BBVA Francés
通过优化任务关键型 COBOL 代码,释放 IBM Z 的全部力量
了解更多信息
拥有现代办公摩天大楼玻璃窗的金色建筑

为了保持自己的市场领先地位并满足客户对数字服务的需求,阿根廷银行 BBVA Francés 希望提高他们的核心银行应用程序的性能。借助 IBM® Automatic Binary Optimizer for z/OS®,该银行显著提高了最关键 COBOL 应用程序的性能,而且无需进行任何重新编译。

业务挑战

为了为其客户提供响应速度更快的零售银行服务,BBVA Francés 旨在充分发挥全新 IBM Z® 平台的潜力,以增强其核心软件堆栈的性能。

变革

该银行使用 IBM Automatic Binary Optimizer for z/OS,使其 COBOL 应用程序能够利用最新的 IBM Z 架构,因此提高了性能和运营效率。

结果 对于经过优化的应用程序,
将 CPU 使用率降低了 28%
启用
响应速度更快的客户服务,有助于提高满意度
开发面向客户的新型数字服务奠定了坚实的基础
业务挑战案例
满足新需求

BBVA Francés 成立于 1886 年,是阿根廷国内最古老的私人银行。在过去的 130 年里,该银行已成长为阿根廷最大的银行之一,如今为 240 万私人客户、42000 个中小型企业和 800 多家公司提供服务。

作为阿根廷银行业规模最大的参与者之一,BBVA Francés 对创新并不陌生。该银行正在引领阿根廷金融服务行业向数字时代转型。BBVA Francés 的 129 万名活跃客户正在使用他们的互联网和手机银行服务,高达 55.2% 的市场渗透率让 BBVA Francés 处于领先地位。

尽管如此,该银行并不满足于现状,一名发言人解释道:“我们一直在想方设法改善客户服务。尤其是,我们希望确保我们的数字产品能够满足新一代客户的需求和期望。”

为了将新产品和服务推向市场,BBVA Francés 必须确保支撑他们的核心银行系统的 IT 基础架构和工具始终保持最佳状态。

“我们的很多最关键的业务应用程序都有几十年的历史了,多年来,我们一直在为这些系统修修补补,”这名发言人说道。“因此,需要使用不同版本的 COBOL 代码编写不同的应用程序;有些应用程序基于 COBOL 3.2 逻辑,而其他应用程序基于 COBOL 4.2。我们希望优化我们的应用程序代码以提高性能,以免由于重新编译所有代码而直接产生工作量和开销。”

借助 IBM Automatic Binary Optimizer for z/OS 生成的代码,我们的应用程序能够利用 z13 服务器的新硬件功能,而无需进行任何重新编译 – 这是一款非常出色的工具。 发言人 BBVA Francés
变革案例
优化运营

多年来,BBVA Francés 一直在依赖 IBM Z 支持他们的核心银行系统,最近通过升级到 IBM z13® 服务器更新了他们对该平台的投资。为了利用新的 IBM Z 架构,同时避免重新编译 COBOL 应用程序而直接产生的成本和复杂性,该银行部署了 IBM Automatic Binary Optimizer for z/OS (ABO)。

“最初,我们考虑将所有应用程序都迁移到 COBOL 版本 6,但很快意识到更改和测试源代码需要花费大量的时间和精力,”这名发言人回忆道。“我们希望立即开始利用 z13 的新功能,因此我们决定尝试一下 ABO。”

首先,BBVA Francés 安装了 IBM Automatic Binary Optimizer for z/OS 的试用版,以便能够在 90 天的评估期内免费测试该解决方案。随后,BBVA Francés 确定了 15 个需要消耗大量 CPU 资源的应用程序,以运行 ABO。

“结果极具说服力,”这名发言人表示。“使用 IBM Automatic Binary Optimizer for z/OS,我们能够将这些测试程序的 CPU 使用率降低大约 15%,因此显著提高了性能。”

继这一成功之后,BBVA Francés 安装了 IBM Automatic Binary Optimizer for z/OS 的完整版本,以供生产工作负载使用。随后,该银行与 IBM 的团队密切合作,开始优化他们的 COBOL 应用程序,并制定了完整的应急计划,以便将风险降至最低。

“我们每周都会在 ABO 开发环境中优化 10 个 CPU 密集型批处理程序,并在周五晚上将它们部署到生产中,”这名发言人表示。“借助 IBM Automatic Binary Optimizer for z/OS 生成的代码,我们的应用程序能够利用 z13 服务器的新硬件功能,而无需进行任何重新编译 – 这是一款非常出色的工具。”

我们对 IBM Z 环境进行的最新更改为我们构建新产品和服务(包括创新的数字银行解决方案)奠定了坚实的基础。 发言人 BBVA Francés
案例成果
获得回报

迄今为止,BBVA Francés 已经使用 IBM Automatic Binary Optimizer for z/OS 改造了 225 个程序,将 CPU 使用率平均降低 28%,相当于每月 26 个 CPU 小时。

“到目前为止,结果给我们留下了深刻的印象,”这名发言人说道。“使用 IBM Automatic Binary Optimizer for z/OS,我们能够让新的 z13 服务器释放出更强的处理能力,从而提高性能。经过优化的应用程序现在运行得更快速、更高效。”

通过降低 CPU 使用率,该银行缩短了批处理窗口期,并将节省的 CPU 资源重新分配给其他作业,不仅增强了核心银行系统的性能,还提高了其他重要生产工作负载的性能。

极为重要的是,借助 IBM Automatic Binary Optimizer for z/OS,BBVA Francés 无需对源代码进行任何修改即可获得这些优势。因此,开发人员可以自由地继续基于成熟的 COBOL 逻辑进行构建,并且知道他们可以安心地继续使用这一解决方案。

如今,该银行继续与 IBM 密切合作,以优化剩余的 COBOL 应用程序。

“我们所有最关键的应用程序都在 COBOL 中,因此通过投资于代码优化,我们在推动数字化转型方面占据了有利的地位,”这名发言人总结道。“我们对 IBM Z 环境进行的最新更改为我们构建新产品和服务(包括创新的数字银行解决方案)奠定了坚实的基础。我们与 IBM Z 有着悠久、成功的合作历史,我们非常期待看到他们下一步将带我们走向何方。”

BBVA Francés

BBVA Francés(ibm.com 外部链接)是阿根廷的一家领先的银行。BBVA Francés 总部位于布宜诺斯艾利斯,在全国各地设立了 250 家分行和 1400 台 ATM,员工超过 6000 名。

采取后续步骤

要了解有关 IBM Z 解决方案的更多信息,请联系您的 IBM 代表或 IBM 业务合作伙伴,或者访问:ibm.com/z

查看更多案例研究 了解更多信息
法律

© Copyright IBM Corporation 2018. 1 New Orchard Road, Armonk, New York 10504-1722 United States. 2019 年 3 月在美国制作。

IBM、IBM 徽标、ibm.com、IBM Z、z13 和 z/OS 是 International Business Machines Corp. 在世界各地司法辖区的注册商标。其他产品和服务名称可能是 IBM 或其他公司的商标。ibm.com/legal/copyright-trademark 网站上的“版权和商标信息”部分中提供了 IBM 商标的最新列表。

本文档中的内容(包括货币或不包括适用税费的定价参考)为自最初公布日期起的最新版本,IBM 可能随时对其进行更改。

IBM 并不一定在开展业务的所有国家或地区提供所有产品或服务。

文中引用的性能数据和客户实例仅作说明之用。实际性能结果可能因具体配置和操作条件而异。

以上所有引用或描述的客户实例的展示取决于部分客户使用 IBM 产品的方式以及他们可能取得的结果。实际的环境成本和性能特征会因具体客户配置和情况而有所不同。请联系 IBM,咨询 IBM 产品和服务详情。

客户负责确保遵守适用的法律和法规。IBM 不提供任何法律咨询,也不声明或保证其服务或产品经确保客户遵循任何法律或法规。

Business challenge

To deliver more responsive retail banking services for its customers, BBVA Francés aimed to realize the full potential of its new IBM Z® platform to enhance the performance of its core software stack.

Transformation

The bank used IBM Automatic Binary Optimizer for z/OS to enable its COBOL applications to take advantage of the latest IBM Z architecture, boosting performance and operational efficiency.

Results

28% lower

CPU usage for optimized applications

Enables

more responsive customer services, helping to increase satisfaction

Lays

a solid foundation for the development of new customer-facing digital services

Business challenge story

Meeting new demands

Founded in 1886, BBVA Francés is the oldest private domestic bank in Argentina. Over the last 130 years, it has grown to become one of the country’s largest banks and today serves 2.4 million private customers, 42,000 small and medium-sized businesses, and over 800 corporations.

As one of the biggest players in the Argentine banking industry, BBVA Francés is no stranger to innovation. The bank is spearheading the transformation of the country’s financial services sector for the digital age. With 1.29 million customers actively using its internet and mobile banking services, a market penetration of 55.2%, BBVA Francés is leading the way.

But the bank refuses to rest on its laurels, as a spokesperson explains: “We’re always looking for ways to improve customer services. In particular, we want to ensure that our digital offering meets the demands and expectations of a new generation of customers.”

To bring new products and services to market, BBVA Francés must ensure that the IT infrastructure and tools underpinning its core banking systems are always performing at their best.

“Many of our most critical business applications are decades old, and we have added to and built on those systems over the years,” says the spokesperson. “As a result, different applications are written in different versions of COBOL code; some are based on COBOL 3.2 logic, others on COBOL 4.2. We wanted to optimize our application code to improve performance—without the immediate effort and expense of having to recompile all our code.”

IBM Automatic Binary Optimizer for z/OS generates code that enables our applications to exploit the new hardware features of our z13 server without any recompilation whatsoever—it’s a fantastic tool.

Spokesperson, BBVA Francés

Transformation story

Optimizing operations

BBVA Francés has relied on IBM Z to support its core banking systems for many years, and recently renewed its investment in the platform by upgrading to an IBM z13® server. To take advantage of the new IBM Z architecture without the immediate cost and complexity of recompiling its COBOL applications, the bank deployed IBM Automatic Binary Optimizer for z/OS (ABO).

“Initially, we considered migrating all our applications to COBOL Version 6, but soon realized that changing and testing the source code would take quite a lot of time and effort,” recalls the spokesperson. “We wanted to start taking advantage of the new z13 features right away, so we decided to give ABO a try.”

First, BBVA Francés installed a trial edition of IBM Automatic Binary Optimizer for z/OS, enabling it to test out the solution over a 90-day evaluation period at no charge. Next, BBVA Francés identified 15 applications with high CPU consumption to run through ABO.

“The results were very compelling,” says the spokesperson. “Using IBM Automatic Binary Optimizer for z/OS, we were able to reduce CPU usage of those test programs by around 15 percent, significantly improving performance.”

Based on this success, BBVA Francés installed the full edition of IBM Automatic Binary Optimizer for z/OS for use on production workloads. The bank then worked closely with a team from IBM to begin optimizing its COBOL applications, with a full contingency plan in place to keep risk to a minimum.

“Every week, we take 10 CPU-intensive batch programs to optimize in the ABO development environment and deploy them into production on Friday evenings,” says spokesperson. “IBM Automatic Binary Optimizer for z/OS generates code that enables our applications to exploit the new hardware features of our z13 server without any recompilation whatsoever—it’s a fantastic tool.”

The latest changes we’ve made to our IBM Z environment give us a solid foundation on which to build new products and services, including innovative digital banking solutions.

Spokesperson, BBVA Francés

Results story

Reaping the rewards

To date, BBVA Francés has transformed 225 programs using IBM Automatic Binary Optimizer for z/OS, reducing CPU usage by 28 percent on average—the equivalent of 26 CPU hours per month.

“We’ve been really impressed with the results so far,” says the spokesperson. “IBM Automatic Binary Optimizer for z/OS has enabled us to unlock the enhanced processing power of our new z13 server, boosting performance. The optimized applications are now running much faster and much more efficiently.”

By reducing its CPU usage, the bank has shortened its batch windows and reallocated the saved CPU resources to other jobs—increasing performance not just of its core banking systems, but other important production workloads too.

Critically, IBM Automatic Binary Optimizer for z/OS enables BBVA Francés to achieve these benefits without making any changes to the source code. As a result, developers are free to continue building on the proven COBOL logic, safe in the knowledge that it is here to stay.

Today, the bank is continuing to work closely with IBM to optimize its remaining COBOL applications.

“All of our most critical applications are in COBOL, so investing in code optimization puts us in a strong position to drive our digital transformation,” concludes the spokesperson. “The latest changes we’ve made to our IBM Z environment give us a solid foundation on which to build new products and services, including innovative digital banking solutions. We have a long and successful history with IBM Z, and we’re excited to see where it takes us next.”

About BBVA Francés

BBVA Francés is one of Argentina’s leading banks. Headquartered in Buenos Aires, BBVA Francés operates 250 branches and 1,400 ATMs across the country, and employs more than 6,000 people.

Take the next step

To learn more about IBM Z solutions, please contact your IBM representative or IBM Business Partner, or visit: ibm.com/systems/z

View more client stories or learn more about IBM Systems Software