© Primanti Brothers 的图片

餐饮业务正在快速变化,技术的进步在其实现现代化的过程中发挥着不可或缺的作用。 最近,AI 的出现给餐饮服务领域带来了几乎无限的潜力,但您至少在下次用餐时,还不会看到完全由机器人操作的烧烤和饮料调制。

历史悠久的餐馆连锁店 Primanti Brothers 对于“与时俱进”并不陌生。 在超过 89 年的历史中,这家位于匹兹堡的标志性连锁企业在创新方面一直做得非常好,包括在其独具特色的三明治中添加炸薯条和凉拌菜丝。 然而,该公司在经历新冠疫情危机后,重新审视自己的后台运营业务模式,认识到区域管理团队采用人工报告流程无法高效地完成任务。

“对我们来说,这是非常繁忙的一年。 和餐饮业的许多企业一样,我们在 2020-2021 年过得并不轻松。 从新冠疫情中走出来之后,我们做出了许多有关新产品和新项目的决策。”Primanti Brothers 财务规划与分析部主任 Caitlin Stritmatter 解释说,“我们开始思考,‘是否需要在每个餐厅都雇佣一个人来从事文书和行政方面的工作? 应该有更好的办法。’我们需要更有效的方式来处理报告工作。”

IBM RPA 为 8 个区域经理自动完成任务,每天生成 40 份报告,每年可节省

2,000

小时

Primanti Bros. 实现 100% 的 ROI 仅仅用了

3

个月

Primanti Bros. 希望通过整合生成日常销售和人工报告所需的手动工作,改进其重复性的办公流程。 该公司密切研究了现有状况,发现 8 名区域经理每天都需要从各自所辖的 5 个地点抽取销售报告,每人每天至少需要花费 45 分钟的时间,在上午 10 点之前生成 40 份报告,周末和节假日也不例外。 该餐厅连锁店认识到,使用 AI 自动执行此类流程可显著节省时间和运营成本。

“你每天只有花这样多的时间生成报告之后,才能开始经营餐厅。 你深陷数据泥潭,需要在电子表格中复制、粘贴、填写以及复核数字,而你原本可以将注意力放在销售数字和客户反馈上。”Stritmatter 说道,“因此,我们希望把忙碌的工作从流程中剔除出去,为思考和规划腾出时间。”

餐厅内部,吧台上方有电视

© Primanti Brothers

自动执行日常任务

流程自动化给企业带来了一系列挑战,但 Primanti Bros. 决定勇敢面对这一挑战。 通过与 IBM 以及 IBM 业务合作伙伴 Salient Process,Inc.(一家提供全方位服务的流程自动化公司)合作,Primanti Bros. 制定了数字现代化计划,将 AI 用于财务部门。 通过分析各种软件技术,财务规划和分析团队发现 IBM® Robotic Process Automation (RPA) 能够给自动化用例带来最高的投资回报率 (ROI)。

Salient Process 高级自动化顾问 Jimmy Hewitt 表示:“对于这种特定的自动化技术,有两点我非常喜欢。 首先是原本通过人力每年需要 2000 小时完成的工作,由机器人完成则根本不用花时间,这无疑是时间方面的馈赠。 有人说时间无法购买。 我说你可以! 第二是获得这种能力的门槛非常低。”

大嚼三明治的人

© Primanti Brothers

RPA 提供直观的用户界面,支持几乎任何人构建机器人以执行简单的自动化任务。 IBM RPA 机器人非常灵活。 它可以跨多个平台和系统开展工作,使用 AI 收集分散的信息。 Primenti Bros. 依靠 IBM RPA 技术,将日常销售和人工报告转变为自动任务,同时减少了错误可能性。

新解决方案在两周内就完成实施。 三个月后,Primanti Bros 就表示已实现投资回报。 Primanti 的区域经理们现在免除了案牍之劳,可以花更多时间专注于为其“粉丝”(客户)提供最佳体验。 通过访问实时数字和数据,管理团队可以快速对比趋势,开始规划一天的运营。

“我们的一位地区经理表示,他们现在从报告工作中解放了出来,不仅手头有已完成的报告,而且知道这些报告非常准确。 没有人参与报告制作,错误输入不准确的数字。”Stritmatter 补充道,“作为数据使用者,这让我感到安心。 报告没有错误,我知道他们在看正确的内容。”

三分钟的机器人

Primenti Bros. 现在能够以创纪录的速度完成日常销售和人工报告。 无需 8 名经理每人每天花费 45 分钟完成报告,RPA 机器人在三分钟内即可搞定。 它每年可以为管理团队节省 2000 小时,为 Primanti Bros. 节省 84000 美元的成本。

随着餐厅采用更多技术,机器学习和 AI 的未来没有止境。 在见识了自动化机器人的能力后,Primanti Bros. 的其他部门已提交申请,希望用其满足自己的报告需求。

