从智能手机的广泛普及到人工智能、5G 和自动驾驶汽车的兴起,这些迹象都清楚地表明,世界正在深入到数字互联时代。 而半导体是这一切的基础。

鉴于数字基础设施的快速增长,制造半导体的公司,也就是那些处于数字生态系统基础层的公司正在面临着一系列不断变化的竞争挑战也就不足为奇了。 有些人很熟悉,比如提高芯片性能的巨大压力。 但今天,芯片制造商还需要驾驭一系列不断变化的竞争要求,这些要求与制造商遵循的流程有很大关系,从设计开始。

在芯片制造领域,封装一直是根基,所谓封装,是指如何将半导体的各个部分组合在一起以便在设备中使用。 然而,今天,封装问题已成为影响芯片功率、性能和功能的主要竞争优势,更不用说封装的成本了。

这对过程意味着什么? 随着封装结构变得越来越复杂,从开发到原型设计再到测试的整个周期已经大大延长。 在制造过程中,从设计到成品需要一套关于 100 多个参数的高度详细说明,几乎没有错误余地。

在传统方法下,芯片制造商被迫进行一系列增量调整,以确定最佳“配方”。除了这个等式中的开发工程师这个“厨师”所承受的巨大负担之外,这种试错方法的副作用是增加了浪费且降低了制造产量。

开发周期缩短达

30%

-通过最大程度降低配方公式中的试验和误差的方式

半导体制造客户的设备维护成本降低了

50%

-通过优化数据驱动的方式

Panasonic Connect 等公司通过其流程自动化业务部门帮助半导体制造商应对这些流程挑战,优化生产流程并提供高质量的产品。 凭借 30 年为芯片制造商提供专业生产设备的记录,Panasonic 认识到他们在帮助他们适应新的半导体封装趋势方面处于领先地位。

半导体工艺事业部总监 Mitsuru Hiroshima 指出,特别感兴趣的是,有机会将先进的分析技术融入其设备解决方案,从而为其制造客户带来真正突破性的成果。“我们愿景的核心是深度学习和自动化的结合可以将设计和制造操作提升到一个全新的优化水平”,他说。

当时,在 2019 年,广岛和他的团队知道,要实现这一愿景——将其转化为可以推向市场的具体解决方案——将需要公司增强其核心设备能力。“我们希望与能够带来深厚的行业流程专业知识以及人工智能和深度学习等领域的先进分析技术组合的 [供应商] 合作,”Hiroshima 解释道。“IBM 脱颖而出,成为唯一能够在这两个关键领域带来实力的供应商”。

Panasonic 技术人员在使用电脑工作

机器学习算法和最优配方

IBM 为该项目组建的团队包括来自 IBM Research® 的 AI 和深度学习专家以及来自 IBM Consulting™ 的流程专家和行业顾问。 在参与的最初几个月,IBM 和 Panasonic 团队合作识别和完善解决方案机会。 IBM 应用了 IBM Garage ™方法,从而让 IT 和运营人员参与到迭代式、高影响力的协作中,这为协作设定基调、确定总体目标并共同创建解决方案。

基于面临的挑战和对最快实现价值的评估,联合团队共同定义了两种过程控制解决方案,这些解决方案成为 Panasonic 的第一个智能工厂产品。 第一个解决方案涉及通过完全自动化配方生成来创建先进的等离子切割机。

生产中的 Panasonic 硅片机

等离子封装有点像魔术。 对于试图找到正确等离子配方的工程师来说,最终需要的是具有精确切割图案的晶圆。 这意味着对真空压力和功率、电子能量、离子能量和气体等变量做出正确的决策组合,这里只是举个几个例子。

为了开发概念验证解决方案,IBM 研究团队通过大量计算开发了深度学习算法,这使工程师能够快速得出可变点的最佳组合。“工程师无需依赖直觉或反复试验”,Hiroshima 解释说,“工程师拥有一个直观的可视界面 [由 IBM Consulting 设计],可以在几秒钟内准确地模拟流程”。

