创新的火花如何发展为名为 Cleo 的虚拟助手
马里科帕县高等法院的书记员将 AI 和 IBM watsonx Assistant 集成到工作流程中,从而改善为其团队和公民提供的公共服务
戴着耳机微笑的女士
我们都经历过这样的事。您需要联系客户服务代表,以获得快速提问的解答。您会致电并等着被传送到自动呼叫系统。您需要忍受无休止的等待,而当您一次又一次向多人解释您的问题时,您的情绪会越发沮丧,却发现无人能给予帮助。

很多组织每天都会收到数以千计的服务咨询,而这便已足具挑战性。但在全球疫情的叠加影响下,处理基本的呼叫中心请求变得更加艰巨。马里科帕县高等法院的书记员眼下便在经历此情况。

书记员办公室的总部位于亚利桑那州菲尼克斯,负责为县司法系统、法律界和公众提供记录管理和财务服务。马里科帕县是一个由 27 个城镇以及近 460 万人组成的社区,而该县的公民会提交时间紧迫的请求、结婚许可申请、法庭记录查阅和护照续签请求。其中的关键在于,马里科帕县的员工须能为广大公民提供公平、及时的此类服务,且即使员工并非全天都在办公室内,此类请求也不会停滞不前。

然而,处理如此大量的请求迫使员工不得不搁置复杂的日常任务,而将大部分时间花在接听电话、解决日常问题以及将客户转送到其他部门上。随着处理时间的持续上升,客户和员工的挫败感也随之增加。我们的目标是通过应用新技术来集中管理客户体验,从而为客户带来更好的体验。书记员办公室的创新与 AI 主管 Aaron Judy 负责领导该办公室的现代化改造事宜。

95.78% 的控制率

 

2023 年,IBM watsonx Assistant 进行了 15,569 次对话,控制率达到 95.78%

214 小时

 

凭借 IBM watsonx Assistant 的查询处理,目前每月可节省 214 小时

当每个人见证了聊天代理的强大功能后,问题就变为:“我们能否对客户服务产生正面影响?” Aaron Judy 创新与 AI 主管 马里科帕县高等法院书记员
借助会话式 AI 进行扩展

在担任前一职位时,Judy 会在企业技术办公室 (OET) 工作,而在此他开始琢磨如何开发基于聊天机器人的智能系统。不久之后,他开始全力研究聊天机器人,并开始通过 edX(一个开放式在线课程提供商)学习构建课程,以此作为其业余爱好。然后,他决定通过引入 ChatOps 将自己的爱好融入到工作之中。

“我所在的团队地理位置相对分散,因而会通过远程会议和异步通信实现统一。我们使用 Slack 进行交流。这是 ChatOps 大放异彩的一次机会“,Judy 解释道。“于是,我们从 Slack 聊天机器人开始,但到了某个时候,我的同事就会问说我们能否将其企业化。此时,我意识到我那微不足道的小打小闹并不能满足我的需求。”

Judy 更换了部门,并开始担任高等法院书记官的创新与 AI 主管,但上级仍要求他继续为该办公室打造一个服务代理。于是,他开始寻找通过对话自动执行相关操作的方法。当时,书记员办公室每月需处理 33,000 个通话,而其主要目标则是减少来电量并提高客户满意度。

“我们需要采用自然语言的工具,而这个工具必须能理解你所说的内容,提取重要特征并据此采取行动。我们创建了一个聊天代理,而每次收到警报时,只需在 Slack 中发送一条消息,便可将流量从一个数据中心转移到另一个数据中心”,Judy 说道。“当每个人都见证了它的强大功能时,问题就会变成:‘我们能否对客户服务产生正面影响,以及我们能否允许用户在服务台的某处开展自助服务?”

Judy 认识到,书记员办公室需要一个智能、基于对话的自助服务解决方案,而该解决方案还应集成到现有基础设施中,从而跨多个通信渠道为客户和员工提供支持。然后,他记得自己参加过 IBM edX 课程,而课程内容则是打造 IBM 对话解决方案,这跟服务台机器人很像。

“我们有一个设计参数是要求解决方案必须能在其创造者的手中生存下来,而为了做到这一点,我就必须找到一些能不断发展的东西。我不能只是把产品交给外行,然后说:‘把这个智能代理看好并喂饱就行’”,Judy 回忆道。“在我找到 IBM watsonx Assistant 之前,这一切都是不可完成的任务。借助 IBM 技术,我们发现将此工具转交给那些不太热衷技术的人员有多么容易。根本不需要什么专家来维护它。

