,团队仅需几秒钟即可自动生成报告。

Zach Floen 总结道:“对于 Fiserv 来说,这不仅仅是合规性,而是赢得客户信任,而这需要一个安全的环境。”

Fiserv 徽标
Fiserv

Fiserv 是全球领先的金融服务科技公司之一,拥有约 24,000 名员工,2017 年年收入为 57 亿美元。该公司的解决方案为全球 80 多个国家或地区的 12,000 多家客户提供支持,帮助数百万消费者和企业快速、便捷地转移和管理资金。

采取后续步骤

要了解有关 IBM Power Systems 服务器和 PowerSC 的更多信息,请联系您的 IBM 代表或 IBM 业务合作伙伴,或访问 ibm.com/products/powersc

查看更多客户案例了解有关 IBM Systems Software 的更多信息

脚注

 

© Copyright IBM Corporation 2018. 1 New Orchard Road, Armonk, New York 10504-1722 United States. 2019 年 3 月在美国制作。

IBM、IBM 徽标、ibm.com、AIX、Power 和 PowerSC 是 International Business Machines Corp. 在全球许多司法管辖区的注册商标。其他产品和服务名称可能是 IBM 或其他公司的商标。以下网址的“Copyright and trademark information”部分提供了最新的 IBM 商标列表:ibm.com/legal/copytrade.shtml

IBM 并不一定在开展业务的所有国家或地区提供所有产品或服务。

文中引用的性能数据和客户实例仅作说明之用。实际性能结果可能因具体配置和操作条件而异。

以上所有引用或描述的客户实例的展示取决于部分客户使用 IBM 产品的方式以及他们可能取得的结果。实际的环境成本和性能特征会因具体客户配置和情况而有所不同。请联系 IBM,咨询 IBM 产品和服务详情。

客户负责确保遵守适用的法律和法规。IBM 不提供任何法律咨询,也不声明或保证其服务或产品经确保客户遵循任何法律或法规。

关于 IBM 未来方向、意向的声明仅仅表示了目标和意愿而已,可能会随时更改或撤销,恕不另行通知。

Business challenge

Fiserv system administrators spent hours configuring servers to comply with PCI, SOX-Cobit and CIS security benchmarks; to retrieve compliance data, they had to log into servers individually.

Transformation

Fiserv is adopting IBM PowerSC Standard Edition (PowerSC) across its IBM Power Systems® estate, streamlining server configuration and unlocking real-time compliance and reporting capabilities.

Results

One click

to set security policies for groups of servers, streamlining maintenance

Real-time

monitoring enables instant intervention to remediate configuration issues

Instant

compliance reporting designed to save dozens of hours of work during audits

Business challenge story

Sharp focus on IT security

The Fiserv mission is to help clients move money and information in a way that moves the world. The company specializes in financial services technology, providing solutions for payments, processing services, customer and channel management, risk and compliance, and insights and optimization.

Managing financial transactions necessarily involves exchanging, storing and processing sensitive data. Fiserv must constantly prove to clients and auditors that it will manage this data responsibly—and earning clients’ trust is one of its top priorities.

As a result, the company’s IT team takes security extremely seriously. Its IT systems are subjected to multiple complex internal and external audits every year, and they are expected to meet numerous industry and regulatory standards. However, regular audits aren’t enough to ensure continuous compliance: the company must also monitor its systems 24/7 to ensure that each server maintains the correct configuration at all times.

As a baseline for configuring its systems, Fiserv uses a best-practice security framework known as the Center for Internet Security (CIS) benchmark. Each of its servers is expected to meet both mandatory settings and a minimum overall score threshold with the standards defined in the benchmark.

Zach Floen, IBM Power Systems Engineer at Fiserv, explains: “From a security perspective, the ideal configuration for a server would be to lock it down completely, so that it can’t exchange any data with any other systems at all. But if a server can’t communicate, it can’t do anything useful.”