团队共同创建的第二个概念验证解决了一个不同的痛点: 需要通过更智能的数据驱动维护实践来优化等离子清洗机的性能。“等离子清洗应用程序使用高级计算来确定执行清洗和维护的最佳时间,而不是配方”,Hiroshima 说。“过早会产生不必要的成本,而过晚会造成质量差甚至机器故障的风险”。

与切割解决方案一样,机器状态应用程序由 IBM Research 开发的算法提供支持。 该应用程序使用来自机器安装传感器的数据,将机器运行效率的变化与各种机器部件的状况相关联。 Hiroshima 指出,高度直观的视觉输出就像是负担过重的技术人员的愿望清单。“例如,工厂车间的技术人员会收到警报,其中一种特定的等离子清洁器性能欠佳,而最可能的原因电极上有污垢”,他说。“这种洞察力使技术人员能够采取纠正措施,保持高质量并最大限度地减少生产中断”。

在自主工厂生产的道路上

对于过程自动化业务部产品营销经理和开发工作的关键人物 Hiroshi Benno 来说,这两个应用都展示了车间强大的分析功能有可能改变芯片的设计和制造方式。“在我们进行的严格测试和模拟中,等离子切割解决方案将开发周期缩短了 30%”,Benno 说。“缩短的周期反映了基于 AI 的分析如何使工程师能够绕过许多在制定最佳等离子配方时的反复试验”。最重要的是,人工智能驱动的优化还显著减少了流程产生的浪费。

正如其设计初衷,Panasonic 的等离子清洁器应用程序展示了机器学习洞察力如何为全新的、数据驱动的设备维护决策方法奠定基础。 该应用的测试表明,通过减少不必要的维护、主动订购零件和减少机器停机,具有将制造业客户的维护成本降低 50% 的潜力。

随着 Panasonic 准备将这些新解决方案推向市场,这些指标传达了一个强有力的信息: 半导体车间的 AI 现在已经准备好提供设计和生产优化。 通过采用这些做法,芯片制造商可以更好地满足当今竞争激烈的全球市场日益增长的需求。

对 Hiroshima 而言,Panasonic 迄今为止与 IBM 的合作也果断地推动了它走向其长期愿景的道路。“我们已经证明,通过在边缘分析单个机器状态数据,我们为自主制造设备奠定了基础,此时机器在最佳条件下运行”,他解释道。“这一进展的下一步是将多台机器集成到云中,以实现工厂范围内的自主制造。 这组高度自主的机器,即自主工厂,是我们努力追求的终极辅助形式。 通过这种方式,与 IBM 的跨界合作可以朝着这个方向迈出一大步。 我们将超越现有的想法和流程进行创新”。

Panasonic Connect 徽标

关于 Panasonic Connect

Panasonic 连接 (链接位于 ibm.com 外部 ) 总部位于日本大坂,是 Panasonic 控股公司的一个部门,专注于数字转型。 该公司的过程自动化业务部为全球制造客户提供设备、软件和服务。

解决方案组件

IBM Consulting™
IBM Research®

© Copyright IBM Corporation 2022. IBM Corporation, New Orchard Road, Armonk, NY 10504

美国出品,2022 年 10 月。

IBM、IBM 徽标、ibm.com、IBM Consulting 和 IBM Research 是 International Business Machines Corp. 在全球许多管辖区域注册的商标。 其他产品和服务可能是 IBM 或其他公司的商标。Web 站点 www.ibm.com/legal/copytrade 上提供了 IBM 商标的最新列表。

本文档为自最初公布日期起的最新版本,IBM 可随时对其进行修改。IBM 并不一定在开展业务的所有国家或地区提供所有这些产品或服务。

引用的性能数据和客户示例仅用于演示目的。实际性能结果可能因具体配置和运行条件而异。本文档中的信息“按现状”提供,不附有任何种类的(无论是明示的还是默示的)保证,不包含任何有关适销、适用于某种特定用途的保证以及有关非侵权的任何保证或条件。IBM 产品是根据产品提供时所依据的协议条款和条件提供保证的。

Subscribe to our monthly newsletter for thought-provoking insights on emerging trends.

From the widespread ownership of smartphones to the rise of AI, 5G and self-driving cars, the signs are all clear that the world is moving deeper into the digitally connected age. And semiconductors are the foundation it’s all built on.

Given the rapid growth of the digital infrastructure, it’s not surprising that the companies that manufacture semiconductors — those at the base level of the digital ecosystem — face an ever-evolving set of competitive challenges. Some are familiar, like the relentless pressure to improve chip performance. But today, chip makers also need to navigate a shifting set of competitive requirements that have a lot to do with the processes they follow, beginning with design.

In the realm of chip manufacturing, packaging — how the parts of a semiconductor are brought together for use in a device — has always been fundamental. Today, however, the issue of packaging has become a major competitive differentiator that affects the power, performance and functionality of chips, not to mention their cost.

So what does it mean for processes? With packaging structures becoming more complex, the entire cycle — from development to prototyping to testing — has lengthened considerably. In the manufacturing process, getting from design to finished product requires the right set of highly detailed instructions around more than 100 parameters, with little to no margin for error.

Under conventional methods, chip makers are forced to make a series of incremental adjustments to identify the optimal “recipe.” In addition to the huge burden on the “cooks” in this equation — the development engineers — the by-product of this trial-and-error approach is increased waste and lower manufacturing yields.

Reduces the development cycle by as much as

30%

by minimizing trial and error in recipe formulation

Reduces equipment maintenance costs for semiconductor manufacturing customers by

50%

through data-driven optimization

Companies like Panasonic Connect — through its Process Automation Business Division — exist to help semiconductor manufacturers navigate these process challenges, and optimize production processes and deliver high quality products. With a 30-year track record of providing chip manufacturers with specialized production equipment, Panasonic recognized it was in a prime position to help them adapt to new semiconductor packaging trends.

Of particular interest, notes Mitsuru Hiroshima, Director of the Semiconductor Process Business Group, was the opportunity to infuse advanced analytics into its equipment solutions to enable truly breakthrough results for its manufacturing customers. “The core of our vision was the idea that the combination of deep learning and automation could bring design and manufacturing operations to a whole new level of optimization,” he says.

At the time, in 2019, Hiroshima and his team knew that realizing this vision — turning it into a concrete solution it could bring to market — would require the company to augment its core equipment competencies. “We were looking to collaborate with a [vendor] that could bring deep industry process expertise, along with a portfolio of advanced analytical technologies in areas like AI and deep learning,” Hiroshima explains. “IBM stood out as the only provider who could bring strength in both these critical domains.”

Panasonic technician working on a computer

Machine learning algorithms and the optimal recipe

The team IBM assembled for the project included AI and deep learning experts from IBM Research® and process experts and industry consultants from IBM Consulting™. In the first intensive months of the engagement, IBM and Panasonic teams collaborated to identify and refine solution opportunities. IBM applied IBM Garage™ methodology — bringing IT and operations people in iterative, high-impact collaboration — to set the tone for the collaboration, determine the overall objective and co-create solutions.

Based on the challenges and an assessment of fastest-time-to-value, the joint team co-defined two process control solutions that emerged as Panasonic’s first smart factory offerings. The first solution involved creating an advanced plasma dicer through fully automating the recipe generation.

Panasonic silicon wafer machine in production

Plasma packaging is a bit like magic. For an engineer trying to find the right plasma recipe, what needs to come out at the end is a wafer with precise cut patterns. That means making the right combination of decisions on variables like vacuum pressure and power, electron energy, ion energies and gases, to name a few.

To develop the proof-of-concept solution, the IBM Research team developed deep learning algorithms that — through huge numbers of calculations — enabled engineers to rapidly derive the optimal mix of variable points. “Rather than relying on intuition or trial and error,” Hiroshima explains, “engineers have an intuitive, visual interface [designed by IBM Consulting] that can simulate the process accurately and in just seconds.”

The second proof of concept co-created by the team addressed a different pain point: the need to optimize plasma cleaner machine performance through smarter, data-driven maintenance practices. “Rather than recipes, the plasma cleaning application uses advanced computation to identify the optimal time to perform cleaning and maintenance,” says Hiroshima. “Too early creates unnecessary costs, while too late risks poor quality and even machine breakdowns.”

Like the dicing solution, the machine status application is underpinned by algorithms developed by IBM Research. Using data from machine-mounted sensors, the application correlates changes in machine operating efficiency with the conditions of various machine parts. The highly intuitive, visual output, notes Hiroshima, is like a wish list for over-taxed technicians. “Technicians on the factory floor get an alert, for example, that one particular plasma cleaner out of many is performing at a suboptimal level, and that dirt on the electrode is the most likely reason,” he says. “This insight enables the technician to take corrective action that maintains high quality and minimizes production disruptions.”

On the path to autonomous factory production

To Hiroshi Benno, Manager of Product Marketing for the Process Automation Business Division and a key figure in the development effort, both applications demonstrate how powerful analytics on the shop floor have the potential to transform the way chips are designed and manufactured. “In the rigorous testing and simulations we ran, the plasma cutting solution reduced the development cycle by as much as 30%,” says Benno. “The shortened cycle reflects how AI-based analytics enables engineers to bypass much of the trial and error in formulating the optimal plasma recipe.” On top of that, AI-driven optimization also significantly reduced waste generated from the process.

As it was designed to do, Panasonic’s plasma cleaner application showed how machine learning insights can provide the foundation for an entirely new, data-driven approach to equipment maintenance decisions. Testing of the application demonstrated that it has the potential — through a combination of less unnecessary maintenance, proactive parts ordering and fewer machine outages — to reduce maintenance costs for manufacturing customers by 50%.

As Panasonic prepares to bring these new solutions to market, these metrics hold a potent message: that AI on the semiconductor shop floor is ready to deliver design and production optimization now. And that by adopting these practices, chip makers can better meet the increasing demands of today’s hyper-competitive global market.

To Hiroshima, Panasonic’s work with IBM thus far has also moved it decisively down the path to its long-term vision. “We’ve shown that by analyzing individual machine status data at the edge, we’ve created the basis for autonomous manufacturing equipment, in which the machine operates under the optimum conditions,” he explains. “The next step in this progression is to integrate multiple machines in the cloud to enable autonomous manufacturing at the factory-wide level. This group of highly autonomous machines — the autonomous factory — is the ultimate form of assistance that we strive for. In this way, collaboration with IBM that transcends the boundaries of a company can take a big step in that direction. We will innovate beyond existing ideas and processes.”

Panasonic Connect logo

About Panasonic Connect

Based in Osaka, Japan, Panasonic Connect (link resides outside of ibm.com) is a unit of Panasonic Holdings Corporation focused on digital transformation. The company’s Process Automation Business Division provides equipment, software and services to manufacturing customers around the world.



Solution components

IBM Consulting™
IBM Research®
 

© Copyright IBM Corporation 2022. IBM Corporation, New Orchard Road, Armonk, NY 10504

Produced in the United States of America, October 2022.

IBM, the IBM logo, ibm.com, IBM Consulting, and IBM Research are trademarks of International Business Machines Corp., registered in many jurisdictions worldwide. Other product and service names might be trademarks of IBM or other companies. A current list of IBM trademarks is available on the web at www.ibm.com/legal/copytrade.

This document is current as of the initial date of publication and may be changed by IBM at any time. Not all offerings are available in every country in which IBM operates.

The performance data and client examples cited are presented for illustrative purposes only. Actual performance results may vary depending on specific configurations and operating conditions. THE INFORMATION IN THIS DOCUMENT IS PROVIDED “AS IS” WITHOUT ANY WARRANTY, EXPRESS OR IMPLIED, INCLUDING WITHOUT ANY WARRANTIES OF MERCHANTABILITY, FITNESS FOR A PARTICULAR PURPOSE AND ANY WARRANTY OR CONDITION OF NON-INFRINGEMENT. IBM products are warranted according to the terms and conditions of the agreements under which they are provided.