消费金融解决方案的智能自动化
自动执行重复性任务,腾出时间进行创造性工作
Atlanta Skyline - Mid - Town District , Atlanta , Georgia

20 年来,Credigy Solutions Inc. 用事实证明了自己是一个稳定可靠且富有创意的金融服务合作伙伴。Credigy 可以灵活地部署优先债务和次级债务,收购资产负债表上的资产,利用混合结构以及参与银团。

Credigy 通过执行世界一流的流程来支持跨各种资产类别的复杂交易。该公司的地域多元化战略包括与当地专家合作,以最大限度地了解独特的市场变量并充分利用市场专业知识。

该公司已通过超过 325 笔交易投资了超过 170 亿美元,其中单笔交易金额从 5,000 万美元到超过 20 亿美元不等。总体而言,Credigy 在专业金融服务方面的开创性方法使其多年都保持着两位数的复合年增长率。

Credigy 的 IT 和数据战略高级总监 Casey Adams 表示:“我公司专门研究广泛的消费金融领域内新兴且往往较为复杂的市场。我们帮助合作伙伴驾驭这些复杂市场并助力其加速增长,提供了 Credigy 独有的全面且富有创意的解决方案。”

Credigy 获得成长和持续成功的关键是其位于佐治亚州亚特兰大的总部所培养的创造力文化。他们鼓励分析师、统计员和其他金融专业人士探索各种机会并开发创新解决方案。“我们有很多聪明人在挑战假设,”Adams 说,“大家都敢于询问该怎么改进。”

更快地做出决策

 

为了加快信息收集和做出相关决策,RPA 机器人能够及时审查各种投资组合采购的 100% 与贷款相关的财务文件

自动化

 

 

重复任务的自动化使 Credigy 能够以 15% 以上的复合年增长率持续发展业务

高容量

 

 

第一年,Credigy 部署了约 25 台 RPA 机器人来自动执行重复性任务

这是一个关于智能自动化的巨大机遇 – 人类与机器人之间的战略伙伴关系。我们把时间还给了 Credigy 员工,让他们能够专注于更有价值的任务。 Casey Adams IT 和数据战略高级总监 Credigy Solutions, Inc.

在寻找支持 Credigy 发展的方法时,Adams 一直关注着一项正在快速发展的技术 – 机器人流程自动化 (RPA)。该软件使公司能够自动执行繁琐且重复的任务,从而使员工能够腾出时间专注于更高价值的工作。“在我们公司,我们发现有很多‘可以自动化的’流程。”Adams 说道,“我们很早就了解了这方面的潜力。”

2018 年,Adams 和他的团队引入了 IBM Robotic Process Automation 平台。Adams 表示:“该解决方案的成熟程度让我们感到惊喜。用户界面非常不错。它也与我们的其他系统在同一平台上运行,因此我们邀请 RPA 顾问来到现场,开始寻找自动化机会。”

寻找自动化机会

在寻找实现业务流程自动化的机会时,Credigy 努力了解某个特定业务流程的自动化如何能够连接到其他业务流程。Adams 表示:“随着自动化以智能方式进行部署并且‘可连接’,它们将逐渐发展成为端到端的完全自动化流程。”

“在 RPA 之旅中,我们的战略目标是确定哪些业务流程可以从自动化中受益。”Credigy 的高级业务系统分析师 Rebecca Sims 表示,“我们一开始在短时间内就取得了一些成功,因此得以扩展自身的自动化经验,同时确定自动化在哪些方面能够发挥最大作用,帮助我们使用 RPA 实现战略优势。”

Credigy 与 RPA 顾问合作,优先考虑能从自动化中获得最大受益的业务流程。“邀请顾问的目的是向我们的开发人员传授最佳实践,为我们的长期成功做好准备。”Sims 说道,“他们审查了代码,并向我们展示了实现自动化的最佳方法。”

Adams 表示:“顾问帮助我们发现了最可行的自动化流程。例如,如果某件事每个月只需要做一次,且只需要五分钟即可完成,那么为该过程投入开发精力就毫无意义。”

每年,Credigy 均需处理数千份通过电子邮件或 SFTP 站点接收的数据文件。由于需进行分析和评估的数据量很大,因此管理数据与文件的移动方式便成为其首要关注的领域之一,而这又是一项费时费力的任务。为移动文件,员工需手动识别并打开文件以验证其信息。然后,他们需根据统一的标签编写规范来重新命名文档。最后,则需导航到正确的存储库来保存这些文档。

