将资产数据转化为宝贵设施
了解亚特兰大市如何利用 IBM Maximo Application Suite 管理资产,以提高效率和客户满意度
俯拍图:沐浴在晨光中的佐治亚州亚特兰大市

创建一座美好的城市需要哪些方面的条件?对于佐治亚州亚特兰大市来说,答案多种多样:遍布整个城市的绿化和公园、充满活力的文化机构、对可持续发展的承诺、繁荣的经济和历史悠久的美丽社区。

但如果没有健康、维护良好的底层基础架构,都是不可能实现的。该市的企业资产管理部 (DEAM) 在保持基础架构平稳运行方面发挥着关键作用。

该部门负责处理属于城市普通基金的有形资产,例如市政厅、市法院、社区中心、消防局和警察局。总而言之,该部门拥有 51 个设施。此外,它还管理新城市建设项目的资本计划。

对市民和市政工人的承诺是实现 DEAM 使命的基础。“设施维护的支柱是客户服务,”DEAM 司长 Remy Saintil 说道,“例如,消防局的消防员需要一个能够提高工作效率并随时准备出警救火的环境。他们不必担心屋顶漏水或暖通空调无法工作。”

当 Saintil 于 2020 年加入 DEAM 时,该部门的资产管理系统已经过时。“我们需要一个能让我们创建维护计划、接受工单请求并与请求者持续沟通的系统,”Saintil 说,“企业资产管理是我们部门的名称。我们希望成为该领域的主题专家,并获得 ISO 55001 认证。”

认证可以为城市提供许多优势。通过推动资产管理治理,认证有助于确保设施得到良好维护,纳税人缴纳的税款得以充分利用。通过提高债券和保险评级,认证可以为城市节省资金。

认证过程非常严格,涉及数年的多次审计。目前美国只有八个实体获得认证,其中两个位于亚特兰大地区:亚特兰大都会快速交通管理局 (MARTA) 和亚特兰大机场。Saintil 及其团队希望创造亚特兰大三连冠,DEAM 是第三个。

Saintil 是负责 MARTA 认证计划的团队的一员,他还负责使用 IBM 预测性维护功能执行一个单独概念验证项目。他对该解决方案的优势有着深入的了解,尤其是与认证要求相关的优势,这些要求非常严格且需要数年时间才能完成。“我需要一个具有最新功能的强大企业管理系统,”他说,“我知道 IBM 和 IBM® Maximo® Application Suite 可以提供这些功能,这就是我们采取的途径。”

51


在基于云的托管服务环境中建立一个新系统来管理 51 个城市设施的资产,总面积达 200 万平方英尺

1/3


奠定 DEAM 所需基础,让 DEAM 成为亚特兰大市获得 ISO 55001 认证的 1/3 实体中的一员

IBM 是我们如今最好的朋友。我们的关系非常好。建立友好的关系需要很大的耐心。遵守市政法规也并不总是那么容易。但甚至从我加入 MARTA 时起,我们与 IBM 的关系就一直非常密切。 Remy Saintil 企业资产管理司司长 亚特兰大市
奠定基础

幸运的是,该市已经签订相关合同,允许使用 IBM Maximo Application Suite 执行资产管理并在多个部门内进行非常成功的本地部署。该解决方案提供一个单一的集成式平台,可以访问各个部门的全面监控、维护和可靠性应用程序。这些部门可以使用该平台在单一平台内规划和安排维护、跟踪工单以及管理维护、维修和运营 (MRO) 库存水平。

但是 Saintil 希望进一步利用该解决方案的各个功能。他对以下两项特别感兴趣:将该解决方案用作基于云的托管服务,由 IBM 在 IBM Cloud® 上托管和管理该平台,以及利用 IBM Watson® Machine Learning 的预测性维护功能。

准备工作是项目成功的关键。DEAM 团队与 IBM Expert Labs 合作制定计划。第一步是让员工了解什么是企业资产管理以及它如何帮助他们完成工作。除了提供资产管理培训外,Saintil 还与他的团队合作,使他们能够获得 Maximo 认证。