While Fiserv already monitored the security configuration of its servers, they sought more integrated end-to-end management of compliance across its server estate. For example, if the company’s engineers needed to install a new server, they had to spend four or five hours manually working through a checklist to “harden” the configuration so that it would pass the compliance threshold.

Similarly, the team often needed to make temporary changes to server configuration while it conducted maintenance and upgrades. Engineers had to implement these changes manually, and then restore the servers to their original settings once the maintenance tasks were complete. Although Fiserv had strategies in place to mitigate the risks of forgetting to restore the settings properly, the company wanted to find a way to eliminate the possibility of human error by controlling configuration changes centrally and automatically.

Finally, the team wanted to streamline its compliance reporting processes and remove the time-consuming task that administrators had to undertake, such as having to retrieve compliance reports across a large estate of servers manually.

IBM PowerSC is rapidly evolving into a very powerful and capable tool for compliance management. It offers capabilities that support our business values.

—Zach Floen, IBM Power Systems Engineer, Fiserv

Transformation story

Finding a better way

The Fiserv server architecture includes IBM Power Systems™ servers running the IBM AIX operating system to support core financial systems and databases. When the company started reviewing its options for a new compliance management platform, it discovered that IBM offers a tailor-made solution: IBM PowerSC.

“IBM PowerSC is rapidly evolving into a very powerful and capable tool for compliance management,” says Zach Floen. “It offers capabilities that support our business values, and those capabilities are included as part of our existing AIX Enterprise license, so we don’t have to worry about additional costs.”

At that time, Fiserv was preparing to rationalize its IBM AIX landscape by bringing disparate groups of servers together into a single environment. This initiative presented a perfect opportunity to implement PowerSC.

Results story

Consistent compliance to earn clients’ trust

As Fiserv rolls out the PowerSC software across its AIX estate, the team is eager to take advantage of the solution’s compliance automation features.

For example, PowerSC monitors a list of programs that are allowed to run on each server and notifies administrators if any unauthorized programs are executed. During maintenance sessions, this feature can be toggled off for groups of servers and set to toggle back on again automatically after a certain period of time. As a result, engineers no longer need to change configurations manually during maintenance, significantly reducing the risk of accidentally leaving a system exposed.

PowerSC also provides pre-built security profiles that support industry and regulatory standards such as PCI-DSS, HIPAA and GDPR. Administrators can apply a profile to a server with a single click, instead of spending hours working through a security checklist for each new machine.

“We’re working with IBM to build a security profile that fully complies with the CIS benchmark out of the box,” says Zach Floen. “Once we have the profile in place, we’ll be able to eliminate hours of manual configuration when we’re setting up machines in our newest virtualized AIX platform.”

The profiles also help to remediate configuration issues quickly, as Zach Floen explains: “We had the ability to monitor our servers and identify when there was a problem with a server’s settings—but in order to fix those issues, we still had to log into the individual machines. With PowerSC, we can just click a button in the admin interface, and it will immediately reset the profile to the correct state.”

Fiserv has seen significant time savings in its server compliance oversight processes and expects to see even greater savings in the future. Currently, retrieving compliance information from each server is a manual and time intensive process. With PowerSC, the team can simply generate a report automatically in a few seconds.

Zach Floen concludes: “For Fiserv, it’s about more than compliance—it’s about earning our clients’ trust—and that requires a secure environment.”

business logo

About Fiserv

Fiserv is one of the world’s leading financial services technology companies, with around 24,000 employees and annual revenues of USD 5.7 billion in 2017. The company’s solutions empower more than 12,000 clients across more than 80 countries worldwide and help millions of consumers and businesses move and manage money quickly and conveniently.

Take the next step

To learn more about IBM Power Systems servers and PowerSC, please contact your IBM representative or IBM Business Partner, or visit ibm.com/marketplace/powersc

View more client stories or learn more about IBM Systems Software