Dan.com
区块链改变域名市场
年轻员工在电脑前讨论数据

为了提高域名市场的效率和过程自动化,Dan.com 与 IBM 和 IBM 业务合作伙伴 Unchain 合作,使用 IBM® Blockchain 技术实现手动流程的自动化,例如将域名从一个注册商或注册人转移到另一个注册商或注册人。

业务挑战

Dan.com 希望提高域名市场的透明度,并通过灵活的域名购买选项(例如先租后买)让企业和个人更轻松地查找、购买和转让域名。

变革

Dan.com 使用 IBM® Blockchain 技术来自动化域名流程(例如将名称转移给新用户),并创建新服务(例如域名租赁)。

结果 通过区块链自动化,
处理能力提高 900%,每月可处理 300 到 3,000 笔交易
支持为用户提供新服务,
例如允许用户直接通过其首选的域名注册商租用域名
每半小时
支持 600,000 笔交易
业务挑战案例
分散且过时的行业

找到合适的域名或品牌可能很困难。Dan.com 首席执行官 Reza Sardeha 说道:“每一个包含字典单词的域名,或者可品牌化、可发音的域名,都已被抢注。”现有的域名查找和购买流程是 20 世纪 90 年代建立的,在如今的市场中已不再适用。Sardeha 说道:“原有市场效率低下,因为它是由少数几家公司经营的,这些公司不是通过创新而是通过整合竞争对手来实现增长。”与此同时,许多新企业希望建立在线业务,但很难找到合适的域名。

一个主要问题是,虽然已注册了约 3.3 亿个域名,但其中约 44%(即 1.45 亿个)未被使用。但在 1.45 亿个未使用的名称中,只有大约 2500 万个可以通过经销商、经纪人和市场获得。保留域相对便宜,因此许多组织不会放弃它们,而是保留未使用的域。此外,闲置域名库存还分散在不参与二级市场的注册商中,这使得数百万个高质量的闲置域名更难找到和获得。Dan.com 希望为域名市场带来更多透明度和灵活性,允许“先租后买”等新概念。

我们相信,我们可以升级用于域名交易的基础架构,使域名更容易易手。 Reza Sardeha Chief Executive Officer Dan.com
变革案例
使用区块链实现可伸缩的流程自动化

Dan.com 首先创建了一个闲置域名池,以方便用户查找可用域名。Sardeha 表示:“我们通过闲置域名池 API 将所有可能来源的域名库存和供应汇集在一起,这样我们就拥有一个共享的域名库存池,其中包含可以分发的闲置可用域名。”

然而,Dan.com 仍然需要解决将域名从一个用户和注册商转移到另一个用户和注册商的问题。在一级市场,有数千家注册商管理域名,每个注册商都有自己的流程和锁定机制,这使得这些交易变得复杂、昂贵且耗时。为了实现其目标,Dan.com 意识到需要使用区块链技术。Sardeha 表示:“我们意识到区块链可以帮助我们实现智能合约功能和公共账本等功能,这样我们就可以自动化和扩展以前手动的流程,从法律合约创建到实际域名转移再到交付。”

Dan.com 与 IBM 和 Unchain 合作创建了区块链解决方案。Sardeha 说:“我们很容易就在 IBM 的服务上运行了区块链。我根本不用去考虑,如果我们必须建立自己的服务器,将不得不面对怎么样的麻烦。”Dan.com 使用 IBM 区块链技术,实现了域名所有权变更流程的自动化,无需中介经纪人的参与。Sardeha 表示:“这种自动化为我们提供了新的机会,因为域名交易不必花费数周时间才能完成,而且我们可以以可伸缩的方式提供更复杂的交易类型,例如租赁或租用域名。”该解决方案还可以自动适应诸如域名租赁或租赁期结束以及将域名返还给卖家等情况。

Dan.com 使用区块链解决方案的公共域交易验证分类账,来取代过时的 WHOIS 数据库。用户可以访问 Dan.com 公共区块链资源管理器,检查域名是否处于协议之下,并查看域名有多少所有者。有了这些信息,用户就可以避免与提供租赁和域名租赁相关的法律问题,因为分类账可以作为无可辩驳的公证方,跟踪谁拥有哪个域名,谁应对域名上发布的内容承担法律责任。