由于该市之前的 IBM Maximo 实施仅在本地运行,因此该团队需要更新 IBM 合同,以便能够在 IBM Cloud 上将该解决方案作为托管服务运行。与该市立法机关敲定细节需要时间,但他们的努力得到了回报,合同于 2021 年获得批准。

已更新合同到位后,项目团队开始发挥作用。IBM 团队聘请了 IBM 合作伙伴 Aquitas Solutions 来帮助实施。“Aquitas 审查了流程计划、我们需要收集的资产相关的信息类型以及我们收集这些信息并将其输入 Maximo 的方式,”Saintil 说,“我们决定利用协同效应,同时收集与设备状况评估相关的信息。”

在整个规划和实施阶段,IBM Customer Success 一直在幕后,不断与 DEAM 和 Aquitas 团队协作,执行月度审查,并在此过程中提供洞察和意见。

收集数据需要时间和精力。“这是一项艰巨的任务,需要花费很多时间,”DEAM 行政总监 Tiffany Burden 说道,“但是我们收集信息后,我们就与 Aquitas 合作将这些信息迁移到系统中。我们仍在迁移。这不是一个停止的过程,而是一个持续的过程。该系统的好坏取决于输入的信息,因此我们还有一个团队负责验证数据的准确性。”

将信息上传到 Maximo 这一过程从 2022 年中期开始,2023 年 3 月,DEAM 推出了新的资产管理系统。

化被动为主动

新的资产管理系统为 DEAM 获得 ISO 55001 认证奠定了坚实的基础,并使 DEAM 能够执行以前从未开展的工作。

“该系统允许用户(无论您是董事、司长、主管还是设施维护机械师)访问仪表板以进行快速参考,”Burden 说,“我们的机械师可以立即看到他们的工单,主管可以看到所有已开启和已关闭工单的位置和状态。我们还可以收集性能指标并运行报告。”

数据是实现这种创新的核心。“如果没有历史记录,您无法运行报告,”Saintil 说,“利用我们当前收集的信息,我们可以创造历史记录。这就是宝贵之处:拥有可操作的数据,我们可以利用这些数据来做事。因此,我们很高兴能够拥有这种能力,即在一个资产管理系统中正确收集、设置格式和存储数据,所有这些都是我们以前无法实现的。现在我们有了这种能力,真是太棒了。真不错。”

Saintil 表示,与此同时,市政工人的反应非常积极。“最令人兴奋的是,看到消防局和警察局的员工对于了解他们是否遇到问题这么富有热情,因为现在他们知道如何进行高效沟通了。”

该解决方案最终还将为该市的可持续发展计划做出贡献。它不仅可以帮助 DEAM 维护和保护城市资产,还有助于各个设施更有效地运行,并且技术人员可以减少出差检查和修理受损设备的需要,从而节省时间和城市资金。

该团队计划继续扩展 Maximo 的功能,特别是在 AI 领域。“使用 IBM Watson 对我们来说非常重要,”Saintil 说,“例如,能够将资产手册上传到 Maximo,然后提交问题并根据您的问题和输入获得相关答案。拥有一个系统来指导我们解决根本原因问题将对我们有很大帮助。”

预测性维护的分层功能还可以提供宝贵的信息,例如技术人员何时需要更多培训、某台设备在特定天气条件下在特定日期如何运行以及根据收集的信息将如何执行。

“一旦实现,我们将拥有一个非常强大的系统,我们将不再受到环境条件的影响,”Saintil 说,“实践是检验真理的唯一标准。”

DEAM 和 IBM 之间的团队合作精神为未来的成功奠定了坚实的基础。“IBM 是我们如今最好的朋友。”Saintil 表示,“我们的关系非常好。遵守市政法规也并不总是那么容易。但甚至从我加入 MARTA 时起,我们与 IBM 的关系就一直非常密切。”

