主页 Case Studies Edarat Group 立足本土,走向全球
Edarat Group 通过 IBM Cloud Satellite 提供内部混合多云服务
日落时分的沙特阿拉伯利雅得

保护敏感数据的安全是当今全球技术环境中持续存在的挑战。对于如何存储、管理和访问数据,每个国家或地区都有自己的规定。在沙特阿拉伯,政府非常重视这一责任,

以至于国家经济和社会增长战略计划《2030 年愿景》规定,来自金融、医疗保健、政府、石油和天然气、教育和保险等受监管行业的数据必须驻留在国内的数据中心。

Edarat Group 是一家总部位于沙特阿拉伯的数据中心和信息通信技术 (ICT) 公司,深谙这一要求。该公司成立于 2004 年,专注于咨询和 IT 咨询、数据中心工程、智慧城市和智能建筑 (IoT)、数据中心搬迁和工作负载迁移。2014 年,该公司推出了新的业务线,成为本地私有云服务提供商。

“我们是早期采用者,”Edarat Group 首席顾问兼云服务主管 Jihad Nehme 说道。“当时,沙特阿拉伯对云技术没有进行监管,公司对于是否将客户转移到云端犹豫不决。因此,我们最初主要提供灾难恢复即服务。多年来,监管开始介入,出现了数据主权整合。许多人使用公共云服务,不得不将它们带到国内。这就是我们开始扩张的源头。”

幸运的是,Edarat Group 已做好应对挑战的准备。 “我们已在沙特阿拉伯治理机构和云服务监管机构 — 通信信息技术委员会 (CITC) — 注册为 C 级云服务提供商。”Nehme 表示,“这是安全性的最高级别,可以让我们有资格与所有有资格处理受限、秘密和绝密数据的公共和私营部门往来。”

3 个数据中心


Edarat Group 在沙特阿拉伯的 3 个数据中心部署了 IBM Cloud Satellite 解决方案

2 周


该解决方案在短短 2 周内完成实施

借助 IBM Cloud Satellite,EdaratCloud 已成为具有国际能力的本地 CSP。这也是沙特阿拉伯所有提供商的主要区别所在。 Jihad Nehme 首席顾问,云服务负责人 Edarat Group

2021 年,Edarat Group 已准备好作为云服务提供商进入下一阶段。为此,该公司寻求与一家全球云服务提供商合作,该提供商能够通过公共云功能增强该公司的私有云产品,从而提供混合多云环境的灵活性、可扩展性和易用性。

“我们在沙特阿拉伯的模式是企业虚拟私有云,”Nehme 说。“我们并不想成为公共云提供商。我们希望以敏捷模式构建云,在不影响安全性或可用性的情况下提供多种云服务。”

打开通往混合云的大门

Edarat Group 求助 IBM 来提供他们所寻求的云服务功能。利用 IBM Cloud Satellite® 解决方案,该公司可以在混合云环境中运行工作负载,同时将其数据保存在沙特阿拉伯。该公司考虑了其他国际云服务提供商,但大多数要么不在沙特阿拉伯提供服务,要么是硬件密集型提供商,而且没有一家能够提供 IBM Cloud Satellite 的强大功能。

“通过 IBM Cloud Satellite,我们将能够提供公共云体验,同时保持作为本地云服务提供商的数据主权。”Nehme 说道。“我们能够使用 IBM Cloud 的系列服务,包括 Red Hat® OpenShift® 容器化基础,以及 IBM Cloud Paks 的自动化、集成和数据管理功能。”他继续说道。

借助 IBM 解决方案,Edarat Group 现在能够在他们现有的基础架构即服务 (IaaS) 产品之上提供平台即服务 (PaaS) 功能。“这让我们拥有了竞争优势,因为沙特阿拉伯没有其他本地云提供商提供这种类型的集成解决方案。再加上多云平台,我们成为一站式商店,可以为在不同类型环境中运行工作负载的客户提供云服务,因此,客户无需重构或更改他们的应用程序。他们只需直接迁移即可,这样就容易多了。”

