DHL International GmbH
以客户为中心的集成式仓库管理方法
DHL 运输工厂仓库内

DHL 曾将采用其仓库管理服务的每一家客户的数据集,与 DHL 系统逐一单独集成,流程耗时且低效。自从该公司选择了 IBM® Sterling™ Transformation Extender 解决方案以来,实现了流程自动化,将不同客户的多个数据集映射到了同一个 DHL 集成平台中。

业务挑战

作为 DHL International GmbH 旗下部门,DHL Supply Chain 需要一种统一的方式,将其仓库管理客户的 ERP 系统和数据集与 DHL 的内部系统集成。

变革

该公司选择了 Sterling Transformation Extender 解决方案,将客户数据转换为与 DHL 集成平台、客户所在行业的法规和标准兼容的格式。

结果 支持 17,000 多个定制集成映射
连接客户系统和 DHL 集成平台
年均助力转换 22 亿条消息
通过卓越集成中心(截至2018年)
实现快速、灵活的新客户引入
与 DHL 仓库管理系统集成
业务挑战案例
逐一整合客户

客户是 DHL Supply Chain 的重中之重。作为 DHL International GmbH 旗下部门,DHL Supply Chain 为跨行业、跨国家和地区、各种规模的 2,000 多家客户提供仓储和配送服务。

这些客户与 DHL 之间的双向通信是该公司仓库管理业务的核心,该业务根据客户需求提供专用和共享仓储选项。客户的 ERP 系统必须能够与 DHL 的系统进行交互,例如,货物出入仓前需通知仓库,或者交换重要信息和更新(如新产品线供应或交货状态)。

促进数据流,并不是能以一应万的任务。每个客户的数据都有不同格式并遵循不同标准,具体取决于客户内部 IT 基础架构、所在行业和位置等因素。

“对于 DHL 来说,满足客户的需求确实非常重要。我们拥有几乎所有行业垂直领域中千差万别的各类客户,”DHL 产品管理和开发总监 Olly Cruickshank 说。“因此,我们必须能够接受客户数据的任何格式,并确保我们使用的映射工具可以处理后端系统的转换。”

多年来,DHL 每次引入一个新客户时,都要建立定制的集成平台。这是一个耗时、费力且昂贵的过程。集成背后几乎没有什么策略,也很少能够多次利用。

该部门决定将其不同的集成平台整合到同一个系统中。为此,需要采用一致的方式,将客户数据集映射到 DHL 仓库管理系统。

这款产品让我们的客户满意。客户不需要更改数据格式,我们可以快速、轻松地与客户系统集成,满足客户的需求。 Olly Cruickshank Director of Product Management and Development DHL International GmbH
变革案例
更具凝聚力的整合方法

在评估各种集成工具后,DHL 选择了 Sterling Transformation Extender 解决方案,因其能自动执行任何格式之间的复杂转换。这一解决方案可用于将客户平台的数据,映射到一个定制的内部集成管理平台。该平台即“DHL 供应链卓越集成中心”,能将客户系统与 DHL 系统连接起来,现在在内部称为 DHL Link。

起初,公司内部有一些阻力。“开始时最大的挑战是来自业务的阻力——人们想要保护自己的集成平台,”Cruickshank 说。“但是,一旦他们看到这一解决方案能实现更快、更便宜的集成,就毫不犹豫地切换了。”

DHL 雇用称为“映射员”的工作人员,使用 Sterling Transformation Extender 解决方案开发映射,将每个客户的独特系统和数据与 DHL Link 集成。映射定义了应用程序、数据存储、中间件和其他映射之间的接口。

当集成团队收到请求时,构建团队经理会指派一名分析师去研究所涉及的转换、创建一些映射认证,并记录集成过程。也会指派一名映射员来创建映射,并为测试做好准备,之后集成就会上线。通常这个过程非常顺利,不会出现任何问题。

“我们有一个由大约 50 名映射员组成的大型团队,他们正在愉快地使用和开发映射,”Cruickshank 说。“我们有很多映射可以处理大量数据,而且我们发现性能非常出色。我们特别喜欢的功能之一是能够从各种工具调用映射。”

案例成果
未来展望

DHL Link 平台不断发展,DHL 也增加了新的组件。但根据 Cruickshank 的说法,唯一不变的部分是使用 Sterling Transformation Extender 解决方案的映射。

