银行担保:从纸质担保转移到区块链
Lygon 利用 IBM Blockchain 技术实现流程现代化
墨尔本城市天际线俯瞰

银行保函是全球金融体系的支柱。但是,签发银行保函的传统流程非常耗时,而且在其整个生命周期内对其进行管理可能充满挑战。这是因为,到目前为止,典型的银行担保一直是纸质文件。

银行保函是由银行或保险公司做出的无条件承诺,证明债务人的债务将得到履行。潜在租户通常会使用保函代替现金押金或租金保证金来获得商业地产租约。它们还用于多个行业的金融交易,以确保合同安全。

目前,澳大利亚和新西兰约有 11500 家零售商依赖于通过人工工作流程创建的纸质保函。这使得签发保函成为一个繁琐的来回过程。

由于纸质文件容易伪造,担保过程容易出现欺诈。此外,成本高昂,而且很难监控。房东需要管理和存储保函(通常存放在防火保险箱中),并根据物业租赁合同进行手动核对。而文件一经发出,银行就看不到它了。对于最终客户来说,该过程非常繁琐,每延迟一次就意味着他们的营业时间延长了许多。

手册文档

 

澳大利亚和新西兰的 11500 家零售商一直依赖纸质保函

节省时间

 

创建保函的时间从 30 天缩短到 1 天

 

 

为了更好地服务客户,我们希望提供一种现代、数字化、可在多银行环境中使用的保函解决方案。 Nigel Dobson 澳大利亚新西兰银行集团有限公司银行服务负责人;董事长 Lygon 1B Pty Ltd.

此外,每当利率发生变化或租约需要续签时,银行都必须签发新的保函,并就每一项变化进行谈判,这可能是一个艰难的过程。银行、房东和租户都不想在几周内来回传递文件,他们需要一个对所有相关方都合理的工作流程。

澳大利亚新西兰银行集团 (ANZ) 银行服务负责人兼银行与科技公司联盟 Lygon 1B 董事长 Nigel Dobson 表示:“租户、银行和房东之间就银行保函进行谈判的过时流程确实需要数字化。我们将澳大利亚最大的三家银行与一家领先的物业管理公司联合起来,共同解决这些问题,颠覆行业格局。

“为了更好地服务我们的客户,我们希望提供一种现代、数字化且可在多银行环境中使用的保函解决方案,”Dobson 继续说。

从 POC 到现场试点

2017 年,ANZ 与 IBM® Research 接洽,提出其希望数字化的一系列业务流程,其中之一就是银行保函的相关流程。

银行和研究团队共同确定,区块链是潜在解决方案的关键组成部分,可以改变所有相关组织的保函生命周期,包括签发、修改、取消和任何索赔。

“我们决定开展一个概念验证 (POC) 项目,以证明我们可以将银行担保流程数字化。区块链是我一直热衷的东西,”Dobson 说,“我们正在寻找一个真正独特的跨行业用例。就是这样。

“与 IBM 合作是一个非常容易的决定。我们有一个企业用例,我们需要一个银行级解决方案—我们相信 IBM 能够提供这种解决方案。”

ANZ 邀请另一家银行西太平洋银行加入 POC。两家银行的客户、购物中心公司 Scentre Group Limited 也同意参与。在 IBM Cloud® 上的 IBM Blockchain Platform 的支持下,成功的 POC 应用了区块链安全、透明和不可变的分布式账本技术 (DLT),以规范和管理银行保函。

“区块链在企业环境中的一大优势是多方之间的信息核对。这并不是说我们不信任这些各方,我们只是想确保我们的系统能够完美地相互通信,”Dobson 说。

阅读包含 POC 结果的白皮书。

2019 年,澳大利亚联邦银行 (CBA) 与 ANZ、西太平洋银行、Scentre Group 以及 IBM Global Business Services 的区块链团队和 IBM Research 团队共同组建了名为 Lygon 1B Pty Ltd. 的联合企业。两家公司共同着手设计和开发一个生产级原型,利用实时数据为零售物业租赁提供具有法律约束力的保函。

时至 2020 年 6 月,Lygon 联合企业的高管认为该解决方案具有商业价值,并与 IBM Global Technology Services 合作,提供并管理一个生产平台。Lygon 还依靠 IBM Security Services 来帮助确保该平台(将以服务形式提供)的设计具有高可用性和安全性。

