业务挑战

为了面向金融行业开发新的创新解决方案并推广到全球范围,Broadridge Financial Solutions, Inc. 决定通过私有云环境来支持其关键流程。

转型

Broadridge 与 IBM Services 合作,将其关键日常流程迁移到了基于 IBM iSeries 云技术专用私有实例的灵活且可扩展的平台。

结果

处理速度加快 20% 到 30%

以更少的时间完成每日批处理流程

迁移速度加快 80%

仅用 7 个周末就完成了迁移,而不是 9 到 12 个月

可扩展性

构建一个非常安全可靠且可按需扩展的平台

业务挑战故事

如果宕机后果难以想象

当一家企业每天的交易额达到 USD 6 万亿,那么就绝对不能宕机。

每天,在纽约证券交易所的所有交易中,有相当一部分是通过 Broadridge 的固定收益平台进行处理,该平台是一个基于股权的交易系统,全球 23 家最大的外汇交易商中有 18 家使用该系统。“这里就是华尔街,我们就是华尔街”,Broadridge 的 IT 副总裁 Scott Anderson 说道。“我们不能宕机。这就是 Broadridge 的运营理念。我们的系统对于市场有如此深刻的影响,以至于没有任何宕机的余地。”

Broadridge 在 Automatic Data Processing 将其 ADP Brokerage Services Group 剥离出来组建一家新公司时而成立。因此,该公司的遗留工作仍在处理当中,但随着金融世界的不断发展,Broadridge 希望通过更多的创新解决方案来满足市场需求。

首先,该公司希望实施现代方法,将其当前解决方案的安全性、可靠性和一致性带给全球市场。Broadridge 还希望提高可扩展性和管理能力,以便拓展其在欧洲、亚洲和拉丁美洲的业务。

其次,该公司希望开发新的创新解决方案,由其所谓的“创新 ABCD”驱动,A 代表 AI 和机器人技术;B 代表区块链解决方案;C 代表云计算;以及 D 代表数字化。“Broadridge 的下一步是真正利用这些 ABCD,证明这些新技术确实能够创造不同,使 Broadridge 获得差异性优势,并将帮助我们的客户脱颖而出”,Broadridge 的首席信息官 (CIO) Mark Schlesinger 指出。“从财务的角度来看,我们的目标是,到 2023 年实现营收翻番。

为了增加新的解决方案,Broadridge 需要进一步实现其核心基础架构的现代化,并时刻走在随行业交易量而波动的日常处理和存储需求的前面。“很多年前,技术一直是我们业务发展的阻碍因素,因为它往往需要构建、获取、保护和度量”,Anderson 说道。“但现在,我们需要把技术看作是客户现成可用的东西。这样,Broadridge 就能帮助客户战胜当前挑战,充分利用通信、技术、数据和分析方面的未来优势。”

“我们是一家营收达到 USD 40 亿的公司,但我们的模式所面对的市场是当前营收的许多倍。这就是我们尚且需要努力达到的目标。我希望我们能够独揽所有份额”,Anderson 说道。

从财务的角度来看,我们的目标是,到 2023 年实现营收翻番。

Mark Schlesinger, 首席信息官, Broadridge Financial Solutions, Inc.

转型故事

从打基础到最终启动

为了面向未来,Broadridge 决定将其固定收益平台迁移到更加灵活和动态的基础架构中。但由于这个架构如此庞大,而且还运行着需要持续可用的任务关键型应用,因此风险极高。

该公司的现有系统使用功能强大的服务器,这些服务器具有带内部磁盘的超标量对称多处理器。该架构旨在处理每个服务器中的数据,而不是跨共享资源处理数据。该公司希望迁移至具有灵活性和可扩展性的存储区域网络 (SAN) 以帮助创建私有云。这种转变意味着必须将所有数据和处理都迁移到新硬件上。“事实上,我们必须安装、启动和连接所有设备,并以混合形式进行迁移,这个工作量非常巨大”,Anderson 说道。“而且这一切必须在四个月内完成,同时避免造成宕机。”

