制药行业的变革因素
SELTA SQUARE 使用 IBM RPA 实现药品安全监控核心流程的自动化

有时,一家小型初创企业也可以产生巨大影响。

2020 年,韩国领先的制药研发企业 Daewoong Pharmaceutical 参与创立了一家新公司,该公司有望为整个行业的关键流程带来创新,提高消费者的安全性。

它就是 SELTA SQUARE 公司,其创新流程是药物警戒 (PV)。药物警戒 (PV) 是一项法律规定的学科,涉及药物不良反应的检测和报告,及其影响的评估、了解和预防。药物警戒必须在临床试验阶段实施,并贯穿药物作为市售产品的整个生命周期。它需要制药生产商投入大量的努力和辛勤工作。

然而,SELTA SQUARE 应用了IBM® 机器人流程自动化 (RPA) 软件和自主开发的 AI 算法,以运行其在本地和全球供应的首项自动化药物警戒服务。这可能会成为一项变革因素,彻底颠覆制药公司确保消费者安全的方式。

加速流程

 

SELTA SQUARE 借助 IBM RPA 将药物警戒 (PV) 流程加快了4 倍以上

加快搜索

 

平均每次 5 分钟的搜索时间缩短至1 分 11 秒

我们才刚刚开始利用药物警戒 (PV) 解决方案的价值来帮助组织体验创新。我们可以根据不断完善的药物警戒 (PV) 法规系统地处理很多事情。此外,我们将致力于为世界各地的人们提供更安全的药品。 Min Kyung Shin CEO SELTA SQUARE
关键但乏味的工作

一直有更多的药物处于开发阶段。从 2017 年到 2021 年,全球上市新药的数量比前五年增加了 47%(ibm.com 外部链接)。预测显示,到 2026 年,新药数量将进一步增长。

随着新药的开发,即使是最广泛的临床试验也无法囊括药物与个体以及其他药物相互作用的所有方式。这就是为什么药物警戒 (PV) 如此重要。它是药物安全的核心过程。

但药物对人体影响的相关信息非常复杂,尤其是在药物上市后,存在多种不同的原因。在使用 RPA 之前,Daewoong Pharmaceutical 的药物警戒 (PV) 团队每周对该公司的 100 多种产品执行一次药物警戒 (PV) 流程,其中包括高风险疾病的治疗药物,例如 PRS 抑制剂和肺纤维化治疗药物,期间全局数据收集对于确保安全至关重要。

这一流程涉及在全球和国家数据库以及医学文献和病例报告等结构化程度较低的来源中进行广泛搜索,以寻找有关不良反应和事件、非典型实验室结果等的任何数据。该团队必须搜索每个产品名称以及每个产品活性药物成分 (API) 的名称。有时需要额外搜索多个活性药物成分 (API) 的固定剂量组合。

在进行搜索的同时,药物警戒 (PV) 人员还需要截取屏幕快照并保存、下载源文档、记录搜索结果并将数据上传到 Daewoong Pharmaceutical 服务器。

通常情况下,这 100 种产品均需要一名团队成员花费一整天的时间来完成药物警戒 (PV) 流程。

显而易见的,这一流程可以采用自动化工具,但是第一次尝试得到的结果存在错误。药物警戒 (PV) 团队使用第三方 RPA 软件实现搜索流程的自动化。软件将调查结果转换为 Microsoft Excel 电子表格数据,并且需要手动重新处理并更正 Excel 与某些数据源之间的不兼容,导致报告延迟并抵消了自动化带来的效率收益。

尽管如此,团队坚信他们走在正确的道路上。他们只是需要一个更好的解决方案。

RPA 提高速度,人工提高质量

这一解决方案的下一代版本不仅仅是一个新的迭代,而是一次真正的创新,最终促成了 SELTA SQUARE 公司的诞生。SELTA SQUARE 与 IBM 合作,用 IBM RPA 取代了之前的 RPA 软件,并将解决方案转移到Web 上,创建了韩国第一个药物警戒 (PV) 即服务 (PVaaS) 系统。SELTA SQUARE 首席执行官 (CEO) Min Kyung Shin 表示:“我们知道,我们有一些特别的东西,基于 Web 的服务可以很容易地提供给其他公司。创新太有价值了,不该对其进行遏抑。”

SELTA SQUARE 应用了 IBM RPA 软件,通过计算机化系统验证(CSV)流程验证所有数据,从而消除了数据不兼容问题,并实现了性能稳定性。计算机化系统验证(CSV)流程符合确保数据完整性的行业法规,例如美国食品药品监督管理局发布的 FDA21 CFR Part 11 指南和国际制药工程协会 (ISPE) 发布的 GAMP 5 指南。

新的精度意味着团队可以充分实现自动化系统的价值。RPA 解决方案不仅能比人工更快地执行文献检索,还可以全天候工作,从而实现复利效应。它结合了 SELTA SQUARE 的 AI 功能,可以减少简单、重复性任务,例如检测和删除重复结果。Shin 表示:“首先,IBM RPA 在文献中搜索关键术语,然后 SELTA SQUARE 的 AI Case Detector 对 RPA 搜索识别的论文进行操作,并突出显示新的安全信息。根据信息进行决策的过程仍由人类专家负责,只不过他们现在能更快速地获取到关键信息。”

