2020 年初,随着英国各地的医院面临着容量饱和的危险,英国政府认识到采取行动已迫在眉睫。“留在家中,保护 NHS [国民医疗服务体系],拯救生命”的口号由此而诞生,与此同时,公共卫生官员和部长们正在制定必要的措施来控制疫情的蔓延。各方达成的最直接的全面共识就是,应大幅提升国家的 COVID-19 检测和接触追踪能力,使其达到日均数百万人次,并尽快实现这一目标。

在发现阳性结果之后,迅速采取行动来控制病毒的传播,这一能力才是切断传播链的关键。处理结果所需的时间越长,病毒传播的可能性也就越大。IBM 交付了 Salesforce 平台,帮助英国卫生安全局 (UKHSA) 迅速部署解决方案,如国际入境服务、管理隔离服务 (MQS) 和私营检测提供商网站。此外,IBM® Consulting - 混合云服务部门还组建了一个联合的多学科团队,使用 MuleSoft Anypoint Platform 构建了一个软件即服务 (SaaS) 集成平台,UKHSA 将该平台称为实时检测服务 (RTTS),用于处理所有 COVID-19 检测结果,以便进一步追踪接触人员。

回顾这一项目,NHS Digital 首席执行官、NHS Test & Trace 前首席信息官 Simon Bolton 认为,检测结果处理速度的大幅提高,是该项目的显著优势。“我们能够将检测结果的处理时间从八小时缩短到几分钟,这一事实对于抑制病毒的传播而言是相当重要的,”Bolton 说道,“如今,我们日均处理超过 100 万次新冠肺炎检测,每秒多达 300 次。这一数字着实惊人,背后的弹性支柱使之成为现实,而这也为我们所取得的一切成果奠定了基础。”

UKHSA 的现任 CIO Adam Whewright 就快速可靠的数据传输的重要性表达了类似的观点。“提高数据质量和改善数据流的迫切性,一直是应对 COVID 疫情所面临的最重要挑战之一。在任何组织中,设计、构建、部署并发展生产级、高容量的数据交换解决方案都具有挑战性,而在这一个世代出现一次(希望如此)的疫情流行期间,成功做到这一点更加不易,若没有世界一流的团队合作,以及对交付和结果的执着,这根本不可能实现。”

将 COVID-19 检测结果的处理时间从 8 小时缩短至

16 分钟

从而更快追踪接触人员

COVID-19 检测处理速率日均超过

1 百万

次,每秒多达 300 次

做好准备,积极应对

疫情在世界各地迅速蔓延,不同的国家采取的对策也各不相同。这里并不存在一致的应对蓝图。感染率和模式不断发生变化,病毒也出现了新的变种,公共卫生官员也开始对感染风险有了更深入的了解。

2021 年初,各个政府机构的部长们都在积极展开讨论,商议要在英国边境采取哪些措施来控制变异毒株的扩散。对于 Trace Portfolio 的数字和技术投资组合总监 Jackie Keane 而言,新的边境规则正是她和她的团队在政策方面需要做出的改变。当宣布实施边境管制时,Keane 解释道,IBM 和 Salesforce 团队并不是从零开始。“RTTS 和 Salesforce CRM 平台已经完成,解决方案的基础已然就绪,”她说,“这使我们能够迅速实施新的国际入境服务和 MQS。”

根据这项新政策,从国外抵达英国边境的人员必须遵守相应的隔离和检测规定,具体取决于其离境国的新冠疫情风险状况。来自“红色名单”国家/地区的旅客,即那些被认为是很有可能携带新冠病毒新毒株和现有毒株的人群,在入境前后都必须遵守相对复杂的检测和隔离方案。

为了有效实施该计划,UKHSA 需要指导每位乘客按顺序完成这些步骤,从填写乘客定位器表格到检测说明和隔离酒店预订,皆涵盖在内。由于每个流程都取决于检测结果,因此与检测实验室相集成至关重要。

人行横道尽头用手机通话的女士

由团队之团队交付

从抢占先机的角度来看,IBM、Salesforce 和 MuleSoft 团队构建的解决方案并非绝无仅有。但他们使用持续改进和持续交付 (CI/CD) 实践(如 KPI 监控和自动化测试等),迅速且大规模地扩展了全球“团队之团队”,满足了不断扩展的工作负载需求。“我们具备了非常迅速、无缝且流畅的交付能力,”该项目的 IBM 执行发起人 Matt Candy 指出,“当 MQS 和国际入境服务项目落地时,我们的联合团队能够做好准备来迎接挑战。”