Broadridge 选择 IBM Services 作为其合作伙伴,开发具有灵活的设计和坚如磐石的可靠性的全球解决方案。整个过程从评估当前状态开始,然后 IBM Services 建立一个基准中心,在此中心内,该团队在一个基于 IBM iSeries 云技术的专用实例的平台上加载 Broadridge 应用,并重新创建生产负载。这表明,新的可扩展架构将交付所需的性能。一经证实,该团队便设计并启动了项目,不仅可以构建新平台,还可以在构建期间演示该平台。新平台完成并经过验证后,IBM 和 Broadridge 开始将现有系统迁移到新的基础架构中。日程安排很激进,但为了确保服务不间断,该团队将迁移计划拆分为在七个周末进行。

迁移计划从未拖延过日程安排,也从未造成过宕机。

“我们已向客户告知了更改工作,但这些更改不会对他们产生影响。如此大规模的事件没有影响到任何一位客户,我们对此感到非常自豪”,Anderson 说道。

如此大规模的事件没有影响到任何一位客户,我们对此感到非常自豪。

Scott Anderson, IT 副总裁, Broadridge Financial Solutions, Inc.

结果故事

可靠的服务与创新的愿景

相比于自己设计基础架构,借助 IBM iSeries 云技术的私有实例,Broadridge 能够更快地迁移到私有云基础架构。IBM 已可以提供 Broadridge 所需的基础架构,因此该公司只需完成迁移,并利用现有的工具和合规性程序即可。

此外,IBM Services 还帮助设计了确保兼容性和稳定性的迁移计划。“如果我们已经开发了一种架构,需要先迁移磁盘,然后再在 IBM [iSeries] 私有云中设计,那么我们就不得不并行安装所有设备,并执行遗留系统的恢复操作”,Anderson 说道。“这需要耗费很多个周末来进行测试,具体时间要看数据库的大小。如果本来需要九个月到一年的时间,那么我们能够在七个周末内完成。”

新平台的处理能力增强,完成夜间批处理的速度比以前加快了 20% 到 30%。“即使我们遇到高峰日,处理器也能毫无挑战地从容应对”,Anderson 说道。

专用的 IBM iSeries 云平台帮助 Broadridge 交付了其中许多关键、大容量且面向客户的互动系统。新平台让 Broadridge 可以更快地为客户服务,它为公司带来了可扩展性,使其能够在世界各地向新客户拓展业务。“我们借助 IBM Services 的事实很受客户欢迎”,Anderson 说道。“他们可以了解到,我们正在借助一家商业级公司,一个与我们合作多年的合作伙伴,并且该公司在继续拓展为我们提供的服务。我们所拥有的这种关系,这种访问权限,全世界绝无仅有。这是我们致电时客户的回答。”

除了新的云平台,Broadridge 还在使用 Red Hat Enterprise Linux 软件为其客户以及客户的客户提供解决方案。“Red Hat 带来了一个易于管理、安全且便携的操作系统,不仅适用于我的私有云计划,而且还能为我们的公共云计划提供支持”,Schlesinger 说道。

现在,Broadridge 可以始终走在技术需求的前面,将更多的注意力转移到创新新的解决方案上。“我们大大减少了浪费在担心可扩展性和可靠性上的时间,更专注于与业务团队合作,提供更多增强的业务解决方案”,Schlesinger 指出。IBM Services 也是创新方面的合作伙伴。

“他们不仅提供坚如磐石的全天候服务,而且还为我们的业务带来了前瞻性的知识资本,帮助我们进一步交付创新解决方案”,Schlesinger 说道。

他补充道:“金融行业在不断变化,Broadridge 在不断交付创新解决方案,而 IBM Services 当然也在一直帮助我们实现转型。”

金融行业在不断变化,Broadridge 在不断交付创新解决方案,而 IBM Services 当然也在一直帮助我们实现转型。

Mark Schlesinger, 首席信息官, Broadridge Financial Services, Inc.

