Cerebos Australia
通过加快数据分析实现财务报告转型
朋友在咖啡馆非正式聚会,喝咖啡

如果为董事会或母公司生成报告需要数小时或数天,您的整个业务系统的效率会降至最低。Cerebos Australia 通过升级其核心 IBM® Db2® 数据库并采用 IBM BLU Acceleration® 将分析性能提高五倍,消除报告瓶颈。

业务挑战

随着业务的增长,Cerebos Australia 的业务关键型财务报告流程呈现压力迹象,需要数小时的手动调整才能达到可接受的性能。

变革

通过与 Datasync Consulting(链接位于 ibm.com 外部)合作,升级其核心数据库平台并实施 BLU Acceleration 技术,Cerebos 显著提升了分析性能。

结果 5 次
性能提升,在几秒钟内为业务用户提供洞察
10%
通过消除对索引管理的需求减少 DBA 工作负载
20%
数据仓库加载速度提升
业务挑战案例
加速财务分析

Cerebos Australia 拥有一些最知名的食品和咖啡品牌,是某大型商业帝国的重要组成部分。母公司 Cerebos Pacific 归日本全球食品和饮料集团三得利所有。

为确保其运营与集团层面的战略紧密结合,提供准确、及时的财务分析是重中之重。每个月,该公司都会从总账、应付账款、应收账款、库存管理、促销支出和需求计划系统中收集数据,并将其转化为一系列富有见地的报告,供集团层面使用。

Cerebos Australia 的技术服务经理 Mark Minard 解释说:“我们的业务依赖于 Oracle ERP 系统和 Infor 需求计划系统,我们的所有报告均通过 MicroStrategy 的分析系统完成。这些系统多年来一直表现良好,但随着我们业务的增长,我们开始注意到压力迹象。

“数据量增加,开始给我们所有的报告带来问题,尤其是,我们集团层面的报告受到了影响。每个月需要五天时间来生成顶级报告。我们花了一个月的时间重新设计这些报告,并在数据库中构建新的索引来调整性能,这产生了重大变化,但能够优化的只有这么多。我们仍然面临这样的问题:我们的系统需要 15 分钟才能生成报告,甚至完全超时。

“我们希望找到更好的解决方案,就在那时,我们的长期 IT 顾问 Datasync Consulting 建议我们采用配备 BLU Acceleration 的新版 IBM Db2。”

我们发现,通过 BLU Acceleration,我们的财务报告运行速度比以前快了五倍。 Mark Minard ‎Technology Services Manager Cerebos Australia
变革案例
数据分析的范式转变

最初,对于 BLU Acceleration 既可以显著提高查询速度,又可以免去 DBA 创建和管理索引以优化性能,Cerebos 的数据库管理员 (DBA) 团队表示怀疑。

“很多时候,数据库供应商所宣称的性能好得令人难以置信,”Mark Minard 说。“我们想确定 BLU Acceleration 并不是夸夸其谈,因此我们向 IBM 申请了演示许可并进行了一些严格的测试。结果确实令人印象深刻:从我们测试的第一份报告,我们看到性能实现飞跃,用时从 4 分 13 秒大幅减少至仅 47 秒。更重要的是,我们不需要对报表本身进行任何更改,也不需要在数据库中创建任何索引。它确实做到了。”

基于积极的试验,Cerebos 升级到 IBM Db2 v11.1,这将使 DBA 团队能够将 BLU Acceleration 功能投入生产。该团队与 Datasync Consulting 合作,将其整个总账(包含超过 9,000 万行数据)从传统的基于行的表结构转换为列式表,以运用 BLU Acceleration 的强大功能。

“从传统的关系数据库思维方式来看,BLU Acceleration 背后的理论一开始很难掌握,”Mark Minard 说。“但是,就实际安装软件、转换表格和运行查询而言,这非常简单。IBM 的文档非常好,Datasync Consulting 在帮助我们加快进度方面做得非常出色。”

Cerebos 秉承安全第一的策略,将新环境与其旧数据库架构并行运行一个月,以比较结果。

Mark Minard 评论道:“我们在生产中看到的结果与我们在概念验证过程中看到的结果相符,而且我们还发现了一些我们意想不到的改进。尽管加载列式表通常比加载基于行的表需要的时间稍长一些,但我们数据仓库的加载时间减少了 20%。这表明 BLU Acceleration 并不是 IBM 在过去几年中对 Db2 所做的唯一改进;只是简单地从 9.7 版升级到 11.1 版,我们就获得了更好的整体性能。”
 

BLU Acceleration 确实名副其实。我们很高兴 IBM 和 Datasync Consulting 为我们提供了迈出第一步所需的支持,并且我们期待看看新平台未来能够带我们走多远。 Mark Minard Technology Services Manager Cerebos Australia
案例成果
事半功倍

在谈到新解决方案的业务优势时,Mark Minard 评论道:“我们看到,使用 BLU Acceleration 后,我们的财务报告运行速度平均比以前快了五倍,而且我们不再发现任何错误或超时。这意味着,我们可靠地提供利益相关者所需的洞察,无论他们是我们业务内部还是集团层面的决策者。”

