一家有远见的小面包厂走向数字化
流程优化有助于满足烘焙食品的需求
砧板上新鲜出炉的大蒜卷和大蒜头

Elonen Oy 面包厂位于芬兰中部地区 Jämsä,每天都会生产美味的烘焙食品,供其咖啡馆消费以及供客户在芬兰各地的零售商处购买。Elonen 的主厂拥有约 200 名员工,负责烘焙和包装蛋糕、面包、饼干和其他产品,供区域和全国分销。

从 1966 年成立后的最初几年扩张,到 1977 年在糕点之外增加新鲜的当地面包,再到 2013 年翻新生产设施,Elonen 一直在成长,并适应时代和客户的口味。2017 年,当该公司增加了烘焙食品的每日全国分销时,其产品的需求猛增。

随着业务持续增长,Elonen 实施了各种 IT 和自动化系统来支持其烘焙流程。这导致了数据的激增,该公司承认,没有人真正使用这些数据进行决策。

“我开始思考如何利用所有这些数据将日常工作纳入自动化范围,从而提高效率和竞争力,”Elonen 首席执行官 (CEO) Jari Elonen 说道。

Jari Elonen 向 IBM 的 Pasi Korpela 介绍他所面临的挑战。Korpela 开始探讨数字化转型,以及更有效地使用数据来改善客户体验。他建议 Elonen 咨询 Houston Analytics Oy,这是一家在零售和包装商品方面拥有专业知识的芬兰分析公司。Houston Analytics 来到这家面包厂,讨论数据和自动化如何为公司提供帮助。

早些时候,大家都认为必须一步一步来。实际上,这意味着 IBM 和 Houston Analytics 需要一次确定并解决单个问题,而不是一个大型转型项目。这样,Elonen 将从建立在久经验证的优势上获益。

Elonen 想要解决的第一个问题涉及包装过程的最后一步,即运输前产品标签的打印和分类。该过程主要是手动完成且非常耗时,这会导致配送延迟。产品数据和客户数据存放在独立的外包数据库中,面包厂在包装和配送订单时很难将两者连接起来。

提高生产力


通过提高生产力,将供应链效率提高 20% 以上

提高效率


显著提高包装和贴标流程效率

包装站确实是运营中的瓶颈。因此,我们需要审视整个过程 – 从收到订单到物品装上卡车。 Markku Breider 业务发展总监 Houston Analytics Oy

利用现有的外包订货系统,Elonen 无法分析或操作数据来根据产品或交货地点打印配送标签。它们只是当每个订单到达时从打印机上打印出来。两名工人专门负责从打印机上取出标签,将其撕开并按产品类型进行分类。然后,其他仓库工作人员会来拿每件商品累积的标签,从仓库取出烘焙食品,贴上标签,分类并将它们放在托盘上进行运输。即使单个顾客订购了一整托盘的巧克力蛋糕,每个蛋糕也会收到一个标签。

“包装站确实是运营中的瓶颈,”Houston Analytics 业务开发总监 Markku Breider 说道。“因此,我们需要审视整个过程 – 从收到订单到物品装上卡车。”

利用数据改进业务流程

IBM 和 Houston Analytics 与 Elonen 合作,携手应用数据和分析来克服其仓库活动中日益严重的瓶颈。“我们很快意识到,仅靠数据并不能改变任何事情;我们需要改变整个包装流程,”Breider 说道。“一旦我们能够绘制和描述整件事情,我们就可以将数据链接到流程中的各个决策点,以便数据可以支持其执行。”

该项目从一项预研究活动开始,旨在评估和绘制面包厂的系统和数据源。早些时候,Jari Elonen 安排了 IBM、Houston Analytics 与各种 IT 外包提供商之间的会议,让他们参与到项目中。由于他们控制着数据,因此需要他们的参与来创建更加简化的包装和贴标流程。

到 2019 年底,Houston Analytics 制定了转型路线图。它推荐了 IBM® ILOG® CPLEX® Optimization Studio 解决方案来帮助通过数据分析优化流程。Houston Analytics 迅速进入主要咨询角色,并于 2020 年初完全接替了 IBM。

第一步,Houston Analytics 创建了一个同步数据模型并实施了一个数据仓库,以便 Elonen 可以连接并利用来自其各个外包系统的数据。该数据仓库现在可以用作预报、分析和预测的基础,以支持 Elonen 未来的数字化转型项目。

使用 IBM ILOG CPLEX 解决方案可帮助 Elonen 简化贴标和包装流程并提高效率。该解决方案分析传入的订单数据以优化包装和标签打印。Elonen 可以按客户、交货路线、交货日期或任何其他参数打印标签。