Broadridge 徽标

Broadridge Financial Solutions, Inc.

Broadridge(外部链接) 是向银行、经纪交易商、资产和财富管理公司和公司发行人提供投资者沟通和技术驱动型解决方案的领先提供商。Broadridge 拥有超过 50 年的行业经验,并且成为独立上市公司已超过 10 年,提供了支撑金融服务行业的重要基础架构。Broadridge 在 18 个国家或地区拥有超过 11000 名全职员工。

采取下一步行动

要了解有关本故事中的 IBM 解决方案的更多信息,请联系 IBM 代表或 IBM 业务合作伙伴,或访问以下 Web 站点:

Business challenge

To develop innovative new solutions for the financial industry and to scale globally, Broadridge Financial Solutions, Inc. decided to shore up its critical processes in a private cloud environment.

Transformation

Broadridge worked with IBM Services to shift its critical daily processes to a flexible and scalable platform based on a dedicated private instance of IBM iSeries cloud technology.

Results

20 – 30% faster processing

completing daily batch processes in less time

80% faster migration

finishing the migration in 7 weekends versus 9 – 12 months

Scalability

building a solid, security-rich platform that can scale on demand

Business challenge story

When downtime is unthinkable

When a business settles USD 6 trillion a day in transactions, downtime is not an option.

Every day, a significant percentage of all trades on New York stock exchanges process through Broadridge’s Fixed Income Platform, an equity-based transaction system used by 18 of the 23 largest exchange dealers. “This is Wall Street. We are Wall Street,” says Scott Anderson, Vice President (VP) of IT at Broadridge. “We cannot have an outage. That’s the way we operate at Broadridge. Our systems have such a deep effect on the market that there is no room for outages.”

Broadridge launched when Automatic Data Processing spun off its ADP Brokerage Services Group to form a new company. So, the company’s legacy is in processing, but as the financial world continued to evolve, Broadridge wanted to meet the markets with additional innovative solutions.

First, the company wanted to implement modern ways to provide the security, reliability and consistency of its current solutions for a global market. Broadridge also wanted better scalability and management to grow its business in Europe, Asia and Latin America.

Then, the company wanted to develop new, innovative solutions that were driven by what it calls the “ABCDs of innovation,” with A standing for AI and robotics; B for blockchain solutions; C for the cloud; and D for digital. “What’s next for Broadridge is really taking those ABCDs and proving that these newer technologies really do make a difference, will differentiate Broadridge, and will help our clients differentiate themselves,” says Mark Schlesinger, Chief Information Officer (CIO) at Broadridge. “From a financial standpoint, our goal is to double revenue by 2023.”

To grow new solutions, Broadridge needed to further modernize its core infrastructure and get ahead of daily processing and storage demands that fluctuate with industry trading volume. “Technology many years ago used to be such an inhibitor to our business because it was always something that needed to be built, acquired, secured and measured,” Anderson says. “But we need to think of technology as something that’s already available for our clients. That way, Broadridge really helps clients get ahead of today’s challenges to capitalize on what’s next with communications, technology, data and analytics.”

“We’re a USD 4 billion revenue company, but the market for our model is many multiples of our current revenue. That’s how much we haven’t built up yet. And I expect us to get all of that,” Anderson says.

From a financial standpoint, our goal is to double revenue by 2023.

Mark Schlesinger, Chief Information Officer, Broadridge Financial Solutions, Inc.

Transformation story

From foundation to launchpad

To position itself for the future, Broadridge decided to move its Fixed Income Platform to a more flexible and dynamic infrastructure. But with such a large architecture running mission-critical applications that needed to be continually available, the stakes were high.

The company’s existing system used powerful servers that had superscalar symmetric multiprocessors with internal disks. The architecture was designed to process data within each server, rather than across shared resources. The company wanted to move to the flexibility and scalability of a storage area network (SAN) that would help create a private cloud. This shift meant that all data and processing had to be migrated to new hardware. “The fact that we had to install it all, light it all up, connect it all and migrate in a hybrid format, that was enormous,” Anderson says. “And all that had to happen in four months, with no downtime.”

