当 Ranjan Sharma 乘坐出租车从印度班加罗尔的机场飞驰而去时,他的大脑也在竞相解开一个谜语。 Bestseller India 是印度增长速度最快的时尚零售商,而 Ranjan Sharma 担任首席信息官和供应链主管,为什么他的顶级品牌的销售放缓?

那是 2019 年夏天,Bestseller India 的整体表现令人印象深刻。 自 11 年前成立以来,该公司以平均每年 50% 以上的速度增长。 在遍布印度各地的 1,500 多家商店中,顾客纷纷抢购 Jack & Jones、Only、Selected 和 Vero Moda 等流行服装品牌。

但随后,Bestseller India 最畅销的 Only 品牌,专为蓬勃发展的青年市场而设计,遇到了逆风。“就是突然下降,我们搞不清楚出了什么问题”,Sharma 说。“我们很困惑,不得不找出为什么会下降”。

Sharma 和他的团队从孟买前往印度 IT 之都班加罗尔寻求答案。“我们正在寻找一个合作伙伴”,Sharma 说,“他不仅可以引进新技术,而且对时尚领域了如指掌”。

尽管有技术,但要了解印度的时尚产业却是出了名的困难。 印度拥有近 14 亿人口,包含数百种方言、宗教和种族群体。 消费者偏好在不同城镇之间大相径庭。 即使是最优秀和最有经验的产品规划师和时尚采购员,也要以这种规模跟踪微细分市场。

Bestseller India 是 Bestseller 的子公司,Bestseller 是一家总部位于丹麦的全球零售商,是“快时尚”领域的领导者,快时尚是一种动态的商业模式,可以在几天或几周内将时尚服装从 T 台上移到货架上。 当快时尚流行起来时,新鲜的服装设计很快会被消费者抢购一空。 但是,如果新设计错过了消费者,库存产品就会被降价,其中一些最终会进入垃圾填埋场。 事实上,对于整个全球时尚产业来说,生产出来的服装中有 20% 最终会卖不出去。

服装制造业也是原材料、水和能源的主要消耗者。 例如,生产一件棉质 T 恤最多需要 4 升水。 通过将消费者需求与设计和生产更紧密地结合起来,时装业可以提高利润,同时也支持环境可持续性。

从历史上看,大多数时尚零售商倾向于依靠过去的经验和“直觉”来决定生产设计样式、生产数量以及销售地。 但印度市场的多样性和活力揭示了直觉策略的局限性,尤其是当 Bestseller India 仔细研究为什么其畅销品牌表现不如预期时。

当 Sharma 参加在班加罗尔的下一次会议时,他知道他需要为他的设计师和买家提供技术优势,以制定更好的预测并在正确的时间交付正确的产品。 当他最终与 IBM 研究实验室的专家坐下来详谈时,他直截了当地说:“IBM 能否通过从数据中引入 AI 洞察力来帮助我们解决这些问题?”

AI 驱动的时尚规划和预测工具

第一次

用于印度时装行业

AI 解决方案现在扩展到超过

3

个品牌

创新的经纬

Sharma 和他的 Bestseller India 团队确信 IBM 提供了 IT 经验和零售行业敏锐度的正确组合,很快扩大了他们所寻找的范围。 除了扭转 Only 品牌的销售额外,Sharma 还发现了通过利用 AI 驱动的决策的竞争优势来转变业务流程的机会。

Bestseller India 为其最初与 IBM Consulting™ 合作的 IBM® Cognitive Enterprise 创新项目设定了一个非常雄心勃勃的目标: 开发具有 AI 功能的全新定制平台,以支持旺季来临前的设计、规划、生产和预测,本质上是通过赋予员工技术能力来实现流程现代化。Bestseller India 商业解决方案主管 Sameer Ambalkar 说:“这对我们来说是一个巨大的变化,计划团队从依靠直觉转变为我们想要实施的 AI 传递信息”。

显示 Bestseller 技术的笔记本电脑

为了支持公司和员工发生如此巨大的变化,Bestseller India 渴望与能够引入创新实践和新工作方式的专家合作。 因此,该公司选择采用 IBM Garage™,这是一个经过验证的开发框架,集成了人员、流程和技术来改变业务和文化。 在 IBM Garage Enterprise Design Thinking ™研讨会期间,IBM 和 Bestseller India 专家制定了共同创造路线图,首先研究用户如何与技术交互。

