企业是否有可能加快数字化转型,并在这一过程中变得更加可持续?

BlueIT 的使命是通过其 IT 外包服务实现这两个目标。“作为一家共益公司,我们致力于帮助客户实施一项 IT 战略,该战略不仅能确保业绩,还能支持他们的可持续发展目标,并使他们走上碳减排之路”,BlueIT 首席创新官 Francesco Sartini 这样解释道。目前,BlueIT 为 35 个不同的客户提供直接的 IT 外包服务。其服务与行业无关,目前的客户群包括制造、科技、金融服务、娱乐、零售以及食品和饮料等领域的组织。

BlueIT 目前的一项主要任务就是从传统的 ITOP 转变为 AIOps。“对于我们的组织和客户而言,采用 AIOps 不仅是一个技术项目,还是组织范式的一种转变”,Sartini 这样指出。这一转变的关键在于,BlueIT 能够向客户提供从应用层到基础架构的整个 IT 环境的全面视图,以及能够帮助客户主动重新分配资源以减少浪费并提高应用性能。这就是 BlueIT 使用 IBM® Turbonomic® Application Resource Management (ARM) 和 IBM Instana® Observability 解决方案的原因。

执行资源分配决策的速度加快了

60%

速度更快了

对于一个客户,BlueIT 达成了

10%

的内存和 CPU 过度分配减少

整个组织减少了

50%

的 MTTR

可观察性 + 资源优化

Sartini 及其团队提供的服务覆盖以下三大重点领域:ITIL 服务、认知服务和商业服务。其服务包括但不限于多云管理、应用性能管理、持续的漏洞与合规监控以及应用资源管理。其典型客户拥有 100 到 500 台服务器,他们负责维护本地环境、Azure 和 Amazon Web Services (AWS) 环境以及混合云环境。BlueIT 团队还管理着 50 个 SAP 环境。“如今,在引入新客户时,我们首先会部署 Turbonomic,然后再采用 Instana 来确保客户关键发布期间的应用性能”,Sartini 解释道。

鉴于其客户环境的异质性,至关重要的是,Sartini 及其团队应具备必要的工具来高效地引入每个新客户,并持续优化应用性能。易于部署和价值实现时间是关键。“我们发现 Turbonomic 和 Instana 的初始设置简单而直接”,Sartini 指出。在一天之中,便可以部署这两种工具,并开始主动识别调整机会。Instana 只有一个代理,几分钟内即可安装完毕,而 Turbonomic 在几小时内就可以安装完成。“引入新客户时,我们现在只需点击几下,就可以向他们展示 Turbonomic 和 Instana 如何在他们各自的环境中运行”,Sartini 解释道。Turbonomic 提供了 AI 驱动的应用资源管理,而 Instana 则提供了基础架构监控和可观察性。“每个工具都有一个详尽的仪表板,易于浏览,并且可立即提供可行洞察”,Sartini 指出。

透过服务器机架展现的数据中心内工作的男性 IT 专业人员的中景镜头

在开始采用 AIOps 之前,BlueIT 团队依靠各种不同的监控工具和人工干预来优化客户的环境。而如今,他们拥有了全栈视图和 AI 驱动的自动化功能,这可以帮助他们及早识别资源拥塞,避免影响最终用户体验。“我认为 AI 方法的全部优势就在于,这些工具 [Turbonomic 和 Instana] 主动向我们展示了哪些地方可能存在问题,并提出资源分配建议,以便改进资源规模并确保性能”,Sartini 这样指出。

通过采用这种新方法并减少对人工干预的依赖,该团队已能够抽出时间来帮助每个客户加快数字化转型,并实现可持续发展目标。“IT 的可持续性范式取决于组织适当平衡资源分配和最终用户体验的能力。在我看来,实施 Turbonomic 和 Instana 无疑是在不牺牲性能的情况下适当调整基础架构规模和减少碳足迹的最佳方式”,Sartini 这样认为。

扩展性能和可持续性

自转变为 AIOps 之后,BlueIT 在性能和资源分配方面有了很大的改进。例如,在 Turbonomic 和 Instana 的帮助下,BlueIT 团队将平均恢复时间 (MTTR) 减少了 50%,实施资源调配行动所需时间减少了 60%。此外,他们还减少了客户环境中的浪费现象。对于一个客户,在执行 Turbonomic 的 AI 驱动的资源分配建议后,BlueIT 将内存和 CPU 过度分配情况减少了 10%。提高客户现有基础架构的利用率,消除任何未使用的资源,是他们帮助客户减少碳排放过程中重要的一步。

