加速分析,提供银行业洞察
更快的分析工作负载可提高大型机效率
阳光明媚的日子里,在博斯普鲁斯海峡和 7 月 15 日烈士大桥衬托下的美景。

随着世界日益数字化,最成功的银行都拥抱数字转型。土耳其第二大公开银行 Garanti BBVA 便是一个典型。除设立 5,000 余台 ATM 机和近 1,000 个分行外,该银行还部署创新技术,通过网络、移动和社交银行渠道为数字客户提供无缝体验。

数字化投入正在产出成果。该银行拥有近 1000 万数字客户,占非现金交易的 97%。

一系列平台和云服务驱动数字环境,但生产型银行业务应用程序是在 IBM® z15 大型机上运行的,并搭载 IBM® Db2 for z/OS 数据库。“对于核心银行服务,我们使用 Db2 for z/OS 作出关键业务决策,”Garanti BBVA 云数据平台技术部门经理 Ibrahim Parlak 说道。

该系统每天处理海量交易和运营数据——想想数十亿笔交易和数万亿字节数据作为分析洞察的基础。这些洞察有利于业务和 IT 职能。

例如,营销人员如何根据移动客户的银行业务历史,东西应该为客户提供哪些服务?会计流程是否符合政府法规?在 IT 方面,万亿字节级性能日志是否指示应用程序错误以及何时应该让应用程序脱机维护?

数据库团队每晚在 IBM® Z 平台上处理数以万计的批处理作业,为下游分析、机器学习、报告和洞察系统准备历史数据。但这种工作量会消耗过多的 CPU 功率,可能干扰生产应用程序并需要昂贵的升级。

300 多个批处理作业

 

Garanti BBVA 使用 IBM Db2 Analytics Accelerator for z/OS 每晚处理 300 多个批处理作业

45 小时

 

加速器将 IBM z15 大型机的 CPU 消耗量每天减少 45 小时

1 分钟

 

在 z15 上运行合规报告,过去需要 2 天时间,现在只需要 1 分钟

我们部门管理了一个大型机平台,最关键的银行事务都在这个平台上执行。我们的主要职责是提高平台的速度和安全性,并实施新技术来满足未来的需求。 Ibrahim Parlak 部门经理 云数据平台技术 Garanti BBVA

此外,在大型机上对大型数据集执行复杂的分析性查询可能导致业务部门获得结果的时间过晚。夜间批处理仅处理静态数据,不处理每次移动客户登录时更改的动态数据。不过,即时分析实时数据的确可以产生最有价值的洞察。

因此,Garanti BBVA 的数据库团队面临双重挑战:如何以低成本且安全的方式加速大型机对历史数据的分析?如何获得实时分析动态客户数据的能力?

“我所在部门管理着执行最关键银行业务交易的大型机平台,”Parlak 解释道,“我们主要负责提高平台的速度和安全性,并实施新技术,满足未来需求。”

部署分析加速器

Garanti BBVA 的解决方案是部署高速查询引擎 IBM Db2 Analytics Accelerator for z/OS,可在逻辑上扩展 Db2 for z/OS。这种技术支持混合事务分析处理 (HTAP),可高效经济地处理加速器上的分析工作负载和 IBM Z 平台上的事务工作负载。作为 Db2 for z/OS 的集成后端组件,加速器同样提供高可用性、弹性和信息安全性的优势。

该银行的数据库团队携手 IBM 于 2019 年 7 月开始部署 Db2 Analytics Accelerator for z/OS 第 5 版,并持续更新以获得高级功能。“我们感谢 IBM 的支持,”Parlak 说,“如果我们遇到问题,IBM 一定会随时为他们的关键产品和服务提供支持。”

从一开始,加速器就通过处理从 z15 卸载的分析工作负载,缩短了批处理周期。这些作业范围很广。300 余个数据库表经过加速,为业务部门的分析准备数据。分析作业利用设备上驻留的 33 TB 数据和 Db2 for z/OS 中剩余的 44 TB 压缩数据。

Db2 Analytics Accelerator for z/OS 创建与信用卡、客户账户、风险管理和监管合规性相关的报告。加速器还在为数据仓库和人工智能准备数据时执行 ETL 功能,并在质量保证测试期间分析新应用程序中的错误。

