搭建桥梁,深入洞察
Sund & Bælt 发现智能基础设施的价值
深入了解 Maximo Visual Inspection 演示
丹麦的大贝尔特连接枢纽项目大桥连通西兰岛和菲英岛

在美国各地,超过三分之一的桥梁摇摇欲坠,需要维修。

2020 年美国道路与运输建设者协会 (ARTBA)“桥梁报告”外部链接(ibm.com 外部链接)称,美国超过 46,000 座桥梁“存在结构缺陷”且状况不佳,而且每天有 1.78 亿人次穿越这些桥梁。

摇摇欲坠的基础设施是全世界都关注的问题。G20 全球基础设施展望外部链接(ibm.com 外部链接)预测,基础设施资金与 2040 年必须完成的工作之间将存在 15 万亿美元的缺口。

Sund & Bælt Holding A/S 拥有并运营世界上一些最大的基础设施,其中包括丹麦历史上最大的建筑项目,即长达 11 英里的大桥和隧道组合:大贝尔特连接枢纽项目。该公司深知,其面临的最大挑战之一是定期维护检查过程缓慢且需要人工操作。为了检查桥梁,Sund & Bælt 经常雇用登山者攀登桥梁两侧,并拍摄照片以供检查。一次检查可能需要一个月的时间,对于靠近海洋或处于其他腐蚀性环境中的桥梁,检查过程必须经常重复。该公司还需要检查其所有隧道和其他基础设施元素。

100 年

 

预计大贝尔特桥的使用寿命将延长 100 年

750,000 吨

 

通过延长大桥的使用寿命,将减少 750,000 吨二氧化碳排放

我们希望进入数字化的绿色领域,从维修和维护转向资产管理。 Bjarne Jørgensen 资产管理和运营执行董事 Sund & Bælt Holding A/S

“我们的大部分业务都是对混凝土服务和其他资产进行检查,”Sund & Bælt 资产管理和运营执行董事 Bjarne Jørgensen 说道,“我们拥有超过 300,000 平方米的混凝土项目,每六年必须进行一次视觉检查。这是一项艰巨的手动工作,而且非常昂贵。”

Sund & Bælt 发现,如果将更多的检查工作自动化,就可以减少时间和成本,同时提高质量。“三年前,我们决定将维护工作提升到一个新的水平。我们希望进入数字化的绿色领域,从维修和维护转向资产管理,”Jørgensen 说道。

清晰传达数据

为了采用更先进的技术检查和维护民用基础设施,Sund & Bælt 寻求具有全球专业知识和综合能力的技术合作伙伴。该公司选择了 IBM,他们携手创建了 IBM® Maximo® for Civil Infrastructure 解决方案。如今,Sund & Bælt 正在使用 Maximo 软件监控和管理其关键基础设施。

新的解决方案包括 IBM Maximo Application Suite,该技术可以帮助 Sund & Bælt 检查基础设施,使用移动设备获得现场洞察分析,并利用 AI 技术仔细、高效地分析有关桥梁、隧道和其他基础设施元素状况的数据。

借助新的解决方案,Sund & Bælt 通过无人机拍摄的照片收集数据,以监控状态,无需进行危险且耗时的人工检查。该解决方案将这些数据与维护记录、设计文档和 3D 模型相结合,帮助识别裂纹、锈蚀、腐蚀、位移和应力。

“现在我们知道了交通负荷、重复次数以及实际的波动情况,通过这些,我们可以计算使用寿命并查看最关键的区域,”Jørgensen 说,“我们正在开发数字孪生体,我们可以通过计算来回答以下问题:‘如果交通负荷发生变化,将对我们的桥梁产生哪些影响?’”

加速的工单管理和合同管理能力可以帮助公司应对最新数据。凭借改进的缺陷管理、资产管理和决策能力,公司可以在出现紧急情况时做出更快、更好的决策,但也可以提前计划。

“我们使用 3D 模型优化维护工作,”Jørgensen 说,“在实际派遣 50-100 人进入一条长达 5 英里的隧道之前,我们可以做好准备工作。我们的结束时间窗非常有限,我们必须在这些时间窗内保持高效。”

我们使用 3D 模型优化维护工作。在实际派遣 50-100 人进入一条长达 5 英里的隧道之前,我们可以做好准备工作。 Bjarne Jørgensen 资产管理和运营执行董事 Sund & Bælt Holding A/S
前瞻性愿景的价值

借助 Maximo for Civil Infrastructure 解决方案,Sund & Bælt 能够简化检查并阐明预测性维护策略。该公司已经看到了这些优势,它们将在未来 10 年内产生巨大的价值。

“在 5-10 年内,我们希望将工作效率提高 15%-25%,”Jørgensen 说道。通过简化检查和实际资产管理,该公司可以改善应对措施。“我们正在研究如何降低风险并缩短从发现事故到修复事故的时间。这样的话,我们预计可以将时间减少 30% 以上。”

Jørgensen 估计,通过更好地了解资产健康状况以及通过主动性维护应对的风险,该解决方案将有助于延长桥梁、隧道和其他资产的使用寿命。“这才是真正有趣的地方。我们自己的 Storebælt(大贝尔特)桥的使用寿命为 100 年,但通过正确使用数据和数字解决方案,我们预计可以将桥梁的使用寿命延长 100 年。通过延长使用寿命,我们还减少了总体碳足迹。”

未来,Sund & Bælt 计划进一步扩大视觉检查范围。由于需要检查的区域如此之大,该公司始终致力于更快、更高效地发现问题。

“我们越多地使用机器人、无人机和其他新技术进行检查,我们就能从检查中获得更高的安全性和质量,”Jørgensen 说。

Sund & Bælt 徽标
关于 Sund & Bælt Holding A/S

Sund & Bælt(ibm.com 外部链接)成立于 1991 年,是一家公共有限公司,负责修建大贝尔特连接枢纽项目,这是一座长达 11 英里的桥梁和隧道组合,是丹麦历史上最大的建设项目。该公司总部位于丹麦哥本哈根,目前开发和运营一系列桥梁、隧道和道路。Sund & Bælt Holding A/S 还负责其子公司 A/S Storebælt、A/S Øresund、Sund & Bælt Partner A/S、BroBizz A/S、A/S Femern Landanlæg 和 Femern A/S 的整体管理。

采取后续步骤

如需详细了解本案例中介绍的 IBM 解决方案,请联系您的 IBM 代表或 IBM 业务合作伙伴。

查看 PDF 查看更多案例 Novate Solutions

利用认知能力发现难以察觉的事物

阅读成功案例
The Hub Power Company Limited

证明有关健康、安全和环境的高效实践始于 IT

阅读成功案例
法律

© Copyright IBM Corporation 2021. IBM Corporation, IBM Watson, New Orchard Road, Armonk, NY 10504

2021 年 7 月在美国制作。

IBM、IBM 徽标、ibm.com 和 Maximo 是 International Business Machines Corp. 在世界各地司法辖区的注册商标。其他产品和服务名称可能是 IBM 或其他公司的商标。Web 站点上的“Copyright and trademark information”部分中包含了 IBM 商标的最新列表: ibm.com/trademark

本文档为自最初公布日期起的最新版本,IBM 可能随时对其进行更改。IBM 并不一定在开展业务的所有国家或地区提供所有产品或服务。

文中引用的性能数据和客户示例仅作演示说明之用。实际性能结果可能因具体配置和操作条件而异。本文档中的信息均“按原样”提供,不涉及任何明示或暗示的保证,包括适销性、特定用途适用性的任何保证,以及不侵权的任何保证或条件。IBM 产品根据其提供时所依据的协议条款和条件获得保证。

Building bridges to better insight

Sund & Bælt finds value in intelligent infrastructure
by Ryan Bertrand
6-minute read
The Danish Great Belt Bridge

Around the US, more than one in three bridges are crumbling and need repair.

The 2020 American Road & Transportation Builders Association (ARTBA) Bridge ReportExternal Link says that more than 46,000 US bridges are “structurally deficient” and are in poor condition — and that those bridges are crossed 178 million times a day.

Crumbling infrastructures are a concern throughout the world. The G20 Global Infrastructure OutlookExternal Link predicts that there will be a USD 15 trillion gap between infrastructure funding and the work that must be completed by 2040.

Sund & Bælt Holding A/S owns and operates some of the largest infrastructures in the world, including the Great Belt Fixed Link — an 11-mile bridge and tunnel combination that is the largest construction project in Danish history. The company knew that one of its greatest challenges was the slow and manual process for conducting regular maintenance inspections. To inspect bridges, Sund & Bælt often hired mountaineers to scale the sides and take photographs for examination. An inspection could take a month, and the process had to be repeated frequently for bridges near oceans or in other corrosive environments. The company also needed to inspect all of its tunnels and other infrastructure elements.

Projected lifespan extension for Great Belt bridge

100

years

CO2 emissions saved by extending the bridge’s lifespan

750,000

tons

We wanted to move into the green field of digitization and go from repair and maintenance to asset management.
Bjarne Jørgensen
Executive Director of Asset Management and Operations, Sund & Bælt Holding A/S

“Quite a bit of our operation is doing inspections of our concrete services and other assets,” says Bjarne Jørgensen, Executive Director of Asset Management and Operations at Sund & Bælt. “We have more than 300,000 square meters of concrete that has to be visually inspected every six years. That is heavy work to do manually, and it’s very expensive.”

Sund & Bælt identified that it could reduce time and costs while improving quality if it automated more of its inspection work. “Three years ago, we decided to take our maintenance to the next level. We wanted to move into the green field of digitization and go from repair and maintenance to asset management,” Jørgensen says.

The Danish Great Belt Bridge at sunset
The Danish Great Belt Bridge support wires up close
We use 3D models to optimize the maintenance work. We can prepare for the work before we actually send 50 – 100 people down there into a tunnel that is five miles long.
Bjarne Jørgensen
Executive Director of Asset Management and Operations, Sund & Bælt Holding A/S
The clarity of data
We use 3D models to optimize the maintenance work. We can prepare for the work before we actually send 50 – 100 people down there into a tunnel that is five miles long.
Bjarne Jørgensen
Executive Director of Asset Management and Operations, Sund & Bælt Holding A/S

To inspect and maintain civil infrastructure in a more technologically advanced way, Sund & Bælt sought a technology partner with global expertise and comprehensive capabilities. The company chose IBM, and together they formed a collaboration to create what became the IBM® Maximo® for Civil Infrastructure solution. Now, Sund & Bælt is using the Maximo software to monitor and manage its critical infrastructures.

The new solution includes the IBM Maximo Application Suite, with technology that helps Sund & Bælt inspect infrastructures, access insights with mobile devices on location and use AI technology to carefully and efficiently analyze data about the conditions of bridges, tunnels and other infrastructure elements.

With the new solution, Sund & Bælt gathers data from drone photographs to monitor status without dangerous and time-consuming human inspections. The solution consolidates this data with maintenance records, design documents and 3D models to help identify cracks, rust, corrosion, displacement and stress.

“Now we know the traffic load, repetitions, how it is actually swinging — and through that, we can calculate the lifetime and look at the most critical areas,” Jørgensen says. “We are developing digital twins, and we can make calculations to answer, ‘If traffic load is changing, how will that affect our bridge?’”

Accelerated work order management and contract management functions help the company respond to the latest data. With improved defect management, asset management and decision-making capabilities, the company can make faster and better decisions if emergencies develop — but it can also plan ahead.

“We use 3D models to optimize the maintenance work,” Jørgensen says. “We can prepare for the work before we actually send 50 – 100 people down there into a tunnel that is five miles long. We have very narrow windows for closure, and we have to be efficient in those windows.”

The value of proactive vision

The Maximo for Civil Infrastructure solution gives Sund & Bælt capabilities that both streamline inspections and clarify predictive maintenance strategies. The company has seen benefits that are on course to yield significant value in the next 10 years.

“Within a timeframe of 5 – 10 years, we’re looking at an increase in productivity of 15% – 25%,” Jørgensen says. With streamlined inspections and real asset management, the company can improve its responses. “We are looking at how we can reduce the risks and reduce the time from when we see an incident to when we can repair it. There, we’re looking at a reduction in time of more than 30%.”

With a better understanding of asset health and the risks to address with proactive maintenance, Jørgensen estimates that the solution will help increase the lifetime of bridges, tunnels and other assets. “This is where it really gets interesting. Our own Storebælt (Great Belt) Bridge has been built for a lifetime of 100 years, but with the right use of data and digital solutions we expect to increase the bridge’s lifespan by 100 years. By increasing the lifetime, we are also decreasing our total carbon footprint.”

In the future, Sund & Bælt is planning to expand visual inspections even further. With such large areas to inspect, the company is always driven to find problems sooner and more efficiently.

“The more we can use robots, drones and other new technology to do our inspections, the more safety and quality we can achieve from the inspections,” Jørgensen says.

Sund & Bælt logo
About Sund & Bælt Holding A/S

Sund & BæltExternal Link was established in 1991 as a public limited company for the construction of the Great Belt Fixed Link, an 11-mile bridge and tunnel combination that is the largest construction project in Danish history. Headquartered in Copenhagen, Denmark, the company now develops and operates a range of bridges, tunnels and roads. Sund & Bælt Holding A/S also handles the overall management of its subsidiaries A/S Storebælt, A/S Øresund, Sund & Bælt Partner A/S, BroBizz A/S, A/S Femern Landanlæg and Femern A/S.

Solution components
Sund & Bælt logo
About Sund & Bælt Holding A/S

Sund & BæltExternal Link was established in 1991 as a public limited company for the construction of the Great Belt Fixed Link, an 11-mile bridge and tunnel combination that is the largest construction project in Danish history. Headquartered in Copenhagen, Denmark, the company now develops and operates a range of bridges, tunnels and roads. Sund & Bælt Holding A/S also handles the overall management of its subsidiaries A/S Storebælt, A/S Øresund, Sund & Bælt Partner A/S, BroBizz A/S, A/S Femern Landanlæg and Femern A/S.

Solution components