Channell Commercial Corporation
借助增强的分析功能,制定更快速、更高效的制造规划过程
工厂中一位女士在使用平板电脑工作

部分全球领先的电信提供商依靠 Channell 提供组件来保持其服务平稳运行,但 Channell 如何才能提高订单履行过程的效率呢?Channell 与 Draca Solutions 合作实施 IBM 的规划和分析解决方案,加快其深入了解库存水平的能力。

业务挑战

Channell 的产品可能需要许多不同的组件和子组件。公司如何克服这种复杂性,确保拥有合适的材料来更高效地生产成品?

变革

Channell 与 IBM 业务合作伙伴 Draca Solutions 合作,部署了一个集成的规划和分析平台,提供了深入的库存细分情况以及新工作所需的组件。

结果 更快速的分析
将规划人员从手动报告工作流程中解放出来,帮助节省时间
提供
对所需材料的深入了解,有助于防止项目延误
启用
更智能的资源部署和工厂维护,交货时间清晰
业务挑战案例
掌握多层次的复杂性

近一个世纪以来,Channell 一直引领着制造领域的创新。该公司现在由 Channell 家族第三代经营,为部分全球领先的电信、宽带和公用事业公司提供热塑性塑料箱和金属箱,帮助确保向美国及其他地区的消费者提供一流的服务。

Channell 运营着两家一流的制造工厂,分别位于加利福尼亚州特曼库拉和德克萨斯州罗克沃尔,在那里,高度先进的工业机器人生产客户所需的精密组件。Channell 在这两个工厂内运行五种独立的制造过程:注塑、转子成型、吹塑、金属和片状模塑料。

Channell 首席信息官 (CIO) George Sarabia 表示:“Channell 的独到之处,在于它是一家真正意义上的制造公司。我们不满足于只做组装,而是从原材料(这些原材料可能是金属板或塑料颗粒)环节开始介入,直到完成最终成品。因此,尽管我们是一家相对较小的公司,但我们的生产运营与大型企业的生产运营一样复杂。

“我们完成的每一项工作都涉及多层复杂性。我们不仅采用多种生产方法,而且客户的订单可能涉及大量的货物。在该订单中,各个组件可能需要多个子组件,而子组件又可能需要更小的零件。”

随着新订单的到来,Channell 的规划人员需要评估工厂和机器产能、分配人力资源并准备详细报告,说明完成工作所需零件。为了完成这些任务,该公司之前部分依赖基于电子表格的繁琐流程。

George Sarabia 还表示:“我们的规划人员花费了大量时间从 ERP 系统中提取数据,将现有库存与每个订单所需的材料进行匹配,并估算向客户交货的时间。”

依赖手动流程还存在着人为错误的风险。规划过程中的一个错误可能意味着公司将缺乏完成工作的材料,从而导致推迟交货日期。

George Sarabia 这样说道:“是时候为我们的规划人员提供更智能、更准确的工具了。”

借助 IBM 解决方案,我们可以获得所需的洞察力,并在短短几个小时内做出正确的决策。 George Sarabia CIO Channell
变革案例
实施复杂的分析

在决定部署 IBM® Planning Analytics ExpressIBM Cognos® Analytics 之前,Channell 开始对可用解决方案进行全面评估。为了实施这些解决方案,该公司与 IBM 业务合作伙伴 Draca Solutions 合作。

George Sarabia 解释说:"在业务的某些部分,我们在非常有限的范围内使用了 IBM 分析工具。我们看到,通过升级这些解决方案并以此为基础,我们可以创建所需的规划平台。最终,我们很容易做出决定,要与 IBM 进行合作。”

事实证明,IBM Planning Analytics 的内存分析引擎以及 IBM Cognos Analytics 的灵活报告功能是生成复杂报告的理想组合,可以将 Channell 的复杂规划需求进行拆分。

为了实现这一目标,Channell 首先将其当前产品分为三种不同的类别:成品、半成品和原材料。总体而言,IBM 解决方案使 Channell 团队能够创建报告,来跟踪 9,000 多个成品项的库存状态。

从金属制造作业开始,Channell 还开始使用 IBM 解决方案自动为每个项目生成物料清单报告。之前,这个过程对于 Channell 的规划者来说是最复杂、最困难的过程之一。

未来,该解决方案将能够创建一个单一的综合性报告,其中包含每个制造作业所需的所有零件、组合件和子组件的详细信息。规划人员将能够根据库存报告交叉检查这些数据,以确保有足够的材料可用,帮助他们预测准确的交货时间并确保订单按计划准备好。