“我们还在研究会计和 IT 部门的请求。 如果所有请求都得到满足,那么将有数以百计的报告可以自动完成,但我们将优先考虑可以产生最大影响的领域。”Stritmatter 解释道,“我们制定了长期计划,通过开设更多的餐馆门店,实现持续增长。 展望未来,我们希望实现的目标是,雇佣一个内部人员即可管理我们过去、现在和未来的自动化工作。 发展空间很大,我们并不打算减速。 这种机器人技术对于确保业务模式的可扩展性至关重要。”

Primanti Bros. 徽标

关于 Primanti Brothers

Primanti Bros.(外部链接)是标志性的三明治连锁店,于 1933 年由 Joe Primanti 及其兄弟创立于宾夕法尼亚州的匹兹堡。 这家著名的连锁店以其标志性的三明治而驰名 — 两片意大利面包之间夹着烤肉、融化的奶酪、凉拌菜丝、番茄和炸薯条夹。

Salient Process 徽标

关于 Salient Process, Inc.

位于美国的 Salient Process(外部链接)是 IBM 业务合作伙伴,也是领先的超级自动化服务和解决方案供应商,在过去一年中,规模扩大了一倍。 Salient 的专业领域包括流程映射、挖掘和分析、机器人流程自动化、业务流程管理(BPM)、业务规则管理(决策)和自动化解决方案,并在近岸、在岸和离岸实施咨询服务方面有着非常强的实力。

解决方案组件

IBM® Robotic Process Automation

© Copyright IBM Corporation 2022. IBM Corporation, IBM Consulting, New Orchard Road, Armonk, NY 10504

美国出品,2022 年 5 月。

IBM、IBM 徽标和 ibm.com 是 International Business Machines Corp. 在全球许多司法管辖区域注册的商标。其他产品和服务可能是 IBM 或其他公司的商标。以下 Web 站点上的“Copyright and trademark information”部分中包含了 IBM 商标的最新列表:https://www.ibm.com/legal/copytrade

本文档为自最初公布日期起的最新版本,IBM 可随时对其进行修改。IBM 并不一定在开展业务的所有国家或地区提供所有这些产品或服务。

引用的性能数据和客户示例仅用于演示目的。实际性能结果可能因具体配置和运行条件而异。本文档中的信息“按现状”提供,不附有任何种类的(无论是明示的还是默示的)保证,不包含任何有关适销、适用于某种特定用途的保证以及有关非侵权的任何保证或条件。IBM 产品是根据产品提供时所依据的协议条款和条件提供保证的。

AI clocks in: how bots are streamlining restaurant operations

Primanti Brothers modernizes back-office processes with an RPA bot

by Brittany King
4-minute read
Primanti Brothers building, store front with neon sign
© Primanti Brothers

The restaurant business is rapidly changing, and the advancement of technology is playing an integral role in its modernization. Recently, the emergence of AI is delivering virtually limitless potential to the foodservice field, but don’t expect to see an all-robot staff operating the grill and mixing drinks the next time you dine out — not yet, at least.

Longtime restaurant chain Primanti Brothers is no stranger to evolving with the times. For over 89 years, the iconic Pittsburgh-based chain has been doing everything right in terms of innovation, including offering French fries and coleslaw in its signature sandwiches. However, the company emerged from the COVID-19 crisis, looked at its service model for back-of-house operations, and realized its regional management team was inefficiently tasked with manual reporting processes.

“It was a very hectic year for us. As many in the restaurant industry would say, 2020 – 2021 was not an easy time. Coming out of the Covid pandemic, a lot was happening with decisions for new products and projects,” explains Caitlin Stritmatter, Director of Financial Planning & Analysis at Primanti Bros. “We started to think, ‘Do we need to hire a person in every restaurant just to do the paperwork and the administrative side of stuff? There has to be a better way.’ We needed a more efficient way to handle our reporting.”

Person sitting at table with sandwhich and drink in front of them
© Primanti Brothers

IBM RPA automates tasks for 8 regional managers, generating 40 reports daily, saving

2,000

hours annually

Primanti Bros. achieved 100% ROI in

3

months

There’s such a limited amount of time when it comes to running a restaurant that wasting it on a redundant process is the last thing you want to do.
Caitlin Stritmatter
Director of Financial Planning & Analysis, Primanti Brothers

Primanti Bros. wanted to improve its repetitive office processes by consolidating the manual work required to generate the daily sales and labor reports. Looking closely at the situation, the company needed a group of eight regional managers to pull daily sales reports for five locations each, taking at least 45 minutes per person to generate 40 reports by 10 AM each day, including weekends and holidays. The restaurant chain realized that automating such processes using AI would save on time and operational costs.