该公司已开发了 17,000 多个映射,未来也将坚定地继续使用该解决方案。“我们研究过其他工具,但没有一个能够满足我们的需求,既能处理任何格式的数据,又能快速轻松地进行任何转换,”Cruickshank 说。“这是我们长期以来坚持使用 Sterling Transformation Extender 的两个关键原因。”

IBM 不断创新并添加新功能,提高转换性能,尤其是更复杂的转换。IBM 紧跟新的行业数据格式(例如 XML 和 JSON),并持续将新格式纳入工具中。构建映射的过程也从使用 Microsoft Windows 桌面应用程序,演变为简单易用、基于浏览器的应用程序。

“该解决方案的主要优点是灵活性,”Cruickshank 说。“引入新客户时,我们不希望告诉他们开发一个接口需要两天时间,然后发现实际上需要 20 天,因为比我们想象的要复杂。由于 Sterling Transformation Extender 可以处理不同数据格式的复杂性,我们可以胸有成竹地向客户提供报价并实际交付。”

展望未来,DHL 计划进行更多更新。例如,为了提高效率、性能和节省成本,该公司正在考虑在 DHL 私有云中的容器上运行 Sterling Transformation Extender 解决方案。

DHL 徽标
关于 DHL International GmbH

DHL 是一家美国人创立的德国公司,现为德国物流公司德国邮政 DHL 集团旗下负责国际快递、包裹和快件的子公司。DHL Supply Chain 是该公司的一个部门,为全球 2,000 多家跨行业客户提供仓储和配送服务。该部门自 2001 年以来一直使用 IBM Sterling Transaction Extender 解决方案。

采取下一步行动

要详细了解本案例中介绍的 IBM 解决方案,请联系您的 IBM 代表或 IBM 业务合作伙伴。

查看更多客户案例 联系 IBM
法律

 

© Copyright IBM Corporation 2020. IBM Corporation, IBM Watson, New Orchard Road, Armonk, NY 10504

2021 年 3 月在美国制作。

IBM、IBM 徽标和 ibm.com 是 International Business Machines Corp. 在世界各地司法辖区的注册商标。其他产品和服务名称可能是 IBM 或其他公司的商标。以下网站上的“Copyright and trademark information”部分中包含了 IBM 商标的最新列表:https://www.ibm.com/cn-zh/legal/copytrade

Microsoft、Windows、Windows NT 和 Windows 徽标是 Microsoft Corporation 在美国和/或其他国家/地区的商标。

本文档为自最初公布日期起的最新版本,IBM 可能随时对其进行更改。IBM 并不一定在开展业务的所有国家或地区提供所有产品或服务。

文中引用的性能数据和客户实例仅作说明之用。实际性能结果可能因具体配置和操作条件而异。本文档内的信息“按现状”提供,不附有任何种类的(无论是明示的还是默示的)保证,包括不附有关于适销性、适用于某种特定用途的任何保证以及非侵权的任何保证或条件。IBM 产品根据其提供时所依据的协议条款和条件获得保证。

客户负责确保遵守适用的法律和法规。IBM 不提供任何法律咨询,也不声明或保证其服务或产品经确保客户遵循任何法律或法规。

Business challenge

DHL Supply Chain, a division of DHL International GmbH, needed a uniform way to integrate the ERP systems and data sets of its warehouse management customers with DHL’s internal systems.

Transformation

The company chose the Sterling Transformation Extender solution to convert its customers’ data into formats compatible with the DHL integration platform and the customers’ industry regulations and standards.

Results

Supports more than 17,000 custom integration maps

connecting customer systems and DHL integration platform

Helps transform 2.2 billion messages per year

via Integration Center of Excellence (as of 2018)

Enables fast, flexible onboarding of customers

into DHL warehouse management system

Business challenge story

Integrating customers, one by one

The customer is the top priority at DHL Supply Chain. A division of DHL International GmbH, DHL Supply Chain offers warehousing and distribution services to more than 2,000 customers spanning industries, countries and sizes.

Two-way communication between those customers and DHL is core to the company’s warehouse management business, which provides both dedicated and shared warehousing options based on customer need. A customer’s ERP system must be able to interact with DHL’s systems — to notify the warehouse when goods are coming in or need to be pulled off the shelf and shipped, for example, or to exchange vital information and updates, such as availability of new product lines or delivery statuses.