案例成果
创新的催化剂

过去,每位域名转让专员每月平均可处理 300 宗域名交易,或每位代管代理每月可处理相同数量的代管交易。借助 Dan.com 区块链解决方案,每个代管代理每月可以处理超过 3,000 笔交易。总的来说,IBM Blockchain 解决方案每半小时可处理 600,000 笔交易,这使其在可扩展性方面具有面向未来的能力。

Dan.com 计划使用简单的 API 开放对其核心技术的访问。因此,注册商和其他域名市场将能够共同创建最大的未使用域名池,从而提高整个域名市场的效率并为最终用户提供更多价值。Sardeha 说:“我们将把后端技术引入到开发人员和企业寻找域名的所有店面。就是说我们并不把所有这些技术局限于 Dan.com,而是让它们遍布整个市场,产生最大影响。”

Dan.com 感谢 IBM 的支持,帮助其快速启动解决方案。Sardeha 表示:“没有 IBM,我们就无法启动我们的区块链网络,因为它需要太多的资源。我们非常感谢 IBM 建立的整个基础架构,以及他们对开源区块链技术 Hyperledger 的支持。”

Dan.com 徽标
Dan.com

Dan.com(ibm.com 外部链接)成立于 2014 年,其使命是促进域名交易的公开和透明,并使闲置域名可供所有人选用。该公司总部位于荷兰阿姆斯特丹。

关于 Unchain

Unchain(ibm.com 外部链接)是位于荷兰阿姆斯特丹的 IBM 业务合作伙伴。该公司成立于 2016 年,为多个行业开发企业区块链项目。

采取下一步行动

要详细了解本案例中介绍的 IBM 解决方案,请联系您的 IBM 代表或 IBM 业务合作伙伴,或访问以下网站:

查看更多客户案例
法律

 

© Copyright IBM Corporation 2019. IBM Corporation, Hybrid Cloud, New Orchard Road, Armonk, NY 10504

2019 年 5 月在美国制作。

IBM、IBM 徽标和 ibm.com 是 International Business Machines Corp. 在世界各地司法辖区的注册商标。其他产品和服务名称可能是 IBM 或其他公司的商标。以下网站上的“Copyright and trademark information”部分中包含了 IBM 商标的最新列表:https://www.ibm.com/cn-zh/legal/copytrade

本文档为自最初公布日期起的最新版本,IBM 可能随时对其进行更改。IBM 并不一定在开展业务的所有国家或地区提供所有产品或服务。

文中引用的性能数据和客户实例仅作说明之用。实际性能结果可能因具体配置和操作条件而异。本文档内的信息“按现状”提供,不附有任何种类的(无论是明示的还是默示的)保证,包括不附有关于适销性、适用于某种特定用途的任何保证以及非侵权的任何保证或条件。IBM 产品根据其提供时所依据的协议条款和条件获得保证。

Business challenge

Dan.com wanted to bring more transparency into the domain name marketplace and make it easier for businesses and individuals to find, buy and transfer domains with flexible domain purchase options, such as lease to own.

Transformation

 Dan.com used IBM® Blockchain technology to automate domain name processes, such as transferring a name to a new user, and to create new services, such as domain name rental and lease.

Results

900% increase in processing capacity

through blockchain automation, from 300 to 3,000 transactions per month

Supports new services

for users, such as allowing users to rent domain names directly through their preferred domain name registrar

Supports 600,000 transactions

every half hour

Business challenge story

A fragmented and outdated industry

Finding the right domain or brand can be difficult. “Every single domain name that contains a dictionary word, or that's brandable and pronounceable, is already taken,” says Reza Sardeha, Chief Executive Officer at Dan.com. Existing processes for finding and buying a domain name were established in the 1990s, and they no longer work in today’s market. “The old market is inefficient because it is run by a handful of companies that don’t grow through innovation but rather through consolidation of competitors,” says Sardeha. Meanwhile, many new businesses want to create an online presence but struggle to find an appropriate domain name.