关于亚特兰大市企业资产管理部 (DEAM)

DEAM(链接位于 ibm.com 外部)是亚特兰大市政府的一个分支机构,负责 51 个城市设施的企业资产管理,包括亚特兰大市政厅、亚特兰大市法院、公共安全总部、消防站和辖区等。该部门还监督新的城市建设项目,并维护该市自有和租赁物业的库存。

 

关于 Aquitas Solutions


IBM 业务合作伙伴 Aquitas Solutions(链接位于 ibm.com 外部)是一家企业资产管理和 IoT 解决方案提供商,总部位于乔治亚州亚特兰大。该公司成立于 2006 年。

IBM® Maximo® Application Suite

依托单一平台实现智能资产管理、监控、预测性维护和可靠性规划

查看案例研究 PDF 查看更多案例 Sund & Bælt 

搭建桥梁,深入洞察

阅读成功案例
Downer Group

预测性维护。列车性能更可预测。

阅读成功案例
纽约电力管理局

纽约电力管理局推动实现数字化转型

阅读成功案例
法律

© Copyright IBM Corporation 2023. IBM Corporation, New Orchard Road, Armonk, NY, 10504

美国出品,2023 年 7 月。

IBM、IBM 徽标、IBM Cloud、IBM Watson 以及 Maximo 是 International Business Machines Corporation 在全球许多司法辖区的注册商标。其他产品和服务名称可能是 IBM 或其他公司的商标。有关 IBM 商标的最新列表,请访问网站 ibm.com/trademark

本文档为自最初公布日期起的最新版本,IBM 可能随时对其进行更改。IBM 并不一定在开展业务的所有国家或地区提供所有产品或服务。

以上所有引用或描述的客户实例的展示取决于部分客户使用 IBM 产品的方式以及他们可能取得的结果。实际的环境成本和性能特征会因具体客户配置和情况而有所不同。无法提供通用的预期结果,因为每个客户的结果将完全取决于客户的系统和订购的服务。本文档内的信息“按现状”提供,不附有任何种类的(无论是明示的还是默示的)保证,包括不附有关于适销性、适用于某种特定用途的任何保证以及非侵权的任何保证或条件。IBM 产品根据其提供时所依据的协议条款和条件获得保证。

Turning asset data into facilities gold
The City of Atlanta takes charge of its assets to drive greater efficiency and customer satisfaction with IBM Maximo Application Suite 
Overhead view of Atlanta, GA, in early morning

What makes a city great? For the City of Atlanta, GA, the answers are abundant: greenery and parks throughout the city, vibrant cultural institutions, a commitment to sustainable development, a thriving economy and beautiful neighborhoods steeped in history. 

But none of these characteristics are possible without a healthy, well-maintained underlying infrastructure. The city’s Department of Enterprise Assets Management (DEAM) plays a pivotal role in keeping that infrastructure running smoothly.

The department handles physical assets that fall under the general fund for the city, such as city hall, the municipal court, community centers, fire stations and police precincts. All told, the division maintains 51 facilities. In addition, it manages the capital programs for new city building projects.

Commitment to citizens and city workers alike is fundamental to the DEAM mission. “The backbone of facilities maintenance is its customer service,” says Remy Saintil, Commissioner of DEAM. “The firefighters living in fire stations, for example, need an environment in which they can be productive and ready to go out and fight fires. They can’t be worried about the roof leaking or the HVAC not working.”

When Saintil joined DEAM in 2020, the department’s asset management system had become antiquated. “We needed a system that would enable us to create maintenance programs, take work order requests and then communicate continuously with requestors,” says Saintil. “Enterprise asset management is our department’s name. We wanted to be the subject matter experts in that area and to earn our ISO 55001 certification.”

Certification brings with it many advantages for a city. By driving asset management governance, it helps ensure facilities are well-maintained and taxpayer dollars are well-spent. And by improving bond and insurance ratings, it can save a city money.