“Lygon 平台的商业化是澳大利亚乃至全球区块链技术的一个重要里程碑。在对数字技术的需求空前强烈的今天,我们在两年内从一个概念验证发展成为一家新成立的公司,并推出了商用平台,”Dobson 说道。

与 IBM 合作是一个非常简单的决定。我们有一个企业用例,我们需要一个银行级的解决方案—我们相信 IBM 会提供的那种解决方案。 Nigel Dobson 澳大利亚新西兰银行集团有限公司银行服务负责人;董事长 Lygon 1B Pty Ltd.
消除保函生命周期中的摩擦

通过 Lygon 平台,租户可以在线申请保函,房东可以设定条款,然后租户和银行可以审查保函。为了满足对数据共享、协调和同步的多边解决方案的需求,该平台包括基于 Linux 基金会的 Hyperledger Fabric 的 DLT。各方就文件达成一致后,文件将以标准化、可追踪的方式存储在 DLT 中,并得到各方的信任。

这种三方对话完全可以通过数字方式进行。不涉及任何纸张。以前,处理银行保函所需的时间—从申请人提出保函申请到完成保函—长达 30 天。如今,这一过程可在一天内完成。

“我们从流程中消除的摩擦非同寻常,”Dobson 说。“从申请人的角度来看,他们节省了一个月。从受益人的角度来看,他们获得了一个可以在整个生命周期内进行管理的数字化工具。而签发人则处于中间位置,能够看到正在发生的一切,并确信自己完全合规。

“这是一个三赢的局面,非常难得。我们很高兴能够切实改善和提升三方的体验、时间安排和成果。”

该解决方案将于 2020 年底全面推出,预计 Lygon 将加入许多保函签发人和受益人。在此之后,该计划继续向其他市场扩张,并探索开发支持相关仪器和业务流程的其他能力。

“Lygon 的成立是为了将具有数百年历史的纸质流程带入 21 世纪,使多方能够以简单的方式进行协作,”Dobson 说。“我相信,我们已经创建了一个简单、优雅的数字解决方案,这正是客户所需要的。

将银行保函数字化后,我们基本上改变了三方合同。我们已将文件、流程及其背后的合法性数字化。”

Dobson 总结说:“我们将 IBM 视为出色的合作伙伴,不仅因为他们投入资源并真正致力于该项目,还因为他们和我们一样对解决银行保函问题感到兴奋。”

Lygon 徽标
关于 Lygon 1B Pty Ltd. 

Lygon于 2019 年在澳大利亚维多利亚州墨尔本成立,是一个通过 Lygon Blockchain Platform 实现银行保函流程数字化的联合企业。成员包括澳大利亚和新西兰银行集团有限公司 (ANZ)、西太平洋银行、澳大利亚联邦银行、Scentre Group Limited 和 IBM 澳大利亚公司。

采取下一步行动
基于区块链的银行保函平台即将投入商用 银行担保:从纸质担保转移到区块链 利用银行技术为客户提供更多服务
脚注

© Copyright IBM Corporation 2020. IBM Corporation, IBM Cloud, New Orchard Road, Armonk, NY 10504

2020 年 10 月在美国制作。

IBM、IBM 徽标、ibm.com、IBM Cloud、IBM Global Business Services、IBM Global Technology Services 和 IBM Security 是 International Business Machines Corp. 在全球许多司法管辖区注册的商标。其他产品和服务名称可能是 IBM 或其他公司的商标。www.ibm.com/cn-zh/legal/copytrade 上的 “版权和商标信息” 部分包含 IBM 商标的最新列表。

本文档为自最初公布日期起的最新版本,IBM 可能随时对其进行更改。IBM 并不一定在开展业务的所有国家或地区提供所有产品或服务。

文中引用的性能数据和客户示例仅作演示说明之用。实际性能结果可能因具体配置和操作条件而异。本文档中的信息均“按原样”提供,不涉及任何明示或暗示的保证,包括适销性、特定用途适用性的任何保证,以及不侵权的任何保证或条件。IBM 产品根据其提供时所依据的协议条款和条件获得保证。