加速器定期分析来自该银行 300,000 个应用程序和数百万条 SQL 语句的 CPU 消耗和性能日志,推动自动化数据库排障。当分析作业检测到错误时,加速器会自动分析 10 年的用户访问历史,确定最佳维护窗口。

 

除运行批处理作业外,加速器还分析少量在线事务。数据库团队希望大幅扩展此功能,分析移动用户的账户访问情况和其他动态数据。为此该银行部署了具有 IBM Integrated Synchronization 功能的 Db2 Analytics Accelerator for z/OS 版本 7.5。

这种数据复制协议几乎实时完成对加速器的动态数据的增量更新,同时保持数据到位。接着可以针对最新提交的数据运行分析查询,同时减少大型机 CPU 消耗。Integrated Synchronization 利用 IBM Z Integrated Information Processor (zIIP) 技术进一步降低成本。

“目前,我们主要受益于批处理窗口期内的加速器,”Parlak 说,“但在最新版本中,我们重点将在线交易导入这台强大的机器。我们预计能很快得偿所愿。”

作为一家大型金融公司,我们设立了专门团队来监控数据库和应用程序环境的性能。借助 IBM Db2 Analytics Accelerator,我们能提前识别可能影响业务的问题。 Ibrahim Parlak 部门经理 云数据平台技术 Garanti BBVA
加速业务关键型分析

Db2 Analytics Accelerator for z/OS 帮助 Garanti BBVA 获得了巨大的商业价值。该解决方案的分析处理有助于自动化业务关键型任务、提高处理速度并降低大型机 CPU 消耗。

加速器以惊人的速度自动运行报告和分析工作。举个例子,基于千亿条会计记录的监管合规报告过去需要在大型机上运行两天。现在只需一分钟,速度提升近 3,000 倍。“这对报告编制团队来说是一个巨大的优势,”Parlak 说。

IT 管理自动化是另一个优势。加速器可以在应用程序投入生产之前检测到应用程序中的错误,有利于质量控制。此外,系统定期分析性能和用户访问日志,可主动检测数据库异常情况,并确定最佳维护时间。

“作为一家大型金融公司,我们设立了专门团队来监控数据库和应用程序环境的性能,”Parlak 说,“借助加速器,我们能够提前识别可能影响业务的问题。”

Db2 Analytics Accelerator for z/OS 还支持 z15:卸载作业后,它以峰值性能运行,同时降低成本。根据数据库团队的计算,加速功能每天可将大型机 CPU 消耗减少 45 小时。

自动化流程、快速分析和高效大型机——Garanti BBVA 高管非常欣赏这些优势。数据库团队预计不久将启动 IBM Integrated Synchronization 功能分析在线数据。这可能产生有用的业务洞察。

底线是什么?“Db2 Analytics Accelerator for z/OS 是业务关键型金融平台的必备品,”Parlak 说。

Garanti BBVA 徽标
关于 Garanti BBVA

土耳其第二大私人银行 Garanti BBVA 成立于 1946 年,总部位于伊斯坦布尔。Garanti BBVA 服务于各个银行业务领域的 1800 万客户,包括企业、商业、中小企业、支付系统、零售、私人和投资银行业务。Garanti BBVA 拥有 18,000 多名员工,2020 年总收入 523 亿土耳其里拉,净利润 64 亿土耳其里拉。

接下来:
在新冠疫情时期进行现代化运作 罗德岛州 搭建桥梁,深入洞察 Sund & Bælt
脚注

© Copyright IBM Corporation 2021. IBM Corporation, Hybrid Cloud, New Orchard Road, Armonk, NY 10504

美国出品,2021 年 12 月

IBM、IBM 徽标、ibm.com、Db2、IBM Z、z/OS 和 z15 是 International Business Machines Corp. 在全球许多司法辖区的注册商标。其他产品和服务名称可能是 IBM 或其他公司的商标。IBM 商标的最新列表可参见以下网站的“版权和商标信息”部分:https://www.ibm.com/cn-zh/legal/copytrade

本文档为自最初公布日期起的最新版本,IBM 可能随时对其进行更改。IBM 并不一定在开展业务的所有国家或地区提供所有产品或服务。

文中引用的性能数据和客户示例仅作演示说明之用。实际性能结果可能因具体配置和操作条件而异。本文档中的信息均“按原样”提供,不涉及任何明示或暗示的保证,包括适销性、特定用途适用性的任何保证,以及不侵权的任何保证或条件。IBM 产品根据其提供时所依据的协议条款和条件获得保证。

Accelerated analytics deliver banking insights

Faster analytical workloads boost mainframe efficiency
by Tom Farre
7-minute read
Istanbul sunny day

As the world goes increasingly digital, the most successful banks embrace digitalization. A prime example is Garanti BBVA, Turkey’s second largest public bank. Besides fielding more than 5,000 ATMs and nearly 1,000 branches, the bank deploys innovative technology to deliver a seamless experience to digital customers across web, mobile and social banking channels.

The commitment to digitalization is paying off. The bank has nearly 10 million digital customers who account for 97% of non-cash transactions.

A range of platforms and cloud services power the digital environment, but production banking applications run on IBM® z15™ mainframes with the IBM Db2® for z/OS® database. “For our core banking services, we use Db2 for z/OS to make critical business decisions,” says Ibrahim Parlak, Unit Manager, Cloud Data Platform Technologies at Garanti BBVA.

The system processes huge volumes of transactional and operational data each day — think billions of transactions and terabytes of data being prepped for analytical insights. The insights benefit both business and IT functions.

For instance, how can marketers know which services to offer mobile customers based on their banking histories? Are accounting processes in compliance with government regulations? And on the IT side, do terabyte-class performance logs indicate application errors and what time is best to take apps offline for maintenance?

The database team processes tens of thousands of batch jobs on the IBM Z® platform overnight, jobs that prepare historical data for downstream analytics, machine learning, reports and systems of insight. But this workload can consume too much CPU power, potentially interfering with production applications and requiring costly upgrades.

woman checking financial data of her online bank account on smartphone

Garanti BBVA uses the IBM Db2 Analytics Accelerator for z/OS to process

300+

batch jobs each night

The accelerator reduces CPU consumption on the IBM z15 mainframe by

45

hours every day

A compliance report that used to take 2 days to run on the z15 now takes

1

minute

My department manages the mainframe platform that performs our most critical banking transactions. Our main responsibilities are to make it faster and more secure, and to implement new technology to meet upcoming requirements.
Ibrahim Parlak
Unit Manager, Cloud Data Platform Technologies, Garanti BBVA

In addition, complex analytical queries across large datasets on the mainframe may deliver results too late for the business. And nightly batch processing only deals with static data, not dynamic data that changes every time a mobile customer logs on. Yet analyzing live data on the fly can generate the most valuable insights.

Thus, Garanti BBVA’s database team faced a dual challenge: how could it accelerate mainframe analysis of historical data in a cost-effective and secure manner; and how could it gain the ability to analyze dynamic customer data in real time?

“My department manages the mainframe platform that performs our most critical banking transactions,” explains Parlak. “Our main responsibilities are to make it faster and more secure, and to implement new technology to meet upcoming requirements.”

Coffee drinker works on finances
Happy female computer programmers giving high-five over desk in office
As a major financial company, we have a team monitoring performance of the database and application environment. With the IBM Db2 Analytics Accelerator, we can identify most problems before they impact the business.
Ibrahim Parlak
Unit Manager, Cloud Data Platform Technologies, Garanti BBVA
Deploying the analytics accelerator
As a major financial company, we have a team monitoring performance of the database and application environment. With the IBM Db2 Analytics Accelerator, we can identify most problems before they impact the business.
Ibrahim Parlak
Unit Manager, Cloud Data Platform Technologies, Garanti BBVA

Garanti BBVA’s solution was to deploy IBM Db2 Analytics Accelerator for z/OS, a high-speed query engine that logically extends Db2 for z/OS. The technology enables Hybrid Transaction Analytical Processing (HTAP), which efficiently and cost-effectively processes analytics workloads on the accelerator and transaction workloads on the IBM Z platform. As an integrated back-end component of Db2 for z/OS, the accelerator is similarly designed for high availability, resilience and information security.

