提到罗马,我们通常会想到它丰富的历史和文化。 罗马斗兽场和万神殿会浮现在我们的脑海中,还有这座城市蜚声世界的伟大艺术和精致美食。 但罗马也是一座现代化的城市,拥有 287 万充满活力的市民,他们每天都在使用最新技术。

罗马首都市是该市的政府机构,它的使命之一就是让这座历史悠久的古城成为富有现代气息的生活场所。 罗马首都市为广大市民提供一系列数字服务,包括全市范围的 wifi、在线门户网站、学前教育报名以及建筑许可,等等。

当然,对于一个拥有数百万人口的城市而言,要确保众多服务都带来积极的最终用户体验绝非易事。 罗马首都市的 IT 基础架构也不是一天建成的。 它庞大且复杂。

罗马首都市数据中心主管 Roberto Massimiliani 领导着一个 5 人团队,在由裸机、容器和 Microsoft Hyper-V 基础架构组成的本地环境中管理着 800 台虚拟机 (VM) 和 150 台物理机器。

该团队过去遵循旧的工作负载开发模式,依靠人工干预来管理性能,最大程度降低风险。“在使用 IBM Turbonomic 之前,我们尝试在容器基础架构上实施微服务,但开发人员没有所需的工具,因此无法实现这一转变。 他们只是开发出被迫在容器上运行的单体式应用。”Massimiliani 解释道。

和其他许多 IT 团队一样,该团队依靠各种不同的监控工具和用户投诉来发现并处理性能问题。 现有的工具无法帮助他们全面了解自己的环境;也不能支持团队在执行资源分配决策之前了解这样做会产生的影响。 所有团队都只能在发生性能问题后做出被动反应,以人工方式重新分配资源并监控后续影响。 这种做法使他们无法主动而持续地确保员工和市民所依赖的应用以高性能运行。

为了最大程度降低风险并长期保持高性能,罗马首都市团队明白,自己需要探索新技术和 AI。 他们还需要实现全栈可视性。 于是他们决定采用 IBM® Turbonomic® Application Resource Management (ARM) 解决方案。

实施 IBM Turbonomic 之后:

15%

的本地 RAM 和 CPU 使用率得以降低

借助 IBM Turbonomic 优化了

800

的工作负载

全栈可视性在降低性能风险方面所发挥的作用

Massimiliani 和他的团队部署 Turbonomic 之后,已经能够保证应用实现持续的高性能运行。 借助 Dynatrace 集成,该团队最终能够获得本地环境的全栈视图: 从应用层向下直至基础架构。“对我们来说,IBM Turbonomic 最出色的功能之一就是全栈可视性。”Massimiliani 解释道,“借助 IBM Turbonomic,我可以了解容器是如何运行的,以及运行是否正常: 是否使用过多的资源。”

现在,他们可以获得全面、实时的环境视图,以及 AI 支持的资源配置建议,因此罗马首都市的团队通过发现环境中的性能风险,并重新分配资源以确定消除风险的最佳方式,主动预防性能问题,减少整个环境中的资源浪费。 此外,他们在执行资源分配措施之前,可以了解这样做的影响。 由于采用了 Dynatrace 集成,该团队可以了解资源分配措施如何对应用响应时间产生后续影响。“我们集成 Turbonomic 和 Dynatrace 之后,获得了所需的数据,可以向整个团队证明,调整规模并不会影响性能。 事实上,性能还有所改进。”Massimiliani 解释道。

在罗马的阳台上打手机的女性

减少浪费,同时提高性能

自从实施 Turbonomic 以后,罗马首都市团队将环境中的 RAM 和 CPU 使用率降低了 15%。 而这样又帮助他们逐步将成本降至最低。“如果没有 IBM Turbonomic,我们需要添加更多的主机。”Massimiliani 说道,“而 IBM Turbonomic 可以帮助我们提高现有基础架构的利用率,避免不必要的支出。”

