Pacific Northwest National Laboratory
推动自动化、集成的企业资产管理
PNNL 总部前飘扬着不同的旗帜
业务挑战

为了不断推动科技发展,PNNL 依靠最先进的研究设备和设施。PNNL 如何有效地管理这些关键资产?

变革

PNNL 使用 IBM® Maximo® 软件提供约 44,000 项资产的全面视图,并支持团队协调设备和设施管理。

结果 一千万+
资产和服务管理系统已停用,降低了复杂性
资产管理
实现单点控制
数据驱动
洞察分析支持运营规划
业务挑战案例
保持设备和设施可用

50 多年来,PNNL 的科学家们一直在推进科学和工程学的前沿发展,开展研究和开发工作,揭示地球和宇宙的奥秘。

为了推动这项开创性的工作,PNNL 必须提供一个优化的环境,使人员、资产、技术和科学能够无缝互动。实验室人员依靠管理和维护得当的设备来实现研究目标,因此有效的资产管理是实验室的重中之重。

此前,PNNL 依靠多种单点解决方案来管理资产、设施和服务。其结果是流程效率低下且不一致,团队难以确保以最具成本效益、最合规和最高效的方式利用和维护资产。

PNNL 希望采用更加精简和集成的企业资产管理方法。这将提供更好的资产可见性和控制,并使 PNNL 能够以极高的标准保持研究和运营设备的正常运作。

变革案例
将资产管理提升到一个新的水平

PNNL 开始对其企业资产管理策略进行转型。它设计并构建了一个新的解决方案,为管理约 40,000 项资产以及相关流程和规定提供了一个统一的平台。该系统构建在 IBM Maximo Asset Management 软件之上。

PNNL 增强了该软件的用户界面,提供直观的前端界面,为用户搜索、查看和管理信息提供了一种简单的方法。

该实验室的支持服务台发现新的 PNNL 资产管理解决方案特别有用。过去,当用户打电话提出请求时,服务台人员通常平均需要访问 10 个不同的系统,以收集背景信息并解决问题。

为了解决这个问题,PNNL 创建了一个新的服务台界面,从多个企业系统中提取数据,并在单一视图中向用户呈现所有信息。服务台团队不必点击许多不同的应用程序,就可以在界面中直接收集他们需要的所有信息并采取行动。

此外,PNNL 还建立了一系列工作和资产管理工作流程,实现端到端工单管理生命周期的自动化和标准化。如今,当工作团队领导或主管想要创建或更新订单时,只需点击一个按钮,从下拉列表中选择适当的选项,系统就会根据预先制定的业务规则采取必要的行动。

新方法还有助于 PNNL 更有效地规划设施管理的工单。该实验室有七个团队负责监督维护工作,并且每天早上开会计划当天的工作。以前,这需要在电子表格中汇编工单并确定优先次序,然后再手动将其分配给相关团队成员。PNNL 已经实现了这一流程的自动化,如今,系统会提取所有未完成的工单,并根据紧急程度对它们进行排序;团队只需检查详细信息,然后就可以批准并分配系统中的所有订单。

案例成果
推动科学研究

PNNL 提高了企业资产的可见性和控制力,帮助团队更有效地工作。从单一控制点,人们可以准确地看到哪些资产正在使用、它们处于什么状态以及维护和维修工作的状态如何。

通过采用更加集成的企业资产管理方法,PNNL 正在降低运营复杂性。到目前为止,该实验室已经淘汰了约十几个现有的单点解决方案,并推迟了购买新系统的时间。

重要的是,PNNL 对资产和维护有了新的认识,团队可以利用这些认识推动更明智的运营和财务规划。全面的流程跟踪和可靠的指标使团队能够在规划维护、服务交付、预算、招聘等方面做出更明智的决策。

例如,就工单而言,主管现在可以看到他们有多少张未处理的工单,哪些工单目前正在处理,哪些工单正在排队或正在审核中,等等。他们还可以查看各种指标,例如完成不同类型的工单平均需要多长时间,是否存在工单被延误的区域,或者 PNNL 是否在一年中的特定时间处理了更多的工单。

有了这种洞察力,企业资产管理团队可以更轻松地识别需要改进的领域,更好地利用现有资源并更准确地预测未来需求。

Pacific Northwest National Laboratory 徽标
Pacific Northwest National Laboratory

Pacific Northwest National Laboratory (PNNL)(ibm.com 外部链接)在基础和应用层面开展研究与开发,致力于推进科学向前发展,解决能源、环境和国家安全方面的一些最具挑战性的问题。PNNL 是美国能源部国家实验室之一,自 1965 年以来一直由 Battelle Memorial Institute 运营。

采取下一步行动

IBM 是物联网领域公认的领军企业,在 170 个国家/地区拥有 6,000 多家客户合作伙伴,拥有由 1,400 多个合作伙伴组成的不断发展的生态系统以及 750 多项物联网专利。共同帮助企业从全球数十亿个联网设备、传感器和系统中汲取可操作的洞察力。有关 IBM Watson IoT 的更多信息,请访问 https://www.ibm.com/cn-zh/cloud/internet-of-things

查看更多案例 了解更多信息
法律

© Copyright IBM Corporation 2018. 1 New Orchard Road, Armonk, New York 10504-1722 United States. 美国出品,2018 年 5 月

