一直以来,Shelley Kalms 得到的最佳建议就是“要勇敢,而不追求完美。”

在开始化学工程师的职业生涯之后,Kalms 现在是澳大利亚领先的天然气生产商 - 伍德赛德能源公司的首席数字官。该公司的运营资产以其安全性、可靠性、高效率和环保性能而著称。

液化天然气是一种已经冷却成冷凝液体形式的天然气。生产、低温储存和运输方面的发展,使液化天然气能够在全球市场上与其他燃料相竞争。

然而,由于 COVID-19 疫情和石油输出国组织 +1 (OPEC +1) 争端引发油价波动,最终导致伍德赛德拟议的一些液化天然气开发项目不得不延期。伍德赛德在部署技术以提高效率和降低成本方面拥有丰富的经验,在这种不断变化的环境中,Kalms 和业务部门将这一战略举措视为一项要务,加倍给予重视。

目前的举措预计每年可减少

1.1 亿澳元

的运营费用

“伍德赛德加速器”继续扩大规模,已确定了

30 多项

发展举措

伍德赛德已经设定了一个目标,即将运营支出减少 30%,该公司还制定了一个计划,旨在以一种可衡量的战略方式实现这一目标。在运营方式和价值创造方式上,伍德赛德正在寻求长期的可持续变革。为了构建最安全、最高效的能源管道,伍德赛德正在探索自主运营理念,想方设法通过人工智能和自动化功能的增强作用来优化人机关系。该公司正在研究其钻机、工厂和网络中出现的一些理念,如自动化合同管理、材料优化、库存管理和预测性维护等。

为了实现所需的转型规模和速度,Kalms 需要扩展业务的数字容量和能力,因此伍德赛德与 IBM 久经考验的“转型加速器”- IBM Garage™ 展开合作。

验证价值实现速度,然后扩大规模

由于其专注于人和以用户为中心的设计,早在 2019 年,IBM Garage 就吸引了 Kalms 的目光。她认识到,转型不仅仅是实现技术现代化和挖掘数据洞察,还关乎人们接受新的工作方式。“数字化转型不能只是对公司采取什么措施,而必须是举公司之力共同完成。”Kalms 继续说道,“转型理念必须深入人心。”

IBM Garage - 一个久经考验的转型框架,整合了人员、流程和技术,似乎是一个自然而然的选择。伍德赛德从小处起步,然后逐步扩大规模。该公司与 IBM Garage 合作,简化了人力资源入职流程,使之集中化、数字化和自动化。伍德赛德和 IBM 的联合团队汇集了招聘经理和近期雇佣员工,以及法律、IT、安全、采购和应急管理方面的员工。

伍德赛德能源公司大楼

在 IBM Garage 企业设计思维™ 研讨会期间定义了产品路线图并开展了用户研究之后,团队成员跨四个系统构建了智能工作流程,并重新设计了入职体验。短短 10 周,该团队就将人力资源入职最低可行产品 (MVP) 投入生产。结果,加快了新员工的入职速度。

在见证了 IBM Garage 通过人力资源入职计划实现价值的速度之后,伍德赛德已经准备好扩大其转型规模,并改造关键业务运营。为了确保所采用的方法经过深思熟虑,该团队开发了一种创新的运营模式“伍德赛德加速器”。

侧面绘有袋鼠的澳大利亚船只在海洋中航行

发展演变催生新举措

该公司的嵌入式 IBM Garage 实践“伍德赛德加速器”包括一支由伍德赛德、IBM 员工和伍德赛德合作伙伴生态系统组成的协作团队,他们接纳了全新的工作方式,并采用了敏捷方法、DevOps 方法和以用户为中心的设计。“伍德赛德加速器”遵循 IBM Garage 方法体系,即共同创造、共同执行、共同运营。

伍德赛德运营主管参加了为期三天的 IBM Garage 线上研讨会,审视了业务运营状况,并了解该能源公司可以在哪些地方提高效率和收入。对于每一项举措,团队成员都从多个角度分析问题,而不是试图过早地找到解决方案。根据问题领域,他们确定哪些人员、技术和资源可以帮助解决这个问题。

为了计算特定举措的价值转化速度和组织转型速率,该团队使用了 IBM Garage V.O.T.E(速度、成果、技术和管理债务、员工体验)框架。这会针对正在进行的各项举措不断更新,并在投资组合层面进行汇总,从而评估每项举措的投资潜力。“伍德赛德加速器投资委员会”利用从 V.O.T.E 中获得的洞察,围绕为哪些举措提供资金以及按什么顺序提供资金做出明智的决策。

这些举措需要向投资委员会证明,其业务案例的预计价值是合理的,并且它们能够以足够快的速度将业务价值返还给组织,从而确保赢得资金。

通过使用“最佳工作人选”(BPFJ) 流程,产品负责人选定了一个跨职能小队,并根据正在解决的问题确定涉及哪些角色。这些角色包括研究人员、设计人员、智能工作流程工程师、数据科学家和开发人员。此外,IBM Garage Interface 小组还与该小队合作,推动治理并扫清障碍,使小队成员能够优化生产力,并尽快实现价值。“伍德赛德加速器”目前包含十支小队,他们正在改造、自动执行和简化伍德赛德价值链和供应链中的智能工作流程。

海边的液化天然气提炼厂

“数字生态系统蓝图”是一项富有远见的举措,旨在设计伍德赛德未来的技术前景。其余各项举措都处于不同的发展阶段:

共同创造:

  • 数字维护策略使所需数据实现数字化并将它们汇集在一起,以便快速验证设备维护策略。这将识别维护执行计划中重复出现的低价值作用域,并予以清除。

共同执行:

  • 应用风险思维 (ART) 旨在更好地筛选伍德赛德的风险管理行动并明确优先次序,确保将有限的资源集中在最高价值的行动上,并停止过度的低价值行动。目标是作为一个更高效的组织来管理风险,在对流程和程序的依赖与对能力的依赖之间找到平衡。
  • 集成安全工作系统 (ISSoW) 开发了智能工作流程,通过将工作风险与相应的控制级别相匹配,简化了许可流程。
  • 物料优化使后台库存管理方面的低效之处实现了自动化。
  • 维护成本管理通过提高关键采购决策的透明度和控制力度,最大限度地减少了支出。

共同运营:

  • 基于风险的维护使用智能模型,利用行业最佳实践和历史数据,优化了维护频率。
  • 视情监控通过智能工作流程,利用 AI、物联网 (IoT) 传感器和诊断模型,从被动维护转为预防性维护。
  • 维护规划通过智能推荐最高效的同步完成工作,使后端调度和工单准备的低效之处实现了自动化。

“伍德赛德加速器”继续扩大规模,目前已经确定了 30 多项举措,以供审查和进一步优化。随着新举措的推出,以及现有举措将新产品和服务扩展至业务范畴及业务之外,这一项目仍在不断发展壮大。

财务影响和文化变革

“伍德赛德加速器”团队预计,如果顺利实施,目前的举措每年可将运营费用减少约 1.1 亿澳元。该团队将继续扩大“伍德赛德加速器”规模,直到达到 30% 的目标。

正如人们所希望的那样,“伍德赛德加速器”不仅显示了巨大的商业和财务影响潜力,而且也显示了文化变革潜力。“IBM Garage 不仅关乎技术,也关乎文化变革。在伍德赛德,持续改进现在是我们所拥有的一种工作心态,”Kalms 说道。员工们正在接触全新的工作方式,那些使用加速敏捷交付加入项目的人早已心悦诚服地接受。伍德赛德综合远程运营项目经理 Leon Burgin 表示:“你可以实时看到变化。不必等一年才能看到结果。每隔两周、四周、六周、八周和十二周,你就会看到结果。”

随着伍德赛德继续专注于优化价值,业务流程会更加智能且由数据驱动。技术和自动化使员工能够专注于完成自己的头等要务,也使他们的工作体验更具吸引力。Kalms 谈到了伍德赛德的未来,那时会由人类来监督人工智能驱动的数字工作者。在一个假设的例子中,工厂的传感器可能会发出信号,表明轴承超出其运行参数范畴。这将自动生成更换该轴承的工单。数据库可能表明目前没有库存,因此系统会订购轴承更换件,安排工单,并将其分配给具有适当技能的员工。系统会通知这名员工,她需要在第二天上午 10 点到达工厂更换轴承。“这一切都是自主进行的。这就是我们所追求的目标。”

Kalms 进一步解释道:“要做到这一点,你不仅要改造技术,还要重塑文化,这就是我们所看重的 IBM Garage 的价值所在,我们的员工由此能够有所作为,创造长期的可持续价值。”

准备好了解 IBM Garage 对于贵企业有何用途?与 IBM Garage 专家交谈。

伍德赛德徽标

关于伍德赛德能源公司

伍德赛德(链接位于 ibm.com 外部)是澳大利亚领先的天然气生产商,总部位于澳大利亚珀斯,成立于 1954 年。该公司是液化天然气 (LNG) 行业的先驱,其作为综合上游能源供应商的能力广受认可。2020 年,该公司报告收入为 36 亿美元,目前拥有 3500 多名员工。

解决方案组件

IBM Garage™

© Copyright IBM Corporation 2021. IBM Corporation, IBM Consulting, New Orchard Road, Armonk, NY 10504

美国出品,2022 年 2 月。

IBM、IBM 徽标、ibm.com、Enterprise Design Thinking 和 IBM Garage 是 International Business Machines Corp. 在全球许多管辖区域注册的商标。其他产品和服务可能是 IBM 或其他公司的商标。Web 站点 www.ibm.com/legal/copytrade 上提供了 IBM 商标的最新列表。

本文档中的内容(包括货币或定价参考,不含适用税款)为自最初公布日期起的最新版本,IBM 可随时对其进行修改。 IBM 并不一定在开展业务的所有国家或地区提供所有这些产品或服务。

引用的性能数据和客户示例仅用于演示目的。实际性能结果可能因具体配置和运行条件而异。本文档中的信息“按现状”提供,不附有任何种类的(无论是明示的还是默示的)保证,不包含任何有关适销、适用于某种特定用途的保证以及有关非侵权的任何保证或条件。IBM 产品是根据产品提供时所依据的协议条款和条件提供保证的。

Steadfast courage in the face of disruption

Woodside Energy speeds transformation, aims to cut costs by 30%
by Allison Leking
6-minute read

The best advice that Shelley Kalms has ever received is “Be brave, not perfect.”

After starting her career as a chemical engineer, Kalms is now the Chief Digital Officer at Woodside Energy, a leading Australian natural gas producer. The company’s operated assets are renowned for their safety, reliability, efficiency and environmental performance.

LNG is a natural gas that has been cooled to a condensed liquid form. Developments in production, cryogenic storage and transportation are allowing LNG to compete with other fuels in the global market.

However, the COVID-19 pandemic and the Organization of the Petroleum Exporting Countries +1 (OPEC +1) dispute caused volatility in oil prices, leading to the deferral of some of Woodside’s proposed LNG developments. Woodside had extensive experience in deploying technology to improve efficiencies and reduce costs, and in this changing environment, Kalms and the business doubled-down on this strategic initiative as a business imperative.

Oil freighter docking

Current initiatives could reduce operating expenses by an estimated

AUS 110M

per year

The Woodside Accelerator continues to scale, with more than

30

initiatives identified for progress

Woodside has set a goal to decrease operating expenditures by 30%, and the company has a plan to deliver this in a measured, strategic way. Woodside is seeking long-term, sustainable changes in the way it operates and creates value. To build the safest and most efficient energy pipeline, Woodside is exploring the notion of autonomous operations and looking at ways to optimize the human-machine relationship by augmenting roles with AI and automation. The company is investigating concepts such as automated contract management, material optimization, inventory management and predictive maintenance across its rigs, plants and network.

To do this though, you have to transform not only technology but also culture, and that’s where we’re looking at the IBM Garage to enable our people to make a difference, to create long-term sustainable value.
Shelley Kalms
Chief Digital Officer, Woodside Energy
Blueprint for oil rig

To deliver the magnitude and pace of transformation required, Kalms needed to scale the digital capacity and capability of the business, and thus Woodside partnered with IBM’s proven “transformation accelerator” — IBM Garage™.

Validate speed to value, then scale

Kalms was first intrigued by IBM Garage in 2019 because of its focus on people and user-centered design. She recognized that transformation is not simply about modernizing technology and tapping into data insights. It’s about people embracing new ways of working. “Digital transformation must not be something done to a company, it must be something done with a company.” Kalms continues, “Transformation must be embedded in the hearts and minds of people.”

IBM Garage — a proven transformation framework that integrates people, processes and technology — seemed to be a natural fit. However, before Woodside goes big, it proves small. So, the company collaborated with IBM Garage to simplify, centralize, digitize and automate Woodside’s HR onboarding processes. The joint Woodside and IBM team brought together hiring managers and recent hires, along with employees from legal, IT, security, procurement and emergency management.

Woodside tower
Woodside freighter at sea

After defining a product roadmap during an IBM Garage Enterprise Design Thinking™ Workshop and conducting user research, team members built an intelligent workflow across four systems and redesigned the onboarding experience. In only 10 weeks, the team launched the HR onboarding minimum viable product (MVP) into production. As a result, new employees are onboarded faster.

After witnessing IBM Garage’s speed to value with the HR onboarding initiative, Woodside was ready to scale its transformation and revamp business critical operations. To ensure a deliberate and thoughtful approach, the teams developed an innovative operating model — the Woodside Accelerator.

Evolution supports new initiatives

The company’s embedded IBM Garage practice — the Woodside Accelerator — includes a collaborative team of Woodside, IBM employees and the Woodside partner ecosystem who have embraced new ways of working and employ agile, DevOps and user-centered design. The Woodside Accelerator follows the IBM Garage Methodology of co-create, co-execute, co-operate.

Woodside operations’ executives participated in a three-day virtual IBM Garage workshop to look across business operations and see where the energy company could improve efficiencies and revenue. For each initiative, team members analyzed the problems from numerous angles, without trying to identify a solution early on. Based on the problem area, they determined which people, technology and resources could help solve the issue.

To calculate a particular initiative’s speed to value and rate of organizational transformation, the team uses the IBM Garage V.O.T.E (Velocity, Outcomes, Technology and administrative debt, Employee experience) framework. This is updated continuously for all initiatives in the pipeline and aggregated at the portfolio level to assess the investment potential of each initiative. The insights from V.O.T.E are used by the Woodside Accelerator Investment Board to make informed decisions about which initiatives to fund and in what sequence.

Oil rig at sea
Oil refinery

Initiatives need to prove to the investment board that their business case’s projected value is reasonable and that they can return business value back to the organization fast enough to warrant funding.

Using a Best Person for the Job (BPFJ) process, product owners select a cross-functional squad and determine which roles to involve based on the problem being solved. Roles include researchers, designers, intelligent workflow engineers, data scientists and developers. Additionally, an IBM Garage Interface group works alongside the squad to drive governance and remove impediments, enabling squad members to optimize their productivity and deliver value as quickly as possible. The Woodside Accelerator currently has ten inflight squads that are transforming, automating and simplifying intelligent workflows across Woodside’s value and supply chains.

The Digital Ecosystem Blueprint is a visionary initiative that is designing Woodside’s future technology landscape. All other initiatives are in various stages of development:

Co-create:

  • Digital Maintenance Strategies digitises and brings together the required data to enable fast verification of equipment maintenance strategies. This will identify and remove low-value, reoccurring scope from the maintenance execution program.
  • Co-execute:

  • Applied Risk Thinking (ART) aims to better screen and prioritise Woodside’s risk management actions, ensure focus of limited resources on the highest value actions and stop overworking low value actions. The goal is to manage risk as a more efficient organisation striking a balance between reliance on process and procedures and reliance on competency.
  • Integrated Safe System of Work (ISSoW) develops an intelligent workflow that simplifies the permit process by matching the risk of the work with the appropriate level of control.
  • Materials Optimization automates back-office inefficiency in inventory management.
  • Maintenance Cost Management minimizes expenditures through greater transparency and control during key purchasing decisions.
  • Co-operate:

  • Risk-Based Maintenance optimizes maintenance frequency, using intelligent models leveraging industry best practices and historical data.
  • Condition-Based Monitoring shifts from reactive maintenance to preventive maintenance with an intelligent workflow, leveraging AI, Internet of Things (IoT) sensors and diagnostic models.
  • Maintenance Planning automates back-end inefficiency in scheduling and work order preparation by intelligently recommending the most efficient work to complete concurrently.
  • The Woodside Accelerator continues to scale and has already identified more than 30 initiatives to review and further refine. The dynamic program is constantly evolving and growing as new initiatives are introduced and existing initiatives launch and scale new products and services back to the business and beyond.

    Financial impact and culture change

    Two workers walking in the oil refinery

    The Woodside Accelerator team projects that the current initiatives could reduce operating expenses by approximately AUS 110 million per year if implemented. The team will continue to scale the Woodside Accelerator until it reaches its 30% goal.

    As hoped, the Woodside Accelerator has not only shown the potential for significant business and financial impact, but also cultural transformation. “The IBM Garage is as much about culture change as technology. Continuous improvement is now a mindset in the way that we work at Woodside,” says Kalms. Employees are being exposed to new ways of working, and those who have joined projects using accelerated agile delivery have wholeheartedly embraced it. Leon Burgin, Integrated Remote Operations Project Manager at Woodside, says: “You get to actually see change in a real-time basis. You don’t have to wait a year to see an outcome. You’re seeing outcomes every two, four, six, eight and twelve weeks.”

    As Woodside continues to focus on optimizing value, business processes are becoming more intelligent and data-driven. Technology and automation can enable employees to focus on their highest priorities, making their experience of work more engaging. Kalms talks about the future at Woodside, where humans supervise AI-powered digital workers. In one hypothetical example, a sensor at a plant might signal that a bearing is outside of its operating parameter. This would automatically generate a work order to replace that bearing. A database may indicate that there is not stock on hand, so the system orders the replacement bearing, schedules a work order and resources it with the employee who has the right skillset. The system would notify this employee that she needs to arrive at the plant at 10 AM the next day to replace the bearing. “That is all autonomous. That is what we’re building out to.”

    Kalms further explains: “To do this though, you have to transform not only technology but also culture — and that’s where we’re looking at the IBM Garage to help enable our people to make a difference, to create long-term sustainable value.”

    Ready to see what IBM Garage can do for your business? Talk to an IBM Garage expert.

    Woodside logo

    About Woodside Energy

    A leading Australian natural gas producer, WoodsideExternal Link is headquartered in Perth, Australia, and was incorporated in 1954. The company is a pioneer in the liquified natural gas (LNG) industry and is recognized for its capabilities as an integrated upstream energy supplier. In 2020, the company reported revenue of USD 3.6 billion and currently has more than 3,500 employees.

    Solution component
    Woodside logo

    About Woodside Energy

    A leading Australian natural gas producer, WoodsideExternal Link is headquartered in Perth, Australia, and was incorporated in 1954. The company is a pioneer in the liquified natural gas (LNG) industry and is recognized for its capabilities as an integrated upstream energy supplier. In 2020, the company reported revenue of USD 3.6 billion and currently has more than 3,500 employees.

    Solution component