通过提高现有基础架构的效率,他们延长了资源的使用寿命,并减少了支出。 他们不仅使硬件成本降低了 10%,还显著节省了时间。 该团队大幅减少了评估环境和实施资源分配决策所花费的时间。 这反过来又使他们从这些任务中解放出来,可以集中精力去从事被罗马首都市视为战略性优先任务的新计划。

随着工作的进展,罗马首都市 IT 团队希望进一步扩大 Turbonomic 自动化资源分配措施的采用范围。 现在,他们以人工方式执行 Turbonomic 提供的资源分配建议;但从长远来看,他们打算尽可能实现自动化,以便能够不断地最大程度降低成本,同时确保市民所使用应用的性能。

罗马首都市徽标

关于罗马首都市

罗马首都市(链接位于 ibm.com 外部)是罗马市政府,由许多不同的机构组成,为该市市民提供服务。 罗马首都市的 IT 组织负责支持注册办事机构、停车场所和交通运输机构、学校以及其他单位使用的一系列软件和服务。 罗马首都市 IT 组织的主要关注领域是市民用于各种开展活动(例如支付学费和结清罚款)的 Web 门户网站。

解决方案组件
IBM® Turbonomic® Application Resource Management

© Copyright IBM Corporation 2022. IBM Corporation, New Orchard Road, Armonk, NY 10504

美国出品,2022 年 9 月。

IBM、IBM 徽标、ibm.com 和 Turbonomic 是 International Business Machines Corp. 在全球许多司法管辖区域注册的商标。 其他产品和服务可能是 IBM 或其他公司的商标。Web 站点 https://www.ibm.com/legal/copytrade 上的“Copyright and trademark information”部分中包含了 IBM 商标的最新列表。

Microsoft、Windows、Windows NT 和 Windows 徽标是 Microsoft Corporation 在美国和/或其他国家或地区的商标。

本文档为自最初公布日期起的最新版本,IBM 可随时对其进行修改。IBM 并不一定在开展业务的所有国家或地区提供所有这些产品或服务。

引用的性能数据和客户示例仅用于演示目的。实际性能结果可能因具体配置和运行条件而异。本文档中的信息“按现状”提供,不附有任何种类的(无论是明示的还是默示的)保证,不包含任何有关适销、适用于某种特定用途的保证以及有关非侵权的任何保证或条件。IBM 产品是根据产品提供时所依据的协议条款和条件提供保证的。

When we think of Rome, we often think of its rich history and culture. The Colosseum and the Pantheon come to mind, as well as the wonderful art and cuisine the city is famous for. But Rome is also a modern city with a vibrant population of 2.87 million citizens who are using the latest technology every single day.

Roma Capitale is the city’s municipal government, and one of its missions is to make this ancient city a very modern place to live. From city-wide wifi to an online portal for everything from preschool enrollments to building permits, Roma Capitale provides an array of digital services for citizens.

Of course, ensuring positive end-user experiences across numerous services, for a city of millions, is no small feat. Roma Capitale’s IT infrastructure wasn’t built in a day. It is large and complex.

Roberto Massimiliani, the Head of Data Center at Roma Capitale, leads a team of five people managing 800 virtual machines (VMs) and 150 physical machines in an on-premises environment comprising bare metal, containers and Microsoft Hyper-V infrastructure.

Historically, the team followed a legacy development model for its workloads and relied on manual intervention to manage performance and minimize risk. “Before IBM Turbonomic, we were attempting to implement microservices on our container infrastructure but our developers did not have the tools they needed to fully make this transition. They just had monolithic applications which they were forcing to run on containers,” explains Massimiliani.

Like many other IT teams, this team relied on disparate monitoring tools and user complaints to identify and address performance issues. Their existing tools did not give them a comprehensive understanding of their environment; nor did they allow the team to understand the impact of a resourcing decision before it was executed. All the team could do was react to performance issues as they occurred, manually reallocate resources and monitor the impact afterward. This approach did not allow them to proactively and continuously assure the performance of the applications their employees and citizens were counting on.

To minimize risk and assure performance long-term, the Roma Capitale team knew they needed to explore new technologies and AI. They also needed full-stack visibility. This is when they turned to the IBM® Turbonomic® Application Resource Management (ARM) solution.