在 Edarat Group 的三个数据中心(地理位置分布在利雅得和吉达之间,相距 950 公里)内实施该解决方案仅花了两周时间。“这对我们来说是一个速赢项目,”Nehme 说,“我们将能够在此基础上快速扩展我们的服务目录。如果我们在内部这样做,则需要投入大量时间。在这么短的时间内实现同样的服务质量几乎是不可能的。”

对于 IBM 而言,Edarat Group 也是沙特阿拉伯云客户和合作伙伴的绝佳选择。“我们的根基是系统整合。我们了解所有层面,从数据中心到基础架构,再到安全性、应用程序。”Nehme 说道。“我们相信 IBM 认识到我们已做好转型和快速发展的准备。而且,我们非常熟悉 OpenShift 平台,也了解它的优势。”

“我们的许多客户目前在虚拟机 (VM) 上运行传统应用程序,”他继续说道。“在这种类型的环境中运行许多应用程序需要为每个应用程序提供多种类型的测试环境,这会产生虚拟机、硬件、操作系统和应用程序许可证的成本。通过 OpenShift 进行现代化,客户可以在单个 OpenShift 集群中拥有多租户开发环境。客户可以节省硬件、软件和操作系统的费用,因为他们只有一个操作系统,而不是几十个。”

客户还可以从自动扩展功能中受益。在传统设置中,服务器的大小取决于高峰时段的最大负载。借助 Red Hat OpenShift 容器化,客户可以根据消耗量付费,自动扩展和缩减资源以适应高峰和低谷时段。客户在以安全的方式将变更快速部署到生产中并进行发布方面也具有很大的灵活性。

如果我们在内部这样做,则需要投入大量时间。在这么短的时间内实现同样的服务质量几乎是不可能的。 Jihad Nehme 首席顾问,云服务负责人 Edarat Group
合作共赢

展望未来,Edarat Group 预计 IBM Cloud Satellite 将推动该公司的客户开展自己的数字化转型,并激发新的业务开展方式。目前,两家客户已成功完成概念验证 (POC),并准备开始使用此解决方案。还有许多其他机会已露端倪。

其中一个机会是数字银行。“这是沙特阿拉伯正在兴起的一个领域,”内姆说。“我们最近为一家银行进行了 POC,并能够展示容器即服务的工作方式。它是一个使用 OpenShift 的完全托管的平台即服务。”Edarat Group 还展示了 IBM Cloud Pak® 技术以及 IBM AI 解决方案的潜在优势。

该公司正在为希望进入数字银行市场的小型银行开发一种“盒装银行”综合解决方案。为此,Edarat Group 正在将数字银行所需的功能与自身拥有的功能进行映射,并将相关的 IBM Cloud® 服务打包,以及时、有成本效益的方式将这些功能作为服务来提供。

“但是,数字银行只是一部分,”Nehme 说。“IBM 是金融领域的主要提供商。许多大型银行已经使用 IBM Cloud Paks 和其他 IBM 服务。利用 IBM Cloud Satellite,他们可以将这些工作负载从本地数据中心卸载到云端。”

该公司还预计,有可能与政府合作开发 IaaS 产品,最后扩展到 PaaS,最终实现软件即服务 (SaaS),目前只能通过 IBM Cloud Satellite 合作伙伴关系在沙特阿拉伯实现这一功能。

即使是一些规模较小、不受监管的企业也可以从该解决方案中受益。在沙特阿拉伯,没有其他提供商提供云原生托管平台服务。例如,使用 Edarat Cloud 解决方案,在线订餐或拼车应用程序可以访问 IBM Cloud 服务,以在本地运行云原生应用程序。

Edarat Group 和 IBM 之间的团队合作并不止于联合开发产品和服务。Edarat Group 计划于 2022 年在沙特阿拉伯证券交易所上市。在 2021 年的整个审批过程中,IBM 协助该公司达到申请要求并取得成功。

这种合作对于两家公司以及他们未来的合作伙伴关系来说是双赢的。“这真是天作之和。借助 IBM Cloud Satellite,EdaratCloud 已成为具有国际能力的本地 CSP。”Nehme 总结道。“这是我一直强调的事情,因为这确实是合作所带来的结果,也是沙特阿拉伯的所有提供商之间的主要区别。”

Edarat Group 徽标
关于 Edarat Group

Edarat 集团是一家数据中心和信息通信技术公司,总部位于沙特阿拉伯利雅得。该公司成立于 2004 年,提供 IT 咨询、数据中心工程、智慧城市和智能建筑技术 (IoT)、工作负载迁移和云服务。主要客户包括金融机构、电信运营商、政府组织、医疗保健提供商和主机托管服务提供商。除沙特阿拉伯外,它还在阿联酋、法国和黎巴嫩设有办事处。

接下来:
University of Mainz Medical Center 兼具安全性和敏捷性 成功案例
脚注

© Copyright IBM Corporation 2022。IBM Corporation, IBM Cloud, New Orchard Road, Armonk, NY 10504

2022 年 6 月在美国制作。

IBM、IBM 徽标、ibm.com、IBM Cloud、IBM Cloud Pak 以及 IBM Watson 是 International Business Machines Corp. 在世界各地司法辖区的注册商标。其他产品和服务名称可能是 IBM 或其他公司的商标。www.ibm.com/cn-zh/legal/copytrade 上的 “Copyright and trademark information” 部分包含 IBM 商标的最新列表。

Red Hat® 和 OpenShift® 是 Red Hat, Inc. 或其子公司在美国和其他国家/地区的商标或注册商标。

本文档为自最初公布日期起的最新版本,IBM 可能随时对其进行更改。IBM 并不一定在开展业务的所有国家或地区提供所有产品或服务。

文中引用的性能数据和客户示例仅作演示说明之用。实际性能结果可能因具体配置和操作条件而异。本文档中的信息均“按原样”提供,不涉及任何明示或暗示的保证,包括适销性、特定用途适用性的任何保证,以及不侵权的任何保证或条件。IBM 产品根据其提供时所依据的协议条款和条件获得保证。

Home Case Studies Going global while staying local Going global while staying local
Edarat Group brings hybrid multicloud services in house with IBM Cloud Satellite
Riyad Saudi Arabia, at sunset

Keeping sensitive data safe is an ongoing challenge in today’s global technology landscape. Every country has its own rules about how data is stored, managed and accessed. In Saudi Arabia, the government takes that responsibility very seriously.

So much so that its 2030 Vision, the country’s strategic plan for economic and societal growth, stipulates that data from regulated industries — such as finance, healthcare, government, oil and gas, education and insurance — must reside in data centers within the country.

Edarat Group, a data center and information and communications technology (ICT) firm headquartered in Saudi Arabia, is well versed in that requirement. Founded in 2004, the company specializes in advisory and IT consulting, data center engineering, smart cities and smart building (IoT), data center relocation and workload migration. And in 2014, the company launched a new line of business as a local private cloud services provider.

“We were an early adopter,” says Jihad Nehme, Principal Consultant and Head of Cloud Services at Edarat Group. “At the time, the cloud wasn’t regulated in Saudi Arabia and companies were hesitant to move their customers to it. So initially, we mostly provided disaster recovery as a service. Over the years, regulation started kicking in — data sovereignty integration appeared. Many people were using public cloud services and had to bring them in country. And this is where we started expanding.”

Fortunately, Edarat Group was well-equipped for the challenge. “We are registered as a Class C cloud services provider with the Communication Information Technology Commission (CITC), a Saudi Arabian governance agency and the cloud services regulator,” says Nehme. “It is the highest class of security and qualifies us to deal with all public and private sectors qualified to deal with restricted, secret and top secret data.”

3 data centers


Edarat Group deployed the IBM Cloud Satellite solution in 3 data centers in Saudi Arabia

2 Weeks


The solution was implemented in just 2 weeks

With IBM Cloud Satellite, EdaratCloud has become a local CSP with international capabilities. And this is the major differentiator among all providers in Saudi Arabia. Jihad Nehme Principal Consultant, Head of Cloud Services Edarat Group

In 2021, Edarat Group was ready to move into the next phase as a cloud services provider. To do so, it sought to partner with a global cloud services provider that could enhance its private cloud offering with public cloud capabilities, thereby providing the flexibility, scalability and ease of a hybrid multicloud environment.

“Our model in Saudi Arabia is virtual private cloud for business,” says Nehme. “We weren’t looking to be a public cloud provider. We wanted to build our cloud in an agile model, providing multiple cloud services without comprising on security or availability.”

Opening the doors to hybrid cloud

Edarat Group turned to IBM to provide the cloud services capabilities it sought. With the IBM Cloud Satellite® solution, the company can run workloads in hybrid cloud environments while keeping its data in Saudi Arabia. The company considered other international cloud services providers, but most either weren’t available in Saudi Arabia or were hardware-intensive — and none featured IBM Cloud Satellite’s robust set of capabilities.

“IBM Cloud Satellite enabled us to provide the experience of the public cloud while maintaining data sovereignty as a local cloud service provider,” says Nehme. “We were able to open up the way to the IBM Cloud services catalog, including the Red Hat® OpenShift® containerized foundation, as well as the automation, integration and data management capabilities of the IBM Cloud Paks,” he continues.

With the IBM solution, Edarat Group now offers platform as a service (PaaS) capabilities on top of its existing infrastructure as a service (IaaS) offering. “This gave us a competitive advantage, because no other local cloud providers in Saudi Arabia have this type of integrated solution. Plus with a multicloud platform, we become a one-stop shop for providing cloud services to clients with workloads running in different types of environments, so they don’t have to refactor or change their applications. They can just do a lift and shift — it becomes much easier.”

Implementing the solution within Edarat Group’s three data centers — geographically distributed between Riyadh and Jeddah and spanning a 950 km distance — took a mere two weeks. “It was a quick win for us,” says Nehme, “enabling us to rapidly expand our services catalog. If we were to do this internally, it would require a significant time investment. Achieving the same quality of service would have been nearly impossible in such a short time.”

For IBM, Edarat Group was also an excellent fit as a Saudi Arabian cloud client and partner. “Our roots are in systems integration. We understand all the layers, from the data center to infrastructure to security to the application,” says Nehme. “We believe IBM recognized that we were ready to transform and grow quickly. We also were very familiar with the OpenShift platform and understood its strengths.”

“Many of our customers currently run traditional applications on virtual machines (VMs),” he continues. “Running many applications in this type of environment requires several types of testing environments for each application, which incurs costs for the VMs, hardware, operating systems and application licenses. By modernizing with OpenShift, the customer can have a multitenant development environment all in a single OpenShift cluster. Customers save on hardware, software and operating systems, because they only have one operating system instead of potentially dozens.”

Customers also benefit from autoscaling capabilities. In a traditional setup, servers are sized based on the maximum load during peak times. With Red Hat OpenShift containerization, customers pay based on how much they consume, automatically scaling resources up and down to accommodate peak and low times. Customers also have a lot of agility in terms of deploying and rolling out changes quickly into production in a safe manner.

If we were to do this internally, it would require a significant time investment. Achieving the same quality of service would have been nearly impossible in such a short time. Jihad Nehme Principal Consultant, Head of Cloud Services Edarat Group
Partnering for the win-win

Moving forward, Edarat Group anticipates IBM Cloud Satellite will help open the way for the company’s customers to undergo their own digital transformations and spur new ways of doing business. Currently two customers have completed successful proofs of concept (POCs) and are poised to begin using the solution. And there are many other opportunities on the horizon.

