加速对大陆集团 (Continental) 车辆安全性的洞察分析
开发具有更快、更灵活的数据存储以及简化 AI 管理的自动驾驶解决方案
坐在驾驶座上使用平板电脑的男士

对大多数人来说,驾驶属于第二天性,其中涉及一系列自动决策。训练 AI 进行自动驾驶(以便在做出同样决策时快 1/10 秒,且有可能使驾驶更为安全)需要 PB 级的数据。

世界卫生组织 (WHO)(ibm.com 外部链接)统计,每年约有 135 万人死于道路交通事故,另有 5,000 万人受伤。为了降低这种风险,欧盟现在要求到 2030 年大力推广自动驾驶汽车。为全自动驾驶提供最佳技术路径的竞赛已经拉开序幕。

大陆集团高级驾驶辅助系统 (ADAS) 人工智能主管 Robert Thiel 表示:“在发生严重事故的情况下,高级驾驶辅助系统的反应速度比驾驶员要快。这可以通过使用大量数据训练 AI 来实现,使其比人类驾驶更安全。因此,智能数据管理意味着智能汽车和挽救生命。”

大陆集团是全球几乎所有汽车生产商的汽车零部件主要供应商,同时也是自动驾驶智能领域的领导者。其 ADAS 业务部门早在 20 多年前便已着手开发智能传感器和数据驱动式交通安全解决方案,并一直致力于利用深度学习以及训练人工神经网络来提高开发速度。大陆集团“零愿景”项目的目标是通过开发 ADAS 技术,从根本上消除交通事故造成的死亡事件。

终身创新

 

 

150 年来,大陆集团一直在突破汽车创新的边界

提高训练效率

 

大陆集团使用 IBM Spectrum Scale 和 NVIDIA DGX 系统将 AI 训练时间缩短了 70%

增强能力

 

 

大陆集团每月能够同时进行至少 14 倍的深度学习实验

大陆集团、IBM Storage 和 NVIDIA 之间的合作正在兑现安全方面的承诺。 Robert Thiel 人工智能主管 大陆集团高级驾驶辅助系统

在汽车行业,与自动驾驶相关的最大挑战之一是,管理位于世界各地的数据并在需要的地方使用这些数据。大陆集团的 ADAS Vision Zero 计划聘用了一支配备传感器的测试车队,他们每天行驶 15,000 公里,生成和记录了超过 100 TB 的数据,然后对这些数据进行摄取、处理、选择、评估和注释,并用于系统的训练和验证。

为了检测任何给定场景中发生的情况并做出安全控制车辆的决策,该团队使用NVIDIA DGX(ibm.com 外部链接)系统进行训练和验证。为了加速开发 AI 并缩短上市时间,大陆集团需要高性能的 AI 处理和数据访问以及强大的存储解决方案,以利用 NVIDIA GPU 计算实现每秒分析数十万张图像的目标。

针对自动驾驶而优化的基础架构

大陆集团的 ADAS 解决方案可支持驾驶员完成众多典型驾驶任务,甚至还可控制车辆以免发生事故。但随着驾驶员辅助系统与车辆安全系统自动化程度的提升,软件复杂性也随之上升,同时多个地区的安全要求数量也随之增多。此时,大陆集团意识到自身亟需扩展其技术和团队,以便开发出更具全球扩展性的 AI 解决方案。此外,并行数据访问的需求也意味着会面临日益增长的数据管理挑战。

大陆集团需要一个强大的并行文件系统来满足 AI 的高速需求并保护敏感数据。与此同时,它还必须创建一个更易于集中访问的位置来存储数据并提高可追溯性,为开发人员提供多种安全连接方式。

大陆集团知道,是时候通过可扩展的深度学习基础设施和与高速网络连接的存储空间来提高性能了。该解决方案需要提供快速随机访问功能,支持服务器消息块 (SMB) 和 Amazon Simple Storage Service (S3) 等协议,并提供多种不同的访问管理选项。