Broadridge selected IBM Services as its partner to develop a global solution with a flexible design and rock-solid reliability. The process began with an evaluation of the current state, and IBM Services then established a benchmark center where the team loaded Broadridge applications and recreated production loads on a platform based on a dedicated instance of IBM iSeries cloud technology. This demonstrated that the new scalable architecture would deliver the required performance. Once that was proven, the team designed and launched the project to not only build the new platform, but also demonstrate the platform during the build. When the platform was completed and validated, IBM and Broadridge began moving the existing systems to the new infrastructure. The schedule was aggressive but, to help ensure uninterrupted service, the team split the move over seven weekends.

And the migration never slipped its schedule, and never had a moment of downtime.

“Customers were informed about our changes, but those changes did not impact them. Something of this magnitude did not impact  a single customer, and we’re really proud of that,” Anderson says.

Something of this magnitude did not impact a single customer, and we’re really proud of that.

Scott Anderson, VP of IT, Broadridge Financial Solutions, Inc.

Results story

Reliable service with innovative vision

With the private instance of IBM iSeries cloud technology, Broadridge was able to move to a private cloud infrastructure much quicker than if it had designed an infrastructure on its own. IBM already had the infrastructure that Broadridge needed, so the company just had to complete the migration and take advantage of the tools and compliance procedures that were in place.

Plus, IBM Services helped to design a migration that ensured compatibility and stability. “If we had developed an architecture to move the disk first and then design in the IBM [iSeries] private cloud, we would have had to install all of this equipment side by side and do legacy restores,” Anderson says. “That would have to be tested for many weekends, because of the size of the databases. We were able to get this done in seven weekends when it could have taken nine months to a year.”

The new platform’s processing power is completing overnight batch processes 20 – 30 percent faster than before. “Even if we do have a high peak day, the processor is able to handle it without a challenge,” Anderson says.

The private IBM iSeries cloud platform helps Broadridge deliver many of its critical, high-volume and client-facing systems of engagement. The new platform lets Broadridge onboard customers much more quickly, and it gives the company scalability to expand its business to new customers around the world. “Customers love the fact that we’re using IBM Services,” Anderson says. “They can understand that we’re using a commercial-grade company, a partner who’s in it for years with us and is continuing to expand their services with us. That relationship, the access we have, it’s second to none. When we call, they answer.”

In addition to the new cloud platform, Broadridge is also using Red Hat Enterprise Linux software to deliver solutions to its clients, as well as to its clients’ customers. “Red Hat brings a manageable, secure and portable operating system that both services my private, as well as our public cloud initiatives,” says Schlesinger.

Now, Broadridge can get out in front of technology demands and shift more attention to innovating new solutions. “We spend a lot less time around worrying about the scale and the reliability and we’re more focused on working with our business teams in delivering enhanced business solutions,” Schlesinger says. IBM Services is a partner in innovation, as well.

“Not only are they providing the rock-solid, day-in and day-out services, but they’re also bringing the forward-thinking, intellectual capital to our business and helping us further deliver innovative solutions,” Schlesinger says.

He adds, “The industry is constantly changing, Broadridge is constantly delivering innovative solutions, and IBM Services is certainly helping us in the transformation.”

The industry is constantly changing, Broadridge is constantly delivering innovative solutions, and IBM Services is certainly helping us in the transformation.

Mark Schlesinger, Chief Information Officer, Broadridge Financial Services, Inc.

Broadridge Logo

About Broadridge Financial Solutions, Inc.

Broadridge (external link) is a leading provider of investor communications and technology-driven solutions to banks, broker-dealers, asset and wealth managers and corporate issuers. With over 50 years of experience, including more than 10 years as an independent public company, Broadridge provides an important infrastructure that powers the financial services industry. Broadridge employs over 11,000 full-time associates in 18 countries.

Take the next step

To learn more about the IBM solutions featured in this story, please contact your IBM representative or IBM Business Partner, or visit the following websites: