一家国际航运公司管理着一支大型船队,这些船舶经常处于离线状态或者网络连接受到限制。 该公司的船员通过访问船上的计算机,寻求一种快速解决恶意软件和其他安全风险的方法,即使船舶在海上断开连接也不例外,以便防止内部数据丢失。

挑战:

  • 传统解决方案历经多次也检测不到恶意软件和勒索软件。
  • 由于带宽和连接限制,传统解决方案的签名几乎从未更新。
  • 由于网络连接中断,无法 24x7 式全天候监控。
  • 船上没有网络安全人员,船员也没有受过培训。
  • 未经授权的设备经常插入船上的计算机。

船舶代表着一个独特的环境,因为它们一次会在海上航行数月,并在很长一段时间内远离主要基地。 网络连接时断时续,带宽往往受到限制且价格不菲。 船员通常都没有接受过网络安全培训,这可能会导致他们携带含有恶意软件和勒索软件的不安全设备。 由于既定的内部流程,不太可能在未发生其他问题的情况下阻止使用外部设备。 这些设备对于正常操作也是必不可少的,在各种紧急情况下,它们可能会随时更换。 响应时间很关键,但很少能够实时访问,因为船只通常会在不利的条件下或偏远的区域航行。

在三个月内,IBM Security ReaQta 已阻止了

24
次勒索软件攻击

通过跟踪和补救

数十种
其他攻击,避免了数据丢失

检测和补救

解决方案:

  • IBM Security® ReaQta 提供了一种可在每艘船的终端上安装的解决方案。
  • 低数据使用率使地勤人员能够实时监控船舶,并在连接可用时作出响应。
  • 当网络连接断开时,激活自动响应和补救措施以消除威胁。

在一系列勒索软件攻击导致船上出现严重问题后,这家国际航运公司让 IBM 来保护其基础设施。 最初的安全卫生检查显示,大量船舶都已经感染了各种恶意软件,包括 RAT、木马和反向 shell。 在对所有确定的感染进行了评估并予以消除后,根据公司的以下规范重新配置了 ReaQta 解决方案: 必须将业务连续性中断风险降至最低,同时确保在断开网络连接的情况下无法销毁任何数据。 数据传输必须保持在最低限度,避免对日常运营至关重要的卫星连接饱和。 下图显示了部署设置。

装满集装箱的货船全速行驶,在水面上划出美丽的波纹

安全卫生检查

在初始部署之后,ReaQta 立即标记了各种异常行为,并迅速予以解决和补救。 大多数恶意软件都是由船员带来的,其余则来源于从联网端点下载的内容。 通过发起一场威胁搜寻活动,少数“休眠”恶意软件实例也浮出水面,这些实例正在等待远程操作员连接并实施控制。 这些问题也得到了补救,随后便是七天的观察期。 在确认没有进一步异常后,IBM 重新配置了平台,使其在公司的最佳数据使用率和低业务连续性中断风险的参数范围内运行。

日常运营

管理仪表板安装在主要基地的基础设施内,以便集中管理船舶。 虽然船上的网络是统一的,但只有一个终端可以上网,其他终端(包括船员持有的设备)都没有网络连接。 这种特殊的环境要求 IBM 创建一个安全通道,允许每个终端将 ReaQta 数据(而不是其他数据)传递到主要基地。 一个分析师团队负责监控和应对可能发生的事件。

当某艘船按计划离线时,就会启用勒索软件保护,因为这是唯一可能危及数据安全的恶意载体。 由于缺乏连接,通过 RAT 或木马程序感染的病毒不会立即产生影响。 所有其他行为都在监控之下,其跟踪数据也会在本地存档,当网络链接再次可用后便会立即发送出去。

防止数据丢失

在接下来的三个月里,ReaQta 共阻止了 24 次勒索软件攻击,跟踪并修复了几十种不同的威胁(主要是 RAT),并避免了数据丢失。 如果没有它,船舶的航行就会受到影响,船员在不太理想的条件下也就无法获得关键数据。 勒索软件造成的后果及其对单艘船只带来的影响,对该公司而言并不陌生。 在此场景下,ReaQta 设法阻止了延迟,避免了数据丢失,并防止出现代价高昂的应急响应操作。

关于国际航运公司

这家大型国际航运公司管理着 200 多艘船只,往世界各地运输货物。

解决方案组件
IBM Security® ReaQta

© Copyright IBM Corporation 2022. IBM Corporation, IBM Security, New Orchard Road, Armonk, NY 10504

美国出品,2022 年 10 月。

IBM、IBM 徽标、ibm.com 和 IBM Security 是 International Business Machines Corp. 在全球许多管辖区域注册的商标。 其他产品和服务可能是 IBM 或其他公司的商标。以下 Web 站点上的“Copyright and trademark information”部分中包含了 IBM 商标的最新列表:https://www.ibm.com/legal/copytrade

本文档为自最初公布日期起的最新版本,IBM 可随时对其进行修改。IBM 并不一定在开展业务的所有国家或地区提供所有这些产品或服务。

引用的性能数据和客户示例仅用于演示目的。实际性能结果可能因具体配置和运行条件而异。本文档中的信息“按现状”提供,不附有任何种类的(无论是明示的还是默示的)保证,不包含任何有关适销、适用于某种特定用途的保证以及有关非侵权的任何保证或条件。IBM 产品是根据产品提供时所依据的协议条款和条件提供保证的。

良好安全实践声明:IT 系统安全性涉及通过防御、检测和响应来自企业内部和外部的不正当访问来保护系统和信息。不正当的访问可能导致信息被篡改、破坏或盗用,或者导致您的系统遭到误用而攻击别人。任何 IT 系统或产品都不应被认为是完全安全的,而且没有任何单一产品、服务或安全措施在防止不正当的使用或访问方面是完全有效的。IBM 系统、产品和服务旨在成为合法、全面的安全方法的一部分,它必定涉及额外的操作程序,并且可能需要其他系统、产品或服务配合才能获得最好的效果。IBM 不保证任何系统、产品或服务免受任何一方的恶意或非法行为侵扰,或帮助您的企业免受任意一方恶意或非法行为的攻击。

An international shipping company manages a large fleet of vessels that are often offline, or with limited network connectivity. The company, whose crew have access to the ships’ computers, sought a way to address malware and other security risks quickly, even when the ships are at sea with no connectivity, in order to prevent the loss of internal data.

The challenge:

  • Legacy solution failed to detect malware and ransomware multiple times.
  • Signatures for the legacy solution almost never updated, due to bandwidth and connectivity restrictions.
  • Unable to monitor 24x7 due to unavailability of internet connection.
  • No cybersecurity staff on board and crew not trained.
  • Unauthorized devices often plugged into ships’ computers.

 

Ships represent a unique environment, as they can be at sea for months at a time and away from the main base for extended periods of time. Internet connection is intermittently available, and often the bandwidth is limited and expensive. Crews often have no cybersecurity training and may end up bringing on board unsafe and insecure devices containing malware and ransomware. Due to established internal processes, it’s not possible to block external devices without creating other issues. Such devices are also essential to normal operations and they might be replaced at a moment’s notice under a variety of contingencies. Response time is critical but real-time access is seldomly available because ships are often sailing in unfavorable conditions or isolated areas.

Over the course of three months, IBM Security ReaQta prevented

24
ransomware attacks

Avoided data loss by tracking and remediating

dozens
of other attacks

Detection and remediation

The solution:

  • IBM Security® ReaQta provided a solution to be installed on every ship’s endpoint.
  • Low data usage allowed ground crews to monitor ships in real time and respond when connections were available.
  • Automated response and remediation were activated to remove threats while internet connection was not available.

 

After a series of ransomware attacks that created severe issues on board, the international shipping company asked IBM to secure its infrastructure. An initial hygiene check showed a large number of ships already infected with a variety of malware, including RATs, Trojans and reverse shells. All identified infections were assessed and removed, and the ReaQta solution was then reconfigured to align with the specifications of the company: risk of interruption of business continuity had to be reduced to a minimum while ensuring that no data could be destroyed when there was no internet connectivity. Data transfer had to be kept to a minimum to avoid saturating the satellite connection essential to daily operations. The figure (below) shows the deployment setup.

Container cargo ship full speed with beautiful wave pattern

Hygiene check

After the initial deployment, ReaQta immediately flagged a variety of anomalous behaviors and quickly addressed and remediated them. The majority of malware were brought on board by the crew, while the remaining instances had their origin in content downloaded from internet-connected endpoints. A threat hunting campaign was initiated and it brought to light the presence of few “dormant” malware instances that were waiting for a remote operator to connect and take control. Those, too, were remediated, and an observation period of seven days followed. After confirming the absence of further anomalies, IBM reconfigured the platform to operate within the company’s parameters of optimal data usage and low risk of interruption of business continuity.


Day-to-day operations

The management dashboard was installed within the main base infrastructure, in order to centralize the ships’ management. While the network on board was unified, only a single endpoint had internet access, the others, including crews’ devices, had no internet connection. This peculiar environment required IBM to create a secure channel to allow every endpoint to deliver ReaQta data (and nothing else) to the main base. A team of analysts was in charge of monitoring and responding to possible incidents.

When a ship was scheduled to go offline, the ransomware protection was enabled, as that was the only malicious vector that could endanger the data. An infection by means of a RAT or Trojan would have had no immediate impact, due to the absence of connectivity. All other behaviors were monitored and their tracking data archived locally, to be delivered immediately after an internet link was available again.

Preventing data loss

Over the course of the next three months, ReaQta prevented a total of 24 ransomware attacks, tracked and remediated a few dozen different threats—mostly RATs—and prevented the loss of data. Without it, the ships’ operations would have been compromised, and critical data would have been made unavailable in less-than-ideal conditions for the crew. The repercussions of ransomware, and their impact on a single ship, were well known to the company. In this scenario ReaQta managed to prevent delays, avert data loss and avoid costly emergency response operations.

About the international shipping company

The major international shipping company manages over 200 ships that transport goods around the world.



Solution component
IBM Security® ReaQta

 

© Copyright IBM Corporation 2022. IBM Corporation, IBM Security, New Orchard Road, Armonk, NY 10504

Produced in the United States of America, October 2022.

IBM, the IBM logo, ibm.com, and IBM Security are trademarks of International Business Machines Corp., registered in many jurisdictions worldwide. Other product and service names might be trademarks of IBM or other companies. A current list of IBM trademarks is available on the web at “Copyright and trademark information” at https://www.ibm.com/legal/copytrade.

This document is current as of the initial date of publication and may be changed by IBM at any time. Not all offerings are available in every country in which IBM operates.

The performance data and client examples cited are presented for illustrative purposes only. Actual performance results may vary depending on specific configurations and operating conditions. THE INFORMATION IN THIS DOCUMENT IS PROVIDED “AS IS” WITHOUT ANY WARRANTY, EXPRESS OR IMPLIED, INCLUDING WITHOUT ANY WARRANTIES OF MERCHANTABILITY, FITNESS FOR A PARTICULAR PURPOSE AND ANY WARRANTY OR CONDITION OF NON-INFRINGEMENT. IBM products are warranted according to the terms and conditions of the agreements under which they are provided.

Statement of Good Security Practices: IT system security involves protecting systems and information through prevention, detection and response to improper access from within and outside your enterprise. Improper access can result in information being altered, destroyed, misappropriated or misused or can result in damage to or misuse of your systems, including for use in attacks on others. No IT system or product should be considered completely secure and no single product, service or security measure can be completely effective in preventing improper use or access. IBM systems, products and services are designed to be part of a lawful, comprehensive security approach, which will necessarily involve additional operational procedures, and may require other systems, products or services to be most effective. IBM DOES NOT WARRANT THAT ANY SYSTEMS, PRODUCTS OR SERVICES ARE IMMUNE FROM, OR WILL MAKE YOUR ENTERPRISE IMMUNE FROM, THE MALICIOUS OR ILLEGAL CONDUCT OF ANY PARTY.