“如今的 GPU 速度如此之快,以至于标准存储跟不上计算的速度。”大陆集团 ADAS IT 运营主管 David Enenkel 说道,“这就是为什么我们一直在追求更快的产品,希望能真正为我们提供所需的带宽和随机访问能力。”

大陆集团确定了全面的测试标准,并评估了每种顶级存储解决方案实现其目标的程度。为了衡量 IBM ESS 的性能,大陆集团与 IBM 合作伙伴 SVA System Vertrieb Alexander GmbH 进行了合作。他们发现,采用 NVIDIA DGX 的 IBM Spectrum Storage for Data and AI 解决方案提供了所需的性能和其他一些优势。该解决方案的“并行”高性能架构和易于扩展的节点部署提供了所需的 AI 基础设施,以及大陆集团未来所需要的弹性和可扩展性。

IBM Storage 与 Kubernetes 容器的灵活性和无缝集成使大陆集团能够实现应用程序开发的现代化,同时无需放弃性能、可扩展性或简单性等基础设施要求。IBM Spectrum Scale 解决方案确保其基础设施能够支持所需的增长,无论是在云中还是本地部署都不受影响。IBM 在汽车行业拥有丰富的经验,这也是推动大陆集团做出这一决定的因素之一。

借助新的解决方案,大陆集团能够通过多节点训练来优化深度学习,从而在不影响生产时间的情况下提高模型精度,实现更高的安全级别。大陆集团将 DGX 集群的规模扩大到每月可处理 14 倍以上的实验,能够在多种环境条件(例如雨、雪、晴天和多云天气)和瞬态(例如汽车在变道时彼此靠得太近)下测试数百万种排列。

凭借新的 IBM 数据管理解决方案的性能改进、灵活性和可扩展性来支持不断发展的 AI 基础设施,大陆集团正在快速改变未来的出行方式。

利用我们全新的基础设施,大陆集团将 AI 基础设施上的实验数量增加了 14 倍。这缩短了我们产品的上市时间。 David Enenkel IT 运营主管 大陆集团高级驾驶辅助系统
提高开发周期的效率

Thiel 表示:“考虑到安全要求,如果没有能力验证庞大的数据集,即对数百万公里或数十 PB 的数据集进行定期处理、重新模拟、收集和生成某种 KPI 的能力,我们今天销售的任何系统都无法销售出去。”

“得益于全新的基础设施,我们现在可以同时运行 20、40、80 个 GPU,从而真正加快我们的训练速度。”大陆集团 ADAS 布达佩斯 AI 能力中心主管 Balazs Lorand 博士说道,“我们为解决了多项挑战而感到自豪。”借助这一新的基础设施,大陆集团每月的深度学习实验数量增加了 14 倍,并将训练时间从几周缩短到几天。它极大地提高了开发生命周期的效率,因为它现在能够进行更多实验并无缝连接其 Kubernetes 环境。而且,其解决方案足够灵活,可以支持任何方向的增长 – 无论是在容器化混合云环境、本地部署,还是在多个数据中心。

大陆集团在德国法兰克福的 Equinix(ibm.com 外部链接)的 AI 就绪数据中心建设了一套全新的基础设施。Equinix 是一家全球性的托管基础设施提供商。在 SVA 的支持下,大陆集团实现了集群存储解决方案的整体集成,包括安装、部署、配置、调试以及运营和管理培训。

这一新解决方案包括多模式 GPU 集群、非阻塞 InfiniBand 网络基础设施、带有快速非易失性内存快速通道 (NVMe) 驱动器的 IBM ESS、NVIDIA DGX 系统和 NVIDIA V100 Tensor Core GPU。大陆集团还在其 Kubernetes 环境中使用 IBM Spectrum Scale 软件进行现代应用程序开发。

“要满足 Euro NCAP 五星级评级的要求,你需要不断开发更智能的产品。因此,建立这样的数据环境非常重要,我很高兴我们去年就这样做了。”Enenkel 说道。