IBM、IBM 徽标、ibm.com 和 Maximo 是 International Business Machines Corp. 在世界各地司法辖区的注册商标。其他产品和服务名称可能是 IBM 或其他公司的商标。以下网站上的“Copyright and trademark information”部分中包含了 IBM 商标的最新列表:https://www.ibm.com/cn-zh/legal/copyright-trademark

本文档中的内容(包括货币或不包括适用税费的定价参考)为自最初公布日期起的最新版本,IBM 可能随时对其进行更改。IBM 并不一定在开展业务的所有国家或地区提供所有产品或服务。

文中引用的性能数据和客户实例仅作说明之用。实际性能结果可能因具体配置和操作条件而异。

客户负责确保遵守适用的法律和法规。IBM 不提供任何法律咨询,也不声明或保证其服务或产品经确保客户遵循任何法律或法规。

Business Challenge

To keep pushing the boundaries of scientific knowledge, PNNL relies on state-of-the-art research equipment and facilities. How can PNNL manage these critical assets effectively?

Transformation

PNNL uses IBM® Maximo® software to deliver a comprehensive view of some 44,000 assets, and support teams in coordinating equipment and facilities management.

Results

10+

asset and service management systems retired, reducing complexity

Single

point of control for asset management

Data-driven

insights support operational planning

Business challenge story

Keeping equipment and facilities available

For more than 50 years, scientists at PNNL have been advancing the frontiers of science and engineering, conducting research and development that illuminates the mysteries of our planet and the universe.

To drive this groundbreaking work, it is essential for PNNL to provide an optimized environment where people, assets, technology and science interact seamlessly. Its people depend on properly managed and maintained equipment to achieve their research objectives—making effective asset management a top priority for the laboratory.

Previously, PNNL relied on a mix of point solutions to manage assets, facilities and services. The outcome was inefficient and inconsistent processes, which made it difficult for teams to ensure that assets were being utilized and maintained in the most cost-effective, compliant and productive way.

PNNL wanted to adopt a more streamlined and integrated approach to enterprise asset management. This would provide better visibility and control of assets, and enable PNNL to keep research and operational equipment functioning to very high standards.

Transformation story

Taking asset management to the next level

PNNL embarked on a transformation of its enterprise asset management strategy. It has designed and built a new solution that a unified platform for managing approximately 40,000 assets, as well as related processes and policies. This system is built on top of IBM Maximo Asset Management software.

PNNL has enhanced the software’s user interface to deliver an intuitive front-end interface that provides an easy way for users to search, view and manage information.

The lab’s support helpdesk is finding the new PNNL asset management solution particularly useful. In the past, when a user called up with a request, helpdesk agents typically had to access 10 different systems on average to gather background information and work through the issue to resolution.

To solve this problem, PNNL created a new helpdesk interface that pulls in data from multiple enterprise systems and presents all the information to the user in a single view. Instead of having to click through many different applications, helpdesk teams can gather all the information they need and take action directly within the interface.

Additionally, PNNL has established a series of workflows for work and asset management, automating and standardizing the end-to-end work order management lifecycle. Today, when a work team lead or supervisor wants to create or update an order, they simply click a button, select the appropriate option from a drop-down list and the system will take the necessary action, based on pre-established business rules.

The new approach is also helping PNNL to plan work orders for facilities management more effectively. The lab has seven teams who oversee maintenance work, and who meet every morning to plan the day’s work. Previously, this involved compiling work orders in a spreadsheet and prioritizing them, before manually assigning them to relevant team members. PNNL has automated this process, and today the system pulls in all open work orders and sorts them by degree of urgency; the team just has to check the details, then they can approve and allocate all of the orders in the system.

Results story

Driving scientific research

PNNL has improved visibility and control of enterprise assets, helping teams work more effectively. From a single point of control, people can see exactly what assets are in use, what condition they are in, and what is the status of maintenance and repair work.

By embracing a more integrated approach to enterprise asset management, PNNL is reducing operational complexity. The lab has retired around a dozen existing point solutions so far and has also been able to defer purchasing new systems.

Importantly, PNNL has gained fresh insight into assets and maintenance that teams can use to drive smarter operational and financial planning. Comprehensive process tracking and reliable metrics allow teams to make better-informed decisions when it comes to planning maintenance, service delivery, budgets, hiring and more.

For example, where work orders are concerned, supervisors can now see how many open work orders they have, which orders are currently being worked, which ones are queued or reviewed, and so on. They can also view metrics such as how long it takes on average to complete different types of work orders, if there are any areas where certain orders get delayed, or if PNNL processes more work orders at specific times of the year.

With this kind of insight, the enterprise asset management team can more readily identify areas for improvement, make better use of existing resources and forecast for future demands more accurately.

business logo

About Pacific Northwest National Laboratory

Pacific Northwest National Laboratory (PNNL) conducts basic and applied research and development to advance the frontiers of science and address some of the most challenging problems in energy, the environment and national security. One of the United States Department of Energy National Laboratories, PNNL has been operated by Battelle Memorial Institute since 1965.

Solution components

Take the next step

IBM is an established leader in the Internet of Things with more than 6,000 client engagements in 170 countries, a growing ecosystem of over 1,400 partners and more than 750 IoT patents. Together, these help organizations to draw actionable insight from billions of connected devices, sensors and systems around the world. For more information on IBM Watson IoT, please visit ibm.com/iot

View more client stories or learn more about IBM Watson IoT