我之所以能解决 watsonx Assistant 的护理和喂养问题是因为,将此技术转交给非技术人员非常容易。我只说了一句:‘这就是我的宝贝,加油干吧!’ Aaron Judy 创新与 AI 主管 马里科帕县高等法院书记员
IBM watsonx Assistant 及时提供了虚拟协助

通过使用 IBM watsonx Assistant 以及基于云的联络中心软件 Twilio Flex,书记官办公室建立了一个统一的全渠道联络中心解决方案,并在三个月内将其投入使用。该团队将此 AI 解决方案命名为 Cleo,并让它与人类代理一起工作,从而为马里科帕县的公民提供更有效的支持体验。该解决方案可通过电话、网络聊天、文本、社交媒体渠道和电子邮件等全渠道通信来使用自然语言。此外,它还可与 Alexa、Google 等语音技术结合使用。

当 COVID-19 卷土重来之时,书记员办公室凭借先前收集的洞察信息便可确定向公民远程提供哪些服务,以及在其网站上展示哪些行动。

“我们其实是在办公室封禁时启动的。我们被要求待在家里;因为当时正在进行封禁”,Judy 回忆道。“于是,我说,‘干脆我们就勇敢地推出吧,因为不出意外的话,当我们被困在家里时,它会变成一个更重要的工具。’后来,我们就是这么做的。”

得益于 Cleo 的成熟,Judy 及其团队可实时快速做出改变和调整。该虚拟代理配备了 151 个意图和 3,500 个节点,而 Judy 会将其描述为“中间包含数万个实体”,但这些实体其实是从法院内工作的员工那里有机收集而来的。

“我先是制作了一份发给法庭所有员工的 PDF 文件,以及一份问答工作表,其中列出了我们可对客户使用的话术”,Judy 解释道。“因为我们隶属于法院系统,所以不能显得我们像是在提供法律建议。我不能做出任何存在偏见的事情。我们也不想只是有了一个常见问题解答工具。随后,Cleo 开始上线并提供服务。您可以询问前往某个设施的路线,而它会知道您来自城里的哪个位置,同时还会提供等待时间较短的推荐地点。”

几年前,在政府部署 AI 还是一件令人生畏的事情,但 Watson 帮助我建立起这种信任。大家开始了解 Watson,同时还在 Jeopardy 上见识到了它的能力。于是,我将此社会信任移植到了该平台。 Aaron Judy 创新与 AI 主管 马里科帕县高等法院书记员
没有死胡同

正面结果往往会不言自明。到目前为止,仅 2023 年,由 IBM watsonx Assistant 提供支持的 Cleo 便已进行 15,569 次对话,其控制率达到 95.78%,从而为客服人员节省了 100 多个小时的通话时间。Cleo 可以解答大多数客户所面临的问题,从而可让客服人员处理其他事务,而无需暂停任务来接听电话。

“我们非常重视分散和传播信息的能力,特别是在新政策出台后,我们便会开始通过邮寄方式接收各种资料,而这在以前是不可能的”,Judy 解释道。“此外,客户还可实时快速获得针对其特定需求的解答。”

“我们的部分设计参数不存在死胡同”,Judy 补充道。“如果客户必须从头开始通过拨打主叫号码来寻求帮助,那么一开始这就注定会是一种糟糕的体验。每个人都对 watsonx Assistant 和 Cleo 解答这些问题的潜力感到惊奇。”

如果碰巧有人使用了 Cleo 但它无法提供帮助,它便会将此客户转移到服务中心,以便客服人员接听并继续完成对话。客户完全无需重新开始,因为该解决方案会保存对话历史记录,以便顺利移交给人工客服。

展望未来,从大局来看,Judy 及其团队会继续与 IBM 保持合作关系,并努力扩大受众范围、加强渠道策略并完善 Cleo 体验。此外,书记员办公室还希望通过将 IBM watsonx Assistant 的精选实例纳入该领域来加强与人力资源部门的合作关系。

“Cleo 开辟了很多新渠道来解决我们无法通过电话渠道解决的公民问题。我们发现,电话渠道具有不同于文本渠道的参与度”,Judy 表示。“因此,我们并不是要影响这些用户,而是为更多人提供诉诸司法的机会。眼下,我们正在完善 Cleo 的语音体验,使其能通过语音方式解答问题。无论是现在还是未来,我们都会继续完成一些很酷的事情。”

高等法院书记员的徽标
关于马里科帕县高等法院书记员

高等法院书记员部门(ibm.com 外部链接)位于亚利桑那州马里科帕县,该部门致力于为公民和员工提供先进且高效的与法院相关的记录管理和财务服务。其重点服务对象为司法系统、法律界和公众,以便他们能公平、及时地获得准确的法庭记录和服务。