良好安全实践声明:IT 系统安全涉及通过预防、检测和响应企业内部和外部的不当访问来保护系统和信息。不正当访问可导致信息被更改、破坏、盗用或滥用,也可能导致系统被损坏或滥用,包括用于攻击他人。任何 IT 系统或产品都不应被视为完全安全,任何单一产品、服务或安全措施都不能完全有效防止不正当使用或访问。IBM 系统、产品和服务旨在成为合法、全面的安全措施的一部分,这必然涉及其他操作程序,且可能需要借助其他系统、产品或服务才能发挥最大作用。IBM 不保证任何系统、产品或服务可免于或使您的企业免于受到任何一方恶意或非法行为的影响。

Bank guarantees: jumping from paper to blockchain

Lygon modernizes the process with IBM Blockchain technology
by Caroline Poser
4-minute read
Melbourne city skyline looking down

The bank guarantee is a pillar of financial systems worldwide. But the traditional process of issuing a bank guarantee is time consuming — and managing it throughout its lifecycle can be fraught with challenges. That’s because, until now, the typical bank guarantee has been a paper-based document.

A bank guarantee is an unconditional promise made by a bank or an insurer to certify that the liabilities of a debtor will be met. Prospective tenants often use guarantees to secure commercial property leases instead of cash deposits or rental bonds. They are also used for financial transactions across multiple industries to secure contracts.

Today, some 11,500 retailers in Australia and New Zealand rely on paper guarantees that are created through a manual workflow. This makes issuing guarantees a tedious back-and-forth process.

The guarantee process is prone to fraud because paper documents are prone to forgery. Additionally, it’s costly and it’s very hard to monitor. Landlords need to manage and store the guarantees, usually in fireproof safes, and manually reconcile them against property leases. And banks lose sight of the document the second it’s issued. For end customers, the process is cumbersome, and each delay means they are not open for business that much longer.

Retailers relying on paper guarantees

11,500

in Australia and New Zealand

Time to create a guarantee

1 day

reduced from 30 days

To better serve our customers, we wanted to deliver a guarantee solution that was contemporary, digital and that could be used in a multi-bank setting.
Nigel Dobson
Banking Services Lead, Australia New Zealand Banking Group Limited; Chairman, Lygon 1B Pvt Ltd.

Furthermore, whenever rates change or a lease needs to be renewed, the bank must issue a new guarantee, negotiating each change in what can be a painfully laborious process. Banks, landlords and tenants didn’t want to be passing paperwork back and forth amongst themselves for weeks, and they demanded a workflow that made sense to all parties involved.

Nigel Dobson, Banking Services Lead at the Australia New Zealand Banking Group (ANZ) and Chairman of Lygon 1B, a consortium of banks and technology companies, says: “There was a genuine need to digitize the archaic process by which tenants, banks and landlords negotiate bank guarantees. We brought together three of Australia’s biggest banks together with a leading property management company to address these problems and disrupt the industry.

“To better serve our customers, we wanted to deliver a guarantee solution that was contemporary, digital and that could be used in a multi-bank setting,” continues Dobson.

pile of papers on a work table
Digital rendering of a handshake with blockchain code
Teaming with IBM was a very easy decision. We had an enterprise use case, and we needed a bank-grade solution — the kind we believed IBM would deliver.
Nigel Dobson
Banking Services Lead, Australia New Zealand Banking Group Limited; Chairman, Lygon 1B Pvt Ltd.
From POC to live pilot
Teaming with IBM was a very easy decision. We had an enterprise use case, and we needed a bank-grade solution — the kind we believed IBM would deliver.
Nigel Dobson
Banking Services Lead, Australia New Zealand Banking Group Limited; Chairman, Lygon 1B Pvt Ltd.

In 2017, ANZ approached IBM® Research with a number of business processes it wanted to digitize, one of which was the process around bank guarantees.

Together, the bank and the research team identified blockchain as a key component in a potential solution that could transform the guarantee lifecycle — including issuance, amendments, cancellations and any claims — for all organizations involved.

“We decided that we’d do a proof-of-concept (POC) project to prove that we could digitize the bank guarantee process. Blockchain was something that I’d been passionate about,” says Dobson, “and we were looking for a genuine and unique cross-industry use case. This was it.

“Teaming with IBM was a very easy decision. We had an enterprise use case, and we needed a bank-grade solution — the kind we believed IBM would deliver.”

ANZ invited another bank, Westpac, to join the POC. Scentre Group Limited, a shopping center company and a customer of both banks, also agreed to participate. Powered by the IBM Blockchain Platform on IBM Cloud®, the successful POC applied blockchain’s security-rich, transparent and immutable distributed ledger technology (DLT) to standardize and manage bank guarantees.

“One of the great strengths of blockchain in an enterprise setting is around reconciliation of information between multiple parties. It’s not that we don’t trust these parties — we just want to be sure that our systems can communicate perfectly with each other,” says Dobson.

Read the whitepaper with the results of the POC.

In 2019, Commonwealth Bank of Australia (CBA) joined ANZ, Westpac, Scentre Group and a blockchain team from IBM Global Business Services® along with the IBM Research team to form the consortium known as Lygon 1B Pty Ltd.. Together, the companies set out to design and develop a production-grade prototype using live data to create legally binding guarantees for retail property leasing.

Fast forward to June 2020, and executives from the Lygon consortium decided that the solution had commercial merit and engaged with IBM Global Technology Services® to provision and manage a production platform. Lygon is also counting on IBM Security™ Services to help ensure that the platform — which will be delivered as a service — will be designed for high availability and security.

“The commercialization of the Lygon platform represents a significant milestone for blockchain technology in Australia and globally. We’ve gone from a proof of concept to a newly incorporated company and commercially available platform in two years — at a time when the demand for digital has never been stronger,” says Dobson.

Removing friction from the guarantee lifecycle

With the Lygon platform, a tenant can request a guarantee online, a landlord can set the terms and then the tenant and bank can review the guarantee. To satisfy the need for a multilateral solution with data sharing, reconciliation and synchronization, the platform includes DLT based on the Hyperledger Fabric from The Linux Foundation. When all parties agree on the document, it will be stored in the DLT in a standardized, trackable way that is trusted by all parties.

This three-way conversation can happen completely digitally. There is no paper involved. Previously, the time it took to process a bank guarantee — starting with the applicant asking for the guarantee through to completion of the guarantee — took as many as 30 days. Today, the process can be completed in less than one day.

“The friction we’ve removed from the processes is extraordinary,” says Dobson. “From the applicant’s point of view, they’ve saved a month. From the beneficiary’s point of view, they've got a digital instrument that they can manage for its entire lifecycle. And the issuer sits in the middle with the ability to see everything that's going on, with the confidence that it’s fully compliant.

“It’s a win-win-win situation, which is pretty rare. We were delighted that we could actually improve and uplift the experience, the timeline and the outcomes for all three parties.”

The solution will be generally available by the end of 2020 with the expectation that Lygon will onboard a number of guarantee issuers and beneficiaries. Following this, the plan is to pursue expansion into other markets and explore developing additional capabilities in support of related instruments and business processes.

“Lygon was formed to bring a centuries-old paper-based process into the 21st century, enabling multiple parties to collaborate in a straightforward way,” Dobson says. “I believe we’ve created a simple, elegant digital solution that’s exactly what our customers need.

In digitizing a bank guarantee, we’ve essentially transformed a three-way contract. We’ve digitized the paperwork, the process and the legality behind it.”

Dobson concludes: “We look at IBM as a terrific partner, not only because of the way in which they dedicated resources and really committed to the project but also because they were just as excited as we were about solving the bank guarantee problem.”

Lygon logo
About Lygon 1B Pty Ltd.

Founded in 2019 in Melbourne, Victoria , Australia, LygonExternal Link is a consortium formed to digitize the bank guarantee process through its Lygon blockchain platform. Members include Australia and New Zealand Banking Group Ltd. (ANZ), Westpac Banking Corp., Commonwealth Bank of Australia, Scentre Group Limited and IBM Australia.

Solution components
Lygon logo
About Lygon 1B Pty Ltd.

Founded in 2019 in Melbourne, Victoria , Australia, LygonExternal Link is a consortium formed to digitize the bank guarantee process through its Lygon blockchain platform. Members include Australia and New Zealand Banking Group Ltd. (ANZ), Westpac Banking Corp., Commonwealth Bank of Australia, Scentre Group Limited and IBM Australia.

Solution components