Travelping GmbH
利用云原生技术推动联网汽车进入数据快车道
无人机俯拍图:四叶式立体交叉高速公路

欧盟数据保护法规和网络延迟问题可能会阻碍联网车辆性能的提升。为了帮助汽车制造商获得实时的物联网 (IoT) 洞察分析,Travelping 使用 IBM Cloud® 基础架构产品和自己的 Kubernetes 部署来创建一个云原生解决方案,将数据传输到车辆。

业务挑战

联网汽车经常会遇到延迟问题,这些问题可能会影响与安全相关的洞察分析。Travelping GmbH 需要开发一个 IT 基础架构平台,能够应对跨境数据管理法规的挑战,从而提高 IoT 网络的效率。

变革

Travelping 知道需要让网络更靠近连接的设备。在 IBM Cloud 的帮助下,它使用自主开发的 Kubernetes 集群创建可扩展的云原生数据包网关解决方案,将数据传输到车辆。

结果 将 IoT 延迟降低 95% 以上
获取实时车辆安全数据洞察分析
节约资源
方式是在商用硬件上提供可扩展的服务
将数据保存在国内
方式是将有效负载传输到车辆所在位置
业务挑战案例
被困在慢车道

您不必成为 George Jetson 或他的妻子 Jane,也可以在您的车辆中享受非常现代的功能。联网汽车利用 IoT 技术,让驾驶员能够确定行程需要多长时间以及沿途需要避免的问题,同时为后座的孩子们播放电影。通过将车辆中的设备连接到其他设备和网络的能力,可以生成汽车状态、位置和速度等洞察分析。这些洞察分析可以改善乘客安全和车辆维护,还具有其他优点。

但是在欧盟,存在某种障碍:《通用数据保护条例》(GDPR)。GDPR 于 2018 年 5 月颁布,旨在保护欧盟公民和欧洲经济区 (EEA) 公民的数据和隐私。在某种程度上,GDPR 不允许将个人数据导出到欧盟和欧洲经济区之外。当您拥有联网汽车但不允许您的数据离开该区域时,获得车辆洞察分析的能力就会停滞。传统的网络解决方案并不理想,因为这就是导致延迟的原因。

假设汽车制造商 ABC Autos 与电信供应商 XYZ Mobile 携手合作,为其新系列的 IoT 汽车提供连接。在传统部署中,会将数据连接到本地数据中心的网络。这辆车开往欧盟以外的国家或地区,但数据却不能离开欧盟。当汽车在欧盟时,数据会无处不在,从家庭网络到车辆所在位置。

为了避免冲突,联网汽车必须彼此实时通信。Travelping 需要开发一个 IT 基础架构平台来应对跨境数据管理的挑战。此外,数据必须保留在高度安全的环境中。

通过在可用平台上提供简单的服务,因此支持[小团队部署]全球技术服务,且服务可用性达 99.999%。 Holger Winkelmann 创始人兼 CEO Travelping GmbH
变革案例
“这一切都与可用性达 99.999% 的服务相关”

Travelping 凭借在电信行业多年的专业知识,它知道必须让网络更靠近连接的设备。它还知道环境需要高度可用。“这一切都与可用性达 99.999% 的服务相关,”Travelping 创始人兼首席执行官 (CEO) Holger Winkelmann 说道,“但运行可用性达 99.999% 的服务的成本非常昂贵,且过程复杂。”

因此 Travelping 选择了一条回归基础的途径:带有基于 Kubernetes 平台的容器化应用程序的裸机服务器。客户使用 IBM Cloud 基础架构产品和 Kubernetes 工具来创建云原生工作负载。可以将这些容器化工作负载快速传输给汽车制造商,以帮助实现实时远程诊断或维护。

有些人将 Kubernetes 定义为新的 Linux 或新的 API。它使用开源软件,通过将各个部分打包到自己的容器中,使应用程序能够部署为松散耦合的服务。这种将应用程序解构为各种较小服务的模块化编程过程有助于简化应用程序的开发、测试和部署。它还允许持续交付可扩展的服务。

“这就是我们转向 Kubernetes 和容器部署的原因,”Winkelmann 解释道,“因为您可以在 99.999% 的环境中运行相当简单,甚至可能是无状态的服务 – 99.99% 的服务可用性环境(由 IBM® SLA 提供支持)。然后我们增加到 99.999% 的环境,大部分都是免费的。”