IBM ILOG CPLEX 解决方案还为每天的订单包装和码垛提供优化计划。例如,它可以计算订购量应使用哪种类型的托盘,每种类型的托盘要多少个,以及如何在托盘之间分配和整理产品。由于标签是按照正确包装顺序打印的,因此工人们可以更快地从仓库中取出产品并将其排列在托盘上。

“Elonen 现在可以选择打印标签的方式,”Breider 说道。“这使他们在从仓库提货时更加灵活,并提高了包装站的效率。”

一份好的仪表板胜过 100 份报告。 Jari Elonen 首席执行官 Elonen Oy
更快地拿到烘焙食品

Elonen 在迈向数据驱动的数字化转型之旅中取得了良好开端。在实施 IBM ILOG CPLEX 解决方案以优化订单管理、打印、贴标和包装流程后,该面包厂立即将两名专门负责撕标签和分类标签的工人调到仓库从事其他更有趣的工作。这项繁琐的任务已经完全消除了。此外,由于工人生产力的提高,供应链效率提高了 20% 以上。

Elonen 希望从该系统中实现其他效率。新的仪表板可让仓库管理员跟踪和管理收到的订单,包括需要多少托盘以及何时需要。面包厂第一次可以提前一天甚至几周了解未来的订单,从而可以选择预先包装物品以提高效率。正如 Jari Elonen 所说:“一个好的仪表板胜过 100 份报告。”

Houston Analytics 在重新设计仓库流程方面发挥了关键作用,以利用 Elonen 对客户和订单数据的新可见性,以及分析和使用客户和订单数据的能力来提高效率。例如,当收到足以填满整个托盘的订单时,Elonen 可以为整个托盘打印单个标签,而不是为托盘上的每个物品打印标签,从而节省大量时间和精力。

“现在流程更加简化了,”Breider 说道。“它是数据驱动的,因此它为 Elonen 的包装过程提供了更多的可见性和灵活性。”

Elonen 预计,这种灵活性和效率的提高最终将为其客户提供更好的交付服务。随着公司的发展,简化的包装流程对于满足对其产品日益增长的需求至关重要。

该面包厂现在拥有大数据和分析解决方案,可用于其他业务领域。Elonen 已经强调了其未来的关键优先事项,Houston Analytics 帮助制定了路线图,说明其下一步可以使用数据仓库和分析解决方案做什么。

“这也与我们未来的重点相通。”Jari Elonen 表示,“市场分散化促使我们更好地了解消费者的需求,这样我们就可以改善我们的产品分类,并提供每个贸易区域的消费者想要购买的产品。这也将为我们的零售合作伙伴创造更多价值。”

该公司最近收购了芬兰的另一家面包厂,而 Houston Analytics 已经找到了分析解决方案可以帮助增强被收购公司与 Elonen 之间协同效应的领域。

“我想说,对 Elonen 来说最大的优势是,”Breider 说道,“Jari [Elonen] 对他的公司有远见。他们很感兴趣,并且信任我们。尽管他们对技术一无所知,他们也可以进入数据分析领域。”

Elonen Oy 和 Houston 徽标
关于 Elonen Oy

1966 年,Raimo Elonen 和他的妻子在芬兰 Jämsä 创立了 Elonen(ibm.com 外部链接)面包厂。现在,全公司拥有近 250 名员工,从面包师道维修工人。2013 年,公司开设了最先进的生产设施,并通过其 10 家咖啡馆、8 家面包店以及芬兰各地的日常分销为客户提供服务。预计 2021 年销售额将达到 4,720 万美元。

关于 Houston Analytics Oy

当今世界,大多数“数据科学”均由手工编码的一次性分析组成,而这些分析永远不会超过原型阶段。Houston Analytics(ibm.com 外部链接)方法将预测分析和世界级优化提升到工业水平。Houston Analytics 于 2013 年在芬兰赫尔辛基成立,将分析无缝嵌入客户的业务流程,可通过每次一个决策点提供改进的结果和增加的回报。

采取下一步行动
CleanSpark 脱颖而出,成为微电网开发领导者 CleanSpark
法律

© Copyright IBM Corporation 2021. IBM Corporation, Hybrid Cloud, New Orchard Road, Armonk, NY 10504

美国出品,2021 年 7 月。

IBM、IBM 徽标、ibm.com、CPLEX 和 ILOG 是 International Business Machines Corp. 在全球许多司法管辖区注册的商标。其他产品和服务名称可能是 IBM 或其他公司的商标。以下网站上的“Copyright and trademark information”部分中包含了 IBM 商标的最新列表:https://www.ibm.com/cn-zh/legal/copytrade