After implementing IBM Turbonomic:

15%

reduction in RAM and CPU on premises

Optimized with the help of IBM Turbonomic:

800

workloads

The role of full-stack visibility in reducing performance risk

Once they deployed Turbonomic, Massimiliani and his team were on their way to achieving continuous performance assurance of their applications. Because of the Dynatrace integration, the team was finally able to get a full-stack view of their on-premises environment: from the application layer down to the infrastructure. “For us, one of the best features of IBM Turbonomic is the full-stack visibility,” explains Massimiliani. “With IBM Turbonomic, I can see how our containers are running and if they are running correctly: if they are using too many resources or not.”

Now that they have access to a comprehensive, real-time view of their environment as well as AI-powered resourcing recommendations, the Roma Capitale team proactively prevents performance issues and reduces waste across their environment by identifying where there is performance risk in their environment and determining the optimal way to eliminate that risk by reallocating resources. Moreover, they can see the impact of a resourcing action before they execute it. And because of the Dynatrace integration, the team can see how resourcing actions affect application response time afterward. “Once we integrated Turbonomic and Dynatrace we had the data we needed to show the entire team that resizing does not compromise performance. In fact, it improves performance,” notes Massimiliani.

Woman on a Roman terrace, talking on mobile phone

Reducing waste while improving performance

Since implementing Turbonomic the Roma Capitale team has reduced RAM and CPU usage across their environment by 15%. This in turn helps them minimize cost over time. “Without IBM Turbonomic, we would need to insert another host,” says Massimiliani. “IBM Turbonomic has allowed us to increase our utilization of our existing infrastructure and avoid unnecessary expenditure.”

By increasing the efficiency of their existing infrastructure, they increase its lifespan and reduce spend. Not only have they achieved 10% hardware cost reduction, they have also seen time-savings. The team has significantly decreased the amount of time spent assessing their environment and implementing resourcing decisions. This in turn has freed them up to focus on new initiatives that are a strategic priority for Roma Capitale.

As they move forward, the Roma Capitale IT team is looking to expand their adoption of Turbonomic’s automated resourcing actions. Today, they manually execute on the resourcing recommendations Turbonomic provides, but in the long term they plan to implement automation wherever possible so that they may continue to follow their charter to minimize cost while assuring the performance of the applications their citizens are using.

Roma Capitale logo

About Roma Capitale

Roma Capitale (link resides outside of ibm.com) is the municipal government for the city of Rome, comprising many different agencies serving the city’s citizens. The IT organization within Roma Capitale supports a range of software and services that are used by the registry office, parking and transportation agency, schools and more. A main area of focus for Roma Capitale’s IT organization is the web portal that citizens use for a variety of activities, such as paying school fees and settling fines.

Solution component
IBM® Turbonomic® Application Resource Management

© Copyright IBM Corporation 2022. IBM Corporation, New Orchard Road, Armonk, NY 10504

Produced in the United States of America, September 2022.

IBM, the IBM logo, ibm.com, and Turbonomic are trademarks of International Business Machines Corp., registered in many jurisdictions worldwide. Other product and service names might be trademarks of IBM or other companies. A current list of IBM trademarks is available on the web at “Copyright and trademark information” at www.ibm.com/legal/copytrade.

Microsoft, Windows, Windows NT, and the Windows logo are trademarks of Microsoft Corporation in the United States, other countries, or both.

This document is current as of the initial date of publication and may be changed by IBM at any time. Not all offerings are available in every country in which IBM operates.

The performance data and client examples cited are presented for illustrative purposes only. Actual performance results may vary depending on specific configurations and operating conditions. THE INFORMATION IN THIS DOCUMENT IS PROVIDED “AS IS” WITHOUT ANY WARRANTY, EXPRESS OR IMPLIED, INCLUDING WITHOUT ANY WARRANTIES OF MERCHANTABILITY, FITNESS FOR A PARTICULAR PURPOSE AND ANY WARRANTY OR CONDITION OF NON-INFRINGEMENT. IBM products are warranted according to the terms and conditions of the agreements under which they are provided.