George Sarabia 继续说道:“除了报告功能之外,我们对 IBM 解决方案的用户友好性感到特别满意。例如,我们最近雇用了一位新分析师,他之前使用 Cognos 平台的经验有限。在很短的时间内,他就能够掌握在日常工作中使用该解决方案所需的一切知识和技能。”

Channell 还与 Draca Solutions 合作,提供持续的用户培训。Draca Solutions 最近在该公司的罗克沃尔工厂举办了培训班,培训了一批高级用户,使他们能够将自己的知识和经验传授给 Channell 的同事,帮助企业充分利用其投资。

George Sarabia 表示:“与 Draca 和 IBM 的合作,形成一个高效的联盟,我们对之寄予厚望,不断向前推进。他们不会仅仅通过 IT 视角来处理问题;他们花时间了解我们面临的难题,以及他们的解决方案如何为我们的业务增加价值。

我们知道 IBM 解决方案在财务、预算编制和预测方面有潜在的用例,我们将在未来的日子里探索这些令人兴奋的机会。

与 Draca 和 IBM 的合作,形成一个高效的联盟他们不会通过狭隘的 IT 视角来处理问题;他们花时间了解我们的挑战,以及他们的解决方案如何为我们的业务增加价值。 George Sarabia CIO Channell
案例成果
简化关键规划流程

通过实施 IBM Planning Analytics Express 和 Cognos Analytics,Channell 减轻了规划人员的工作量,并且更快速、更深入地了解库存和制造过程。

Channell 的规划人员现在拥有更多工具来生成和查看数据,而不是手动筛选数据和准备电子表格。

George Sarabia 说道:“在产品类别方面,过去我们的团队需要花费很多时间来对所有项目进行分类和报告。以前使用嵌套物料清单来规划一个新项目时,可能需要一整天的时间才能完成工作。借助 IBM 解决方案,我们可以获得所需的洞察力,并在短短几个小时内做出正确的决策。”

通过消除工作流程中的手动流程,Channell 还降低了人为错误的风险,提供了材料当前库存情况的更准确视图,并帮助优化规划过程。

通过准确了解当前拥有的材料以及整个制造过程中所需的材料,Channell 可以为客户提供更准确的交货时间,并更有信心按时交付产品。公司还可以避免存储额外材料的成本,也无需在完成工作之前创建新组件。

George Sarabia 继续说道:“更清晰地了解库存材料和交货时间,将有助于我们更好地进行人力资源规划和工厂维护规划。为了准时完成订单而考虑额外增加班次,这种需求也会减少。而且,由于我们对工作何时完成更有信心,因此可以更轻松地找到维护时间窗口,而不会中断我们的生产线。”

这些解决方案还将帮助 Channell 重新调整其物流和分销策略。该公司此前依赖临时系统进行物流规划,并且会等到很多货物都准备好后才开始装载过程。

“如果我们知道货品何时准备好,我们就可以采取主动措施尽快包装和装载它们。我们可以计算需要多少辆卡车、需要多少物料搬运工以及多少叉车司机。借助我们的 IBM 解决方案,我们正在实现更加高效、系统的分销方法。”George Sarabia 说道。

他最后总结道:“在 Channell,我们认为 IT 应被视为业务增长的推动者,而不是成本中心。我们与 IBM 和 Draca 的合作正在帮助我们实现这一目标,并使我们的规划更加准确、快速和高效。

Channell Commercial Corporation 徽标
Channell Commercial Corporation

Channell Commercial Corporation (链接位于 ibm.com 外部)成立于 1922 年,是一家为光纤、电信、宽带、水、电力和公用事业行业提供热塑性塑料箱和金属箱的领先制造商。该公司拥有 400 名员工,在美国加利福尼亚州特曼库拉和德克萨斯州罗克沃尔设有两个制造基地,并在英国、加拿大和澳大利亚设有办事处。

Draca Solutions

Draca Solutions 是一家技术咨询公司,是 IBM 的业务合作伙伴,致力于帮助组织实现软件投资的理论收益。Draca 提供涵盖财务绩效管理、分析和数据平台的解决方案。Draca 的客户涵盖了多个行业和不同规模的公司。Draca Solutions 总部位于德克萨斯州达拉斯,在圣地亚哥和芝加哥设有运行团队。

采取下一步行动

IBM Analytics 提供世界上最深入、最广泛的分析平台、领域和行业解决方案之一,为企业、政府和个人带来新价值。请在 Twitter 上关注我们:@IBMAnalytics,同时欢迎关注我们的博客,并加入 #IBMAnalytics 对话。 

查看更多案例 了解更多信息
法律

© Copyright IBM Corporation 2018. 1 New Orchard Road, Armonk, New York 10504-1722 United States. 2018 年 6 月在美国制作。

IBM、IBM 徽标和 ibm.com 和 Cognos 是 International Business Machines Corp. 在世界各地司法辖区的注册商标。其他产品和服务名称可能是 IBM 或其他公司的商标。Web 站点上的“Copyright and trademark information”部分中包含了 IBM 商标的最新列表: ibm.com/trademark

IBM 并不一定在开展业务的所有国家或地区提供所有产品或服务。

文中引用的性能数据和客户实例仅作说明之用。实际性能结果可能因具体配置和操作条件而异。

以上所有引用或描述的客户实例的展示取决于部分客户使用 IBM 产品的方式以及他们可能取得的结果。实际的环境成本和性能特征会因具体客户配置和情况而有所不同。请联系 IBM,咨询 IBM 产品和服务详情。

客户负责确保遵守适用的法律和法规。IBM 不提供任何法律咨询,也不声明或保证其服务或产品经确保客户遵循任何法律或法规。

Business Challenge

Channell’s products can require many different components and sub-components. How does the company cut through this complexity to ensure it has the right materials for more efficient production of finished goods?

Transformation

Channell worked with IBM Business Partner Draca Solutions to deploy an integrated planning and analytics platform, providing an in-depth breakdown of inventory and the components needed for new jobs.

Results

Faster analysis

saves planners time by freeing them from manual reporting workflows

Provides

deep insights into materials required, helping to prevent project delays

Enables

smarter resource deployment and plant maintenance with clarity on lead times

Business challenge story

Mastering many layers of complexity

Channell has been spearheading innovation in the manufacturing space for almost a century. Now run by the third-generation of the Channell family, the company provides thermoplastic and metal enclosures for some of the world’s leading telecom, broadband and utility companies, helping to ensure the delivery of first-class services to consumers in the United States and beyond.

Channell operates two state-of-the-art manufacturing plants, based in Temecula, California, and Rockwall, Texas, where highly-advanced industrial robots create the precision components that clients need. Within the two sites, Channell runs five separate manufacturing processes: injection molding, rotor molding, blow molding, metals and sheet molding compound.

George Sarabia, Chief Information Officer (CIO) at Channell elaborates: “Channell is unusual because it’s a true manufacturing company. We don’t just do assembly, we go right from the raw materials—metal sheets or pellets of plastic—through to the finished goods. So, although we’re a relatively small company, our production operations are as complex as those of a much larger player.

“Every job that we complete involves many layers of complexity. Not only are we operating multiple manufacturing methods, but a customer order could be for multiple truckloads of goods. Within that order, individual components could require several sub-components, which in turn could need even smaller parts.”

As new orders come in, it falls to Channell’s planners to assess plant and machine capacity, allocate human resources, and prepare reports detailing the parts required to complete the job. To complete these tasks, the company previously relied partly on cumbersome, spreadsheet-based processes.

George Sarabia adds: “Our planners have been spending significant time drawing data from our ERP systems, matching our existing inventory against the materials required for each order, and estimating lead times for our customers.”

Relying on manual processes also carried the risk of human error. A single mistake during the planning process could mean that the company would lack the materials to finish a job—potentially pushing back the delivery date.

George Sarabia comments: “It was time to put smarter, more accurate tools in the hands of our planners.”

With the IBM solutions, we can gain the insight we need and make the right decisions in just a few hours.

—George Sarabia, CIO, Channell

Transformation story

Implementing sophisticated analytics

Channell began a thorough assessment of available solutions, before deciding to deploy IBM® Planning Analytics Express and IBM Cognos® Analytics. To implement these solutions, the company worked with IBM Business Partner Draca Solutions.

George Sarabia explains: “Within some parts of the business, we were already using IBM analytics tools to a very limited extent. We saw that by upgrading and building on those solutions, we could create exactly the planning platform we needed. In the end, it was an easy decision to work with IBM.”

The in-memory analytical engine of IBM Planning Analytics and the flexible reporting capabilities of IBM Cognos Analytics, have proven to be an ideal combination to generate sophisticated reports that break down Channell’s complex planning requirements.

To achieve this, Channell first worked to classify its current products into three separate categories: finished goods, work-in-progress, and raw materials. In total, the IBM solutions have enabled the Channell team to create reports that track the inventory status of over 9,000 finished goods items.

Channell has also started using the IBM solutions to automatically generate a bill of materials report for each project, starting with its metals manufacturing jobs. Previously, this process has been among the most complicated and difficult for Channell’s planners.

In the future, the solutions will enable the creation of a single, comprehensive report containing details of all parts, assemblies and sub-components needed for each manufacturing job. The planners will be able to cross-check this data against inventory reports to ensure sufficient materials are available, helping them to forecast an accurate lead time and ensure orders are ready on schedule.

George Sarabia continues: “As well as the reporting capabilities, we have been particularly pleased with how user-friendly the IBM solutions are. For example, we recently employed a new analyst who had limited previous experience working with the Cognos platform. Within a very short time, he was able to pick up everything he needed to know to use the solution in his day-to-day work.”

Channell is also working with Draca Solutions to provide ongoing user training. During recent sessions held at the company’s Rockwall plant, Draca Solutions trained up a group of power users so they can pass on their knowledge and experience to colleagues throughout Channell, helping the business to make the most of its investment.

George Sarabia comments: “Working with Draca and IBM has been a highly effective alliance, and one we hope to continue moving forward. They don’t approach things through the narrow lens of IT; they take the time to understand our challenges, and how their solutions can add value to our business.

“We know there are potential use cases for the IBM solutions within finance, budgeting and forecasting, and we will be exploring these exciting opportunities in the days ahead.

Working with Draca and IBM has been a highly effective alliance. They don’t approach things through the narrow lens of IT; they take the time to understand our challenges, and how their solutions can add value to our business.

—George Sarabia, CIO, Channell

Results story

Simplifying key planning processes

With the implementation of IBM Planning Analytics Express and Cognos Analytics, Channell has improved the workload of its planners, and is gaining faster, deeper insights into its inventory and manufacturing processes.

Instead of manually sifting through data and preparing spreadsheets, Channell’s planners now possess more tools to generate and view data.

George Sarabia explains: “In the case of our product categories, it used to take our team many hours to classify and report all of the items. And when we came to plan a new project using a nested bill of materials, it could take up to a full day to complete. With the IBM solutions, we can gain the insight we need and make the right decisions in just a few hours.”

By eliminating manual processes from its workflows, Channell is also reducing the risk of human error, providing a more accurate view of its current stock of materials and helping to optimize the planning process.

With a precise view of what materials it currently holds, and what it will need throughout the manufacturing process, Channell can offer customers more accurate lead times, and be more confident about delivering products on time. The company can also avoid the costs of storing extra materials, or the need to create new components before a job can be finished.

George Sarabia continues: “Having a clearer picture of inventoried materials and lead times will help our human resource and plant maintenance planning. There should be less need to factor in extra shifts to be sure orders are completed on time. And because we can say with more confidence when jobs will be complete, it will be easier to find windows for maintenance without disrupting our production lines.”

The solutions will also help Channell to re-organize its logistics and distribution strategy. The company previously relied on an ad hoc system for logistics, and would wait until a truckload of goods was ready before starting the loading process.

“If we know when items will be ready, we can take proactive steps to get them packed and loaded as soon as possible. We can calculate how many trucks we will need, how many materials handlers we will need, and how many forklift drivers. With our IBM solutions, we are achieving a much more efficient, systematic approach to distribution,” says George Sarabia.

He concludes: “At Channell we believe IT should be seen as an enabler of business growth, not a cost center. Our work with IBM and Draca is helping us to achieve this goal, and making our planning more accurate, fast and efficient.”

business logo

About Channell Commercial Corporation

Founded in 1922, Channell Commercial Corporation is a leading manufacturer of thermoplastic and metal enclosures for the fiber optic, telecommunications, broadband, water, power and utility industries. The company has 400 employees and operates from two manufacturing sites in the United States at Temecula, CA, and at Rockwall, TX, as well as from offices in the United Kingdom, Canada and Australia.

Take the next step

IBM Analytics offers one of the world's deepest and broadest analytics platform, domain and industry solutions that deliver new value to businesses, governments and individuals. For more information about how IBM Analytics helps to transform industries and professions with data, visit ibm.com/analytics. Follow us on Twitter at @IBMAnalytics, on our blog at ibmbigdatahub.com and join the conversation #IBMAnalytics.

Draca Solutions is an IBM Business Partner and technology consulting firm focused on helping organization achieve the theoretical benefits obtained through software investments. Draca offers solutions covering financial performance management, analytics and data platforms. Draca's customers span industries and company sizes. Headquartered in Dallas, TX, Draca Solutions has distributed teams in San Diego and Chicago.