“我们没有让员工监控数据源,而是让机器人定期检查数据源,并根据定义的命名约定为其命名,将文件放置在合适的位置以便我们的系统可以拾取它们并在我们的内部系统中进行处理,”Sims 说道,“这有助于我们准确了解帐户状态,以便我们做出明智的决定。”

另一个自动化机会与 Credigy 处理供应商发票的方式有关。“我们分析了定期提交发票的供应商,并决定在我们的发票处理系统中将该流程自动化,”西姆斯说道,“财务团队可以将通过电子邮件附加的发票转发给 RPA 机器人,发票就会自动创建。”

目前,Credigy 可自动处理 22 个供应商的发票。最终目标是,在自动化框架完全开发后,实现发票处理的完全自动化。

尽职调查 – 审查与买卖金融资产相关的文件 – 是另一项适用于自动化的劳动密集型任务。在很多情况下,这些文件都是从第三方网站下载的,一次包含数千个帐户的记录。Credigy 部署了多个自动化流程来扫描基于帐户的文件,并将数据抓取到一个 Microsoft Excel 文件中以用于报告和决策。

“例如,如果我们可能购买包含 10,000 笔消费贷款的投资组合,尽职调查的一部分就是审查贷款文件,确保原始的贷款相关文件存在并符合适用的要求。”Adams 说道。

“以前,这项工作通常需要人工完成,时间紧任务重。但现在,借助 RPA,某些交易的尽职调查审查可以 100% 自动完成,这给我们带来了极大的便利。能够更快地完成尽职调查过程使我们能够确定哪些问题需要解决,交易是否真正适合我们,以及我们的潜在交易对手。它最大限度地减少了我们花在无效交易上的时间,帮助我们和我们的业务合作伙伴专注于对所有参与者都有意义的机会。”

为了确保从 RPA 投资中获得最大的长期价值,Credigy 正在为持续运行的 RPA 卓越中心开发框架。Adams 指出:“一些公司开始运行 RPA 软件一年后可能会拥有 20 到 30 个机器人。但是有人会问,‘这个机器人是做什么的?’没有人知道规则。我们将确保各项流程都有充分记录并提供元数据,这样我们就可以考虑每个流程如何适应未来更大的流程。”

它给了人们更多时间来创造性地思考战略,并加速流程,使我们能够审查数据并更快地做出决策。在全公司范围内,每个人都看好 RPA 技术。 Rebecca Sims 高级业务系统分析师 Credigy Solutions, Inc.
改进流程和效率

在部署的第一年,Credigy 使用 RPA 实现了超过 25 个业务流程的自动化。“我们最初专注于容易实现的目标,我们所做的流程很有帮助,”Sims 说道,“但我们也会将业务视为一个整体,并研究交易生命周期,以了解 RPA 在哪些方面可以产生最大的影响。”

除部署自动化流程以便进行尽职调查和发票处理外,Credigy 还使用 RPA 来:

  • 处理法律文件以进行关键字扫描。返回的文档中会突出显示关键字。
  • 通过电子邮件、媒体下载或其他类型的自动化方式处理基于帐户的文件,并自动将文件加载到内部系统中,方便用户按帐户访问。
  • 转发可疑电子邮件以进行 URL 扫描,并在 URL 为恶意时提醒用户。
  • 对申请客户服务的电子邮件创建自动初始回复。
  • 通过自动从各个站点下载更新并将数据加载到特定表格中以供审查,从而支持合规性。
  • 实现 IT 审核自动化,包括密码强度测试。如果用户的密码未通过机器人执行的强度测试,用户会收到一封电子邮件,要求其更新密码,以符合密码规则。

为帮助 Credigy 计算使用 RPA 而不是员工执行特定任务所节省的成本,IBM 为每个 RPA 脚本添加了一个“计数器”。“从本质上讲,这个值可帮助我们确定返回 Credigy 的时间,且无论我们是手动完成此任务,还是在自动处理之前将其外包”,Sims 说道。“我们可在报告中使用该指标,并跟踪每月返回到 Credigy 的时间量。”

另一个节省成本的机会是减少犯错。Adams 指出:“犯错会增加工作量,拥有一个不会犯错的机器人是一个巨大的回报。”

Adams 还认为,衡量员工与机器人合作伙伴关系的非定量指标或“软”指标非常重要。他表示:“当我们部署机器人来取代机械和重复性工作时,员工可以腾出时间从事更愉快、更具挑战性的工作,从而为 Credigy 创造更多价值。”

“从一开始,我们的战略和信息传递就始终以人类和机器人的合作伙伴关系为中心,为 Credigy 带来最大的总价值,”Sims 说道,“出于这个原因,每个人都看好 RPA 技术。”