“合作从一开始就从设计师、采购员、买家、品牌负责人和 IT 专业人士那里获得意见——这些团队实际上会使用这个工具”,Bestseller India 的业务转型经理 Zian Lakdawalla 说。“有为设计师和买家创建的角色,所有这些想法都促成了项目的发展”。

IBM Watson® AI 工具用于帮助预测新产品的最佳产品、确定每个商店的正确产品组合并提高供应链的效率。“IBM Garage 是一个用起来很棒的模型”,Sharma 还指出,“这个模型跨越了技术和领域,可提供更好的解决方案并利用现成的技术”。

该项目专注于为关键业务流程创建智能工作流程,使员工能够更智能地工作并更有效地利用他们的时间,并通过人工智能驱动的工具访问实时数据和洞察力。“当 IBM 表示我们需要将技术引入设计过程时,这是一个令人赞叹的时刻,”Bestseller India 的唯一品牌产品经理 Mukta Srivastava 说。“现在,设计师能够把更多时间花在更高价值的工作上,而不是用来管理文件和数据”。

印度经济的巨大规模和各个市场之间的巨大差异对开发团队来说是一个巨大的挑战,但可以在 IBM Garage 框架内解决这一挑战。“我们的需求因地区而异,而了解这一点对我们来说非常关键”,Lakdawalla 还指出:“我们想看看这个工具在预测更好的销售率方面有多优秀,了解真正的趋势,从而最大限度地利用我们的投资”。

为了支持软件开发,Bestseller India 选择了 IBM Cloud® Kubernetes Service,这是一种托管平台即服务 (PaaS) 产品,满足了 Bestseller India 对最大可用性和灵活性的要求。

经过数月的工作和迭代,Bestseller India-IBM Garage 团队为这个名为 Fabric.ai 的平台集思广益,提出了 61 个独特的概念,该平台成为印度时装业的第一个人工智能工具。

成功的模式

Fabric.ai 的第一个版本包括一套全面的七个核心 AI 模块,以及针对设计师、买家和商家的六个专用工具。 无论用户是访问前几季的数据还是更新数据以供将来使用,Fabric.ai 都能立即对产品的表现进行认知分析。

以易于使用的视觉格式显示销售和产品信息的界面进一步增强了用户体验。 根据最初的设计介绍,Fabric.ai 最初专注于 Only 品牌的服装系列,但该平台具有可扩展性以在未来处理 Jack & Jones、Vero Moda 和其他品牌。

“该平台对时尚方面有着深刻理解并且健壮性很强,有助于以更可预测和更容易的格式引入数据,供所有用户参与”,Ambalkar 说。“该模型是这一平台的核心,而正是 IBM 帮助实现了这一目标”。

田间劳作的印度农民

设计师很喜欢使用视觉相似性工具将新产品与前几季产品进行比较的功能。“Fabric.ai 将帮助我们以图片形式深入了解相关信息,这对于设计师来说比查看电子表格更容易使用”,Srivastava 说。“他们可以更轻松地交付更接近客户需求的产品,并且只需点一下按钮即可获得绩效历史信息”。

Fabric.ai 还可以更好地了解特定产品在零售店层面的销售业绩。“商店视图选项将帮助我们为每家商店找到合适的分类,以帮助采购和销售团队”,Lakdawalla 说。“除了帮助预测哪些产品将在下一季取得成功外,该工具还将帮助我们专注于供应链,优先考虑当前产品的销售,并帮助确保库存不会堆积”。

由于 COVID-19 大流行导致许多商店关闭,并且零售行业的大部分部门被搁置,Fabric.ai 的实施将在恢复正常商业状况时提供一个良好的开端。“在某些时候,我们不得不开始使用 AI 技术并利用它来开发性能更好的产品系列”,Srivastava 说。“与 IBM 合作,这是一段伟大的旅程,让我们的交付方式以及产品系列与我们的客户之间的表现方面与之前有天壤之别”。

未来的架构

2019 年,Bestseller 推出了“Fashion FWD”,这是一项旨在推动可持续时尚发展的长期企业计划。 该战略基于这样一种信念,即可持续性是持续业务成功的先决条件。

可持续性始于设计阶段,数字设计过程可以在创意过程开始时最大限度地减少浪费。 借助为设计师优化的 Fabric.ai,Bestseller India 拥有了一个数字平台,可以帮助在价值链的前期为更可持续的材料选择提供信息。