The bank’s database team began deploying Db2 Analytics Accelerator for z/OS version 5 in July 2019 in collaboration with IBM, and continues with updates to gain advanced features. “We appreciate the support we get from IBM,” says Parlak. “We are confident that if we have a problem, IBM will be there to support their critical products and services.”

From the start, the accelerator has improved the batch cycle by processing analytics workloads offloaded from the z15. The jobs are broad in scope. More than 300 database tables are accelerated to prepare data for analysis by the business units. The analytics draw from 33 TB of data residing on the appliance and 44 TB remaining compressed in Db2 for z/OS.

Db2 Analytics Accelerator for z/OS creates reports related to credit cards, customer accounts, risk management and regulatory compliance. The accelerator also performs ETL functions in prepping data for the data warehouse and AI, and analyzes new applications for errors during quality assurance testing.

In addition, the accelerator helps automate database troubleshooting through periodic analysis of CPU consumption and performance logs from the bank’s 300,000 applications and millions of SQL statements. When the analyses detect an error, the accelerator automatically analyzes a 10-year history of user access to identify the best maintenance window.

Besides running batch jobs, the accelerator analyzes a small number of online transactions. The database team wants to greatly expand this to analyze account access by mobile users and other dynamic data. That’s why it deployed Db2 Analytics Accelerator for z/OS version 7.5, which features the IBM Integrated Synchronization capability.

This data replication protocol enables incremental updates of dynamic data to the accelerator in near-real time while keeping the data in place. Then, analytical queries can run against the latest committed data with reduced mainframe CPU consumption. Integrated Synchronization takes advantage of IBM Z Integrated Information Processor (zIIP) technology to further reduce costs.

“Right now, we are mostly benefitting from the accelerator within our batch window,” says Parlak. “But with the latest version, we are focused on rooting our online transactions to that powerful machine. We expect to get there soon.”

Accelerating business-critical analytics

With the Db2 Analytics Accelerator for z/OS, Garanti BBVA gains substantial business value. Its analytical processing helps automate business-critical tasks, increase processing speed and conserve mainframe CPU consumption.

The accelerator automatically runs reports and analytics at an impressive pace. In one example, a regulatory compliance report based on a hundred billion accounting records used to take two days to run on the mainframe. Now, it takes just one minute, almost 3,000 times faster. “This has been a huge benefit to our teams tasked with preparing such reports,” says Parlak.

Automation of IT management is another advantage. The accelerator can detect errors in applications before they are released to production, a boon to quality control. And the system’s periodic analysis of performance and user access logs proactively detects database anomalies and pinpoints the best time for maintenance.

“As a major financial company, we have a team monitoring performance of the database and application environment,” says Parlak. “With the accelerator, we can identify most of the problems before they impact the business.”

Db2 Analytics Accelerator for z/OS also supports the z15: thanks to the offloaded jobs, it runs at peak performance while reducing costs. The database team calculates that acceleration reduces mainframe CPU consumption by 45 hours each day.

Process automation, faster analytics and a more efficient mainframe — Garanti BBVA executives appreciate these benefits. Plus, the database team expects to soon activate IBM Integrated Synchronization to analyze online data. This will likely generate useful business insights.

What’s the bottom line? “The Db2 Analytics Accelerator for z/OS is a must for a business-critical financial platform,” says Parlak.

Garanti BBVA logo
About Garanti BBVA

Established in 1946 and headquartered in Istanbul, Garanti BBVAExternal Link is Turkey’s second largest private bank. It offers services to 18 million customers in every banking segment, including corporate, commercial, SME, payment systems, retail, private and investment banking. Employing more than 18,000 people, Garanti BBVA had total revenues of TRY 52.3 billion and net income of TRY 6.4 billion in 2020.

Solution components
Garanti BBVA logo
About Garanti BBVA

Established in 1946 and headquartered in Istanbul, Garanti BBVAExternal Link is Turkey’s second largest private bank. It offers services to 18 million customers in every banking segment, including corporate, commercial, SME, payment systems, retail, private and investment banking. Employing more than 18,000 people, Garanti BBVA had total revenues of TRY 52.3 billion and net income of TRY 6.4 billion in 2020.

Solution components