Credigy 的 IT 团队将智能自动化视为 RPA 的长期目标。“当任务交给我们时,”Adams 说道,“我们问的第一个问题是‘如何实现自动化?’我们一直在朝着目标小步前进,这将带来机器人流程的更大程度的集成,使企业对我们正在实施的任何自动化都充满信心。”

Credigy 计划采用流程挖掘方法来定义和记录关键业务流程。Sims 表示:“与我们的员工合作,这将是一个探索性的项目。我们将深入研究哪些领域最需要提高效率和实现自动化。”

未来两年内,Credigy 计划部署数百个 RPA 机器人。“随着团队经验的积累,以及我们每个人都抱持的自动化优先的心态,机会将继续增长和开花。”Adams 表示,“我们将构建可以端到端连接的 RPA 自动化,并发展到 100% 的流程自动化。”

Credigy solutions, Inc. 徽标
关于 Credigy Solutions, Inc.

Credigy(ibm.com 外部链接)总部位于佐治亚州亚特兰大市,是一家全球性的专业金融公司,其资本结构灵活,可以收购或融资多种资产。该公司投资了多个资产类别和地区的消费者相关资产。Credigy 由加拿大国家银行全资拥有,管理着超过 57 亿美元的资产,自 2001 年以来已投资超过 170 亿美元。

本成功案例中的客户最初与 WDG Soluções Em Sistemas E Automação De Proces LTDA 合作,该公司于 2021 年 1 月 1 日开始以 IBM 的名义开展业务。本成功案例中的 WDG 产品 WDG Studio 和 WDG RPA 现在分别称为 IBM RPA Studio 和 IBM RPA Solution

采取下一步行动

如需详细了解本案例中介绍的 IBM 解决方案,请联系您的 IBM 代表或 IBM 合作伙伴。

查看更多案例研究 联系 IBM Lojacorr Network

建立对机器人和流程自动化的信任

阅读成功案例
Cobmax 销售中心

利用机器人流程自动化消除增长障碍

阅读成功案例
GAM Distributors of Medicines and Perfumery

利用机器人流程自动化提高员工队伍效率

阅读成功案例
法律

© Copyright IBM Corporation 2021. IBM Corporation, Hybrid Cloud, New Orchard Road, Armonk, NY 10504

美国出品,2021 年 4 月。

IBM、IBM 徽标和 ibm.com 是 International Business Machines Corp. 在世界各地司法辖区的注册商标。其他产品和服务名称可能是 IBM 或其他公司的商标。以下网站上的“Copyright and trademark information”部分中包含了 IBM 商标的最新列表:ibm.com/legal/copyright-trademark

本文档为自最初公布日期起的最新版本,IBM 可能随时对其进行更改。IBM 并不一定在开展业务的所有国家或地区提供所有产品或服务。

文中引用的性能数据和客户示例仅作演示说明之用。实际性能结果可能因具体配置和操作条件而异。本文档中的信息均“按原样”提供,不涉及任何明示或暗示的保证,包括适销性、特定用途适用性的任何保证,以及不侵权的任何保证或条件。IBM 产品根据其提供时所依据的协议条款和条件获得保证。

Intelligent automation for consumer finance solutions

Automating repetitive tasks to free time for creative work
by Mike Tucker
9-minute read
Atlanta Skyline - Mid-Town District , Atlanta, Georgia

For 20 years, Credigy Solutions Inc. has proven to be a stable and creative financial services partner for many businesses. Credigy has the flexibility to deploy senior and subordinated debt, acquire assets on its balance sheet, utilize hybrid structures and participate in syndications.

Credigy executes a world-class process to support incredibly complex deals across a variety of asset classes. The firm’s geographic diversification strategy includes partnering with local experts to maximize understanding of unique market variables and leverage market know-how.

The company has invested over USD 17 billion in 325+ transactions with Individual deals ranging from USD 50 million to over USD 2 billion. Overall, Credigy’s pioneering approach to specialty finance has led to a multiyear, double-digit compounded annual growth rate.

“Our company specializes in understanding new and often complex markets within the broader universe of consumer finance,” says Casey Adams, Senior Director of IT and Data Strategy at Credigy. “We help our partners navigate those complex markets and help accelerate growth, offering comprehensive and creative solutions that are unique to Credigy.”

Key to Credigy’s growth and continued success is the culture of creativity fostered at its headquarters in Atlanta, Georgia. Analysts, statisticians and other financial professionals are encouraged to explore opportunities and develop innovative solutions. “We have a lot of smart people challenging assumptions,” says Adams. “Nobody is afraid to ask how we can improve.”

Businessman checking stock market data.

To accelerate information gathering and making related decisions, RPA robots enabled timely review of

100%

of loan-related financial documents for various portfolio purchases

Automating repetitive tasks contributed to Credigy’s ability to continue growing its business at a

15%+

compounded annual growth rate

In the first year, Credigy deployed

~25

RPA robots to automate repetitive tasks

This is a large, big-picture opportunity about intelligent automation — a strategic partnership between humans and robots. We’re returning time to Credigy employees, so they can focus on tasks that add more value.
Casey Adams
Senior Director of IT and Data Strategy, Credigy Solutions, Inc.

As he looked for ways to support Credigy’s growth, Adams kept his eye on a rapidly developing technology that was coming into its own — robotic process automation (RPA). This software enables companies to automate tedious and repetitive tasks, which frees up time for employees to focus on higher value work. “In our company, we recognized that we have a lot of ‘automatable’ processes,” says Adams. “We understood the potential early on.”

In 2018, Adams and his team were introduced to the IBM® Robotic Process Automation platform. “We were pleasantly surprised at how mature the solution was,” says Adams. “The user interface was very nice. It also ran on the same platform as our other systems, so we brought RPA consultants onsite to start looking at automation opportunities.”

College male graduates hugging and smiling
Young family looking round new house with estate agent
It gives people more time to think creatively about strategy, as well as accelerating processes to allow us to review data and make quicker decisions. Company-wide, everybody has bought into RPA technology.
Rebecca Sims
Senior Business Systems Analyst, Credigy Solutions, Inc.
Finding opportunities for automation
It gives people more time to think creatively about strategy, as well as accelerating processes to allow us to review data and make quicker decisions. Company-wide, everybody has bought into RPA technology.
Rebecca Sims
Senior Business Systems Analyst, Credigy Solutions, Inc.

When looking for opportunities to automate business processes, Credigy strove to understand how automating a specific business process could also connect to another business process. “As automations are deployed in an intelligent manner and are ‘connectable,’” says Adams, “they will gradually grow to become fully automated processes end-to-end.”

“Along this RPA journey, our strategic goal has been to determine which business processes could benefit from automation,” says Rebecca Sims, Senior Business Systems Analyst at Credigy. “We started with the quick wins so we could expand our automation experience while determining where automation will aid us the most in achieving a strategic advantage using RPA.”

Working with RPA consultants, Credigy prioritized which business processes would benefit most from automation. “The purpose of the consultants was to teach our developers best practices and set us up for long term-success,” says Sims. “They did code reviews and helped show us the best ways to automate.”

“The consultants helped us discover the most viable processes for automation,” says Adams. “For example, if we do something once a month and it only takes five minutes to do it, it makes zero sense to put development effort into that process.”

Each year, Credigy processes thousands of data files received through email or an SFTP site. Because of the large volume of data coming in for analysis and evaluation, one of the first focus areas was to manage how data and files are moved — a laborious, time-intensive task. To move files, employees manually identified and opened files to validate the information. Next, they renamed documents according to uniform labeling conventions. The last step was to navigate to the correct repository to save the documents.

“Instead of having employees monitor data sources, we have a robot periodically check and name them according to a defined naming convention and place the files in locations where our system can pick them up and process them into our internal systems,” says Sims. “This helps us have an accurate understanding of account status so we can make informed decisions.”

Another opportunity for automation related to how Credigy processed vendor invoices. “We analyzed the set of vendors who submitted regular invoices and decided to automate the process into our invoice processing system,” says Sims. “The finance team can forward invoices attached via email to the RPA robot and the invoice is created automatically.”

Currently, Credigy processes 22 vendor invoices automatically. The end goal is to completely automate invoice processing when the automation framework is fully developed.

Due diligence — reviewing the related documents in connection with buying and selling financial assets — was another labor-intensive task that was ripe for automation. In many cases, documents were downloaded from third-party sites and included records for thousands of accounts at a time. Credigy deployed automated processes to scan account-based documents and scrape data into a Microsoft Excel file for reporting and decision making.

“For example, if we are potentially buying a portfolio of 10,000 consumer loans, part of due diligence is reviewing the loan files to make sure the original loan-related documentation is there and conforms to the applicable requirements,” says Adams.

“Previously, human beings would do that work, which is often time intensive and under a short deadline. But now, with RPA, we are doing 100% automated due diligence reviews for some deals, and it is a big win for us. Being able to complete the diligence process faster allows us to determine which issues need to be addressed and whether the deal that really works for us and our potential counterparty. It minimizes the time we spend on deals that are not going to work, helping us and our business partners focus on opportunities that make sense for all involved.”