随着一切向前推进,BlueIT 团队的目标从 Turbonomic 提出资源分配建议转变为自动化的资源分配行动,他们希望提高其客户对 Instana 的采用率。最后,他们计划实施 IBM Cloud Pak® for Watson AIOps。“探索 IBM Cloud Pak for Watson AIOps 如何在事件关联方面为我们提供支持,让我们感到很兴奋。我们希望组织中的每个人都拥有相同级别的信息,并且能够在出现紧急情况时使用相同的协作工具。ChatOps 将非常有助于我们采用基于 AI 的根本原因方法”,Sartini 解释道。

BlueIT 徽标

关于 BlueIT

BlueIT(链接位于 ibm.com 外部)是一家总部位于意大利的 IT 服务提供商和共益公司,其使命是通过数字解决方案、网络安全服务和认知管理服务,安全地加速客户的数字化转型之旅。

解决方案组件

IBM® Instana® Observability
IBM Turbonomic® ARM

© Copyright IBM Corporation 2022. IBM Corporation, New Orchard Road, Armonk, NY 10504

美国出品,2022 年 11 月。

IBM、IBM 徽标、ibm.com、Instana 和 Instana 是 International Business Machines Corp. 在全球许多管辖区域注册的商标。其他产品和服务可能是 IBM 或其他公司的商标。以下 Web 站点上的"Copyright and trademark information"部分中包含了 IBM 商标的最新列表:www.ibm.com/legal/copytrade.shtml

本文档为自最初公布日期起的最新版本,IBM 可随时对其进行修改。IBM 并不一定在开展业务的所有国家或地区提供所有这些产品或服务。

引用的性能数据和客户示例仅用于演示目的。实际性能结果可能因具体配置和运行条件而异。本文档中的信息“按现状”提供,不附有任何种类的(无论是明示的还是默示的)保证,不包含任何有关适销、适用于某种特定用途的保证以及有关非侵权的任何保证或条件。IBM 产品是根据产品提供时所依据的协议条款和条件提供保证的。

Is it possible for a business to accelerate its digital transformation and become more sustainable along the way?

BlueIT is on a mission to achieve these two objectives through its IT outsourcing services. “Being a benefit company, we are committed to helping our clients implement an IT strategy that not only assures performance but also supports their sustainability goals and puts them on a path to reducing carbon emissions,” explains Francesco Sartini, Chief Innovation Officer at BlueIT. Presently, BlueIT provides direct IT outsourcing for 35 different clients. Its services are industry-agnostic, and its current client base includes organizations in manufacturing, technology, financial services, entertainment, retail, as well as food and beverage.

A major priority for BlueIT right now is its shift from traditional ITOps to AIOps. “For our organization and our clients, the adoption of AIOps is not just a technological project. It is an organizational paradigm shift,” notes Sartini. Key to this transition is BlueIT’s ability to offer clients a comprehensive view of their entire IT environment from the application layer down to the infrastructure, and its ability to help clients proactively reallocate resources to reduce waste and improve application performance. This is why BlueIT uses the IBM® Turbonomic® Application Resource Management (ARM) and IBM Instana® Observability solutions.

Executes resourcing decisions

60%

faster

For one client, BlueIT achieved

10%

reduction in memory and CPU over-allocation

Reduced MTTR

50%

across the organization

Observability + resource optimization

Sartini and his team provide services that fall under three main areas of focus: ITIL Services, Cognitive Services and Business Services. Their services include but are not limited to multicloud management, application performance management, continuous vulnerability and compliance monitoring as well as application resource management. Their typical clients have between 100 and 500 servers, and they maintain environments that are on-premises, in Azure and Amazon Web Services (AWS), and on hybrid cloud. BlueIT’s team also manages 50 SAP landscapes. “Today, when onboarding a new client, we start by deploying Turbonomic and we turn to Instana to assure application performance during clients’ critical releases,” explains Sartini.

