Nordea Bank
确保最佳数据库性能以支持关键银行系统
银行正面图

针对数百个支撑任务关键型 IT 系统的数据库实例,Nordea Bank 的数据库管理员 (DBA) 正不断致力于优化性能和可用性。IBM 技术可提供对查询和配置问题的可行见解,从而支持快速故障排除,以保持系统响应能力和数据安全。

业务挑战

Nordea Bank 复杂的数据库环境负责为其核心银行和客户数据系统提供支持。其数据库管理员是如何监控数百个数据库并保持一切平稳运行的呢?

变革

Nordea Bank 与 IBM 共同实施了多个数据库管理工具。这些工具可即时向 DBA 发送问题警报,从而帮助他们保持出色的数据库性能和用户体验。

结果 简化
数据库监控,从而实现持续高性能
节省
大量时间,从而帮助 DBA 专注于应用程序支持
凭借可靠、准时的配送来确保
为支持关键银行系统的数据库实例提供高可用性
业务挑战案例
支持重要金融服务

Nordea Bank 负责为北欧地区的数百万客户提供储蓄账户、贷款和养老金计划等日常银行服务,并通过商业与企业银行业务、批发银行业务以及财富管理来促进小型与大型企业的发展。为支持其任务关键型银行系统,Nordea Bank 依赖数百个 IBM Db2 数据库,而这些数据库运行于其数据中心内众多物理服务器上的多个操作系统上。

Nordea Bank 首席 IT 基础设施专家 Björn Söderlund 解释说:"我们运行着一个非常庞大和复杂的企业 Db2 环境,而它是我们很多关键服务的基础所在。我们的核心与私人银行系统、主数据和传统客户数据以及支付与反洗钱系统均运行于 Db2 上。

此前,Nordea Bank 的 DBA 使用内部开发的脚本来收集有关 Db2 实例性能的数据。对这些脚本进行编码和维护十分耗时,而每次将新的数据库实例添加到此环境中时,还须更新脚本以确保正确捕获新数据。

当该银行着手启动一个重大项目,以便通过将大部分基础设施迁移到新的数据中心来整合并简化其 IT 资源时,数据库管理 (DBA) 团队发现了寻找更智能、更快速的手段来监控其数据库并减轻维护负担的机会。

“确保数据库实例的正常运行和高性能对确保我们遵守财务法规并提供无缝式客户服务都至关重要。然而,监控所有数据库、发现错误并快速更正对 DBA 来说却是一项挑战。如果数据库运行缓慢、遭遇停机或配置有误,我们就需要快速掌握相关情况。”

Björn Söderlund 解释道:“我们需要一种新方法来管理 Db2 设置,尤其是当我们现在开始使用 HADR 和 pureScale 等高级功能时。我们正在寻找一种软件解决方案,以期让我们能快速、详细地了解 Db2 性能,并能更精细监控这些新的数据库功能。”

Data Server Manager 可帮助我们了解整个企业的数据库性能并维护无缝式用户体验。 Björn Söderlund 首席 IT 基础架构专家 Nordea Bank
变革案例
为 DBA 提供快速见解

在研究多家供应商出品的数据监控工具后,Nordea Bank 最终选择了 IBM Data Server Manager 来帮助其 DBA 更智能、高效地开展工作。

Björn Söderlund 阐述道:“找到一种能深入洞察我们的数据库并与我们现有的 IBM Tivoli Monitoring 软件相集成的解决方案非常重要。同时,该软件还可跟踪我们 IT 架构其他方面的性能。

“我们与 IBM 已有多年的合作经验,而 Data Server Manager 更是能满足我们的所有要求。此外,由于该工具已纳入 Db2 Advanced Enterprise Edition,因此我们在实施该解决方案时不会产生任何额外成本。”

现在,Data Server Manager 已部署到 Nordea Bank 新数据中心的各个系统中。该解决方案可从每个 Db2 实例收集数据,并将其保存到中央存储库以形成有关数据库性能、可用性和配置的全面记录。该解决方案所监控的 Db2 数据库负责支持该银行的多个核心银行系统,以及通过 IBM InfoSphere Master Data Management 来管理的客户主数据。

然后,该解决方案会分析收集到的数据,并以警报和通知的形式向 DBA 团队提供快速、可行的信息。例如,当它检测到针对特定数据库的配置更改或有别于正确基线设置的任何差异时,它便可帮助 DBA 立即识别并更正这些问题。

Data Server Manager 还提供对高级数据库功能进行深入监控的功能,其中包括用于提高性能和可扩展性的 IBM Db2 pureScale,以及用于实现业务连续性的 IBM Db2 高可用性灾难恢复 (HADR)。