该解决方案可帮助 Travelping 客户在不同位置和不同环境中进行部署。如果他们实施基于网络的部署,就会“触及运营商的核心”,Winkelmann 说,“运营商通常会说,必须按其拓扑进行部署。这是有原因的。它必须位于许可区域内。”

但是对于 Kubernetes 来说,有一个通用的 API。“它适用于私有云和私有部署,但也适用于公共云,”Winkelmann 补充道,“因此,从开发人员笔记本到私有云部署、边缘部署或路灯柱上的 Raspberry Pi,您完全不可知。您一次又一次地以完全相同的方式进行部署,而这只有通过 Kubernetes 才能实现。”

Travelping 之所以使用 IBM Cloud,是因为它可以帮助公司管理数据合规性。它还允许客户在此基础上运行网络服务。“实际环境中应用的许多云就是我们所说的“南北半球云”。它们旨在终止网络流量,”Winkelmann 说,“那不是我们正在做的事情。我们为移动用户转发有效负载和流量。IBM Cloud 是唯一一个产品,它仍然允许我们在网络中实现一个节点到另一个节点的数据传输,而不仅仅是终止它。”

案例成果
文化转变

Travelping 的互联汽车移动平台之旅需要其客户实现文化转变。处理能力集中在云计算中,非常适合支持 IoT 的设备。数据在更靠近源点的位置进行处理,有助于减少设备和数据处理层之间的延迟。这样可以缩短响应时间,做出更明智的决策。

在商品硬件而不是电信设备上提供可扩展服务并不是一件容易的事。“这绝对是一种文化转变,”Winkelmann 解释说,“这里最大的挑战是将我们的客户群(电信公司)从传统的 ITSM [IT 服务管理]引入云。接受即表示您信任这些东西,并且您接受您可以每天部署三次新的服务版本,而不是像我们今天看到的那样一年只部署三次。”

即使是 George Jetson 脾气暴躁的老板 Spacely 先生,他也会很高兴。

Travelping 徽标
Travelping GmbH

Travelping(ibm.com 外部链接)总部位于德国的马格德堡,它是一家私营公司,为网络和通信设备开发软件解决方案。该公司成立于 2004 年,现有员工 30 人。

采取下一步行动

如需详细了解本案例中介绍的 IBM 解决方案,请联系您的 IBM 代表或 IBM 业务合作伙伴。

查看更多案例 联系 IBM
法律

© Copyright IBM Corporation 2020. IBM Corporation, IBM Cloud, New Orchard Road, Armonk, NY 10504

美国出品,2020 年 1 月。

IBM、IBM 徽标、ibm.com 以及 IBM Cloud 是 International Business Machines Corp. 在全球许多司法管辖区注册的商标。其他产品和服务名称可能是 IBM 或其他公司的商标。以下网站上的“Copyright and trademark information”部分中包含了 IBM 商标的最新列表:ibm.com/legal/copyright-trademark

Linux 是 Linus Torvalds 在美国和/或其他国家/地区的注册商标。

本文档为自最初公布日期起的最新版本,IBM 可能随时对其进行更改。IBM 并不一定在开展业务的所有国家或地区提供所有产品或服务。

文中引用的性能数据和客户示例仅作演示说明之用。实际性能结果可能因具体配置和操作条件而异。本文档中的信息均“按原样”提供,不涉及任何明示或暗示的保证,包括适销性、特定用途适用性的任何保证,以及不侵权的任何保证或条件。IBM 产品根据其提供时所依据的协议条款和条件获得保证。

客户负责确保遵守适用的法律和法规。IBM 不提供任何法律咨询,也不声明或保证其服务或产品经确保客户遵循任何法律或法规。

良好安全实践声明:IT 系统安全涉及通过预防、检测和响应企业内部和外部的不当访问来保护系统和信息。不正当访问可导致信息被更改、破坏、盗用或滥用,也可能导致系统被损坏或滥用,包括用于攻击他人。任何 IT 系统或产品都不应被视为完全安全,任何单一产品、服务或安全措施都不能完全有效防止不正当使用或访问。IBM 系统、产品和服务旨在成为合法、全面的安全措施的一部分,这必然涉及其他操作程序,且可能需要借助其他系统、产品或服务才能发挥最大作用。IBM 不保证任何系统、产品或服务可免于或使您的企业免于受到任何一方恶意或非法行为的影响。