One primary problem is that while around 330 million domain names are registered, about 44 percent of those, or 145 million, are not being used. But only about 25 million of the 145 million unused names are available through resellers, brokers and marketplaces. It’s relatively cheap to keep a domain, so instead of dropping them, many organizations simply hang on to unused domains. Further, the unused domain inventory is also scattered among registrars that don’t engage with the secondary market, making millions of high-quality unused domains even harder to find and acquire. Dan.com wanted to bring more transparency and flexibility into the domain market, allowing new concepts such as lease to own.

We believe that we can upgrade the infrastructure used for domain transactions and make it easier for domains to change hands.

Reza Sardeha, Chief Executive Officer, Dan.com

Transformation story

Scalable process automation with blockchain

Dan.com began by creating an unused domain pool to make it easier for users to find available domain names. “We bring inventory and supply from all possible sources together via our unused domain pool API, so we can have a shared inventory of unused and available domain names that can be distributed,” says Sardeha.

However, Dan.com still needed to solve the problems involved with transferring domain names from one user and registrar to another. In the primary market, there are thousands of registrars that manage domains, each of which have their own processes and lock-ins, which made these transactions complicated, expensive and time-consuming. To accomplish its goals, Dan.com realized it needed to use blockchain technology. “We realized blockchain could help us with, for example, smart contract capabilities and a public ledger so we could automate and scale processes that were previously manual, ranging from legal contract creation to actual domain transfer to delivery,” says Sardeha.

Dan.com worked with IBM and Unchain to create a blockchain solution. “We very easily got the blockchain running on IBM's services. I don't even want to think about what kind of hassle we would have had to go through if we had to set up our own servers,” says Sardeha. Using IBM Blockchain technology, Dan.com automated the process for changing the ownership of a domain without the involvement of intermediary brokers. “This automation gives us new opportunities because domain transactions don’t have to take weeks to complete and we can offer more complex transaction types, like leasing or renting a domain, in a scalable way,” says Sardeha. The solution can also automatically accommodate situations such as the end of a domain name lease or rent period, and the return of the domain back to the seller.

Dan.com uses the blockchain solution’s public domain transaction verification ledger to replace the outdated WHOIS database. Users can access the Dan.com public blockchain explorer to check if a domain is under an agreement and see how many owners a domain has. With this information, users can avoid the legal challenges associated with offering rentals and domain leases, since the ledger acts as the irrefutable notary that tracks who owns which domain and who should be legally liable for the content published on a domain.

Results story

A catalyst for innovation

In the past, the average domain transfer specialist could process 300 domain transactions or escrow transactions per escrow agent per month. With the Dan.com blockchain solution, it’s possible to process over 3,000 transactions per month per escrow agent. In total, the IBM Blockchain solution can handle 600,000 transactions every half hour, which makes it future-proof in terms of scalability. 

Dan.com is planning to open up access to its core technology using a simple API. Registrars and other domain marketplaces will therefore be able to come together to create the biggest pool of unused domains, increasing the efficiency of the entire domain market and delivering more value to end users. “We're bringing the back-end technology to all the store fronts where developers and businesses go to find a domain name,” says Sardeha. “So we're not exclusively keeping all that at Dan.com, but we're letting it spread across the entire market to deliver the biggest impact.”  

Dan.com credits support from IBM for helping it jumpstart its solutions. “Without IBM, we wouldn’t have been able to launch our blockchain network because it would have required too many resources,” says Sardeha. “So we're very grateful for the whole infrastructure that IBM sets up and also with their backing for the open source blockchain technology Hyperledger.”

business logo

About Dan.com

Founded in 2014, Dan.com is on a mission to inspire open and transparent practices in domain trading, and to make unused domains accessible to everyone. The business is headquartered in Amsterdam, Netherlands.

About Unchain

Unchain is an IBM Business Partner based in Amsterdam, Netherlands. Founded in 2016, the business develops enterprise blockchain projects for multiple industries.

Take the next step

To learn more about the IBM solution featured in this story, please contact your IBM representative or IBM Business Partner, or visit the following website: