The Hub Power Company Limited
证明有关健康、安全和环境的高效实践始于 IT
Hub Power Company 鸟瞰图

当过时、未连接的资产管理软件系统阻碍了 Hubco 的工作流程时,Hubco 聘请 IBM 业务合作伙伴 Systech International 来部署和集成 IBM® Maximo® for Oil and Gas 软件。该解决方案将变更管理的审批时间降低 60%,加快了运营中的现金流量,并促使公用事业公司调查的事件降低大约 20%。

业务挑战

The Hub Power Company Limited (Hubco) 的 IT 系统已过时且未连接,导致流程延迟和效率低下,影响了一部分 HSE 实践。

变革

Hubco 升级采用Maximo for Oil and Gas 7.6 软件,并集成其 IT 环境,从而获得了所需的应用程序和效率,以支持并完善健康、安全和环境 (HSE) 相关专业流程。

结果 减少 60%
变更管理 (MOC) 流程的审批时间
降低 60%
正在调查或待调查的安全事件的数量
降低 60%
发票处理时间
业务挑战案例
未集成和过时的软件

Hubco 是巴基斯坦第一家也是最大的独立发电商 (IPP),非常重视健康、安全和环境 (HSE) 实践。这一承诺体现在关键绩效指标中。在 2018-2019 财政年度,这一公用事业公司在其三个运营发电站记录了 430 万工时,总可记录工伤率 (TRIR) 仅 0.05。

该公用事业公司的安全记录令人印象深刻,部分源于公司对正确技术的投入。Hubco 公司秘书兼法律和公共关系总监 Shaharyar Nashat 表示:“我们的团队始终在寻找一切技术进步工具,以提高效率并监控工厂的排放。”

其中一项技术是 IBM Maximo 资产管理软件。过去,该公用事业公司使用该软件 5.2 和 7.1 版本来管理其关键资产,并支持其大型资产数据库。公司还依靠本地开发的合规管理系统 (CMS) 来实施安全举措,并继续使用 Oracle Financial 应用程序。

然而,由于技术没有集成,某些关键业务流程必须手动执行。此外,数据孤岛需要跨系统重复执行某些任务。

Hubco 的规划经理 Abid Ali 表示:“每个系统都包含不同信息。因此,财务人员必须对付款和资金储备进行复式记账,一份在 Maximo,另一份在财务系统。这需要花费大量的时间和重复性工作。”

Hubco 试图集成其关键 IT 系统,包括财务系统。此外,Hubco 认识到,升级 Maximo 软件将带来公司目前没有的新功能以及许多安全模块。

“在组级别的所有站点,安全是我们的首要任务,”Hubco 的 IT 经理 Ahmed Aftab 补充道,“因此我们决定,在集成现有系统的同时,我们也必须升级 Maximo,并获取 IBM 的一线支持。”

与其他解决方案相比,Maximo 中的模块更加完善,功能更多。它也更具成本效益。 Ahmed Aftab IT Manager The Hub Power Company Limited
变革案例
互联的现代 IT 环境

2018 年,Hubco 转向专门从事资产管理解决方案的 IBM 业务合作伙伴 Systech 寻求帮助,希望集成并升级其关键 IT 软件和系统。

本次合作包括四个项目:

  • 将企业数据库从 Microsoft SQL Server 迁移到 Oracle 数据库
  • 将现有 Maximo Asset Management 7.1 软件升级成 Maximo for Oil and Gas 7.6 软件
  • 执行附加 HSE 模块
  • 利用 Maximo Enterprise Adapter 附加组件,对技术与 Oracle Financial 系统进行集成

在 Maximo for Oil and Gas 技术的帮助下,Hubco 获得了支持其 HSE 相关专业流程和行业最佳实践所需的应用程序,以提高其关键资产的生产力、效率和安全性。Systech 资产管理总监 Shams Ladak 表示:“与版本 7.1 相比,Maximo 7.6 中的一些新功能对 Hubco 较为有利。”

在此期间,Systech 展开了管理培训,以演示 Maximo 7.6 中的新功能。Systech 还针对用户和管理员进行了有关新 Maximo 应用程序的培训。为克服与系统集成和数据库转换相关的挑战,Systech 与 IBM 并肩工作。

Hubco 规划经理 Abid Ali 表示:“Systech 与我们展开密切合作,寻找解决方案并解决问题。他们在这个项目上做得很好。我们从未发现他们在任何领域缺乏专业知识,而且 IBM 的支持也非常棒。”

如今,所有系统都实现了实时集成。Systech 继续为该公用事业公司提供技术支持,并评估 Hubco 未来计划的新技术。

对于 Hubco 来说,Maximo Oil and Gas 的许多优势都与安全和系统集成有关,这也是我们的既定计划。 Shams Ladak Director of Asset Management IBM Business Partner Systech International
案例成果
快速高效的流程

如今,Hubco 的业务流程和安全管理活动变得更加高效和精简。Ladak 先生补充道:“对于 Hubco 来说,Maximo Oil and Gas 的许多优势都与安全性和系统集成有关,这也是我们的既定计划。”

例如,在过去,MOC 流程需要手动管理并使用来自多个互不相连的 IT 系统的信息。因此,审批时间可能长达六个月,也可能长达一年或更长。现在,由于 Maximo Oil and Gas 软件中的 MOC 模块与工作单和安全系统集成,这一流程只需几个月的时间,换言之,审批速度提高了 60%。

该软件的风险评估应用程序还帮助 Hubco 改进了工作单安全管理。此外,Hubco 加强了对安全相关行动和任务的监控,将正在调查或待调查的事件数量减少了20%。

开具发票的速度也更快。使用 Maximo ERP 集成附加组件集成 Oracle 财务系统后,Hubco 处理发票的平均时间减少了 50%,从平均 50-60 天缩短至 30-35 天,从而实现了更快的运营现金流量。其他优势包括更及时地审查预防性维护记录,更全面监控临时更改,以及改进安全行走计划的合规管理。

Aftab 先生补充道:“与其他解决方案相比,Maximo 中的模块更完善,功能更多,也更具成本效益。”

Hubco 不断改进,目前正在其新工厂部署 Maximo 石油和天然气软件,并计划将其应用到新的 IT 计划中。“Maximo 让我们的管理、工程和运营团队有信心在新工厂应用物联网,”Aftab 先生总结道,“它是一个非常关键的运营系统,尤其是在我们的领域。”

The Hub Power Company Limited Logo
The Hub Power Company Limited

为了向人们提供生活燃料能源,The Hub Power Company Limited(ibm.com 外部链接)在俾路支省哈布地区、旁遮普省邦纳罗瓦尔地区以及阿扎德查谟和克什米尔地区建造了四座发电厂,提供超过 2920 兆瓦的装机容量。这家公用事业公司是巴基斯坦唯一一家在中巴经济走廊拥有四个项目的电力生产商,包括以进口煤炭为主的 China Power Hub Generation Company (Pvt.) Limited at Hub, Thar Energy Ltd., Thalnova Power Thar (Pvt.) Ltd. 以及 Sindh Engro Coal Mining Company。Hubco 拥有 6,000 多名员工,2019-2020 年的净利润高达 90 亿巴基斯坦卢比。

关于 Systech International

IBM 业务合作伙伴Systech (ibm.com 外部链接)的总部位于美国新泽西州,同时在巴基斯坦和阿拉伯联合酋长国开展业务,是一家专门提供企业资产管理解决方案的全方位服务型 IT 公司。服务包括软件实施、配置和集成;年度维护和支持;软件审计和运行状况检查。公司为制造业、石油和天然气、运输、公用事业和公共部门提供服务。Systech 成立于 1995 年,现有员工约 30 人。

采取下一步行动

要详细了解本案例中介绍的 IBM 解决方案,请联系您的 IBM 代表或 IBM 业务合作伙伴。

查看更多客户案例 联系 IBM
法律

© Copyright IBM Corporation 2020. IBM Corporation, Watson, New Orchard Road, Armonk, NY 10504

美国出品,2020 年 7 月。

IBM、IBM 徽标、ibm.com 和 Maximo 是 International Business Machines Corp. 的商标,已在全球许多司法管辖区注册。其他产品和服务名称可能是 IBM 或其他公司的商标。如需获取 IBM 最新商标列表,请登录 ibm.com/trademark并在"版权和商标信息" 部分查询。

Microsoft、Windows、Windows NT 和 Windows 徽标是 Microsoft Corporation 在美国和/或其他国家/地区的商标。

本文档为自最初公布日期起的最新版本,IBM 可能随时对其进行更改。IBM 并不一定在开展业务的所有国家或地区提供所有产品或服务。

文中引用的性能数据和客户实例仅作说明之用。实际性能结果可能因具体配置和操作条件而异。本文档内的信息“按现状”提供,不附有任何种类的(无论是明示的还是默示的)保证,包括不附有关于适销性、适用于某种特定用途的任何保证以及非侵权的任何保证或条件。IBM 产品根据其提供时所依据的协议条款和条件获得保证。

客户负责确保遵守适用的法律和法规。IBM 不提供任何法律咨询,也不声明或保证其服务或产品经确保客户遵循任何法律或法规。

Business challenge

At The Hub Power Company Limited (Hubco), IT systems were obsoleted and unconnected, causing process delays and inefficiencies that affected some of its HSE practices.

Transformation

Hubco upgraded to Maximo for Oil and Gas 7.6 software and integrated its IT environment, gaining the applications and efficiencies it needs to support and improve its specialized HSE-related processes.

Results

60% reduction

in approval times for management of change (MOC) processes

20% reduction

in number of safety incidents being investigated or pending investigation

50% reduction

in processing times for invoices

Business challenge story

Unintegrated and outdated software

Hubco, Pakistan’s first and largest Independent Power Producer (IPP), takes its Health, Safety and Environment (HSE) practices seriously. This commitment is reflected in a key performance metric. For the 2018 – 2019 fiscal year, the utility logged 4.3 million man hours across its three operational power stations, reporting a total recordable injury rate (TRIR) of a mere 0.05.

The utility’s impressive safety record stems, in part, from investing in the right technology. “Our team is always on the lookout for any technological advancements to improve efficiencies and to monitor emissions from our plants,” says Shaharyar Nashat, Company Secretary, Director Legal and Public Relations at Hubco.

One of those technologies is IBM Maximo Asset Management software. In the past, the utility used versions 5.2 and 7.1 of the software to manage its critical assets and support its large asset database. It also relied on a locally-developed compliance management system (CMS) for its safety initiatives, and continues to use Oracle Financial applications.

However, because the technologies were not integrated, certain key business processes had to be executed manually. What’s more, data siloes required some tasks to be duplicated across systems.

“Different information was in each system,” explains Abid Ali, Hubco’s Planning Manager. “So, the people in finance had to make double entries for payments and financial reserves — one in Maximo and another in the financial system. It was taking a lot of time and duplication of effort.”

Hubco sought to integrate its critical IT systems, including the financial system. It also recognized that upgrading its Maximo software would bring new functionalities and many safety-related modules the business did not currently have.

“Safety is our highest priority at all sites on the group level,” adds Ahmed Aftab, Hubco’s IT Manager. “So we decided that while we integrate our existing systems, we must upgrade Maximo, too, and get first-line support from IBM.”

Compared to other solutions, the modules in Maximo are much better; there is more functionality. It’s also more cost-effective.

Ahmed Aftab, IT Manager, The Hub Power Company Limited

Transformation story

A modern and connected IT environment

In 2018, Hubco turned to Systech, an IBM Business Partner specializing in asset management solutions, to integrate and upgrade its critical IT software and systems.