现在,药物警戒 (PV) 流程比以前快了四倍多,节约时间也即人工提高药物警戒 (PV) 质量的时间。

Shin 表示:“以前,在文献检索中执行每次搜索关键字需要的平均时间大约为 5 分钟。根据我们的调查,其他公司也需要花费类似的时间。借助新的 RPA 解决方案,每次搜索关键字平均只需要 1 分 11 秒,而且是在您睡觉时完成的。现在,药物警戒 (PV) 专家可以通过查看检索文献的结果做出医疗决策,无需花费数小时进行搜索。我们的团队现在更加注重审查、评估和分析有效案例,并且正在提高整体文献监测的质量。”

全球创新的潜力

SELTA SQUARE 于 2022 年 7 月正式推出自动化 PVaaS 服务。Shin 表示:“我们才刚刚开始利用这种药物警戒 (PV) 解决方案的价值帮助组织体验创新。我们可以根据不断完善的药物警戒 (PV) 法规系统地处理很多事情。此外,我们将致力于为世界各地的人们提供更安全的药品。”

SELTA SQUARE 徽标
关于 SELTA SQUARE

SELTA SQUARE (ibm.com 外部链接)为制药行业提供了药物警戒的新常态。作为唯一一家将工业 4.0 技术应用于药物警戒 (PV) 的公司,SELTA SQUARE为药品安全提供了一个更加系统、科学的监测和评估平台。该平台与客户携手合作,可以提高药物警戒 (PV) 效率、降低成本,并为专业人员节省时间以完成价值更高的工作。随着发展,SELTA SQUARE 期望为更多人提高用药安全性。

接下来:
查看案例研究 PDF Bureau voor Normalisatie (NBN) 徽标
比利时 NBN 使用 IBM Robotic Process Automation 软件在更短的时间内完成更多工作
阅读成功案例
Deloitte
德勤利用 RPA 机器人套件简化报告制作
阅读成功案例
Credit Unions System for Brazil (Sicoob)
借助 IBM Robotic Process Automation 软件,Sicoob 从根本上提高了流程效率
阅读成功案例
法律条款

© Copyright IBM Corporation 2022. IBM Corporation, New Orchard Road, Armonk, NY 10504

源自美国,2021 年 9 月。

IBM、IBM 徽标和 ibm.com 是 International Business Machines Corp. 在世界各地司法辖区的注册商标。其他产品和服务名称可能是 IBM 或其他公司的商标。关于 IBM 商标的最新列表,请登录 www.ibm.com/cn-zh/legal/copytrade 的“版权和商标信息”网站查询。

本文档为自最初公布日期起的最新版本,IBM 可能随时对其进行更改。IBM 并不一定在开展业务的所有国家或地区提供所有产品或服务。

文中引用的性能数据和客户实例仅作说明之用。实际性能结果可能因具体配置和操作条件而异。本文档内的信息“按现状”提供,不附有任何种类的(无论是明示的还是默示的)保证,包括不附有关于适销性、适用于某种特定用途的任何保证以及非侵权的任何保证或条件。IBM 产品根据其提供时所依据的协议条款和条件获得保证。

客户负责确保遵守适用的法律和法规。IBM 不提供任何法律咨询,也不声明或保证其服务或产品经确保客户遵循任何法律或法规。

Sometimes a small startup can make a huge impact.

In 2020, leading South Korean pharmaceutical R&D company Daewoong Pharmaceutical helped launch a new company that has the potential to innovate a critical process for the entire industry — and enhance consumer safety as a result.

The company is SELTA SQUARE, and the process it’s innovating is pharmacovigilance (PV), a legally mandated discipline for detecting and reporting adverse effects from drugs, then assessing, understanding and preventing those effects. PV must be performed not only during the clinical trials phase but through the whole lifetime of drugs as available products. It demands a great deal of effort and diligence from pharma producers.

SELTA SQUARE, however, has applied IBM® Robotic Process Automation (RPA) software and self-developed AI algorithms to run a first-of-its-kind, automated PV service that it is offering locally and globally. This could be a game changer for the way that pharma companies ensure consumer safety.

 

SELTA SQUARE accelerated the PV process

> 4x

using IBM RPA

Searches that took 5 minutes each were reduced to

1 min 11 sec

on average

Critical but tedious work

More medicines are being developed all the time. The number of new medicines entering the market globally from 2017 through 2021 exceeded the previous five-year period by 47% (external link). And projections indicate further growth through 2026.

As new medicines are developed, even the most extensive clinical trials cannot account for every way that the medicines could interact with individuals and other drugs. That’s why PV is so important. It is the core process for drug safety.

But the information about drugs’ effects in the population — especially after they’ve been released to market — is complex and comes from myriad sources. Before using RPA, Daewoong Pharmaceutical’s PV team conducted a weekly PV process for more than 100 of the company’s products, including medicines for high-risk conditions, such as PRS inhibitors and pulmonary fibrosis treatments, where global data collection is essential to ensuring safety.