To make sure Credigy derives maximum long-term value from its investment in RPA, the company is developing the framework for an ongoing RPA center of excellence. “Some companies start running RPA software and, a year later, might have 20-30 robots,” says Adams. “But then somebody asks, ‘What does this robot do?’ and nobody knows the rules. We will ensure that our processes are well documented and make metadata available so we can think about how each process fits into larger processes going forward.”

Improving processes and efficiencies

After the first year of deployment, Credigy automated over 25 business processes with RPA. “We initially focused on the low-hanging fruit, and the processes we’ve done have been helpful,” says Sims. “But we’re also looking at the business as a whole and studying transaction lifecycles to see where RPA can make the most impact.”

In addition to deploying automated processes for due diligence and invoice processing, Credigy uses RPA to:

• Process legal documents for keyword scanning. Documents are returned with keywords highlighted.
• Process account-based documents by email, media download or other types of automation and automatically load documents into an internal system that users can easily access by account.
• Forward suspicious email for URL scanning and alert users if URLs were malicious.
• Create automated initial responses to emails requesting customer service.
• Support compliance by automatically downloading updates from a variety of sites and loading data into specific tables for review.
• Automate IT audits including password strength tests. If a user’s password fails a strength test performed by the robot, the user receives an email requesting a password update that complies with password rules.

To help Credigy calculate the cost savings of using RPA instead of an employee for specific tasks, IBM adds a “counter” to each RPA script. “Essentially, this value helps us determine the time back to Credigy — whether we did this task manually or outsourced it prior to automation,” says Sims. “We can use this metric in reports and track monthly how much time is returned to Credigy.”

Another opportunity for costs savings is with error reduction. “Errors can increase work effort,” says Adams, “and having a robot that does not make those errors is a big payback.”

Adams also believes that it is important to gauge non-quantitative or “soft” metrics around employee-robot partnerships. “As we deploy robots to replace rote and repetitive work, this frees up employees for more enjoyable and challenging work that adds more value for Credigy,” says Adams.

“From the beginning, our strategy and messaging has always been centered on a human and robot partnership that brings the best total value to Credigy,” says Sims. “For this reason, everyone has bought into RPA technology.”

Credigy’s IT team sees intelligent automation as a long-term goal for RPA. “As tasks come to us,” says Adams, “the first question we ask is ‘How can this be automated?’ We’re taking small steps along the way that will lead to a larger integration of robotic processes with the business having confidence in whatever automation we are putting into place.”

Credigy plans to take a process mining approach to define and document key business processes. “Working with our employees, this will be an exploratory project,” says Sims. “We will take a deep dive to discover where we have the highest need to improve efficiencies and automate.”

Within the next two years, Credigy plans to deploy hundreds of RPA robots. “As the team gets more experienced and we have an automation-first mindset with everybody, the opportunities will continue to grow and blossom,” says Adams. “We will build RPA automation that will be connected end-to-end and grow to 100% process automation.”

Credigy Solutions, Inc. logo
About Credigy Solutions, Inc.

Based in Atlanta, Georgia, CredigyExternal Link is a global specialty finance company with flexibility across the capital structure to acquire or finance a diverse range of assets. The firm invests in consumer-related assets across multiple asset classes and geographies. Wholly owned by the National Bank of Canada, Credigy manages over USD 5.7 billion in assets and has invested over USD 17 billion since 2001.

The client featured in this case study initially engaged with WDG Soluções Em Sistemas E Automação De Proces LTDA which began conducting business as IBM on January 1, 2021. The WDG products in this case study, WDG Studio and WDG RPA, are now known as IBM RPA Studio and IBM RPA Solution respectively.

Solution component
Credigy Solutions, Inc. logo
About Credigy Solutions, Inc.

Based in Atlanta, Georgia, CredigyExternal Link is a global specialty finance company with flexibility across the capital structure to acquire or finance a diverse range of assets. The firm invests in consumer-related assets across multiple asset classes and geographies. Wholly owned by the National Bank of Canada, Credigy manages over USD 5.7 billion in assets and has invested over USD 17 billion since 2001.

The client featured in this case study initially engaged with WDG Soluções Em Sistemas E Automação De Proces LTDA which began conducting business as IBM on January 1, 2021. The WDG products in this case study, WDG Studio and WDG RPA, are now known as IBM RPA Studio and IBM RPA Solution respectively.

Solution component