本文档为自最初公布日期起的最新版本,IBM 可能随时对其进行更改。IBM 并不一定在开展业务的所有国家或地区提供所有产品或服务。

文中引用的性能数据和客户示例仅作演示说明之用。实际性能结果可能因具体配置和操作条件而异。本文档中的信息均“按原样”提供,不涉及任何明示或暗示的保证,包括适销性、特定用途适用性的任何保证,以及不侵权的任何保证或条件。IBM 产品根据其提供时所依据的协议条款和条件获得保证。

A small bakery with a big vision goes digital

Process optimization helps meet demand for baked goods
by Michelle Cloutier
5-minute read
Freshly baked garlic rolls and heads of garlic on a cutting board

Each day, the Elonen Oy bakery in Jämsä, in the Central Region of Finland, produces its delicious baked goods for consumption in its cafés and for customer purchase at retailers across Finland. Elonen employs approximately 200 people in its main facility to bake and package cakes, breads, cookies and other goods for regional and national distribution.

From its first years of expansion after its founding in 1966, to adding fresh local bread in addition to its pastries in 1977, to renovating its production facilities in 2013, Elonen has always grown and adapted to the times and to customer tastes. When it added daily, national distribution of its baked goods in 2017, demand for its products soared.

As the business continued to grow, Elonen implemented various IT and automation systems to support its bakery processes. This led to a proliferation of data which, the company admits, no one was really using for decision-making.

“I began thinking about how we could use all that data to bring routines within the scope of automation, thus improving efficiency and competitiveness,” says Elonen’s Chief Executive Officer (CEO), Jari Elonen.

Jari Elonen approached Pasi Korpela at IBM about his challenges. Korpela began discussing digital transformation and using data more effectively to improve the customer experience. He recommended that Elonen consult with Houston Analytics Oy, a Finnish analytics company with expertise in retail and packaged goods. Houston Analytics came to the bakery to discuss how data and automation might help the company.

Early on, everyone agreed that the cake must be eaten one piece at a time. In practice it meant that instead of one big transformation project, IBM and Houston Analytics would need to identify and solve individual problems one at a time. In this way, Elonen would gain from building on proven benefits.

The first problem Elonen wanted to address concerned the final step in the packaging process, the printing and sorting of product labels before shipping. The process was largely manual and very time-consuming, which led to shipping delays. Product data and customer data resided in separate, outsourced databases, and the bakery had difficulty connecting the two as it packed and shipped orders.

Pastries in a bakery case

Boosted supply chain efficiency by more than

20%

through greater work productivity

Significantly improves packing and labeling process

efficiency

The packing station was really the bottleneck in the operations. So we needed to look at the whole process — from when the order was received until the items went out on the truck.
Markku Breider
Director of Business Development, Houston Analytics Oy

With its existing, outsourced ordering system, Elonen couldn’t analyze or manipulate the data to print the shipping labels based on product or delivery location. They simply came off the printer as each order arrived. Two workers were solely responsible for taking the labels from the printer, tearing them apart and sorting them by product type. Other warehouse workers would then pick up the labels as they accumulated for each item, retrieve the baked goods from the warehouse, label them, sort them and put them on pallets for shipping. Even if a single customer ordered a full pallet of chocolate cakes, each cake received a label.

“The packing station was really the bottleneck in the operations,” says Markku Breider, Director of Business Development at Houston Analytics. “So we needed to look at the whole process — from when the order was received until the items went out on the truck.”

Barcode stickers coming out of a printer
Cheesecake with one slice missing, and a slice of cheesecake with red fruit sauce drizzled over it.
One good dashboard is better than 100 reports.
Jari Elonen
Chief Executive Officer, Elonen Oy
Tapping data to improve business processes
One good dashboard is better than 100 reports.
Jari Elonen
Chief Executive Officer, Elonen Oy

IBM and Houston Analytics joined with Elonen to apply data and analytics to overcome the growing bottleneck in its warehouse activities. “We soon realized that data alone would not change anything; we needed to change the whole packaging process,” says Breider. “Once we could get the whole thing drawn and described, we could link the data to the various decision points in the process so the data could support its execution.”

The project began with a pre-study activity to evaluate and map the bakery’s systems and data sources. Early on, Jari Elonen arranged a meeting between IBM, Houston Analytics and the various IT outsourcing providers to bring them into the project. Because they controlled the data, their participation was needed to create a more streamlined packing and labeling process.

By late 2019, Houston Analytics had created a transformation roadmap. It recommended the IBM® ILOG® CPLEX® Optimization Studio solution to help optimize the process through data analytics. Houston Analytics quickly moved into the primary consulting role, taking over from IBM entirely in early 2020.

As a first step, Houston Analytics created a synchronized data model and implemented a data warehouse so Elonen could connect and tap into the data from its various outsourced systems. This data warehouse can now be used as the basis for forecasting, analytics and predictions to support future digital transformation projects at Elonen.