Pharmacist checking pills on a shelf

The process involved extensive searches — in global and national databases as well as less-structured sources like medical literature and case reports — seeking any data on adverse reactions and events, atypical lab results and more. And the team had to search on every product name as well as the names of each product’s active pharmaceutical ingredients (APIs). Fixed-dose combinations of multiple APIs sometimes require additional searches.

Along with the searches, PV personnel needed to take and save screenshots, download source documents, document search results and upload the data to a Daewoong Pharmaceutical server.

For each one of the 100 products, it normally took one team member a full workday to complete the PV process.

The opportunity for automation was clear, but a first attempt led to flawed results. The PV team used third-party RPA software to automate the search process. The software converted findings into Microsoft Excel spreadsheet data, and incompatibility between Excel and some data sources required manual rework and corrections, delaying reporting and offsetting the efficiency gains from the automation.

Nonetheless, the team knew they were on the right path. They just needed a better solution.

RPA boosts speed, humans boost quality

More than just a new iteration, the next version of the solution was a true innovation, and it led to the launch of SELTA SQUARE as its own company. SELTA SQUARE worked with IBM to replace the previous RPA software with IBM RPA and move the solution to the web, creating Korea’s first PV-as-a-service (PVaaS) system. “We knew we had something special,” says Min Kyung Shin, Chief Executive Officer (CEO) of SELTA SQUARE. “The web-based service could easily be provided to other companies. It was innovation too valuable to keep bottled up.”

SELTA SQUARE eliminated the data-incompatibility problem and achieved consistent performance by using the IBM RPA software to validate all data through the computerized system validation (CSV) process, which complies with industry regulations for ensuring data integrity, such as the US Food and Drug Administration’s FDA21 CFR Part 11 guidelines and the International Society for Pharmaceutical Engineering (ISPE) GAMP 5 guidelines.

Businessman working on computer at office desk

The new accuracy meant that the team could fully realize the value of an automated system. Not only does the RPA solution perform the literature searches much faster than humans, it can also work around the clock — compounding the benefit. And it incorporates SELTA SQUARE’s AI to reduce the time spent on simple, repetitive tasks — such as detecting and eliminating duplicate findings. “First, IBM RPA searches the literature for the key terms, then SELTA SQUARE's AI Case Detector operates on the papers identified by the RPA search and highlights new safety information,” says Shin. “Human experts still decide how to act upon the information, now they just get to the key information much faster.”

The PV process is now more than four times faster than before, and the time saved is time that human staff use to enhance PV’s quality.

Shin explains: “Previously, it took about 5 minutes on average per search term just for literature searches. And according to our own investigation, other companies take similar time. The new RPA solution takes an average of only 1 minute and 11 seconds per search term — and it is done while you sleep. So PV specialists can now make medical decisions by looking at the retrieved literature, they no longer have to spend hours searching. Our team now focuses more on reviewing, evaluating and analyzing valid cases, and it’s improving the quality of overall literature monitoring.”

Potential for global innovation

SELTA SQUARE officially launched its automated PVaaS service in July 2022. “We are just beginning to help organizations experience innovation through the value of this PV solution,” says Shin. “We can systematically handle many things in accordance with the constantly tightening PV regulations, and furthermore, we will contribute to providing safer medicines to people around the world.”

SELTA SQUARE logo

About SELTA SQUARE

SELTA SQUARE (external link) offers the pharmaceutical industry a new normal for pharmacovigilance. As the only company applying Industry 4.0 technology to PV, SELTA SQUARE provides a platform for the safety of pharmaceuticals to be monitored and assessed more systematically and scientifically. It works with its customers to increase PV efficiency, reduce cost, and save time for professionals to do higher-value work. As it moves forward, SELTA SQUARE expects to contribute to greater drug safety for more people.



Solution component

IBM® Robotic Process Automation
 

Legal terms

© Copyright IBM Corporation 2022. IBM Corporation, New Orchard Road, Armonk, NY 10504

Produced in the United States of America, September 2022.

IBM, the IBM logo, ibm.com are trademarks of International Business Machines Corp., registered in many jurisdictions worldwide. Other product and service names might be trademarks of IBM or other companies. A current list of IBM trademarks is available on the web at “Copyright and trademark information” at www.ibm.com/legal/copytrade.

This document is current as of the initial date of publication and may be changed by IBM at any time. Not all offerings are available in every country in which IBM operates.

The performance data and client examples cited are presented for illustrative purposes only. Actual performance results may vary depending on specific configurations and operating conditions. THE INFORMATION IN THIS DOCUMENT IS PROVIDED “AS IS” WITHOUT ANY WARRANTY, EXPRESS OR IMPLIED, INCLUDING WITHOUT ANY WARRANTIES OF MERCHANTABILITY, FITNESS FOR A PARTICULAR PURPOSE AND ANY WARRANTY OR CONDITION OF NON-INFRINGEMENT. IBM products are warranted according to the terms and conditions of the agreements under which they are provided.

The client is responsible for ensuring compliance with laws and regulations applicable to it. IBM does not provide legal advice or represent or warrant that its services or products will ensure that the client is in compliance with any law or regulation.