One such opportunity is in digital banking. “This is an area that is really picking up in Saudi Arabia,” says Nehme. “We recently did a POC for a bank and were able to demonstrate how containers as a service works. It’s a fully managed platform as a service using OpenShift.” Edarat Group also was able to demonstrate the potential benefits of IBM Cloud Pak® technology as well as IBM AI solutions.

The company is working on a “bank in a box” solution for small banks that want to enter the digital banking market. To that end, Edarat Group is mapping the capabilities digital banks require to its own and packaging relevant IBM Cloud® services to provide them as a service in a timely and cost-effective way.

“But it’s not just digital banking,” says Nehme. “IBM is a pillar in the financial sector. Many larger banks already use IBM Cloud Paks and other IBM services. With IBM Cloud Satellite, they can offload those workloads from their on-premises data centers to the cloud.”

The company also foresees the possibility of working with the government on its plan to develop an IaaS offering, ultimately expanding it to PaaS and eventually software as a service (SaaS) — capabilities currently only possible in Saudi Arabia through the IBM Cloud Satellite partnership.

Even some smaller, non-regulated businesses can benefit from the solution. In Saudi Arabia, no other provider offers cloud-native managed platform services. With the Edarat Cloud solution, an online food ordering or ride-sharing application, for example, could access IBM Cloud services to run the cloud-native application locally.

The teamwork between Edarat Group and IBM doesn’t stop with its joint offerings. Edarat Group is slated to become a publicly traded company on the Saudi Arabian Stock Exchange in 2022. Throughout the approval process in 2021, IBM assisted the company in meeting the application requirements and building a winning case.

That collaboration has been a win-win for the two companies — and for their future partnership. “It’s a good fit. With IBM Cloud Satellite, EdaratCloud has become a local CSP with international capabilities,” concludes Nehme. “This is something I always emphasize because it is really what the partnership has led to. And this is the major differentiator among all providers in Saudi Arabia.”

Edarat Group logo
About Edarat Group

Edarat Group is a data center and ICT firm headquartered in Riyadh, Saudi Arabia. Founded in 2004, the company provides IT consulting, data center engineering, smart city and smart building technology (IoT), workload migration and cloud services. Its primary customers include financial institutions, telecom operators, government organizations, healthcare providers and colocation service providers. In addition to Saudi Arabia, it has locations in the UAE, France and Lebanon.

Next up:
Security and agility come together for the University of Mainz Medical Center Case study
Footnotes

© Copyright IBM Corporation 2022. IBM Corporation, IBM Cloud, New Orchard Road, Armonk, NY 10504

Produced in the United States of America, June 2022.

IBM, the IBM logo, ibm.com, IBM Cloud, IBM Cloud Pak, and IBM Cloud Satellite are trademarks of International Business Machines Corp., registered in many jurisdictions worldwide. Other product and service names might be trademarks of IBM or other companies. A current list of IBM trademarks is available on the web at “Copyright and trademark information” at www.ibm.com/legal/copytrade.

Red Hat® and OpenShift® are trademarks or registered trademarks of Red Hat, Inc. or its subsidiaries in the United States and other countries.

This document is current as of the initial date of publication and may be changed by IBM at any time. Not all offerings are available in every country in which IBM operates.

The performance data and client examples cited are presented for illustrative purposes only. Actual performance results may vary depending on specific configurations and operating conditions. THE INFORMATION IN THIS DOCUMENT IS PROVIDED “AS IS” WITHOUT ANY WARRANTY, EXPRESS OR IMPLIED, INCLUDING WITHOUT ANY WARRANTIES OF MERCHANTABILITY, FITNESS FOR A PARTICULAR PURPOSE AND ANY WARRANTY OR CONDITION OF NON-INFRINGEMENT. IBM products are warranted according to the terms and conditions of the agreements under which they are provided.