Facilitating that data flow is not a one-size-fits-all task. Each customer’s data comes in different formats and follows different standards, depending upon such factors as a customer’s internal IT infrastructure, industry and location.

“For DHL, it’s really, really important for us to meet our customers’ needs. We’ve got a huge variety of customers across pretty much all of the industry verticals,” says Olly Cruickshank, Director of Product Management and Development for DHL. “And so we have to be able to accept any format our customers’ data is in and be sure the mapping tools we use can handle the transformation into our back-end systems.”

For many years, DHL built customized integration platforms each time it onboarded a new customer. It was a time-consuming, laborious and expensive process. There was very little strategy behind the integrations and very little reuse.

The division decided to bring its different integration platforms together into one system. To do so, it needed a consistent way to map its customers’ data sets to the DHL warehouse management system.

It keeps our customers happy. They don’t need to change their data formats, and we can quickly and easily integrate with their systems to meet their needs.

Olly Cruickshank, Director of Product Management and Development, DHL International GmbH

Transformation story

A more cohesive approach to integration

After evaluating various integration tools, DHL chose the Sterling Transformation Extender solution due to its ability to automate complex transformations between any formats. The solution is used to map data from customers’ platforms to a custom internal integration management platform. That platform, which connects customer systems with DHL systems and is the Integration Center of Excellence for DHL Supply Chain, is now known internally as DHL Link.

At first, there was some pushback within the company. “The greatest challenge in getting started was resistance from the business — people wanted to protect their own integration platforms,” says Cruickshank. “But once they saw how the solution enabled faster, cheaper integration, it became a no-brainer to switch.”

DHL employs individuals — called mappers — to develop maps with the Sterling Transformation Extender solution that integrate each customer’s unique systems and data with DHL Link. Maps define interfaces between applications, data stores, middleware and other maps.

When a request comes into the integration team, the build team manager assigns an analyst to look at the transformations involved, create some mapping certifications and document the integration process. A mapper is assigned to create the maps and prepare them for testing, after which the integration goes live. Usually the process is very smooth and there are no issues.

“We’ve got a large team of approximately 50 mappers who are happily using and developing maps,” says Cruickshank. “We’ve got lots of maps to process lots of data, and we find the performance is excellent. One of the features we particularly like is the ability to call up the map from a variety of tools.”

Results story

The future outlook

The DHL Link platform has continuously evolved, and DHL has added new components. But the one consistent piece, according to Cruickshank, has been the use of the Sterling Transformation Extender solution’s maps.

And with more than 17,000 developed maps, the company is committed to continuing to use the solution in the future. “We’ve looked at other tools and none of them meet our needs in terms of either the ability to process any type of formatted data or the ability to do any transformation quickly and easily,” says Cruickshank. “These are the two key reasons we’ve stuck with Sterling Transformation Extender for so long.”

IBM continues to innovate and add new functions to improve performance of its transformations, especially for those that are more complicated. It keeps abreast of new industry data formats, such as XML and JSON, and incorporates them into the tool on an ongoing basis. The process for building maps has also evolved from using a Microsoft Windows desktop application to a simple, easy-to-use, browser-based application.

“The key benefit of the solution is its flexibility,” says Cruickshank. “When onboarding a customer, we don’t want to tell them it’s going to take two days to develop an interface and then discover it’s actually going to take 20 days because it’s more complicated than we thought. Because Sterling Transformation Extender can handle the complexity of different data formats, we can be really confident that what we quote to the customer is what we’re going to deliver on.”

Going forward, DHL has plans for additional updates. For example, to enhance efficiency, performance and cost savings, it is looking into running the Sterling Transformation Extender solution on containers in the DHL private cloud.

business logo

About DHL International GmbH

DHL is an American-founded German company which is now the international courier, parcel and express mail division of the German logistics company Deutsche Post DHL. DHL Supply Chain is a division of the company that offers warehousing and distribution services to more than 2,000 cross-industry customers worldwide. The division has been using the IBM Sterling Transaction Extender solution since 2001.

Take the Next Step

To learn more about the IBM solutions featured in this story, please contact your IBM representative or IBM Business Partner.