Björn Söderlund 继续说道:“Data Server Manager 的安装既十分快速又非常简便。仅仅几小时后,我们便启动并运行了该软件。而在 IBM 团队的专家指导下,我们还可遵循设置数据库监控配置文件的最佳实践。自此次实施以来,我们已进行多次升级,而每次引入的新功能也非常有用。

“与 IBM 开展合作依然是一种美妙的体验。我们与产品开发团队保持着牢固的关系,并且每月都会举行一次定期会议,以便讨论如何进一步丰富工具功能。他们始终乐于倾听我们的反馈,并专注于改善最终用户体验。”

与 IBM 开展合作依然是一种美妙的体验。我们与产品开发团队保持着牢固的关系,并且每月都会举行一次定期会议,以便讨论如何进一步扩大其软件工具的范围。 Björn Söderlund 首席 IT 基础架构专家 Nordea Bank
案例成果
节省时间并提升数据库性能

随着 IBM Data Server Manager 开始监控其 Db2 环境,Nordea Bank 现在可从支持重要银行服务的数据库实例中获得稳定的高性能。

Björn Söderlund 解释道:“Data Server Manager 可让我们的 DBA 轻松实现对我们极其多样化 Db2 环境的深度控制。而其监控功能和警报则有助于我们了解整个企业的数据库性能,并通过尽快修复问题来保持无缝式用户体验。

“从客户体验的角度来看,高可用性对于我们的核心银行系统至关重要,同时也有助于我们实现监管目标。Data Server Manager 已成为帮助我们保持所需性能水平的重要工具。”

此外,Data Server Manager 还会密切监视 SQL 查询的性能,并助力 Nordea Bank 的开发人员对运行缓慢的所有代码进行故障排除。Björn Söderlund 表示:"有了查询优化功能,我们就能轻松检测并更正限制我们从数据库快速检索数据的所有问题。我们可以查明相关问题是由查询本身的低效造成的,还是我们需要进行结构调整,比如添加新的索引。这有助于我们迅速采取行动。此外,我们还充分利用了历史 SQL 监控功能,它可让我们及时了解长时间等待或运行事件的最新情况,或者 SQL 是否使用了异常大量的计算资源。

他补充道:“配置管理现在也变得更为简单,并且所有问题都会立即呈现。比如,在升级或维护过程中出现配置更改且 DBA 忘记重置回基线设置时,Data Server Manager 便会通知我们,从而可以快速采取措施来解决此问题。这有助于确保最佳数据库性能并保持关键数据库环境的高度可用性,因为我们能快速修复所有故障以保持各系统始终在线。而其中至关重要的是,会影响我们任务关键型系统安全的人为错误风险也会保持在最低限度。”

由于 Nordea Bank 的 DBA 无需再花时间开发和维护数据收集脚本,因此他们便可将更多时间专注于支持关键业务应用程序。“由于实施了 Data Server Manager,一位 DBA 如今每年可节省约三周的时间,因为他们不再需要不断更新我们自行开发的监控工具”,Björn Söderlund 说道。

同时,该解决方案还可为 Nordea Bank 提供有关其各部门运行的每个应用程序所用数据库资源量的详细报告。借助这些精细数据,Nordea Bank 便能以比以往更为详尽和准确的方式来跟踪和分配 IT 成本。

Björn Söderlund 总结道:“未来,我们期待扩大与 IBM 的合作。我们希望推出 Data Server Manager 的后续更新,从而改进与我们的事件管理与警报工具的集成度。多亏 IBM 的专家支持,我们才得以改变数据库监控水平并减轻 DBA 的负担。”

Nordea Bank 徽标
Nordea Bank

Nordea Bank(ibm.com 外部链接)可为北欧地区、波罗的海国家以及俄罗斯的客户提供个人、商业与企业银行业务、批发银行业务以及财富管理服务。Nordea Bank 于 2001 年由分处瑞典、芬兰、挪威和丹麦的四家银行合并而成,其总部位于斯德哥尔摩,并通过 700 家分行为 1,100 万客户提供服务。该银行现有 30,000 名员工,其市值高居欧洲前十,且在英国、美国、中国、巴西和新加坡均设有分支机构。

采取后续步骤

IBM Analytics 可提供全球最深入、最广泛的分析平台、领域与行业解决方案之一,从而为企业、政府和个人提供新价值。要详细了解 IBM Analytics 如何利用数据帮助各大行业和职业实现转型,请访问 ibm.com/analytics。请通过 @IBMAnalytics 在 Twitter 上关注我们,并加入 #IBMAnalytics 对话

