提供创新技术,让货物流通起来
MNG Kargo 使用应用程序集成来推动实现现代便利服务
MNG Kargo 的货运车队排成一行

隔日达、次日达,甚至当日送达。这些便利服务在不久前还不太现实,但现在对于世界主要经济体的在线购物者来说已是理所当然。但是,当电子商务使我们能够从不断扩大的卖家网络中获得无穷无尽的产品时,是什么实现如此快速的交付呢?

答案就是运输货物的货运公司。不仅取决于他们一次可以实际运输多少包裹;而且还涉及他们与卖家、飞行员、司机和客户交换有关订单、位置和跟踪的实时信息的能力。

在电子商务迅猛发展的土耳其,MNG Kargo 在运输和配送领域处于领先地位。2020 年,由于新冠疫情爆发,本已不断增长的市场在短短几个月内激增 60%。

MNG 的企业应用程序经理 Didem Yalcin 是负责人之一,负责确保公司以世界一流的能力应对不断增长的需求。“现在我们 50% 以上的订单来自电子商务,”Yalcin 说。但她解释说,即使在新冠疫情之前,“MNG 认为电子商务会快速增长。我们已经为此做好了准备。”她和她的同事将这种快速增长视为进一步让 MNG 从竞争对手中脱颖而出的机会。

他们寻求与更多电子商务提供商合作的方式,以增加 MNG 在土耳其整个货运行业的占有份额。与此同时,他们希望提高配送能力,确保能够将不断增长的货物量在客户期望的方便时间送达。

市场呈现爆炸式增长

 

土耳其的电子商务市场已经快速增长,2020 年上半年增幅为 60%

当日送达

 

MNG 现在提供当日送达服务,其中包含 700,000 个地址

MNG 认为电子商务会快速增长。我们已经为此做好了准备。 Didem Yalcin 企业应用程序经理 MNG Kargo
基于 API 的增长和创新

MNG 认识到电子商务市场增长的关键是现代、灵活的应用程序集成。该公司正在使用 IBM Cloud Pak® for Integration 解决方案连接新卖家和新配送点,同时整合新功能以改进服务,包括加快交付速度。

借助 IBM Cloud Pak Software,MNG 能够采用混合云集成模型,包括云原生开发和微服务架构的潜力,以实现最大的灵活性和可扩展性。“集成点正在增加,”Yalcin 说道,“每个人都在进行数字化转型,需求也在不断增加。但是货运流程很复杂,有五六个主要步骤,很难适应。因此,下一步我们希望转换为微服务。我们还没实现,但这是我们的目标。”

IBM Cloud Pak for Integration 的其他功能对于 MNG 的转型已经至关重要。以前,与合作伙伴建立基于 API 的连接基本上是手动进行的。服务请求需要通过电子邮件发送。对于每个合作伙伴,MNG 必须创建一个唯一代码并确保进行认证。该公司拥有 3,000 个电子商务合作伙伴,因此这些任务就很合乎情理了。现在,通过使用 IBM Cloud Pak 解决方案的 API 管理组件,它们已实现自动化,并且 MNG 可以管理所有现有 API 并从单个平台创建新 API。

此外,使用该解决方案的安全网关技术,MNG 推出了一个 API 开发者门户,用于与越来越多的电子商务提供商建立连接,包括亚马逊等主要参与者以及中小型企业。

在不断扩展的网络中实现这些连接支持在销售点和配送点之间提供快速、无缝的数据流。MNG 可以更快地获取订单信息,从而能够快速将订单并入其配送流中。但是,由于配送流中的包裹比以往任何时候都多,公司如何继续按时交付呢?

因此,MNG 才涉足挖掘集成的创新潜力。

据 Yalcin 称,公司认识到土耳其广大开发人员社区中蕴藏着巨大的创新潜力。因此,MNG 利用 API 门户举办了一次 API 编程马拉松,让第三方开发人员提出有关实施有价值的服务改进的想法和技巧。当然,这些开发人员也是消费者,他们对 MNG 及其竞争对手的服务有第一手经验。“他们为改善客户体验带来了出色的解决方案,”Yalcin 说道,“现在我们可以更灵活地做这些事情。我们可以根据需要调整交付速度。”

此次编程马拉松的获奖作品是通过再利用进行创新的典型示例。开发人员找到了一种扩展 MNG 配送能力的方法,即利用当今世界的一种寻常服务:拼车。他们将 MNG 的配送系统与伊斯坦布尔和安卡拉领先的拼车服务连接起来。当他们将这种整合服务投入生产时,MNG 将立即扩展其在土耳其两个最大的人口中心的配送能力。“我们可以在这些领域打造更好的客户体验,”Yalcin 说。

现在,为了最大限度地发挥拼车整合的优势,MNG 正在建设 15 个新的区域配送设施(称为迷你中心),每个设施每天支持约 1,700 次配送。这些本地化中心将帮助拼车司机高效地提取包裹并在其所在区域配送。

现在我们可以更灵活地做这些事情。我们可以根据需要调整交付速度。 Didem Yalcin 企业应用程序经理 MNG Kargo
提高运输量,提升配送速度

MNG 的 API 开发者门户每天处理 6 百万个 API 服务请求。这些请求包括全新电子商务整合,旨在开辟新的收入来源,扩大 MNG 在电子商务市场的影响力,并帮助确保任何时候都有更多的土耳其境内运输货物由 MNG 运输。

该门户还支持第三方开发人员轻松访问,因此 MNG 正在招募更多人才并培养更多开发人员,从而推动实现更多服务增强。

最后,MNG 与其不断扩大的电子商务合作伙伴、配送点和送货司机之间能够进行快速、安全的信息交换,从而支持加快配送速度。MNG 现在提供当日送达服务,其中包含 700,000 个地址。总体而言,尽管配送量呈指数级增长,但 MNG 仍保持着按时交付的成功率。

当然,我们并不会止步于这些成绩。“我们才刚刚开始,”Yalcin 说道,“这是我的首要任务,能够继续开展此类创新型项目,创造业务成果,这让我非常有动力。”

MNG Kargo 徽标
关于 MNG Kargo

MNG(ibm.com 外部链接)成立于 2003 年,在土耳其各地提供端到端货运服务。它在全国各省设有超过 800 家分支机构,运营 25 个转运中心和 3,000 辆陆路运输车辆,拥有员工近 10,000 名。

采取下一步行动

如需详细了解本案例中介绍的 IBM 解决方案,请联系您的 IBM 代表或 IBM 业务合作伙伴。

查看更多案例 联系 IBM Tabadul

快速、灵活且随时可以增长

阅读成功案例
Streebo Inc.

更快速、更经济、更智能——聊天机器人的下一代发展

阅读 PDF
法律

© Copyright IBM Corporation 2021. IBM Corporation, IBM Cloud, New Orchard Road, Armonk, NY 10504

2021 年 2 月在美国制作。

IBM、IBM 徽标、ibm.com 以及 IBM Cloud Pak 是 International Business Machines Corp. 在全球许多司法辖区的注册商标。其他产品和服务名称可能是 IBM 或其他公司的商标。以下网站上的“Copyright and trademark information”部分中包含了 IBM 商标的最新列表:ibm.com/legal/copyright-trademark

本文档为自最初公布日期起的最新版本,IBM 可能随时对其进行更改。IBM 并不一定在开展业务的所有国家或地区提供所有产品或服务。

文中引用的性能数据和客户示例仅作演示说明之用。实际性能结果可能因具体配置和操作条件而异。本文档中的信息均“按原样”提供,不涉及任何明示或暗示的保证,包括适销性、特定用途适用性的任何保证,以及不侵权的任何保证或条件。IBM 产品根据其提供时所依据的协议条款和条件获得保证。

良好安全实践声明:IT 系统安全涉及通过预防、检测和响应企业内部和外部的不当访问来保护系统和信息。不正当访问可导致信息被更改、破坏、盗用或滥用,也可能导致系统被损坏或滥用,包括用于攻击他人。任何 IT 系统或产品都不应被视为完全安全,任何单一产品、服务或安全措施都不能完全有效防止不正当使用或访问。IBM 系统、产品和服务旨在成为合法、全面的安全措施的一部分,这必然涉及其他操作程序,且可能需要借助其他系统、产品或服务才能发挥最大作用。IBM 不保证任何系统、产品或服务可免于或使您的企业免于受到任何一方恶意或非法行为的影响。

Delivering innovation to keep goods moving

MNG Kargo uses app integration to drive modern convenience
by Rob Spencer
4-minute read
MNG Kargo fleet of delivery vans

Two-day, next-day, even same-day delivery. Unrealistic not so long ago, these conveniences are now a matter of course for online shoppers in the world’s leading economies. But when e-commerce gives us access to an endless array of products from an ever-expanding network of sellers, what makes such fast deliveries possible?

It comes down to the cargo companies that move the goods. And it’s not just how many packages they can physically move at one time; it’s also how well they can exchange real-time information about orders, locations and tracking with sellers, pilots, drivers and customers.

MNG Kargo is at the forefront of the transport and delivery sector in Turkey, where e-commerce has exploded. In 2020, driven by the COVID-19 pandemic, the already-growing market surged by 60% in just a few months.

Didem Yalcin, MNG’s Enterprise Applications Manager, is one of the people making sure that the company responds to the booming demand with world-class capability. “More than 50% of our orders now come through e-commerce,” says Yalcin. But she explains that even before the pandemic, “MNG had a mindset that e-commerce would grow very fast. We were prepared for it.” She and her colleagues saw the boom as an opportunity to further differentiate MNG from its competitors.

They sought a way to partner with more e-commerce providers to increase MNG’s share of overall cargo movement across Turkey. At the same time, they looked to increase delivery capacity and make sure the growing volume of goods reaches customers at the convenient times they expect.

MNG Kargo pacakage at the shipment center on a conveyor belt

Already growing fast, the e-commerce market in Turkey increased by

60%

in the first half of 2020

MNG now offers same-day delivery to

700,000

addresses

MNG had a mindset that e-commerce would grow very fast. We were prepared for it.
Didem Yalcin
Enterprise Applications Manager, MNG Kargo
MNG Kargo delivery van driving in Turky next to the water
Now we are more flexible to do such things. We are as fast as we need.
Didem Yalcin
Enterprise Applications Manager, MNG Kargo
API-based growth and innovation
Now we are more flexible to do such things. We are as fast as we need.
Didem Yalcin
Enterprise Applications Manager, MNG Kargo

MNG recognized that the key to growth in the e-commerce market is modern, flexible application integration. The company is using IBM Cloud Pak® for Integration solutions to connect to new sellers and new distribution points, and to incorporate new capabilities for improved services, including faster deliveries.

The IBM Cloud Pak software enables MNG to adopt a hybrid cloud integration model, including the potential for cloud-native development and microservice architectures for maximum flexibility and scalability. “The integration points are increasing,” says Yalcin. “Everyone’s going digital and the demand is increasing as well. But the cargo process is complex, with five or six main steps — it’s difficult to adapt. So as a next step we want to convert to microservices. We are not there yet, but it’s our target.”

Other capabilities of IBM Cloud Pak for Integration are already critical to MNG’s transformation. Before, establishing API-based connections with partners was largely a manual process. Service requests needed to be sent via email. For each partner, MNG had to create a unique code and ensure authentication. With 3,000 e-commerce partners, these tasks added up. Now, using the IBM Cloud Pak solution’s API management component, they are automated, and MNG can manage all existing APIs and create new ones from a single platform.

Further, using the solution’s secure gateway technology, MNG launched an API developer portal that it’s using to establish connections to more and more e-commerce providers, including major players like Amazon as well as small and medium businesses.

These connections across the expanding network enable fast, seamless data flow between point of sale and point of delivery. MNG gets order information more quickly, allowing it to rapidly absorb orders into its distribution stream. But with more packages in the distribution stream than ever before, how will the company continue delivering them on time?

That’s where MNG has tapped into integration’s potential for innovation.

Two MNG Kargo delivery drivers handing off a pacakage
MNG Kargo pacakages at the shipment center on a conveyor belts

According to Yalcin, the company recognized a lot of innovation potential in the wider community of developers across Turkey. So MNG used the API portal to host an API Hackathon, where it had third-party developers generate ideas — and code — for valuable enhancements to service. These developers, of course, are also consumers who have firsthand experience with services from MNG and its competition. “They brought fantastic solutions for improving the customer experience,” says Yalcin. “And now we are more flexible to do such things. We are as fast as we need.”

The Hackathon’s winning entry is a classic example of innovating by repurposing. The developers identified a way to expand MNG’s delivery capacity by tapping into a commonplace aspect of today’s world: ride sharing. They connected MNG’s distribution system with the leading ride-sharing service in Istanbul and Ankara. When this integration goes into production, MNG will instantly expand its delivery capacity in Turkey’s two largest population centers. “We can create a better customer experience in these areas,” says Yalcin.

Now, to maximize the benefit of the ride-sharing integration, MNG is building out 15 new, regional distribution facilities called mini hubs, each supporting approximately 1,700 deliveries per day. These localized hubs will help ride-sharing drivers efficiently pick up parcels for delivery in their area.

Higher volumes, faster deliveries

Six million API service requests come through MNG’s API developer portal every day. The requests include new e-commerce integrations that open new revenue streams, expand MNG’s presence in the e-commerce market and help ensure that more of the goods moving across Turkey at any moment are being moved by MNG.

The portal also enables convenient access for third-party developers, so MNG is onboarding more talent and cultivating more development that will drive additional service enhancements.

Finally, fast and secure information exchange between MNG and its expanding landscape of e-commerce partners, distribution points and delivery drivers supports faster deliveries. MNG now offers same-day delivery to 700,000 addresses. In general, although delivery volumes have grown exponentially, MNG has maintained a successful rate of on-time delivery.

These achievements, of course, are not end points. “We are at the beginning,” says Yalcin. “It’s my highest priority, and it’s very motivating to me to be able to continue doing these kinds of innovative projects that bring results to the business.”

MNG logo
About MNG Kargo

Established in 2003, MNGExternal Link provides end-to-end cargo services throughout Turkey. It runs more than 800 branches across every province in the country, operates 25 transfer centers and 3,000 land transportation vehicles and employs nearly 10,000 people.

Solution component
MNG logo
About MNG Kargo

Established in 2003, MNGExternal Link provides end-to-end cargo services throughout Turkey. It runs more than 800 branches across every province in the country, operates 25 transfer centers and 3,000 land transportation vehicles and employs nearly 10,000 people.

Solution component