这些改进为大陆集团带来了强大的竞争优势,使其能够比以往更快地推进新的、更安全的自动驾驶解决方案的开发。

大陆集团徽标
关于大陆集团

大陆集团(ibm.com 外部链接)致力于开发开创性的技术和服务,以实现人员及其货物的可持续和互联移动。该科技公司成立于 1871 年,旨在为车辆、机器、交通和运输提供安全、高效、智能且价格实惠的解决方案。

自主移动与安全事业群致力于开发和生产集成的主动和被动驾驶安全技术以及支持车辆动力学的产品。

关于 SVA System Vertrieb Alexander GmbH

IBM 合作伙伴 SVA 是一家领先的德国系统集成商。该公司在德国各地设有 23 个分支机构。SVA 专注于将高质量 IT 产品与项目专业知识和灵活性相结合,以便在数据中心基础结构、业务连续性、大数据、IT 安全性和云领域实现最佳解决方案。

采取下一步行动

如需详细了解本案例中介绍的 IBM 解决方案,请联系您的 IBM 代表或 IBM 合作伙伴。

查看更多案例研究 联系 IBM IBM Storage Scale System

利用全局数据平台克服 AI 和企业数据面临的难题

了解更多信息
用于容器持久性存储的 IBM Spectrum Scale CSI 驱动程序

IBM Spectrum Scale 是一种经过验证的、可扩展的高性能数据和文件管理解决方案。

了解更多信息
附带 NVIDIA DGX A100 系统的 IBM Storage 参考架构

采用 GPU 加速的计算基础设施已成为支持深度学习和其他计算密集型工作负载的必要条件。

阅读 PDF
法律

© Copyright IBM Corporation 2021.IBM Corporation, IBM Storage, New Orchard Road, Armonk, NY 10504

美国出品,2021 年 1 月

IBM、IBM 徽标、ibm.com、IBM Elastic Storage 以及 IBM Spectrum 是 International Business Machines Corp. 在世界各地司法辖区的注册商标。其他产品和服务名称可能是 IBM 或其他公司的商标。ibm.com/legal/copyright-trademark 上的“Copyright and trademark information”部分提供了 IBM 商标的最新列表。

本文档为自最初公布日期起的最新版本,IBM 可能随时对其进行更改。IBM 并不一定在开展业务的所有国家或地区提供所有产品或服务。

文中引用的性能数据和客户示例仅作演示说明之用。实际性能结果可能因具体配置和操作条件而异。本文档中的信息均“按原样”提供,不涉及任何明示或暗示的保证,包括适销性、特定用途适用性的任何保证,以及不侵权的任何保证或条件。IBM 产品根据其提供时所依据的协议条款和条件获得保证。

可能会报告未压缩和压缩数据的实际可用存储容量,并且会有所不同,并且可能会小于规定的容量。

Faster, more agile data storage and AI support for autonomous driving solutions

Developing autonomous driving solutions with faster, more flexible data storage and simplified management for AI
by Lori Cotton
6-minute read
Man sitting in driver seat using tablet

For most of us, driving is second nature; a series of automatic decisions. To train AI for autonomous driving — to make those same decisions even a 10th of a second faster, and potentially make driving safer — requires petabytes of data.

According to the World Health Organization (WHO) (external link), approximately 1.35 million people die in road accidents every year, and another 50 million are injured. To mitigate this risk, the EU now requires the availability of self-driving vehicles by 2030. The race is on to provide the best technological path to fully autonomous driving.

“Advanced driver assistance systems react faster than drivers in critical accident scenarios,” says Robert Thiel, Head of Artificial Intelligence, Advanced Driver Assistance Systems (ADAS), at Continental. “This can be achieved by training an AI with tons of data to drive more safely than a human. Therefore, smart data management means smart vehicles and saved lives.”