查看更多客户案例了解有关 IBM Analytics 的更多信息

脚注

 

© Copyright IBM Corporation 2017. 1 New Orchard Road, Armonk, New York 10504-1722 United States.美国出品,2017 年 5 月。IBM、IBM 徽标、ibm.com、Db2、InfoSphere、pureScale 和 Tivoli 是 International Business Machines Corp. 在世界各地司法管辖区的注册商标。其他产品和服务名称可能是 IBM 或其他公司的商标。ibm.com/legal/copytrade.shtml 上的“Copyright and trademark information”部分提供了 IBM 商标的最新列表。本文档为自最初公布日期起的最新版本,IBM 可能随时对其进行更改。IBM 并不一定在开展业务的所有国家或地区提供所有产品或服务。本文档内的信息“按现状”提供,不附有任何种类的(无论是明示的还是默示的)保证,包括不附有关于适销性、适用于某种特定用途的任何保证以及非侵权的任何保证或条件。IBM 产品根据其提供时所依据的协议条款和条件获得保证。

Business challenge

Nordea Bank’s complex database landscape supports its core banking and customer data systems. How could its DBAs monitor hundreds of databases and keep everything running smoothly?

Transformation

Working with IBM, Nordea Bank implemented database management tools that instantly alert DBAs to problems—helping them keep database performance high and maintain an excellent user experience.

Results

Simplifies

database monitoring, enabling consistent high performance

Generates

significant time savings, helping DBAs focus on application support

Ensures

high availability for database instances supporting critical banking systems

Business challenge story

Supporting vital financial services

Nordea Bank provides millions of customers across the Nordic region with everyday banking services such as savings accounts, loans and pension plans, as well as furthering the growth of small and large businesses through commercial and business banking, wholesale banking, and wealth management. To support its mission-critical banking systems, Nordea Bank relies on hundreds of IBM® DB2® databases, running on multiple operating systems across many physical servers in its data center.

Björn Söderlund, Chief IT Infrastructure Specialist at Nordea Bank, explains: “We run a very large and complex enterprise DB2 environment that underpins many of our key services. Our core and private banking systems, our master data and legacy customer data, and our payments and anti-money laundering systems run on DB2.

Previously, the DBAs at Nordea Bank used scripts developed in-house to collect data on the performance of DB2 instances. Coding and maintaining these scripts was time-consuming, and each time a new database instance was added to the landscape, scripts would also have to be updated to ensure that the new data was captured properly.

When the bank embarked on a major project to consolidate and simplify its IT resources by moving much of its infrastructure to a new data center, the DBA team saw an opportunity to look for a smarter, faster way to monitor their databases, and reduce their maintenance burden.

“Ensuring the health and high performance of our database instances is critical to ensure we comply with financial regulations and provide seamless customer service. However, monitoring all our databases, picking up errors and correcting them quickly, is a challenge for our database administrators (DBAs). If a database is running slowly, or suffering downtime, or is not configured properly, we need to know, fast.”

Björn Söderlund explains: “We needed a new approach to manage our DB2 setup, especially as we are now beginning to use advanced features like HADR and pureScale. We looked for a software solution that could give us rapid, detailed insights into DB2 performance, and monitor these new database features at a more granular level.”

Data Server Manager helps us understand database performance across the business and maintain a seamless user experience.

—Björn Söderlund,Chief IT Infrastructure Specialist,Nordea Bank

Transformation story

Delivering rapid insights to DBAs

After looking at data monitoring tools from several vendors, Nordea Bank selected IBM Data Server Manager to help its DBAs work smarter and more productively.

Björn Söderlund elaborates: “It was important to find a solution that delivers deep insight into our databases, as well as integrating with our existing IBM Tivoli® Monitoring software, which tracks the performance of other aspects of our IT architecture.

“We have years of experience working with IBM, and Data Server Manager ticked all of the boxes. Moreover, since the tool is available as part of DB2 Advanced Enterprise Edition, we incurred no additional costs to implement the solution.”

Now deployed across Nordea Bank’s systems in the new data center, Data Server Manager collects data from each of the DB2 instances, and saves it to a central repository to form a comprehensive record of database performance, availability and configurations. The DB2 databases that the solution monitors support many of the bank’s core banking systems, as well as its customer master data, which is administered through IBM InfoSphere® Master Data Management.

The solution then analyzes the collected data and delivers rapid, actionable information to the DBA team in the form of alerts and notifications. For example, if it detects any changes to a particular database’s configuration, or any variances from the correct baseline settings, it helps DBAs identify and correct the problem immediately.

Data Server Manager also provides the capability to carry out in-depth monitoring of advanced database features, including IBM DB2 pureScale® to improve performance and scalability, and IBM DB2 High Availability Disaster Recovery (HADR) for business continuity.

Björn Söderlund continues: “The installation of Data Server Manager was quick and easy. We had the software up and running after just a couple of hours, and with the expert guidance of the IBM team, we were able to follow the best practices for setting up database monitoring profiles. Since the implementation, we have run several upgrades, and on every occasion the new functionality has been highly useful.

“Working with IBM continues to be a good experience. We enjoy a strong relationship with the product development team, with regular meetings held once a month to discuss further additions to the tooling. They are always open to our feedback and focused on improving the experience of the end-user.”

Working with IBM continues to be a good experience. We enjoy a strong relationship with the product development team, with regular meetings held once a month to discuss further additions to their range of software tools.

—Björn Söderlund ,Chief IT Infrastructure Specialist,Nordea Bank

Results story

Saving time and lifting database performance

With IBM Data Server Manager monitoring its DB2 landscape, Nordea Bank now enjoys consistent high performance from the database instances that support vital banking services.

Björn Söderlund explains: “Data Server Manager makes it easy for our DBAs to gain a greater level of control over our highly diverse DB2 landscape. The monitoring capabilities and alerts help us understand database performance across the business, and maintain a seamless user experience by fixing problems as quickly as possible.

“High availability is critical for our core banking systems, from both a customer experience perspective and to help us meet regulatory objectives. Data Server Manager has become a vital tool that helps us maintain the level of performance we need.”

Data Server Manager also keeps a close watch on the performance of SQL queries, and enables developers at Nordea Bank to troubleshoot any slow-running code. Björn Söderlund says: “The query optimization function makes it easy to detect and correct any problems that limit the fast retrieval of data from our databases. We can see whether the issues are caused by inefficiencies in the query itself, or if we need to make a structural change, such as adding a new index. This helps us take quick action. We also make full use of the Historical SQL Monitoring feature, which keeps us updated on long wait or run times, or if SQL is using an unusually large amount of compute resources.”

He adds: “Configuration management is also now much simpler, and any issues are visible instantly. If, for example, a configuration is changed during an upgrade or maintenance and the DBA forgets to reset back to the baseline setting, Data Server Manager notifies us and swift action can be taken to fix the issue. This helps to ensure optimal database performance and keeps our critical database landscape highly available: any faults are remedied fast to keep systems online. Crucially, the risk of human error impacting the security of our mission-critical systems is kept to a minimum.”

Since they are no longer required to spend time developing and maintaining data collection scripts, Nordea Bank’s DBAs enjoy far more time to focus on supporting key business applications. “Thanks to the implementation of Data Server Manager, one of our DBAs is saving around three weeks every year, because they no longer need to constantly update our home-grown monitoring tools,” says Björn Söderlund.

The solution also provides Nordea Bank with detailed reporting on the amount of database resources used by each of the applications run by its individual departments. This granular data enables Nordea Bank to track and assign IT costs in a much more detailed and accurate way than was previously possible.

Björn Söderlund concludes: “We look forward to extending our work with IBM in the future. We hope to roll out further updates for Data Server Manager to improve integration with our incident management and alerting tools. Thanks to the expert support of IBM, we have transformed our database monitoring and lifted the burden from our DBAs.”

business logo

About Nordea Bank

Nordea Bank provides personal, commercial and business banking, wholesale banking and wealth management services to customers across the Nordic region, the Baltic States, and Russia. Formed in 2001 following the merger of four banks from Sweden, Finland, Norway and Denmark, Nordea Bank is headquartered in Stockholm and serves 11 million customers through 700 branches. With 30,000 employees, the bank is among the top ten in Europe in terms of market capitalization, and also maintains a presence in the UK, United States, China, Brazil and Singapore.

Solution components

  • DB2 Advanced Enterprise Server
  • InfoSphere Master Data Management Server
  • Tivoli Monitoring

Take the next step

IBM Analytics offers one of the world's deepest and broadest analytics platform, domain and industry solutions that deliver new value to businesses, governments and individuals. For more information about how IBM Analytics helps to transform industries and professions with data, visit ibm.com/analytics. Follow us on Twitter at @IBMAnalytics, on our blog at ibmbigdatahub.com and join the conversation #IBMAnalytics

 

View more client stories or learn more about IBM Analytics