The engagement consisted of four projects:

  • Migrating the corporate database from a Microsoft SQL server to an Oracle database
  • Upgrading the existing Maximo Asset Management 7.1 software to Maximo for Oil and Gas 7.6 software
  • Implementing add-on HSE modules
  • Integrating the technologies with the Oracle Financial system using the Maximo Enterprise Adaptor add-on

With Maximo for Oil and Gas technology, Hubco gains the applications it needs to support its specialized HSE-related processes and the industry best practices to improve the productivity, efficiency and safety of its critical assets. “Compared to version 7.1, there are several new functionalities in Maximo 7.6 that are beneficial to Hubco,” says Shams Ladak, Director of Asset Management at Systech.

During the engagement, Systech conducted management training to demonstrate the new features in Maximo 7.6. It also trained users and administrators on the new Maximo applications. To help overcome challenges related to system integration and database conversion, Systech worked side-by-side with IBM.

“Systech worked very closely with us to find solutions and resolve issues,” says Abid Ali, Planning Manager at Hubco. “They did a good job in this project. We never found them lacking expertise in any area, and the support from IBM was fantastic, too.”

Today, all systems are live and integrated. Systech continues to provide the utility with technical support and evaluate new technologies for Hubco’s future initiatives.

Results story

Fast and efficient processes

Today, Hubco’s business processes and safety management activities are more efficient and streamlined. “For Hubco, many of the benefits of Maximo Oil and Gas are related to safety and system integration, which we set out to do,” adds Mr. Ladak.

For instance, in the past, the MOC process used to be administered manually and required information from multiple, disconnected IT systems. As a result, approvals could take as long as six months or up to a year or more. Now, the process takes just a couple of months, or up to 60% faster, because the MOC module in Maximo Oil and Gas software integrates with the work order and safety systems.

The software’s risk assessment application also helped Hubco improve workorder safety management. In addition, Hubco enhanced its monitoring of safety-related actions and tasks, reducing the number of incidents being investigated or pending investigation by 20%.

Invoicing is also faster. After integrating the Oracle Financial system using the Maximo ERP Integration add-on, Hubco reduced the average invoice processing time by 50%, from an average of 50 – 60 days to 30 – 35 days, creating faster cash flow from operations. Additional benefits include more timely reviews of preventive maintenance records, better monitoring of temporary changes, and improved compliance management with safety walk schedules.

“Compared to other solutions, the modules in Maximo are much better, there is more functionality,” adds Mr. Aftab. “It’s also more cost-effective.”

Moving forward, Hubco is deploying Maximo Oil and Gas software in its new plants and will apply it to new IT initiatives. “Maximo is giving our management, engineering and operations teams the confidence to apply IoT to our new plants,” concludes Mr. Aftab. “It is a very critical system in an operation, especially in our sector.”

For Hubco, many of the benefits of Maximo Oil and Gas are related to safety and system integration, which we set out to do.

Shams Ladak, Director of Asset Management, IBM Business Partner Systech International

The Hub Power Company Limited Logo

The Hub Power Company Limited

With the aim of fueling lives through energy, The Hub Power Company Limited has an installed capacity of producing over 2920MW through its four plants in Hub, Balochistan; Narowal, Punjab; and Azad Jammu and Kashmir. The utlity is the only power producer in Pakistan with four projects listed in the China–Pakistan Economic Corridor; namely, imported coal-based China Power Hub Generation Company (Pvt.) Limited at Hub, Thar Energy Ltd., Thalnova Power Thar (Pvt.) Ltd. and Sindh Engro Coal Mining Company. Hubco employs over 6,000 people and reported net earnings of PKR 9 billion for 2019 – 2020.

About Systech International

Based in New Jersey in the US with operations in Pakistan and the United Arab Emirates, IBM Business Partner Systech is a full-service IT firm that specializes in providing enterprise asset management solutions. Services include software implementation, configuration and integration; annual maintenance and support; and software audits and health checks. The company serves the manufacturing, oil and gas, transportation, utilities and public sectors. Systech was founded in 1995 and employs roughly 30 people.

Solution component

Take the Next Step

To learn more about the IBM solution featured in this story, please contact your IBM representative or IBM Business Partner.