此外,针对如何生产具有更精简环境足迹的服装,Fabric.ai 为产品规划师提供数据驱动的观点。

Bestseller India 部署 Fabric.AI 恰逢印度另一个与“从作物到商店”可持续性相关的重要时尚前卫供应链计划。 2020 年 8 月,Bestseller 与印度 2,000 名有机棉农签署协议,采购 1,500 吨不使用化学农药和化肥种植的有机棉。 这足够生产 300 万件 T 恤的棉花。

与世界上许多国家一样,印度受到新冠疾病的重创,新冠大流行扰乱了 Bestseller India 为其客户提供服务的零售市场。 然而,即使在新冠大流行期间许多 Bestseller India 员工都在远程工作,Fabric.ai 的开发仍在继续,因为 IBM 的基于云的 Garage Methodology 支持虚拟开发和协作。

“我们将继续提供团队所需的支持”,Lakdawalla 说。“随着时间的推移,它只会不断增加。 推进这一进程,我认为这将是最大的游戏规则改变者”。

“鉴于目前的情况,这不仅是一种需求,而且是今天的必备品”,Sharma 说。“商店和仓库正在发生变化。 我们将如何创造新的商业模式来解决当前和未来的问题并重塑我们的业务? 这些是我们将继续与 IBM 合作的问题”。

Bestseller 徽标

关于 Bestseller India

总部位于孟买的 Bestseller India (链接位于 ibm.com 外部 ) 运营 250 家专营店,并通过超过 1500 家外部商店销售其品牌产品。 该公司在印度拥有 3,500 多名员工,是总部位于丹麦的 Bestseller 母公司的一部分。 私人拥有的 Bestseller 成立于 1975 年,通过 2,800 多家连锁店和 12,000 家外部多品牌店,在全球 70 个市场开展业务。

解决方案组件

IBM® AI Consulting Services
IBM Business Process Services - 智能工作流程
IBM Cloud® Kubernetes Service
IBM Cognitive Enterprise
IBM Garage™
IBM Consulting™
IBM Watson®

法律条款

© Copyright IBM Corporation 2020. IBM Corporation, IBM Consulting, New Orchard Road, Armonk, NY 10504

美国出品,2020 年 12 月。

IBM, IBM 徽标、ibm.com、Enterprise Design Thinking、IBM Cloud、IBM Consulting、IBM Garage 和 IBM Watson 是 International Business Machines Corp. 在全球许多管辖区域注册的商标。 其他产品和服务可能是 IBM 或其他公司的商标。Web 站点 www.ibm.com/legal/copytrade 上提供了 IBM 商标的最新列表。

本文档为自最初公布日期起的最新版本,IBM 可随时对其进行修改。IBM 并不一定在开展业务的所有国家或地区提供所有这些产品或服务。

引用的性能数据和客户示例仅用于演示目的。实际性能结果可能因具体配置和运行条件而异。本文档中的信息“按现状”提供,不附有任何种类的(无论是明示的还是默示的)保证,不包含任何有关适销、适用于某种特定用途的保证以及有关非侵权的任何保证或条件。IBM 产品是根据产品提供时所依据的协议条款和条件提供保证的。

In India, fashioning the future with AI

Bestseller India works smarter with an intelligent IBM solution
by Michael Tucker
10-minute read

While his taxi sped away from the airport in Bangalore, India, Ranjan Sharma’s mind was also racing to solve a riddle. Bestseller India, where he serves as CIO and Head of Supply Chain, was the fastest growing fashion retailer in the country — so why were the sales of his top label slowing down?

It was the summer of 2019 and the overall performance of Bestseller India was impressive. Ever since launching 11 years ago, the company grew at an average rate of over 50% a year. At more than 1,500 stores across India, customers snapped up popular clothing brands such as Jack & Jones, Only, Selected and Vero Moda.

But then, Bestseller India’s top-selling Only brand, designed for the burgeoning youth market, encountered headwinds. “Only had suddenly gone down and there was nothing that we could figure out in terms of what went wrong,” says Sharma. “We were puzzled and had to find out why it was going down.”

Sharma and his team traveled from Mumbai to Bangalore, India’s IT capital, for answers. “We were looking for a partner,” Sharma says, “who could not only bring in the new technologies, but also understood the fashion space well.”

Technology notwithstanding, understanding the fashion industry in India is notoriously difficult. Within its population of almost 1.4 billion people, India encompasses hundreds of dialects, religions and ethnic groups. Consumer preferences change markedly from town to town. Tracking micro-segmented markets at this scale challenges even the best and most experienced product planners and fashion merchandisers.