作为 Keane 团队的投资组合副总监和 RTTS 的交付负责人,Daniel Jeans 亲眼目睹了无缝共创的情景。“整个交付团队都抱着一种‘把徽章留在门口’的心态。每个团队成员都形成这样一个共识,即他们所做的事情可以拯救生命,”Jeans 说道,“这种开放、透明的文化确实有助于促进持续改进 - 愿意尝试新方法,并从错误中汲取教训,而这正是这样的项目所需要的。”

在办公室编码的男性计算机程序员的特写

在压力之下延续成功

在短短几个月内,通过该项目大约隔离了 10 万人,其中超过 2% 的人 COVID-19 检测呈阳性。该解决方案阻止了这些旅行者进入更广泛的英国人群,显然也挽救了人们的生命,但这并不是英国项目经理协会在 2021 年向其授予 APM 年度社会项目奖的唯一原因。这也不是局面的迅速扭转。

也许更重要的是,Keane 评论道,这个解决方案是在“特殊情况”下构建的。“MQS 项目需要在一个特别复杂的环境中高度协作,一切都暴露在聚光灯之下。我很荣幸能够成为这样一个杰出团队的一员,大家都在争分夺秒地努力工作,竭力实现所需的成果。”

NHS Digital 的 Bolton 也认为,肩负共同的使命感,这支扩展团队产生了奇妙的化学反应,因而能够在如此短的时间内完成这么多的任务。“IBM 和 Salesforce 惊人的行动速度向许多人展示了可能性艺术,说明了如果下定决心、通力合作,能以多快的速度兑现成果,”他说道,“这个团队的每一位成员天天都在工作,他们相信自己的所作所为切切实实能够拯救生命。我相信他们做到了。”

自 MQS 推出以来,开发的步伐始终没有停下。政策一直在变化,或大幅改动,或稍作调整。Salesforce 和 MuleSoft 平台上的新版本发布速度一直十分迅速,毫不夸张地说,九个月内已发布了 100 多个。为了跟上每周政策上的这些变动,交付团队在各小队中应用了看板方法,从而提高了其调整优先级的能力,并在极短的时间内加快交付。检测的完全自动化也是加快交付速度和提高交付质量的重要因素。目前,Test & Trace 程序可以在不到一小时的时间内在所有解决方案中运行超过 12 万次检测。

如今,这些解决方案构成了 UKHSA 疫情对策的战略基石,为整个 UKHSA 提供了安全、可扩展、高性能的平台。

解决方案组件

UKHSA 和 NHS 徽标

关于英国卫生安全局 (UKHSA)

UKHSA(链接位于 ibm.com 外部)是负责保护英国免受传染病和所有其他健康威胁影响的政府部门。UKHSA 是一个执行机构,由卫生和社会保健部 (DHSC) 发起,NHS Test & Trace 和英国公共卫生部为其前身组织。

NHS Digital

NHS Digital(链接位于 ibm.com 之外)是为英国的卫生和社会保健专员、分析师和临床医生提供信息、数据和 IT 系统的国家供应商,特别是面向那些与英国国家卫生服务有关的人员。NHS Data 是卫生和社会保健部下属的一个单位,为 NHS 和社会保健提供数字服务,包括管理大型卫生信息学项目。NHS Digital 也是卫生和社会保健信息的国家整理机构,每年出版 260 多份统计刊物,包括官方统计和国家统计。

© Copyright IBM Corporation 2022. IBM Corporation, IBM Consulting, New Orchard Road, Armonk, NY 10504

美国出品,2022 年 6 月。

IBM、IBM 徽标和 ibm.com 是 International Business Machines Corp. 在全球许多司法管辖区域注册的商标。其他产品和服务可能是 IBM 或其他公司的商标。Web 站点 www.ibm.com/legal/copytrade 上提供了 IBM 商标的最新列表。

本文档为自最初公布日期起的最新版本,IBM 可随时对其进行修改。IBM 并不一定在开展业务的所有国家或地区提供所有这些产品或服务。

引用的性能数据和客户示例仅用于演示目的。实际性能结果可能因具体配置和运行条件而异。本文档中的信息“按现状”提供,不附有任何种类的(无论是明示的还是默示的)保证,不包含任何有关适销、适用于某种特定用途的保证以及有关非侵权的任何保证或条件。IBM 产品是根据产品提供时所依据的协议条款和条件提供保证的。

In early 2020, with hospitals around the UK in danger of becoming overrun, the UK government recognized the need to act. The mantra of “Stay Home, Protect the NHS [National Health Service], Save Lives” was born as public health officials and ministers were laying out the measures they saw as necessary to control the pandemic. The most immediate across-the-board consensus was the need to vastly expand the nation’s COVID-19 testing and contact tracing capacity—to millions per day—and to do it fast.

The ability to then take prompt action to control the spread of the virus on the back of positive results was central to breaking the chain of transmission. The longer the time required to process the results, the greater the potential for virus transmission. IBM delivered a Salesforce platform that enabled the UK Health Security Agency (UKHSA) to rapidly deploy solutions such as the International Arrivals Service, the Managed Quarantine Service (MQS) and a web portal for private test providers. Additionally, IBM® Consulting - Hybrid Cloud Services formed a joint, multidisciplinary team—using the MuleSoft Anypoint Platform—to build a software as a service (SaaS) integration platform that the UKHSA calls the Real-Time Testing Service (RTTS) to process all COVID-19 test results for onward contact tracing.

Looking back at the project, Simon Bolton, Chief Executive of NHS Digital—and former Chief Information Officer of NHS Test & Trace—sees the dramatic increase in test result processing speed as the signature benefit of the project. “The fact that we’ve been able to reduce the processing time of test results from eight hours to minutes, was absolutely essential to suppressing the spread of the virus,” says Bolton. “Today, we’re processing over one million Covid tests per day, as much as 300 per second. It’s this astonishing throughput—made possible by a resilient backbone—that’s the underpinning of everything we’ve accomplished.”

Adam Wheelwright, UKHSA’s current CIO, sounded a similar note on the importance of fast, reliable data transfer. “The criticality of improving the quality and flow of data has been one of the most important challenges of the COVID response. Being able to design, build, deploy and then evolve a production grade, high volume, data interchange solution in any organization can be challenging but successfully doing this during a (hopefully) once in a generation pandemic is truly outstanding and couldn’t have been achieved without world class teamwork and focus on both delivery and outcomes.”

Reduced processing time for COVID-19 test results from 8 hours to

16 minutes

enabling faster contact tracing

Processes COVID-19 tests at a rate of more than

1 million

per day, or as many as 300 per second

Ready to adapt

The pandemic was evolving rapidly across the world and different nations were adopting different response strategies. There was no consistent blueprint response. Infection rates and patterns were shifting, new variants were emerging, and public health officials were gaining a deeper understanding of infection risks.

In early 2021, ministers across a variety of government agencies were actively debating what measures were required at the UK border to control the spread of variants of concern. To Jackie Keane, Digital and Technology Portfolio Director for the Trace Portfolio, the new border rules were exactly the kind of policy changes she and her team needed to be prepared for. So when the border controls were announced, Keane explains, the IBM and Salesforce team weren’t starting from scratch. “With the RTTS and the Salesforce CRM platform already completed, the foundations of the solution were there,” she says. “That put us in a strong position to implement the new International Arrivals Service and MQS very quickly.”

Under the new policy, people arriving at the UK border from abroad had to comply with quarantine and testing rules based on the Covid risk status of their departure country. Travelers from “red list” countries—those deemed to be at high risk for new and emerging strains of coronavirus—would be required to follow a relatively complex testing and quarantine protocol both before and after they entered the country.

For the program to work, the UKHSA needed to guide each passenger sequentially through these steps, from the completion of passenger locator forms to testing instructions and quarantine hotel booking. Because each flow would depend on test results, integration with testing labs was critical.

Woman at end of crosswalk talking on her cell phone

A team of team delivers

In terms of head starts, the solutions the IBM, Salesforce and MuleSoft teams had built weren’t the only pieces in place. They had rapidly and massively scaled their global “teams of teams” to meet an ever-expanding workload, using Continuous Improvement and Continuous Delivery (CI/CD) practices such as KPI monitoring and automated testing, to name just a few. “We had established a very fast, seamless and smooth-running delivery capability,” notes Matt Candy, the IBM Executive Sponsor on the project. “When the MQS and International Arrivals Service project landed, our joint teams were able to gear up to meet the challenge.”

As Deputy Portfolio Director on Keane’s team and delivery leader for the RTTS, Daniel Jeans saw first-hand what seamless co-creation looks like. “Across the entire delivery team there was a ‘leave-your-badges-at-the-door’ mentality. There was shared understanding among every team member that what they were doing could save lives,” says Jeans. “That kind of open, transparent culture really helped promote the continuous improvement—a willingness to try new approaches and learn from mistakes—that a project like this demanded.”

Close-up of male computer programmer coding in office

Continued success under pressure

Within just a few months, roughly 100,000 arrivals were quarantined through the program, and of them, more than 2% tested positive for COVID-19. The fact that the solution prevented those travelers from entering the wider UK population and clearly saved lives wasn’t the only reason the UK Association of Project Managers selected it as the APM Social Project of the Year award for 2021. Nor was it the rapid turnaround.

Perhaps even more, Keane comments, it was the “extraordinary circumstances” under which the solution was built. “The MQS project required a high degree of collaborative working across a particularly complex landscape, and all in the spotlight. I am privileged to have been a part of such a stellar team that worked hard to deliver the outcomes needed against a fast-ticking clock.”

NHS Digital’s Bolton also sees the chemistry of the extended team—united by a common sense of purpose—as a big reason for its ability to accomplish so much in so short a span. “The astounding pace IBM and Salesforce achieved has shown a lot of people what the art of the possible is, just how fast you can deliver if you work together and set your mind to it,” he says. “Each member of this team came to work every day believing that what they were doing made a genuine difference in saving lives. And I believe they did.”

Since the rollout of MQS, the pace of development hasn’t let up. Policy changes large and small have been nearly constant, and the rate of new releases on the Salesforce and MuleSoft platform—at over 100 in nine months—has been rapid to say the least. To keep up with these weekly policy changes, the delivery team applied the Kanban method across the squads, thereby improving its ability to adapt priorities and accelerate delivery on extremely short notice. The full automation of testing has also been a huge factor in driving both speed and quality into delivery processes. Currently, the Test & Trace program can run over 120,000 tests, across all solutions, in less than one hour.

Today these solutions form the strategic bedrock of the UKHSA’s response to the pandemic providing secure, scalable, performant platforms across the UKHSA.

 

Solution components

UKHSA and NHS logo

About UK Health Security Agency (UKHSA)

The UKHSA (link resides outside of ibm.com) is the government department responsible for protecting the UK from the impact of infectious diseases and all other health threats. The UKHSA is an executive agency, sponsored by the Department of Health and Social Care (DHSC) and formed from the predecessor organizations, NHS Test & Trace and Public Health England.

NHS Digital

NHS Digital (link resides outside of ibm.com) is the national provider of information, data and IT systems for commissioners, analysts and clinicians in health and social care in England, particularly those involved with the National Health Service of England. A unit of the Department of Health and Social Care, NHS Data provides digital services for the NHS and social care, including the management of large health informatics programs. NHS Digital is also the national collator of information about health and social care, and publishes over 260 statistical publications each year, including Official Statistics and National Statistics.

© Copyright IBM Corporation 2022. IBM Corporation, IBM Consulting, New Orchard Road, Armonk, NY 10504

Produced in the United States of America, June 2022.

IBM, the IBM logo, and ibm.com are trademarks of International Business Machines Corp., registered in many jurisdictions worldwide. Other product and service names might be trademarks of IBM or other companies. A current list of IBM trademarks is available on the web at www.ibm.com/legal/copytrade.

This document is current as of the initial date of publication and may be changed by IBM at any time. Not all offerings are available in every country in which IBM operates.

The performance data and client examples cited are presented for illustrative purposes only. Actual performance results may vary depending on specific configurations and operating conditions. THE INFORMATION IN THIS DOCUMENT IS PROVIDED “AS IS” WITHOUT ANY WARRANTY, EXPRESS OR IMPLIED, INCLUDING WITHOUT ANY WARRANTIES OF MERCHANTABILITY, FITNESS FOR A PARTICULAR PURPOSE AND ANY WARRANTY OR CONDITION OF NON-INFRINGEMENT. IBM products are warranted according to the terms and conditions of the agreements under which they are provided.