Using the IBM ILOG CPLEX solution helps Elonen streamline and create efficiencies in the labeling and packing process. The solution analyzes the incoming order data to optimize both packing and label printing. Elonen can print the labels by customer, delivery route, delivery date or any other parameter.

The IBM ILOG CPLEX solution also provides an optimized plan for packing and palletizing each day’s orders. For example, it can calculate which type of pallets should be used for the ordered volumes, how many pallets of each type and how the products are divided between and organized on the pallets. Workers can pull products from the warehouse and arrange them on pallets more quickly because the labels are printed in the correct order for packing.

“Elonen can now choose how they want to print out the labels,” says Breider. “That gives them a lot more flexibility in picking up the goods from the warehouse, and a lot more efficiencies at the packing station.”

Getting the baked goods out faster

Elonen has made an important start on its journey toward data-driven digital transformation. Immediately after implementing the IBM ILOG CPLEX solution to optimize its order management, printing, labeling and packing processes, the bakery was able to move the two workers whose sole job it was to tear off and sort labels to other, more interesting jobs in the warehouse. That tedious task had been entirely eliminated. What’s more, supply chain efficiency increased by more than 20% thanks to higher worker productivity.

Elonen expects to realize other efficiencies from the system. A new dashboard lets warehouse managers track and manage the orders as they come in, including how many pallets will be needed and when. For the first time, the bakery has visibility into future orders a day or even weeks in advance, giving it the option to pre-pack items to improve efficiency. As Jari Elonen states, “One good dashboard is better than 100 reports.”

Houston Analytics played a key role in redesigning the warehouse processes to capitalize on Elonen’s new visibility into, and ability to analyze and use, customer and order data to improve efficiency. For example, when an order large enough to fill a whole pallet comes in, Elonen can print a single label for the entire pallet, rather than for each item on it, saving significant time and effort.

“The process is much more streamlined now,” says Breider. “It’s data-driven, so it gives Elonen much more visibility and flexibility in their packing process.”

Elonen expects that this improved flexibility and efficiency will ultimately result in better delivery service to its customers. As the company grows, the streamlined packing process will be critical to meeting the increasing demand for its products.

The bakery now has a big data and analytics solution that it can use in other areas of its business. Elonen has already highlighted its key priorities for the future, and Houston Analytics helped create a roadmap of what it can do next with the data warehouse and analytics solutions.

“This also bridges to our future focus,” says Jari Elonen. “Market fragmentation drives us to better understand consumer needs so we can improve our assortment and offer what consumers in each trading area want to buy. This will also generate more value to our retail partners.”

The company has recently acquired another bakery in Finland, and Houston Analytics has already found areas where the analytics solutions can help increase the synergy between the acquired company and Elonen.

“I would say that this is the biggest benefit for Elonen,” says Breider. “Jari [Elonen] has a vision for his company. They are interested, and they trust us. Even though they don’t know everything about the technology, they can jump into data analytics.”

Elonen Oy and Houston logo
About Elonen Oy

Raimo Elonen and his wife founded the ElonenExternal Link bakery in Jämsä, Finland, in 1966. It now employs almost 250 people across the company, from bakers to maintenance workers. The company opened state-of-the-art production facilities in 2013 and serves customers in its 10 cafés, eight in-bakery shops and through daily distribution of products throughout Finland. It expects to generate USD 47.20 million in sales in 2021.

About Houston Analytics Oy

In a world where most “data science” consists of one-off, hand-coded analyses that never go beyond the prototype stage, Houston Analytics’External Link approach takes predictive analytics and world class optimization to the industrial level. Founded in Helsinki, Finland, in 2013, Houston Analytics embeds analytics seamlessly into customers’ business processes, delivering improved outcomes and increased returns one decision point at a time.

Solution component
Elonen Oy and Houston logo
About Elonen Oy

Raimo Elonen and his wife founded the ElonenExternal Link bakery in Jämsä, Finland, in 1966. It now employs almost 250 people across the company, from bakers to maintenance workers. The company opened state-of-the-art production facilities in 2013 and serves customers in its 10 cafés, eight in-bakery shops and through daily distribution of products throughout Finland. It expects to generate USD 47.20 million in sales in 2021.

About Houston Analytics Oy

In a world where most “data science” consists of one-off, hand-coded analyses that never go beyond the prototype stage, Houston Analytics’External Link approach takes predictive analytics and world class optimization to the industrial level. Founded in Helsinki, Finland, in 2013, Houston Analytics embeds analytics seamlessly into customers’ business processes, delivering improved outcomes and increased returns one decision point at a time.

Solution component