Continental is a major supplier of automotive parts to nearly every car producer in the world and a leader in the autonomous driving intelligence space. Its ADAS business unit began developing intelligent sensors and data-driven traffic safety solutions more than 20 years ago, and has been working to increase the speed of development using deep learning and training artificial neural networks. The goal of Continental’s Vision Zero project is to virtually eliminate deaths by traffic accident through the development of ADAS technologies.

Continental has pushed the boundaries of automotive innovation for

150

years

Continental improved AI training time

70%

using IBM Spectrum® Scale and NVIDIA DGX systems

Continental has the ability to run at least

14x

more deep learning experiments per month at the same time

The collaboration between Continental, IBM Storage and NVIDIA is bringing a promise to life in terms of safety.
Robert Thiel
Head of Artificial Intelligence, Advanced Driver Assistance, Continental Automotive AG

One of the automobile industry’s greatest challenges pertaining to autonomous driving is managing data located all over the world and using that data where it is needed. Continental’s ADAS Vision Zero initiative employs a test fleet equipped with sensors that drive 15,000 kilometers per day, generating and recording over 100 TB of data, which is then ingested, processed, selected, assessed and annotated, and used for training and validation of the system.

To detect what is happening in any given scenario and enable decisions to safely control the vehicle, the team uses NVIDIA DGX (external link) systems for training and validation. To speed development of the AI and reduce time-to-market, Continental needs high performance AI processing and access to data plus a powerful storage solution to analyze hundreds of thousands of images per second with NVIDIA GPU computing.

Person sitting at the wheel of a continental autonomous driving car
Man looking at phone while crossing infront of an autonomous automobile
Using our new infrastructure, Continental has increased the experiments on our AI infrastructure by a factor of 14. This decreases our time to market.
David Enenkel
Head of IT Operations, Advanced Driver Assistance Systems, Continental Automotive AG
Infrastructure optimized for autonomous driving
Using our new infrastructure, Continental has increased the experiments on our AI infrastructure by a factor of 14. This decreases our time to market.
David Enenkel
Head of IT Operations, Advanced Driver Assistance Systems, Continental Automotive AG

Continental’s ADAS solutions can support drivers in many typical driving tasks and even take control of the vehicle to avoid an accident. But as automation of its driver assistance and vehicle safety systems increased, software complexity grew, as did the number of safety requirements across multiple geographies. Continental realized it was time to scale both its technology and its teams to evolve a more globally scalable AI solution. The need for parallel data access also meant facing down a growing data management challenge.

Continental needed a powerful parallel file system to meet the high-speed demands of AI and to protect sensitive data. At the same time, it had to create a more centrally accessible place to store data and improve traceability, offering many ways for developers to securely connect.

Continental knew it was time to boost performance with scalable deep learning infrastructure and storage connected with a high-speed network. This solution would need to provide fast random access, support protocols such as Server Message Block (SMB) and Amazon Simple Storage Service (S3), and provide several different access management options.

“GPUs today are so fast that standard storage cannot keep up with the compute,” says David Enenkel, Head of IT Operations, ADAS, at Continental. “That’s why we were looking for something faster, something that really gives us the bandwidth and also the random access that we need.”

Continental established comprehensive testing and evaluated how well each of the top storage solutions measured up to its goals. To measure the performance of IBM ESS, Continental worked with IBM Business Partner SVA System Vertrieb Alexander GmbH. They found that the IBM Spectrum Storage for AI with NVIDIA DGX solution provided the required performance and several other advantages. The “parallel” high performance architecture and simple-to-scale node deployment of the solution provided the AI infrastructure required, with the resilience and scalability Continental will need in the future.

The flexibility and seamless integration of IBM Storage with Kubernetes containers allowed Continental to modernize its application development without giving up on infrastructure requirements like performance, scalability or simplicity. The IBM Spectrum Scale solution ensured that its infrastructure will support the growth required, whether in the cloud or on premises. IBM has extensive experience in the automotive industry, which was also a contributing factor in Continental’s decision.