“You only have so much time every day before you start running the restaurant. You can get so bogged down in the process of copying, pasting, filling out and double-checking a spreadsheet, when you should be focused on actually looking at the numbers and what they’re saying,” says Stritmatter. “So, we wanted to take the busy-work out of the process to free up time for thought and planning.”

Inside of restaurant, with TVs above a bar
© Primanti Brothers

Automating mundane tasks

Person taking a bite of a large sandwhich
© Primanti Brothers

Process automation poses an array of challenges for companies, but Primanti Bros. met this challenge head-on. Working with IBM and IBM Business Partner Salient Process, Inc., a full-service process automation firm, Primanti Bros. mapped out a digital modernization plan that would use AI for its finance department. Through analyzing various software technologies, the Financial Planning and Analysis team found IBM® Robotic Process Automation (RPA) to deliver the highest return on investment (ROI) for automation use cases.

Jimmy Hewitt, Senior Automation Advisor at Salient Process, says: “I really like two things about this specific automation technology. First is that because it takes the bot no time at all to do work that took humans 2,000 hours per year to do, it quite literally gives you the gift of time. They say you can’t buy time. I say, yes you can! Second is how low the barrier to entry is for this capability.”

RPA provides an intuitive user interface, allowing almost anyone to build a bot to perform simple automated tasks. The IBM RPA bot is incredibly flexible. It can work across multiple platforms and systems to collect scattered information using AI. Primanti Bros. relies on IBM RPA technology to turn daily sales and labor reporting into a hands-free task with less room for error.

Within two weeks, the new solution was implemented. Three months later, Primanti Bros. reported that it had already paid for itself. Instead of sitting behind a desk, Primanti’s regional managers can now spend more time focusing on providing the best experience to their “fans” (their customers). With access to real-time numbers and data, the management team can quickly compare the trends and begin planning for the day.

“One of our regional managers said what a relief it is to not only have these reports already done but to know they’re accurate. Nobody else went in and mistakenly entered the wrong number,” adds Stritmatter. “As a data person, that puts me at ease. It’s error-free and I know they’re looking at the right stuff.”

Selecting the IBM Robotic Process Automation solution was a no-brainer. This isn’t just a product that helps the corporate office; it’s also helping operations and the restaurant managers.
Caitlin Stritmatter
Director of Financial Planning & Analysis, Primanti Brothers

The three-minute bot

Primanti Bros. now completes daily sales and labor reporting in record time. Instead of eight managers each spending 45 minutes per day on the task, the RPA bot takes care of it in three minutes. It saves management over 2,000 hours annually, with Primanti Bros. seeing a cost savings of USD 84,000.

As the restaurant moves toward more technology, the future of its machine learning and AI is uncapped. After seeing the automation bot’s capabilities, other departments within Primanti Bros. have submitted requests to apply it to their own reporting needs.

“We are also working on mapping out requests for the accounting and IT department. There could be hundreds of reports we can automate when it’s all said and done, but we are prioritizing what will have the biggest impact,” explains Stritmatter. “We have a long-term plan for continued growth by opening more restaurant locations. Looking down the road, we hope to get to a point where we need to hire someone internal just to manage our automations — past, present and future. There’s a lot of room to grow and we have no plans to slow down. The bot will be vital in keeping our business model scalable.”

Primanti Brothers logo
About Primanti Brothers

Primanti Bros.External Link, an iconic sandwich shop chain, was founded in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, by Joe Primanti and his brothers in 1933. The famous chain is known for its signature sandwich consisting of grilled meat, melted cheese, coleslaw, tomato and French fries between two slices of Italian bread.

Salient Process, Inc. logo
About Salient Process, Inc.

Having doubled in size over the last year, US-based Salient ProcessExternal Link is an IBM Business Partner and the leading hyperautomation services and solutions provider. Salient specializes in Process Mapping, Mining and Analysis, Robotic Process Automation, Business Process Management (BPM), Business Rules Management (Decision) and Automation Solutions, and maintains a healthy practice of on shore, near shore, and offshore implementation consultants.

Solution component
Primanti Brothers logo
About Primanti Brothers

Primanti Bros.https://primantibros.com/, an iconic sandwich shop chain, was founded in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, by Joe Primanti and his brothers in 1933. The famous chain is known for its signature sandwich consisting of grilled meat, melted cheese, coleslaw, tomato and French fries between two slices of Italian bread.

Salient Process, Inc. logo
About Salient Process, Inc.

Having doubled in size over the last year, US-based Salient ProcessExternal Link is an IBM Business Partner and the leading hyperautomation services and solutions provider. Salient specializes in Process Mapping, Mining and Analysis, Robotic Process Automation, Business Process Management (BPM), Business Rules Management (Decision) and Automation Solutions, and maintains a healthy practice of on shore, near shore, and offshore implementation consultants.

Solution component