Travelping GmbH
Drives connected cars into the data fast lane with cloud-native technologies
Drone view of cloverleaf highway with traffic

EU data protection regulations and network latency issues can stall advancements in connected vehicle performance. To help auto manufacturers gain real-time Internet of Things (IoT) insights, Travelping used IBM Cloud® infrastructure products and its own Kubernetes deployment to create a cloud-native solution that transports data to the vehicles.

Business challenge

Connected cars often experience latency issues that can affect safety-related insights. Travelping GmbH needed to develop an IT infrastructure platform that could negotiate the challenges of cross-border data management regulations to make IoT networking more efficient.

Transformation

Travelping knew it needed to get the network closer to the connected devices. With help from IBM Cloud, it used a self-developed Kubernetes cluster to create a scalable, cloud-native packet gateway solution that transmits the data to the vehicles.

Results Reduces IoT latency by more than 95%
for real-time vehicle safety data insights
Saves resources
by providing scalable services on commodity hardware
Keeps data in the country
by transporting the payloads to where the vehicles are
Business challenge story
Stuck in the slow lane

You don’t have to be George Jetson or his wife, Jane, to enjoy space-age features in your vehicle. Connected cars take advantage of IoT technology to allow drivers to determine how long a trip will take and issues to avoid along the way, all while streaming a movie for the kids in the back seat. The ability to connect devices in vehicles to other devices and networks produces insights such as automobile status, position and speed. These insights can improve passenger safety and vehicle maintenance, among other benefits.

But in the EU, there’s a roadblock of sorts: the General Data Protection Regulation (GDPR). Enacted in May 2018, the GDPR is designed to protect data and privacy for EU citizens and those in the European Economic Area (EEA). In part, the GDPR doesn’t allow personal data to be exported outside the EU and the EEA. When you have a connected car but your data isn’t allowed to leave the region, the ability to gain vehicle insights stalls. Traditional network solutions aren’t ideal, because that’s where the latency comes in.

Let’s say car manufacturer ABC Autos goes to telecommunications provider XYZ Mobile to provide connectivity for its new line of IoT-enabled cars. In a classic deployment, the data is attached to a network housed in a local data center. The car goes to a country outside the EU, but the data can’t. And when the car is in the EU, the data pings all over the place, from the home network to where the vehicle is.

To avoid collisions, connected cars must communicate with one another in real time. Travelping needed to develop an IT infrastructure platform that could negotiate the challenges of cross-border data management. Plus, the data had to remain in a security-rich environment.

Having a simple service on an available platform makes it possible [for a small team to deploy] globally technical services with a five-9 take on it. Holger Winkelmann Founder and CEO Travelping GmbH
Transformation story
“It’s all about the five 9s”

Equipped with years of expertise in the telecommunications industry, Travelping knew it had to get the network closer to the connected devices. It also knew that the environment needed to be highly available. “It’s all about the five 9s [99.999 percent service availability],” says Holger Winkelmann, Travelping Founder and Chief Executive Officer (CEO). “But running on five 9s is highly expensive and complicated.”

So Travelping took a route that led it back to the basics: bare metal servers with a containerized application based on a Kubernetes platform. The client used IBM Cloud infrastructure products and Kubernetes tools to create cloud-native workloads. These containerized workloads can be transported rapidly to auto manufacturers to help make remote diagnosis or maintenance a real-time reality.

Some define Kubernetes as the new Linux or a new API. It uses open source software to enable apps to be deployed as loosely coupled services by packaging individual parts into their own containers. This modular programming process of deconstructing an application into various smaller services helps make the app easier to develop, test and deploy. It also allows for continuous delivery of scalable services.

“That was the reason we moved to Kubernetes and container deployment,” explains Winkelmann. “Because you can run services that are rather simple, maybe even stateless, in a five-9 environment—99.99 percent service availability environment (backed by the IBM® SLA). And then we increased to a five-9 environment you get mostly for free.”

