对淡水的新见解
Decision Makers Ltd. 为水务公司带来 IT 专业知识
在水龙头下洗手

向任何规模的社区提供干净的淡水都不是一件简单的事情。公共供水商必须维护从水源到水龙头的所有环节,包括存储、管道、处理设施和配水枢纽等。

然而,正如 Decision Makers, Ltd. 首席执行官 Eyal Brill 博士所解释的那样,“世界上大多数水务公司都是小型组织,没有 IT 基础设施。没有 IT 专家。他们无力在 IT 系统上进行大量投资。”

即便如此,信息技术仍具有巨大的潜力,可以帮助水务公司保持平稳运行。因此,Brill 博士创办了家族企业 Decision Makers,旨在将现代技术的优势带入对生活至关重要的行业。

利用该公司的服务,水务公司可以检测到因设备故障、事故甚至恶意活动等原因造成的水质异常。Decision Makers 采用了一种名为无监督机器学习的技术,这种技术依赖于这样一种理念,即异常情况在问题失控之前就会出现征兆。Decision Makers 分析水务公司的数据,并在发生异常时发出危险信号,这与信用卡公司监控账户欺诈行为的方式大致相同。

数据频率

 

每 5 分钟收集一次数据

262 个传感器

 

平均一个供水系统包含 262 个传感器

我们是专家。我们将为您提供基础设施。您唯一需要做的就是将数据发送到云端。 Eyal Brill 博士 首席执行官 Decision Makers Ltd.

现有网络中的各个点已经收集了必要的数据,因此下一步很简单。Brill 博士解释说:“我们告诉客户的是,您无需在服务器上进行任何投资,也不需要 IT 专家。这是我们的职责。我们是专家。我们将为您提供基础设施。您唯一需要做的就是将数据发送到云端。”

但是要传送到哪种云呢?毕竟,有关水质和可用性的信息对社区的健康至关重要。它必须保持安全,必须全天候可用,并且必须得到世界一流的客户服务支持。

正确的工具,正确的环境

在短暂试用竞争的云提供商后,该公司选择 IBM® Cloud Virtual Servers 作为 Decision Makers 提供服务的唯一基础架构。该公司选择 IBM 的一个重要原因是安全。“我们其中一个最大的客户非常担心数据的安全性。我们推荐他们向 IBM Cloud 团队进行技术咨询。他们的所有问题都得到了快速解答,现在他们确信自己的数据在 IBM Cloud 上是安全的。”

据该公司及其客户了解到,IBM Cloud Virtual Servers 包含一系列令人印象深刻的安全措施,包括 24x7 现场安全、邻近和生物识别访问控制以及数字安全视频监控。

IBM Cloud 还支持 IBM® Watson StudioIBM Watson Machine Learning 技术,Decision Makers 计划在未来使用这两项技术来进一步完善其算法。借助 IBM Watson Studio,该公司将能够一键准备、管理和监控视觉模型。

IBM Watson Machine Learning 技术能够在有警报发出时提供反馈,向 Decision Makers 的客户“教授”解决方案。随着时间的推移,系统会了解到哪些异常是预料之中的,哪些是需要关注的。

我们最大的客户之一非常担心数据的安全性。我们推荐他们向 IBM Cloud 团队进行技术咨询。他们的所有问题都得到了快速解答,现在他们确信自己的数据在 IBM Cloud 上是安全的。 Eyal Brill 博士 首席执行官 Decision Makers Ltd.
家庭的感觉

如今,Decision Makers 正在稳步发展,客户遍布世界各地。“我们很自豪地称其为家族企业。”他们的孩子 Adi 和 Barak 以及女婿 Michael 都是团队中的重要成员,他们根据公司的需求接受了研究生教育。

这种家庭意识反映在 Decision Makers 与 IBM 以色列团队的关系中。对于 Brill 博士来说,他从 IBM 获得的服务是一个关键的竞争优势。他表示:“IBM 团队一直在我们身边。无论我们在一天中的什么时候向 IBM 支持部门提交问题,都会在 30 分钟内得到回复和响应。这是非常有价值的,尤其是当使用像 Watson 这样的先进技术时。”