The certification process is rigorous, involving numerous audits over several years. Only eight entities in the US are currently certified, two of which are in the Atlanta area: the Metropolitan Atlanta Rapid Transit Authority (MARTA) and the Atlanta airport. Saintil and his team wanted to make it an Atlanta trifecta, with DEAM as the third.

Saintil was part of the team that led the certification initiative at MARTA and headed up a separate proof-of-concept project using IBM predictive maintenance capabilities. He was deeply knowledgeable of the solution’s strengths, especially related to certification requirements, which are rigorous and take years to complete. “I needed a robust enterprise management system with the latest features,” he says. “I knew those capabilities were available with IBM and IBM® Maximo® Application Suite, so that’s the path we took.”

51


Establishes a new system to manage assets for 51 city facilities, covering 2M gross square feet, in a cloud-based, managed services environment

1 of 3


Sets the foundation DEAM needs to become 1 of 3 Atlanta-based entities with ISO 55001 certification

IBM is our best friend right now. The relationship has been fantastic. It comes with a lot of patience. It hasn’t always been easy working through municipality regulations. But even from my MARTA days, the relationship with IBM has been phenomenal. Remy Saintil Commissioner, Department of Enterprise Asset Management City of Atlanta
Laying the foundation

Fortunately, the city already had a contract in place to use the IBM Maximo Application Suite for asset management, with highly successful on-premises deployments within several departments. The solution provides a single, integrated platform with access to comprehensive monitoring, maintenance and reliability applications across the respective departments. Those departments can use the platform to plan and schedule maintenance, track work orders and manage maintenance, repair and operations (MRO) inventory levels within a single platform.

But Saintil wanted to take even further advantage of the solution’s capabilities. He was particularly interested in using it as a cloud-based managed service, with IBM hosting and managing the platform on the IBM Cloud®, and in its predictive maintenance features that utilize IBM Watson® Machine Learning.

Preparation was key to the project’s success. The DEAM team worked with IBM Expert Labs to set a plan in place. The first step was to educate employees on what enterprise asset management was and how it would help them do their jobs. In addition to providing asset management training, Saintil worked with his team so they could become certified in Maximo.

Since the city’s previous IBM Maximo implementations had run solely on premises, the team needed to update the IBM contract so it could run the solution on IBM Cloud as a managed service. It took time to work out the details with the city legislature, but the efforts paid off and the contract was approved in 2021.

With the updated contract in place, the project team came into play. The IBM team brought in IBM Business Partner Aquitas Solutions to help with the implementation. “Aquitas reviewed the process plan, the type of information relative to our assets we would need to gather and the way we would gather that information and input it into Maximo,” says Saintil. “We decided to take advantage of synergy and gather information relative to equipment condition assessments at the same time.”

Throughout the planning and implementation phases, IBM Customer Success was behind the scenes, continuously collaborating with the DEAM and Aquitas teams, conducting monthly reviews, and providing insights and input along the way.

Gathering the data took time and effort. “It was a grueling task, requiring many hours of work,” says Tiffany Burden, Director of Administration at DEAM. “But once we’d gathered the information, we worked with Aquitas to move it into the system. And we’re still moving it. It’s not a process that stops—it’s ongoing. The system is only as good as the information you put into it, so we also have a team of people verifying the data for accuracy.”

The process for uploading the information into Maximo started in mid-2022 and in March 2023, DEAM launched its new asset management system.

From reactive to proactive

The new asset management system establishes the strong foundation DEAM needs to achieve ISO 55001 certification and makes it possible for the department to do things it has never done before.

“This system allows users—whether you’re a director, commissioner, supervisor or facilities maintenance mechanic—to access a dashboard for quick reference,” says Burden. “Our mechanics can immediately see their tickets or supervisors can see the location and status of all open and closed tickets. We can also gather performance metrics and run reports.”

Data lies at the heart of that innovation. “You can’t run reports with no history,” says Saintil. “With the information we’re collecting now, we’re creating that history. That’s where the gold is: having data that’s actionable, that we can do things with. So we’re excited about having that capability—collecting, formatting and storing data properly in one asset management system—all those things that didn’t exist before. Now that we have that capability it’s just great. It’s wonderful.”

In the meantime, reaction from city workers has been highly positive, according to Saintil. “What’s most exciting is seeing the enthusiasm from employees in the firehouses and police precincts in knowing if they have an issue, they now have a way to communicate it.”

The solution also will ultimately contribute to the city’s sustainability initiatives. Not only will it help DEAM maintain and preserve the city’s assets, but it also will help facilities run more efficiently and technicians save time and the city money by reducing the need to travel to check on and fix broken equipment.

The team plans to continue expanding upon Maximo’s capabilities, particularly in the area of AI. “Using IBM Watson is going to be major for us,” says Saintil. “For example, the ability to upload an asset’s manual into Maximo, then submit queries and get an answer for what’s wrong based on your questions and input. Having a system to guide us through a root-cause problem is going to help us tremendously.”

The layering of predictive maintenance can also provide invaluable information, such as when a technician needs more training, how a piece of equipment operates on a particular day in particular weather conditions and how it will perform based on information collected.

“Once that comes into place, we’ll have a system that’s really robust, in which we won’t be as affected by the conditions of the environment anymore,” says Saintil. “That’s really going to be the proof in the pudding.”

The foundation for future success is strong, fortified by the spirit of teamwork between DEAM and IBM. “IBM is our best friend right now,” says Saintil. “The relationship has been fantastic. It hasn’t always been easy working through municipality regulations. But even from my MARTA days, the relationship with IBM has been phenomenal.”

About City of Atlanta Department of Enterprise Assets Management (DEAM)

DEAM (link resides outside of ibm.com) is a branch of the city of Atlanta government that is responsible for enterprise asset management for 51 city facilities, including Atlanta City Hall, Atlanta Municipal Court, Public Safety Headquarters, fire stations and precincts, among others. The department also oversees new city building projects and maintains the city’s inventory of owned and leased properties. 

 

About Aquitas Solutions


Based in Atlanta, GA, IBM Business Partner Aquitas Solutions (link resides outside of ibm.com) is a provider of enterprise asset management and IoT solutions. The company was founded in 2006.

IBM® Maximo® Application Suite

Intelligent asset management, monitoring, predictive maintenance and reliability in a single platform

View case study PDF View more case stories Sund & Bælt 

Building bridges to better insight

Read the case study
Downer Group

Predictable maintenance. Predictable trains.

Read the case study
New York Power Authority

The drive to digitize at New York Power Authority

Read the case study
Legal

© Copyright IBM Corporation 2023. IBM Corporation, New Orchard Road, Armonk, NY, 10504

Produced in United States of America, July 2023.

IBM, the IBM logo, IBM Cloud, IBM Watson, and Maximo are trademarks of International Business Machines Corporation, registered in many jurisdictions worldwide. Other product and service names might be trademarks of IBM or other companies. A current list of IBM trademarks is available on ibm.com/trademark.

This document is current as of the initial date of publication and may be changed by IBM at any time. Not all offerings are available in every country in which IBM operates.

All client examples cited or described are presented as illustrations of the manner in which some clients have used IBM products and the results they may have achieved. Actual environmental costs and performance characteristics will vary depending on individual client configurations and conditions. Generally expected results cannot be provided as each client’s results will depend entirely on the client’s systems and services ordered. THE INFORMATION IN THIS DOCUMENT IS PROVIDED “AS IS” WITHOUT ANY WARRANTY, EXPRESS OR IMPLIED, INCLUDING WITHOUT ANY WARRANTIES OF MERCHANTABILITY, FITNESS FOR A PARTICULAR PURPOSE AND ANY WARRANTY OR CONDITION OF NON-INFRINGEMENT. IBM products are warranted according to the terms and conditions of the agreements under which they are provided.