Given the heterogeneity of their clients’ environments, it is critical that Sartini and his team have the tools they need to onboard each new client efficiently and continuously optimize application performance moving forward. Ease of deployment and time to value are key. “We have found that the initial setup of Turbonomic and Instana is simple and immediate,” notes Sartini. In the course of a single day, both tools can be deployed and start proactively identifying resizing opportunities. Instana has a single agent that can be installed in a matter of minutes, while Turbonomic can be installed in a matter of hours. “When onboarding a new customer, we can now show them in just a few clicks how Turbonomic and Instana can work in their own environment,” explains Sartini. Turbonomic provides AI-powered application resource management, while Instana provides infrastructure monitoring and observability. “Each tool has an exhaustive dashboard that is easy to navigate and provides actionable insight right away,” notes Sartini.

Medium shot looking through server rack of male IT professional working in data center

Before they began adopting AIOps, the BlueIT team relied on disparate monitoring tools and manual intervention to optimize their clients’ environments. Now, they have a full-stack view and AI-powered automation helping them identify resource congestion before the end-user experience is impacted. “The place I see all the power of the AI approach is in the fact that these tools [Turbonomic and Instana] proactively show us where potential problems are and they recommend resourcing actions to improve the sizing of the resources and assure performance,” notes Sartini.

By adopting this new approach and reducing their reliance on manual intervention, the team has freed up time for helping each client accelerate digital transformation and meet sustainability goals. “The sustainability paradigm in IT rests on an organization’s ability to achieve the right balance between resource allocation and end-user experience. In my opinion, implementing Turbonomic and Instana is without a doubt the best way to right-size your infrastructure and reduce your carbon footprint without sacrificing performance,” argues Sartini.

Scaling performance and sustainability

Since shifting to AIOps, BlueIT has seen strong improvements in performance and resource allocation. For example, with the help of Turbonomic and Instana, the BlueIT team has achieved a 50% reduction in mean time to recovery (MTTR) and a 60% reduction in the time required to implement a resourcing action. Furthermore, they have reduced waste across their clients’ environments. For one client, BlueIT achieved a 10% reduction in memory and CPU over-allocation after executing Turbonomic’s AI-powered resourcing recommendations. Increasing the utilization of their clients’ existing infrastructure, and eliminating any unutilized resources, is an important step in their journey to help clients reduce carbon emissions.

As they move forward, the BlueIT team is aiming to shift from Turbonomic’s resourcing recommendations to its automated resourcing actions, and they are looking to increase their clients’ adoption of Instana. Finally, they are planning to implement IBM Cloud Pak® for Watson AIOps. “We are excited to explore how IBM Cloud Pak for Watson AIOps can support us in Event Correlation. We want everyone across the organization to have the same level of information and use the same collaboration tool whenever there is a critical situation. ChatOps will be very instrumental in helping us adopt an AI-based Root Cause approach,” explains Sartini.

BlueIT logo

About BlueIT

BlueIT (link resides outside of ibm.com) is an IT services provider and benefit company headquartered in Italy that is on a mission is to safely accelerate its clients’ digital transformation journeys through its digital solutions, cybersecurity services and cognitive managed services.



Solution components

IBM® Instana® Observability
IBM Turbonomic® ARM

© Copyright IBM Corporation 2022. IBM Corporation,  New Orchard Road, Armonk, NY 10504

Produced in the United States of America, November 2022.

IBM, the IBM logo, ibm.com, Instana, and Turbonomic are trademarks of International Business Machines Corp., registered in many jurisdictions worldwide. Other product and service names might be trademarks of IBM or other companies. A current list of IBM trademarks is available on the web at “Copyright and trademark information” at www.ibm.com/legal/copytrade.shtml.

This document is current as of the initial date of publication and may be changed by IBM at any time. Not all offerings are available in every country in which IBM operates.

The performance data and client examples cited are presented for illustrative purposes only. Actual performance results may vary depending on specific configurations and operating conditions. THE INFORMATION IN THIS DOCUMENT IS PROVIDED “AS IS” WITHOUT ANY WARRANTY, EXPRESS OR IMPLIED, INCLUDING WITHOUT ANY WARRANTIES OF MERCHANTABILITY, FITNESS FOR A PARTICULAR PURPOSE AND ANY WARRANTY OR CONDITION OF NON-INFRINGEMENT. IBM products are warranted according to the terms and conditions of the agreements under which they are provided.