什么是 Presto?
深入了解 IBM® watsonx.data
一只手在不同位置之间移动数据块,象征着数据在服务器之间移动,就像您使用 Presto 时一样。

Presto 即 Presto 数据库 (PrestoDB)。它是一个开源的分布式 SQL 查询引擎,可以查询来自不同数据源的大数据集,以便企业能够大规模地解决数据问题。它为各种规模的组织提供一种快速、有效的方法来分析来自各种来源(包括本地部署系统和云)的大数据。Presto 还可以帮助企业使用当前的 SQL 功能查询 PB 级数据,而无需学习新语言。

如今,Presto 最常用于在 Hadoop 等常见数据存储平台上运行查询,支持用户管理多种查询语言以及数据库和存储的接口。

在数字时代,大数据分析正迅速成为各规模各行业企业的核心能力。收集、存储和分析与业务流程、客户偏好和市场趋势相关的海量数据的能力是非常有价值的。Presto 对数据分析的最大重要性在于不受数据存储位置的制约,无需先将数据移至更结构化的系统(例如数据仓库或数据湖)。

深入了解 watsonx.data 的工作原理

在此点击式演示中,了解如何开始使用 watsonx.data,连接到外部来源,查询来自多个来源的数据等等。

相关内容

订阅 IBM 时事通讯

Presto 的优点

Presto 已成为数据科学家和工程师处理多种查询语言、孤岛式数据库和不同类型存储的常用工具。它的高性能功能使用户能够使用简单的 ANSI SQL 界面实时查询大量数据,无论数据位于何处。Presto 在执行海量数据查询方面的速度和性能使其成为众多全球规模最大的公司不可或缺的工具,包括 Facebook、Airbnb、Netflix、Microsoft、Apple (iOS) 和 AWS(Athena 和 Amazon s3)。

Presto 架构的独特之处在于,无论数据存储在何处,它都可以查询数据,比其他类似解决方案更具可扩展性和效率。Presto 查询支持工程师使用数据,而无需将数据从一个位置以物理方式移动到另一个位置。当组织处理需要存储和分析的数据量不断增加时,这是一项重要功能。

Presto 旨在使数据科学家和工程师能够交互式查询大量数据,且无需考虑存储来源或类型。由于 Presto 不存储数据,而是与单独的数据库进行查询通信,因此它比竞争对手更灵活,并且可以根据组织不断变化的需求快速扩展或缩减查询。根据 IBM 白皮书,Presto 已针对商业智能 (BI) 工作负载进行优化,它可以帮助企业优化数据仓库的定价,并将成本降低高达 50%。

以下是使用 Presto 工作流程的一些主要优点:

更低的成本:随着数据仓库规模的扩大和查询用户数量的增加,企业成本迅速增加的情况并不少见。然而,Presto 针对大量小型查询进行了优化,可以轻松查询任意数量的数据,同时降低成本。此外,由于 Presto 是开源的,因此部署它不需要任何费用,这可以为希望处理大量数据的企业节省大量成本。

提高可扩展性:工程师通常在单个数据湖存储系统上设置多个引擎和语言,因此将来有必要重新构建平台并限制解决方案的可扩展性。借助 Presto,所有查询均使用通用 ANSI SQL 语言和界面进行,因此无需重新构建平台。此外,Presto 可用于处理少量数据和大量数据,并可轻松从一两个用户扩展到数千个用户。Presto 使用独特的 SQL 方言和 API 部署多个计算引擎,因此成为扩展工作负载的理想工具,这些工作负载对于工程师和数据科学家团队来说可能过于复杂且耗时,无法处理。

更好的性能:许多在 Hadoop 上运行 SQL 的查询引擎其计算性能都会受到限制,因为它们被构建为将结果写入磁盘,但 Presto 的分布式内存模型使其能够针对大型数据集同时运行大量交互式查询。按照经典的大规模并行处理 (MPP) 设计,Presto 会在单个工作节点上调度尽可能多的查询,并使用内存中流式洗牌来进一步提高其处理速度。在内存中执行任务使得各阶段之间的磁盘写入和读取变得多余,缩短了每次查询的执行时间,使 Presto 成为比竞争对手延迟更低的选择。

更好的灵活性:Presto 对其所有数据源(包括 Cassandra、Kafka、MySQL、Hadoop 分布式文件系统 (HDFS)、PostgreSQL 等)都采用了即插即用模式,与缺乏这种功能的其他同类工具相比,跨数据源查询更快、更简单。此外,Presto 灵活的架构意味着它并不局限于一家供应商,而是可以在大多数 Hadoop 发行版上运行,这使它成为可移植性最强的工具之一。

虽然 Presto 并不是开发人员和数据工程师唯一的 SQL-on-Hadoop 选项,但其独特的架构将查询功能与数据存储分开,使其成为最灵活的选项之一。与其他工具不同,Presto 将查询引擎与数据存储分开,并使用连接器在它们之间进行通信。与其他工具相比,这一附加功能为工程师在如何使用 Presto 构建解决方案方面提供了更大的灵活性。

Presto 的工作原理是什么?

Presto 使用 MPP 数据库管理系统,其中一个协调器节点与其他节点协同工作。Presto 生态系统由三种服务器类型组成:协调器服务器、工作服务器和资源管理器服务器。

协调器:协调器被视为 Presto 的“大脑”。它负责一些最关键的任务,包括解析语句、规划查询和管理 Presto 工作器节点;最终负责从工作器节点检索数据并将结果传递给客户端。

工作程序:工作程序负责从工作程序节点收集数据,并保证自身与连接器之间顺利交换数据。

资源管理器:资源管理器从所有协调器和工作程序节点收集数据并创建全局视图(或称为“Presto 集群”)。

Presto 协调器 SQL 服务器收到用户的 SQL 查询后,协调器首先使用自定义查询来解析、规划和调度覆盖其他节点的分布式计划。Presto Rest API 提交查询语句供服务器执行,并为客户端检索结果。Presto 支持标准 ANSI SQL 语义,包括连接、查询、子查询和聚合。Presto 编译完查询后,会将请求解析到工作节点之间的不同阶段。

由于 Presto 基于数据抽象概念而构建,因此它可以扩展到任何数据源,并且可以轻松查询数据湖、数据仓库和关系数据库等数据源。数据抽象是一种编程过程,通过将数据的表示与其物理存储分开,可以更有效地存储和操作数据。这种抽象允许查询引擎专门关注与查询相关的数据方面。使用数据抽象过程,无论数据存储在何处,都可以进行查询,而不是在将数据迁移到另一个分析系统后进行查询。

Presto 简史

Presto 最初是在 Facebook 开发的,用于在大型 Apache Hadoop 数据仓库上运行交互式查询,Presto 的开发人员始终将其设想为开源软件,并寻求将 Presto 免费用于商业用途,以便任何人都可以使用它进行数据分析和数据管理。2013 年,Presto 在 GitHub 上被设置为开源软件,拥有 Apache Software 许可证的任何人都可以下载。2019 年,Presto 开发团队的三名原始成员离开了该项目,并创立了 Presto 的一个“分支”,称为 Presto Software Foundation(或更多称为 prestosql)。

Linux 基金会和其他开源社区为希望获得认证的工程师和开发人员提供英语等语言的 Presto 网络研讨会和培训。这些论坛也是了解 Presto 最新资讯的不错平台。

Presto 用例

Presto 使组织能够快速高效地查询大型数据存储库和 NoSQL 数据库,以实现各种业务目的。以下是一些最常见的用例:

临时查询

Presto 能够为各种业务目的提供快速的数据探索和简单的报告。使用热门的 Presto 连接器,例如 Hive、MongoDB 或 Cassandra,用户可以查询他们感兴趣的数据并在数秒内获得结果。凭借其速度和灵活性,无论数据集位于何处,Presto 支持用户迭代并进一步探索。

以下是 Presto 可以连接的一些使用最广泛的数据存储库:

  • BigQuery
  • HDFS
  • 云存储
  • Cloud SQL for MySQL
  • Apache Cassandra 或 Kafka
云和混合云部署

根据 RedHat 2021 年的性能评估,企业越来越多地使用混合云环境,这给云原生存储带来了越来越大的压力,而“当今最快的分布式查询引擎”Presto 正是这种压力下的理想选择。1将工作负载从本地部署环境转移到云或混合云基础设施有很多好处,包括提高性能和可扩展性。Presto 的体系架构使其成为此类部署的有力选择,因为它可以在几分钟内启动,无需额外的预配、配置或调整。

机器学习 (ML)

Presto 帮助工程师以高效的方式准备数据并执行特征工程和提取,确保其为机器学习 (ML)做好准备。它拥有大量的连接器、SQL 引擎和查询功能,是工程师快速、轻松访问大量数据的理想选择。此外,Presto 还有专门为聚合等 ML 功能设计的工具,允许数据科学家训练支持向量机 (SVM) 分类器和回归器,以解决监督学习问题。

报告

Presto 允许从多个源查询数据,生成用于 BI 目的的单个、易于访问的报告或仪表板。Presto 简单易用,分析师无需工程师的帮助即可进行查询并创建报告。

分析

Presto 使分析师能够直接在数据湖上对结构化和非结构化数据进行查询,而无需执行数据转换过程。

数据准备

收集和准备数据的过程可能成本高昂且效率低下。数据科学家每天需要花费数小时来收集和准备数据,然后才能进行分析。Presto 能够快速准确地自动执行此过程,因此数据科学家和工程师可以将更多时间集中在更有价值的任务上。

NVMe 解决方案
数据与 AI IBM® watsonx.data

Presto 是开源软件,可以手动安装。您还可以将 Presto 与 IBM® watsonx.data 等湖仓一体解决方案结合使用,以更快地扩展 AI 工作负载。IBM® watsonx.data 是一个基于开放式湖仓一体架构的适用数据存储,支持查询、管理和开放数据格式,帮助访问和共享数据。

了解有关 IBM® watsonx.data 的更多信息

相关资源 Presto:随时随地理解任何大小的所有数据

了解快速灵活的开源 SQL 查询引擎 Presto 如何助力提供企业所需的洞察。

IBM 帮助企业扩展 AI 工作负载

了解有关 IBM® watsonx.data 的更多信息,该数据存储可帮助企业轻松统一和管理其结构化和非结构化数据。

开放式湖仓一体架构和 IBM® watsonx.data 的颠覆性潜力

探索开放式湖仓一体架构,了解其如何将数据湖的灵活性和成本优势与数据仓库的性能结合在一起。

IBM® watsonx.data:一个开放、混合、受监管的数据存储

了解 IBM® watsonx.data 如何帮助企业应对当今复杂数据环境的挑战并扩展 AI 以满足相关需求。

采取下一步行动

通过 Presto 和 IBM® watsonx.data 获取所需洞察。Presto 是一种快速灵活的开源 SQL 查询引擎;IBM® watsonx.data 是一个开放、混合、已治理数据存储系统,可扩展 AI 工作负载,支持所有位置的所有数据。

发掘 IBM® watsonx.data
脚注

1 数据库和分析的外部模式性能表征(ibm.com 外部链接),Red Hat,2021 年 1 月 18 日

What is Presto?
Explore IBM's Presto solution Subscribe for AI updates
Illustration with collage of pictograms of clouds, pie chart, graph pictograms
What is Presto?

Presto, or Presto database (PrestoDB), is an open-source, distributed SQL query engine that can query large data sets from different data sources, enabling enterprises to address data problems at scale.

Presto gives organizations of all sizes a fast, efficient way to analyze big data from various sources including on-premise systems and the cloud. It also helps businesses query petabytes of data using their current SQL capabilities, without having to learn a new language.

Today, Presto is most commonly used for running queries on Hadoop and other common data storage providers, enabling users to manage multiple query languages and interfaces to databases and storage. 

In the digital age, big data analytics is fast becoming a core competency for enterprises regardless of size or industry. The ability to gather, store and analyze large amounts of data relating to business processes, customer preferences and market trends is extremely valuable. Presto’s primary importance to data analytics is its ability to analyze data regardless of where the data is being stored, and without having to move it into a more structured system first, such as a data warehouse or data lake.

The data store for AI

Discover the power of integrating a data lakehouse strategy into your data architecture, including enhancements to scale AI and cost optimization opportunities.

The benefits of Presto

Presto has become a popular tool for data scientists and engineers dealing with multiple query languages, siloed databases and different types of storage. Its high-performance capabilities enable users to query large volumes of data in real-time, regardless of where the data is located, using a simple ANSI SQL interface. Presto’s speed and performance at executing queries on large volumes of data have made it an indispensable tool for some of the largest companies in the world including Facebook, Airbnb, Netflix, Microsoft, Apple (iOS) and AWS (Athena and Amazon s3).

Presto architecture is unique in that it is built to query data no matter where the data is being stored, making it more scalable and efficient than other, similar solutions. Presto queries allow engineers to use data without having to physically move it from location to location. This is an important capability to have as organizations deal with an ever-increasing amount of data they need to store and analyze.

Presto was built to empower data scientists and engineers to interactively query vast amounts of data regardless of the source or type of storage. Because Presto doesn’t store data, but rather communicates with a separate database for its queries, it is more flexible than its competitors and can scale queries up or down swiftly based on the shifting needs of the organization. According to an IBM whitepaper, Presto, optimized for business intelligence (BI) workloads, can help enterprises optimize the pricing of their data warehouses and reduce costs by up to 50 percent. 

Here are some of the key benefits to using a Presto workflow:

Lower costs: As the size of data warehouses and the number of users conducting queries grows, it’s not uncommon for enterprises to see their costs rapidly increase. Presto, however is optimized for large amounts of small queries, making it easy to query any amount of data while also keeping costs down. Also, since Presto is open-source, there are no fees associated with deploying it, which can result in significant savings for enterprises looking to process large volumes of data.

Increased scalability: It’s common for engineers to set up multiple engines and languages on a single data lake storage system, which can make it necessary to re-platform in the future and limit the scalability of their solution. With Presto, all queries are conducted using the universal ANSI SQL language and interface, making re-platforming redundant. Additionally, Presto can be used for both small and large amounts of data and easily scaled up from one or two users to thousands. Presto deploys multiple compute engines with unique SQL dialects and APIs, making it an ideal tool for scaling workloads that could be too complex and time-intensive for teams of engineers and data scientists to handle.

Better performance: While many query engines that run SQL on Hadoop are restricted in their compute performance because they are built to write their results to disk, Presto’s distributed in-memory model enables it to run large amounts of interactive queries at once against large data sets. Following a classic massively parallel processing (MPP) design, Presto schedules as many queries as it can on a single worker node and uses in-memory streaming shuffle to increase its processing speeds even more. Executing tasks in-memory makes writing and reading from the disk between stages redundant and shortens the time of each query execution, making Presto a lower latency option than its competitors.

Improved flexibility: Presto uses a plug-and-play model for all its data sources including Cassandra, Kafka, MySQL, Hadoop distributed file system (HDFS), PostgreSQL and others, making querying across them faster and easier than with other comparable tools that lack this functionality. Also, Presto’s flexible architecture means it isn’t restricted to a single vendor but runs on most Hadoop distributions, making it one of the most portable tools available.

While Presto isn’t the only SQL-on-Hadoop option available to developers and data engineers, its unique architecture that keeps query functionality separate from data storage makes it one of the most flexible. Unlike other tools, Presto siloes off the query engine from the data storage and uses connectors to communicate between them. This added functionality gives engineers more flexibility than other tools in how they construct solutions using Presto.

How does Presto work?

Presto uses an MPP database management system with one coordinator node that works in tandem with other nodes. A Presto ecosystem is made up of three server types, a coordinator server, worker server and resource manager server.

Coordinator: A coordinator is considered the “brains” of a Presto installation. It is responsible for some of the most critical tasks including parsing statements, planning queries and managing Presto worker nodes. Ultimately, it is responsible for retrieving data from the worker nodes and delivering the results to the client.

Worker: The worker is responsible for gathering data from the worker nodes and ensuring the smooth exchange of data between itself and the connectors.

Resource manager: The resource manager gathers data from all the coordinator and worker nodes and creates a global view, or a “Presto cluster”. 

When the Presto coordinator SQL server receives an SQL query from a user, the first thing it does is use a custom query to parse, plan and schedule a distributed plan across the other nodes. Presto Rest API is used to submit query statements for execution on a server and to retrieve the results for the client. Presto supports standard ANSI SQL meanings, including joins, queries, sub-queries and aggregations. Once it has compiled the query, Presto parses the request into different stages between the worker nodes.

Since Presto was built on the concept of data abstraction, it is extensible to any data source and can easily query data sources such as data lakes, data warehouses and relational databases. Data abstraction is a programming process that allows data to be stored and manipulated more efficiently by separating its representation from its physical storage. This abstraction allows for the query engine to focus exclusively on the aspects of the data that are relevant to its query. Using the process of data abstraction, data is queried wherever it is being stored rather than once it has been moved into another analytics system.

A brief history of Presto

Initially developed at Facebook to run interactive queries on a massive Apache Hadoop data warehouse, Presto’s developers always envisioned it as open-source software and sought to make it free for commercial use so anyone could use it for data analytics and data management. In 2013, it was open-sourced on GitHub for anyone to download under the Apache Software license. In 2019, three of the original members of the Presto development team left the project and founded a “fork” of Presto known as the Presto Software Foundation, or more commonly, as prestosql.

The Linux foundation and other open-source communities offer webinars and training on Presto in English and other languages for engineers and developers looking to obtain certification. These forums are also a good place to visit to find out what’s new in Presto.

Presto use cases 

Presto enables organizations to query large-scale data repositories and NoSQL databases quickly and efficiently for a variety of business purposes. Here are some of its most common use cases:

Ad-hoc queries

Presto enables speedy data exploration and straightforward reporting for a variety of business purposes. Using popular Presto connectors, such as Hive, MongoDB or Cassandra, users can query data they have an interest in and get results in seconds. With its speed and flexibility, Presto empowers users to iterate on and further explore data sets, regardless of where they reside.

Here are some of the most widely used data repositories that Presto can connect to:

  • BigQuery
  • HDFS
  • Cloud Storage
  • Cloud SQL for MySQL
  • Apache Cassandra or Kafka
Cloud and hybrid cloud deployments

According to a 2021 performance assessment by RedHat, the growing use of hybrid cloud environments by enterprises is placing increased pressure on cloud-native storage, for which Presto, “the fastest distributed query engine available today” is ideal. 1 Moving workloads from an on-premise environment to a cloud or hybrid cloud infrastructure has many benefits, including increased performance and scalability. Presto’s architecture makes it a strong choice for such deployments because it can be launched in a few minutes without additional provisioning, configuration or tuning. 

Machine learning (ML)

Presto helps engineers prepare data and perform feature engineering and extraction in a highly efficient way that ensures it is ready for machine learning (ML). Its number of connectors, SQL engine and querying capabilities make it ideal for engineers seeking fast, easy access to large volumes of data. Additionally, Presto has tools designed specifically for ML functions such as aggregation, which allow data scientists to train support vector machine (SVM) classifiers and regressors to address supervised learning problems.

Reporting

Presto allows for data to be queried from multiple sources generating a single, easily accessible report or dashboard for BI purposes. Presto is simple and easy enough to use that analysts can conduct queries and create reports without the help of engineers.

Analytics

Presto enables analysts to conduct queries on both structured and unstructured data directly on a data lake without going through a data transformation process.

Data preparation

The process of gathering and preparing data can be costly and inefficient. Data scientists can spend hours each day collecting and preparing data before it can even be analyzed. Presto automates this process with speed and accuracy so data scientists and engineers can focus more of their time on higher value tasks.  

NVMe solutions
Data and AI IBM® watsonx.data

Presto is open source and can be installed manually. You can also use Presto with a data lakehouse solution such as IBM® watsonx.data for faster scaling of your AI workloads. IBM® watsonx.data is a fit-for-purpose data store built on open lakehouse architecture and supported by querying, governance and open data formats to help access and share data.

Learn more about IBM® watsonx.data

Related resources Presto: Make sense of all your data, any size, anywhere

See how Presto, a fast and flexible open-source SQL query engine can help deliver the insights enterprises need.

IBM to help businesses scale AI workloads

Find out more about IBM® watsonx.data, a data store that helps enterprises easily unify and govern their structured and unstructured data.

The disruptive potential of open data lakehouse architectures and IBM® watsonx.data

Explore open data lakehouse architecture and find out how it combines the flexibility, and cost advantages of data lakes with the performance of data warehouses.

IBM® watsonx.data: An open, hybrid, governed data store

Discover how IBM® watsonx.data helps enterprises address the challenges of today’s complex data landscape and scale AI to suit their needs.

Take the next step

Scale AI workloads for all your data, anywhere, with IBM watsonx.data, a fit-for-purpose data store built on an open data lakehouse architecture.

Explore watsonx.data Book a live demo
Footnotes

1 External-mode performance characterization for databases and analytics (link resides outside ibm.com), Red Hat, January 18th, 2021