展望未来,Decision Makers 计划使用 IBM Watson 技术对事件进行自动分类。这对水务公司的高管来说尤其有吸引力,因为这些分类可以为他们提供一个高层次的视角,让他们了解哪些挑战最需要关注。

与此同时,Adi Brill 说,她、她的丈夫和她的兄弟将继续为公司做出自己的贡献。她说:“与家人一起工作需要极大的耐心,需要彼此尊重。我们是很幸运的,因为我们的父母认为我们足够成熟、足够聪明,我们的见解值得倾听。这对我们来说非常宝贵。”

Decision Makers 徽标
关于 Decision Makers Ltd.

Decision Makers(ibm.com 外部链接)成立于 2008 年,总部位于以色列 Shoam,致力于帮助世界各地的水务公司检测异常水质事件,而无需投资额外的基础设施。由于 Decision Makers 将其解决方案作为服务提供,因此能够保持较低的价格,以便各种规模的水务公司都可以从这项技术中受益。

采取下一步行动

如需详细了解本案例中介绍的 IBM 解决方案,请联系您的 IBM 代表或 IBM 业务合作伙伴。

查看更多案例研究 联系 IBM
法律

© Copyright IBM Corporation 2020. IBM Corporation, IBM Cloud, New Orchard Road, Armonk, NY 10504

2020 年 12 月在美国制作。

IBM、IBM 标志、ibm.com、IBM Cloud 以及 IBM Watson 是 International Business Machines Corp. 在世界各地司法辖区的注册商标。其他产品和服务名称可能是 IBM 或其他公司的商标。 ibm.com/legal/copyright-trademark 网页上的“版权和商标信息”部分提供了 IBM 商标的最新列表。

本文档为自最初公布日期起的最新版本,IBM 可能随时对其进行更改。IBM 并不一定在开展业务的所有国家或地区提供所有产品或服务。

文中引用的性能数据和客户示例仅作演示说明之用。实际性能结果可能因具体配置和操作条件而异。本文档中的信息均“按原样”提供,不涉及任何明示或暗示的保证,包括适销性、特定用途适用性的任何保证,以及不侵权的任何保证或条件。IBM 产品根据其提供时所依据的协议条款和条件获得保证。

良好安全实践声明:IT 系统安全涉及通过预防、检测和响应企业内部和外部的不当访问来保护系统和信息。不正当访问可导致信息被更改、破坏、盗用或滥用,也可能导致系统被损坏或滥用,包括用于攻击他人。任何 IT 系统或产品都不应被视为完全安全,任何单一产品、服务或安全措施都不能完全有效防止不正当使用或访问。IBM 系统、产品和服务旨在成为合法、全面的安全措施的一部分,这必然涉及其他操作程序,且可能需要借助其他系统、产品或服务才能发挥最大作用。IBM 不保证任何系统、产品或服务可免于或使您的企业免于受到任何一方恶意或非法行为的影响。

Fresh insight for fresh water

Decision Makers Ltd. brings IT expertise to water utilities
by Leah Valentine
4-minute read
hands washing under faucet

Delivering clean, fresh water to a community of any size is complicated. Public water suppliers must maintain everything from source to tap, including storage, pipelines, treatment facilities and distribution hubs.

However, as Dr. Eyal Brill, Chief Executive Officer of Decision Makers, Ltd., explains, “Most of the water utilities around the world are small organizations that do not have an IT infrastructure. They don’t have IT experts. They can’t afford to invest heavily in IT systems.”

Even so, IT holds tremendous potential to help keep water utilities running smoothly. That’s why Dr. Brill launched Decision Makers, a family-owned business that aims to bring the advantages of modern technology to an industry that is fundamental to life.

Using the company’s service, water utilities can detect abnormal water quality caused by things like equipment failure, accidents, and even malicious activities. Decision Makers uses a technology called unsupervised machine learning, which relies on the idea that abnormal situations create signs well before problems get out of control. Decision Makers analyzes water utilities’ data and raises a red flag when an anomaly occurs, in much the same way credit card companies monitor accounts for fraud.

Glass of water

Data is collected every

5

minutes

An average water system contains

262

sensors

We are the experts. We will give you the infrastructure. The only thing that you need to do is send the data to the cloud.
Dr. Eyal Brill
Chief Executive Officer, Decision Makers Ltd.

The requisite data is already being collected at points throughout existing networks, so the next step is simple. Dr. Brill explains: “What we tell our customers is that you don’t have to invest anything in servers, you don’t need IT experts. This is our role. We are the experts. We will give you the infrastructure. The only thing that you need to do is send the data to the cloud.”

But which cloud? After all, information about water quality and availability is fundamental to the health of the community. It must be kept secure, it must be available 24x7, and it must be supported by world-class customer service.

Shower head
father splashing water and having fun with son
One of our biggest customers was very concerned about the safety of the data. We directed them to the IBM Cloud team. All of their questions were answered quickly, and they are now confident that their data is safe on the IBM Cloud.
Dr. Eyal Brill
Chief Executive Officer, Decision Makers Ltd.
Right tools, right environment
One of our biggest customers was very concerned about the safety of the data. We directed them to the IBM Cloud team. All of their questions were answered quickly, and they are now confident that their data is safe on the IBM Cloud.
Dr. Eyal Brill
Chief Executive Officer, Decision Makers Ltd.

After a brief trial with a competing cloud provider, the company selected IBM Cloud® virtual servers as the only infrastructure upon which Decision Makers offers its service. One of the key reasons the company selected IBM is security. “One of our biggest customers was very concerned about the safety of the data. We directed them to the IBM Cloud team. All of their questions were answered quickly, and they are now confident that their data is safe on the IBM Cloud.”

As the company and its customers learned, IBM Cloud virtual servers include an impressive range of security measures, including 24x7 onsite security, proximity and biometric access control, and digital security video surveillance.

IBM Cloud also supports IBM Watson® Studio and IBM Watson Machine Learning technology, both of which Decision Makers plans to use in the future to refine its algorithms further. With IBM Watson Studio, the company will be able to prepare, manage and monitor visual models with one click.

Already, IBM Watson Machine Learning technology makes it possible for Decision Makers’ customers to “teach” the solution by providing feedback any time an alarm is raised. Over time, the system learns which anomalies are expected and which are cause for concern.

A feeling of family

Today, Decision Makers is growing at a steady clip and boasts customers all over the world. “We are proud to call it a family business.” Their children, Adi and Barak, and their son in law, Michael, are valued members of the team, having tailored their postgraduate educations to the company’s needs.

That sense of family is reflected in Decision Makers’ relationship with the IBM team in Israel. For Dr. Brill, the service he receives from IBM is a key differentiator. “They are always there for us. It doesn’t matter what time of day you submit a question to IBM support; in less than 30 minutes, you will get attention,” he says. “This is something that is very valuable, especially when you deal with advanced technology like Watson.”

Going forward, Decision Makers plans to use IBM Watson technology to classify events automatically. This is particularly compelling for water utility executives, for whom these classifications can offer a high-level view of which challenges need attention most critically.

In the meantime, says Adi Brill, she, her husband, and her brother will continue to make their mark on the company. “Working with your family demands a lot of patience and respect,” she says. “We are lucky because our parents acknowledge that we are mature enough and smart enough to have opinions that are worth listening to. It’s something very special.”

Decision Makers logo
About Decision Makers Ltd.

Established in 2008 and headquartered in Shoam, Israel, Decision MakersExternal Link is dedicated to helping water utilities all over the world detect abnormal water quality event detection without having to invest in additional infrastructure. Because Decision Makers offers its solution as a service, it is able to keep prices low so that water utilities of all sizes can benefit from this technology.

Solution components
Decision Makers logo
About Decision Makers Ltd.

Established in 2008 and headquartered in Shoam, Israel, Decision MakersExternal Link is dedicated to helping water utilities all over the world detect abnormal water quality event detection without having to invest in additional infrastructure. Because Decision Makers offers its solution as a service, it is able to keep prices low so that water utilities of all sizes can benefit from this technology.

Solution components