AI powered fashion planning and forecasting tool

1st

in Indian fashion industry

AI Solution now being extended to

3

more brands

Bestseller India is a subsidiary of Bestseller, a worldwide retailer based in Denmark that is a leader in “fast fashion”— a dynamic business model that moves trendy clothes from the runway to the rack in a matter of days or weeks. When fast fashion hits the mark, fresh clothing designs fly off the shelves. But if the new designs miss with consumers, inventory gets marked down — and some of it ends up in landfills. In fact, for the global fashion industry as a whole, 20% of clothing produced eventually goes unsold.

The apparel manufacturing industry is also a major consumer of raw materials, water and energy. For example, the production of a single cotton t-shirt requires up to four liters of water. By more closely aligning consumer demand with design and production, the fashion industry can improve profits while also supporting environmental sustainability.

IBM Garage is a fantastic model to work with. It cuts across technologies and domains to get a better solution and leverage what is ready.
Ranjan Sharma
CIO and Head of Supply Chain, Bestseller India
Indian fabric

Historically, most fashion retailers tend to rely upon past experience and “gut” instinct to decide which designs to manufacture, what quantities to produce, and where to market their wares. But the diversity and dynamism of the Indian market revealed the limitations of a gut strategy, especially when Bestseller India looked closely into why its top-selling label was no longer performing as expected.

As Sharma went into his next meeting in Bangalore, he knew he needed a technological advantage for his designers and buyers to develop better forecasts and deliver the right product at the right time. And when he finally sat down with the experts at the IBM Research Laboratory he got right to the point: “Could IBM help us solve these problems by bringing in insights from data with AI?”

The warp and weft of innovation

Confident that IBM offered the right combination of IT experience as well as retail industry acumen, Sharma and his Bestseller India team soon expanded the scope of what they were looking for. In addition to turning around sales for the Only brand, Sharma recognized an opportunity to transform business processes by tapping the competitive advantages of AI-powered decision-making.

For its initial IBM® Cognitive Enterprise innovation project with IBM Services®, Bestseller India set a very ambitious goal: develop a totally new, bespoke platform with AI capabilities to support preseason design, planning, production and forecasting — essentially modernizing processes by empowering employees with technology. “This was a big change for us, for the planning teams to move from a gut feeling to AI-delivered information that we wanted to implement,” says Sameer Ambalkar, Head of Business Solutions at Bestseller India.

Laptop with Bestseller interface
Indian CEO Listening to Senior Management Team

To support such a big change for its company and employees, Bestseller India was eager to collaborate with experts who could introduce innovative practices and new ways of working. So, the company chose to work with the IBM Garage™ — a proven development framework that integrates people, processes and technology to transform business and culture. During the IBM Garage Enterprise Design Thinking™ Workshop, IBM and Bestseller India experts created a roadmap for co-creation, beginning with research on how users would interact with the technology.

“Collaboration started right from the outset in terms of getting inputs from designers, merchandisers, buyers, brand heads and IT professionals — the team that would actually be using this tool,” says Zian Lakdawalla, Business Transformation Manager at Bestseller India. “There were personas created for designers and buyers, and all of these ideas led to the development of the project.”

IBM Watson® AI tools were used to help predict the best products for new offerings, determine the right product mix for each store and improve the efficiency of the supply chain. “IBM Garage is a fantastic model to work with,” says Sharma. “It cuts across technologies and domains to get a better solution and leverage what is ready.”

The project focused on creating intelligent workflows for key business processes, empowering employees to work smarter and use their time more efficiently with access to real-time data and insights through AI-powered tools. “When IBM said that we needed to bring technology into the design process, it was a big ‘aha’ moment,” says Mukta Srivastava, Only Brand Product Manager at Bestseller India. “Now, designers will spend more time on higher value work instead of managing files and data.”

Indian woman looking at clothes rack
Two women dressing mannequins

The enormous size of the Indian economy and large differences between individual markets was a huge challenge for the development team, but a challenge that could be addressed within the IBM Garage framework. “We have a lot of demand that varies from one region to another and understanding that was very key for us,” says Lakdawalla. “We wanted to see how good the tool could be to predict better sell-through rates and see what is really trending to maximize our investment.”

To support software development, Bestseller India chose the IBM Cloud® Kubernetes Service, a managed platform as a service (PaaS) offering that met Bestseller India’s requirements for maximum availability and flexibility.

After months of work and iteration, the Bestseller India-IBM Garage team brainstormed 61 unique concepts for the platform — called Fabric.ai — which became the first AI-powered tool for the Indian fashion industry.

Patterns for success

The first version of Fabric.ai included a comprehensive set of seven core AI modules, along with six specific tools for designers, buyers and merchandisers. Whether users accessed data from previous seasons or updated data for future use, Fabric.ai enabled immediate cognitive analyses of how well products are performing.

The user experience was further enhanced by an interface that displays sales and product information in an easy-to-use visual format. Per the original design brief, Fabric.ai initially focused on the Only line of apparel, but the platform has the scalability to handle Jack & Jones, Vero Moda and other brands in the future.

“The platform is well thought-through and robust in terms of understanding fashion, which helps bring in data in a more predictable and easier format for all users to engage in,” says Ambalkar. “The model has been the crux of this, and IBM helped make it possible.”

Indian fabrics on shelves
Moving map of India with data points

Designers appreciated the ability to use a visual similarity tool that compares new products with products from previous seasons. “Fabric.ai will help us pore through information that is relevant and in a pictorial form, which is much easier for designers to consume than looking at spreadsheets,” says Srivastava. “It will become much easier for them to deliver a product that is closer to customer demand and make historical performance information available at the click of a button.”

Fabric.ai also provided a better look at the sales performance of specific products at the retail store level. “The store-view option will help us find the right assortment for each store to help the buying and merchandising team,” says Lakdawalla. “In addition to helping predict which products will be successful in the next season, the tool will help us focus on the supply chain, prioritize the sell-through of current products and help ensure that inventory doesn’t pile up.”

With many stores closed because of the COVID-19 pandemic and large segments of the retail industry being put on hold, having Fabric.ai in place will provide a head start when normal business conditions resume. “At some point, we had to start using AI technology and leverage it to develop better performing product ranges,” says Srivastava. “With IBM, it has been a great journey and it is going to bring in a lot difference in how we’re delivering and how the ranges perform with our customers.”

Fabric of the future

In 2019, Bestseller launched “Fashion FWD,” a long-term corporate initiative designed to bring sustainable fashion forward. The strategy is based on the belief that sustainability is a prerequisite for ongoing business success.

Indian farmers in the field

Sustainability begins at the design phase, where digital design processes can minimize waste at the start of the creative process. With Fabric.ai optimized for designers, Bestseller India has a digital platform to help inform more sustainable material choices up-front in the value chain.

Fabric.ai also provides product planners with data-driven perspectives on producing clothing with a leaner environmental footprint.

Bestseller India’s deployment of Fabric.AI coincides with another important Fashion FWD supply chain initiative in India related to “crop-to-shop” sustainability. In August 2020, Bestseller signed agreements with 2,000 organic cotton farmers in India to source 1,500 tons of organic cotton grown without chemical pesticides and fertilizers. That’s enough cotton to produce three million t-shirts.

Like many nations around the world, India has been hit hard by the COVID-19 disease and the pandemic has disrupted the retail marketplace where Bestseller India serves its customers. However, even as many Bestseller India employees work remotely during the pandemic, development continues on Fabric.ai because IBM’s cloud-based Garage Methodology supports virtual development and collaboration.

“We continue to provide the support that the team needs,” says Lakdawalla. “It will just build up as the days and months progress. To take this process forward, that is what I feel will be the biggest game-changer.”

“Given the current situation, this is not just a need but a must-have today,” says Sharma. “The shops and the warehouses are changing. How will we be able to create new business models which can solve current and future problems and reshape our business? These are issues we will continue to work on with IBM.”

BSI logo

About Bestseller India

Based in Mumbai, Bestseller IndiaExternal Link operates 250 exclusive outlets and also sells its brands through over 1,500 external stores. With over 3,500 employees in India, the company is part of the parent Bestseller organization based in Denmark. Founded in 1975, privately-owned Bestseller operates in 70 markets around the world through more than 2,800 chain stores and 12,000 external multi-brand stores.

Solution components
BSI logo

About About Bestseller India

Based in Mumbai, Bestseller IndiaExternal Link operates 250 exclusive outlets and also sells its brands through over 1,500 external stores. With over 3,500 employees in India, the company is part of the parent Bestseller organization based in Denmark. Founded in 1975, privately-owned Bestseller operates in 70 markets around the world through more than 2,800 chain stores and 12,000 external multi-brand stores.

Solution components