The solution helps Travelping customers deploy in different locations and different environments. If they implement deployments that are network based, they “touch the heart of carrier,” says Winkelmann. “Usually the carrier says that it has to go on its typology. There are reasons for that. It must be in the licensed territory.”

But with Kubernetes, there’s a common API. “It works on private cloud and private deployment, but it also works in public clouds,” Winkelmann adds. “So you are totally agnostic, where you go from developer notebook to private cloud deployments, to edge deployments, or to your Raspberry Pi on the lamppost. You deploy in exactly the same way again and again, and this is only possible with Kubernetes.”

Travelping uses IBM Cloud because it helps the company manage data compliance. It also allows the client to operate its network service on top of that. “Many clouds in the field are what we call north-south clouds. They’re about terminating web traffic,” says Winkelmann. “That's not what we’re doing. We forward the payloads, the traffic for our mobile users. IBM Cloud is the only one that still allows us to transport data from node to node in a network, and not just terminate it.”

Results story
Cultural shift

Travelping’s journey to a connected car mobile platform required a cultural shift for its customers. Processing power is centralized in cloud computing and is ideal for IoT-enabled devices. The data is processed closer to the point of origin, which helps reduce latency between devices and the data processing layer. This can enable faster response times and more informed decision-making.

Providing scalable services on commodity hardware rather than telecommunications equipment wasn’t an easy sell. “It's definitely a cultural shift,” explains Winkelmann. “The biggest challenge here is to bring our customer base, which is telcos, out of classic ITSM [IT service management] into the cloud. It's a level of acceptance that you trust the stuff, and you accept that you can deploy a new service version three times a day, and not three times a year as we see it today.”

Even George Jetson’s cantankerous boss, Mr. Spacely, would be pleased.

business logo
Travelping GmbH

Based in Magdeburg, Germany, Travelping (link resides outside of ibm.com) is a privately held company that develops software solutions for networks and communication devices. Founded in 2004, it has 30 employees.

Take the next step

To learn more about the IBM solutions featured in this story, please contact your IBM representative or IBM Business Partner.

View more case stories Contact IBM
Legal

© Copyright IBM Corporation 2020. IBM Corporation, IBM Cloud, New Orchard Road, Armonk, NY 10504

Produced in the United States of America, January 2020.

IBM, the IBM logo, ibm.com, and IBM Cloud are trademarks of International Business Machines Corp., registered in many jurisdictions worldwide. Other product and service names might be trademarks of IBM or other companies. A current list of IBM trademarks is available on the web at “Copyright and trademark information” at ibm.com/legal/copyright-trademark.

Linux is a registered trademark of Linus Torvalds in the United States, other countries, or both.

This document is current as of the initial date of publication and may be changed by IBM at any time. Not all offerings are available in every country in which IBM operates.

The performance data and client examples cited are presented for illustrative purposes only. Actual performance results may vary depending on specific configurations and operating conditions. THE INFORMATION IN THIS DOCUMENT IS PROVIDED “AS IS” WITHOUT ANY WARRANTY, EXPRESS OR IMPLIED, INCLUDING WITHOUT ANY WARRANTIES OF MERCHANTABILITY, FITNESS FOR A PARTICULAR PURPOSE AND ANY WARRANTY OR CONDITION OF NON-INFRINGEMENT. IBM products are warranted according to the terms and conditions of the agreements under which they are provided.

The client is responsible for ensuring compliance with laws and regulations applicable to it. IBM does not provide legal advice or represent or warrant that its services or products will ensure that the client is in compliance with any law or regulation.

Statement of Good Security Practices: IT system security involves protecting systems and information through prevention, detection and response to improper access from within and outside your enterprise. Improper access can result in information being altered, destroyed, misappropriated or misused or can result in damage to or misuse of your systems, including for use in attacks on others. No IT system or product should be considered completely secure and no single product, service or security measure can be completely effective in preventing improper use or access. IBM systems, products and services are designed to be part of a lawful, comprehensive security approach, which will necessarily involve additional operational procedures, and may require other systems, products or services to be most effective. IBM DOES NOT WARRANT THAT ANY SYSTEMS, PRODUCTS OR SERVICES ARE IMMUNE FROM, OR WILL MAKE YOUR ENTERPRISE IMMUNE FROM, THE MALICIOUS OR ILLEGAL CONDUCT OF ANY PARTY.