With the new solution, Continental was able to optimize for deep learning with multi-node training, enabling it to increase model accuracy for higher levels of safety without impacting time to production. Continental scaled to a cluster of DGX to handle 14 times more experiments per month, with the ability to test millions of permutations in environmental conditions — such as rain, snow, sunlight and clouds — or transients — such as cars moving too close to one another during a lane change.

With the performance improvements, flexibility and scalability of the new IBM data management solution to support an evolving AI infrastructure, Continental is on the fast track to change the future of mobility.

Continental autonomous car on at a stop sign
Increase efficiency of development cycle
“We couldn’t sell any of the systems that we sell today, regarding safety requirements, without the ability to validate on huge data sets — in the range of millions of kilometers or dozens of petabytes to be processed on a regular basis, re-simulated, collected and for some kind of KPIs to be generated,” says Thiel.

“As a result of our new infrastructure, we can now run 20, 40, 80 GPUs simultaneously to really speed up our training,” says Balazs Lorand, PhD, Head of AI Competence Centre, ADAS@Budapest, at Continental. “We are proud to have solved several challenges,” he continues. With this new infrastructure, Continental achieves 14 times more deep learning experiments per month and has reduced training time from weeks to days. It has dramatically increased the efficiency of the development life cycle as it is now able to conduct more experiments and seamlessly connect its Kubernetes environment. And its solution is flexible enough to support growth in any direction — in containerized hybrid cloud environments, on premises and in multiple data centers.

Continental built a completely new infrastructure in the Frankfurt, Germany AI-ready data center at Equinix (external link), a global colocation infrastructure provider. Continental, with the support of SVA, implemented the overall integration of the storage solution in the cluster, including installation, deployment, configuration, commissioning and training for operation and administration.

This new solution includes a multimode GPU cluster, non-blocking InfiniBand network infrastructure, IBM ESS with fast Non-Volatile Memory express (NVMe) drives, NVIDIA DGX systems and NVIDIA V100 Tensor Core GPUs. Continental is also using IBM Spectrum Scale software with its Kubernetes environment for modern application development.

“To meet the demands of a five-star rating with Euro NCAP, you need to keep developing more intelligent products. So it’s very, very important to establish such data environments, and I’m really happy that we did so last year,” says Enenkel.

These improvements translate to a strong competitive position for Continental, enabling it to move forward with new, safer autonomous driving solution development more quickly than ever before.

Continental Automotive AG logo
About Continental Automotive AG

ContinentalExternal Link develops pioneering technologies and services for sustainable and connected mobility of people and their goods. Founded in 1871, the technology company offers safe, efficient, intelligent and affordable solutions for vehicles, machines, traffic and transportation.

The Autonomous Mobility and Safety business area develops and produces integrated active and passive driving safety technologies as well as products that support vehicle dynamics.

About SVA System Vertrieb Alexander GmbH

IBM Business Partner SVAExternal Link is a leading German system integrator with 23 branch offices across Germany. SVA focuses on the combination of high quality IT products with project know-how and flexibility to achieve optimum solutions in the fields of data center infrastructure, business continuity, big data, IT security and cloud.

Solution components
Continental Automotive AG logo
About Continental Automotive AG

ContinentalExternal Link develops pioneering technologies and services for sustainable and connected mobility of people and their goods. Founded in 1871, the technology company offers safe, efficient, intelligent and affordable solutions for vehicles, machines, traffic and transportation.

The Autonomous Mobility and Safety business area develops and produces integrated active and passive driving safety technologies as well as products that support vehicle dynamics.

About SVA System Vertrieb Alexander GmbH

IBM Business Partner SVAExternal Link is a leading German system integrator with 23 branch offices across Germany. SVA focuses on the combination of high quality IT products with project know-how and flexibility to achieve optimum solutions in the fields of data center infrastructure, business continuity, big data, IT security and cloud.

Solution components