DBA 团队还在维护和管理方面节省了大量时间。“我们已经在生产中运行新平台五个多月了,运行一直很稳定,我们的计划外停机或其他意外问题为零,”Mark Minard 说。

“BLU Acceleration 也真正兑现了减少调整和优化需求的承诺,”他补充道。“我们过去需要花费大约 10% 的时间来创建索引并解决低效查询的问题,而这是我们无法承受的。现在,使用 BLU Acceleration 进行查询,根本不需要这么做。我们有 80 个总账报告和深入分析场景根本不需要任何优化。”

随着将公司财务报告数据集转移到列式表的项目取得成功,Cerebos 现在希望在其他分析领域也采用新的范式。

“我们计划在引入任何新的数据源时,立即将它们放入列式表中,”Mark Minard 说。“我们也在考虑用 BLU Acceleration 取代一些实时分析和财务规划解决方案。很多业务领域都能从中受益。例如,我们希望能够像目前的财务报告环境那样,以同样的速度和可靠性分析现有库存。”

他总结道:“与许多技术不同,BLU Acceleration 确实名副其实。我们很高兴 IBM 和 Datasync Consulting 为我们提供了迈出第一步所需的支持,并且我们渴望看到新平台未来能够带我们走多远。”

Cerebos 徽标
Cerebos Australia

Cerebos Australia(链接位于 ibm.com 外部)是澳大利亚和新西兰一些最知名的肉汁、酱汁、高汤和咖啡品牌的所有者,包括 Saxa、Gravox、Fountain、Toby's Estate、Foster Clark's、Mocopan 和 Asian Home Gourmet。其母公司 Cerebos Pacific 总部位于新加坡,由三得利集团全资拥有。

IBM Db2®

为全球各地的任务关键型工作负载而构建。

IBM Analytics 提供世界上最深入、最广泛的分析平台、领域和行业解决方案之一,为企业、政府和个人带来新价值。

欲了解有关 IBM Analytics 如何利用数据帮助行业和职业转型的更多信息,请访问 ibm.com/analytics。在 Twitter 上关注我们:@IBMAnalytics,关注我们的博客  ibm/blog ,并加入 #IBMAnalytics 对话。

查看更多案例 了解更多信息
法律

© Copyright IBM Corporation 2017. 1 New Orchard Road, Armonk, New York 10504-1722 United States.

美国出品,2017 年 6 月

IBM、IBM 徽标、ibm.com、BLU Acceleration 和 Db2 是 International Business Machines Corp. 在世界各地司法辖区的注册商标。其他产品和服务名称可能是 IBM 或其他公司的商标。以下网站上的“Copyright and trademark information”部分中包含了 IBM 商标的最新列表:ibm.com/trademark

本文档为自最初公布日期起的最新版本,IBM 可能随时对其进行更改。IBM 并不一定在开展业务的所有国家或地区提供所有产品或服务。文中引用的性能数据和客户实例仅作说明之用。实际性能结果可能因具体配置和操作条件而异。

本文档内的信息“按现状”提供,不附有任何种类的(无论是明示的还是默示的)保证,包括不附有关于适销性、适用于某种特定用途的任何保证以及非侵权的任何保证或条件。IBM 产品根据其提供时所依据的协议条款和条件获得保证。客户负责确保遵守适用的法律和法规。IBM 不提供任何法律咨询,也不声明或保证其服务或产品经确保客户遵循任何法律或法规。

Business challenge

As business grew, Cerebos Australia’s business-critical financial reporting processes were showing signs of stress, and achieving acceptable performance required hours of manual tuning.

Transformation

By working with Datasync Consulting to upgrade its core database platform and implement BLU Acceleration technology, Cerebos has lifted analytics performance significantly.

Results

5 times

faster performance, delivering insight to business users in seconds

10%

reduction in DBA workload by eliminating the need for index management

20%

acceleration in data warehouse loading speeds

Business challenge story

Accelerating financial analytics

The owner of some of the best-known food and coffee brands, Cerebos Australia is a key part of a larger business empire. The parent company Cerebos Pacific is owned by Suntory, the global Japanese food and beverage group.

To keep its operations closely aligned with group-level strategies, delivering accurate and timely financial analytics is a top priority. Each month, the company gathers data from its general ledger, accounts payable, accounts receivable, inventory management, promotional spend and demand planning systems, and turns them into a series of insightful reports to be used at the group level.

Mark Minard, ‎Technology Services Manager at Cerebos Australia, explains: “Our business relies on an Oracle ERP system and an Infor demand planning system, and all our reporting is completed through an analytics system from MicroStrategy. These systems had been performing well for years, but as our business grew, we started noticing signs of stress.

“Increased data volumes were starting to cause problems for all of our reports, but in particular, our group-level reporting suffered. It took five days each month to produce the top-level reports. We spent a month redesigning those reports and building new indexes in our database to tune performance, which made a big difference—but there’s only so much you can optimize. We still had a situation where our system was taking 15 minutes to generate a report, or even timing out altogether.

“We wanted to find a better solution, and that’s when our long-time IT advisor Datasync Consulting suggested looking at the new version of IBM Db2 with BLU Acceleration.”

We’re seeing our financial reports run five times faster with BLU Acceleration than they did before.

—Mark Minard,‎Technology Services Manager,Cerebos Australia

Transformation story

A paradigm shift in data analytics

Initially, Cerebos’ team of database administrators (DBA) was skeptical about the claim that BLU Acceleration could both dramatically increase query speeds and eliminate the need for DBAs to create and manage indexes to optimize performance.

“Many times, the claims that database vendors make about performance turn out to be too good to be true,” says Mark Minard. “We wanted to be sure that BLU Acceleration was more than just smoke and mirrors, so we asked IBM for a demo license and ran some rigorous tests. The results were truly impressive: for the first report we tested, we saw a leap in performance from 4 minutes 13 seconds down to just 47 seconds. Better still, we didn’t need to make any changes to the report itself, or create any indexes in the database. It just worked.”

Based on positive trials, Cerebos upgraded to IBM Db2 v11.1, which would allow the DBA team to put the BLU Acceleration capability into production. Working with Datasync Consulting, the team converted its entire general ledger—comprising over 90 million rows of data—from a traditional row-based table structure to column-oriented tables that unlock the power of BLU Acceleration.

“From a traditional relational database mindset, the theory behind BLU Acceleration is quite difficult to grasp at first,” says Mark Minard. “But in terms of actually installing the software, converting your tables and getting your queries running, it’s very straightforward. The documentation from IBM is very good, and Datasync Consulting did an excellent job of getting us up to speed.”

Taking a safety-first approach, Cerebos ran the new environment in parallel with its old database architecture for a month, to compare results.

Mark Minard comments: “The results we saw in production matched what we saw during the proof of concept—and we also saw some improvements that we hadn’t been expecting. Loading times for our data warehouse dropped by 20 percent, even though it typically takes slightly longer to load a columnar table than a row-based table. It shows that BLU Acceleration isn’t the only improvement that IBM has made to Db2 over the past few years; simply upgrading from version 9.7 to version 11.1 has given us better performance across the board.”

BLU Acceleration really lives up to the hype. We’re glad that IBM and Datasync Consulting gave us the support we needed to take the first step, and we’re eager to see how far the new platform can take us in the future.

—Mark Minard,Technology Services Manager,Cerebos Australia

Results story

Faster results with less effort

Speaking about the business benefits of the new solution, Mark Minard comments: “On average, we’re seeing our financial reports run five times faster with BLU Acceleration than they did before, and we’re no longer seeing any errors or time-outs. That means we can reliably deliver the insight that our stakeholders require, whether they are decision-makers within our business or at the group level.”

The DBA team is also making significant time-savings on maintenance and management. “We have been running the new platform in production for more than five months now, and it has been solid—we have had zero unplanned downtime or other unexpected problems,” says Mark Minard.

“BLU Acceleration genuinely delivers on the promise of reducing the need for tuning and optimization too,” he adds. “We used to spend about 10 percent of our time creating indexes and ironing out problems with inefficient queries—and it was time that we could ill afford. Now, for the queries that use BLU Acceleration, this effort has completely vanished. We have 80 general ledger reports and drill-down scenarios that haven’t required any optimization at all.”

With the success of the project to move the company’s financial reporting datasets over to column-based tables, Cerebos is now hoping to adopt the new paradigm for other areas of its analytics landscape too.

“When we introduce any new sources of data, we’re planning to put them into column-based tables straight away,” says Mark Minard. “And we’re considering replacing some of our real-time analytics and financial planning solutions with BLU Acceleration too. There are so many areas of the business that could benefit. For example, we would love to be able to analyze on-hand inventory with the same speed and reliability that we now have in our financial reporting environment.”

He concludes: “Unlike many technologies, BLU Acceleration really lives up to the hype. We’re glad that IBM and Datasync Consulting gave us the support we needed to take the first step, and we’re eager to see how far the new platform can take us in the future.”

business logo

About Cerebos Australia

Cerebos Australia is the owner of some of Australia and New Zealand’s best-known gravy, sauce, stock and coffee brands, including Saxa, Gravox, Fountain, Toby’s Estate, Foster Clark’s, Mocopan and Asian Home Gourmet. Its parent company, Cerebos Pacific, is based in Singapore, and is wholly owned by the Suntory group.

Solution components

  • DB2 with BLU Acceleration

Take the next step

IBM Analytics offers one of the world's deepest and broadest analytics platform, domain and industry solutions that deliver new value to businesses, governments and individuals. For more information about how IBM Analytics helps to transform industries and professions with data, visit ibm.com/analytics. Follow us on Twitter at @IBMAnalytics, on our blog at ibmbigdatahub.com and join the conversation #IBMAnalytics.

 

View more client stories or learn more about IBM Analytics