IBM watsonx Assistant

通过会话式 AI,在所有渠道和接触点提供协同一致且智能的客户服务。

了解有关 IBM watsonx Assistant 的更多信息 查看更多案例研究 Camping World

通过 AI 驱动的虚拟助手推动重新构筑的客户体验

阅读成功案例
ABN AMRO

问问 Anna 就行了

阅读成功案例
VIA Metropolitan Transit

数字客服 Ava 为圣安东尼奥公交乘客提供乘车指引

阅读成功案例
法律

© Copyright IBM Corporation 2023。IBM Corporation, New Orchard Road, Armonk, NY 10504

美国出品,2023 年 9 月。

IBM、IBM 徽标和 IBM Watson 是 International Business Machines Corporation 在美国和/或其他国家或地区的商标或注册商标。其他产品和服务名称可能是 IBM 或其他公司的商标。IBM 商标的最新列表可参见 ibm.com/trademark

本文档为自最初公布日期起的最新版本,IBM 可能随时对其进行更改。IBM 并不一定在开展业务的所有国家或地区提供所有产品或服务。

以上所有引用或描述的客户实例的展示取决于部分客户使用 IBM 产品的方式以及他们可能取得的结果。实际的环境成本和性能特征会因具体客户配置和情况而有所不同。无法提供通用的预期结果,因为每个客户的结果将完全取决于客户的系统和订购的服务。本文档内的信息“按现状”提供,不附有任何种类的(无论是明示的还是默示的)保证,包括不附有关于适销性、适用于某种特定用途的任何保证以及非侵权的任何保证或条件。IBM 产品根据其提供时所依据的协议条款和条件获得保证。

Home Case Studies Clerk of the Superior Court in Maricopa County How a spark of innovation developed into a virtual assistant named Cleo
The Clerk of the Superior Court in Maricopa County integrates AI and IBM watsonx Assistant into workflows, improving public services to its team and citizens
Woman smiling with headset on
We’ve all been there. You need to get ahold of a customer service representative for an answer to a quick question. You call and brace to be routed to automated call systems. You endure endless hold times, and you grow increasingly frustrated as you explain your problem again and again to multiple people—only to find out that no one can help.

Many organizations receive thousands of service inquiries a day, which is challenging enough. But add a global pandemic into the mix, and juggling basic call center requests becomes even more demanding. The Clerk of the Superior Court in Maricopa County was experiencing just that.

Based out of Phoenix, Arizona, the Clerk’s Office provides records management and financial services for the county justice system, the legal community and the public. Citizens of Maricopa County, a community of 27 cities and towns and nearly 4.6 million people, reach out with time-sensitive requests, marriage licensing applications, court record access and passport renewal requests. It’s essential that Maricopa County employees can provide citizens with fair and timely access to such services and that such requests aren’t stalled—even if employees aren’t physically in the office 24x7.

Yet handling such large volumes of requests left staff pausing on complex day-to-day tasks to spend most of their time answering calls, addressing routine questions and transferring customers to different departments. As increased handling times continued to mount, so did the frustration of customers and employees. The goal was to centralize the customer experience by applying new technology to provide customers with a better experience. Aaron Judy, Chief of Innovation and AI at the Clerk’s Office, led the office’s modernizing charge.

95.78% Containment Rate

 

IBM watsonx Assistant held 15,569 conversations with a 95.78% containment rate in 2023

214 hours

 

IBM watsonx Assistant’s handling of inquiries currently saves 214 human hours per month

When everybody saw the power of a chat agent, the question became, ‘Could we positively impact customer service?’ Aaron Judy Chief of Innovation and AI Clerk of the Superior Court in Maricopa County
Scaling up with Conversational AI

In his previous role, Judy worked in the Office of Enterprise Technology (OET), where he began to tinker with developing a chatbot-based intelligence system. Not much later, he was elbows-deep into researching chatbots, and he started taking build courses through edX—an open online course provider—as a side hobby. He then decided to incorporate his hobby into work by introducing ChatOps.

“I was on a geographically dispersed team that unified through remote meetings and asynchronous communications. We were using Slack to communicate. This was an opportunity for ChatOps to shine,” explains Judy. “So, we started with a Slack chatbot, but at a certain point, my coworkers asked if we could make it enterprise. I realized my piddly little tinkering wasn’t going to scale up to what I needed.”

Judy changed departments and took on a new role as Chief of Innovation and AI at the Clerk of the Superior Court but was asked to continue building a service agent for the office. He started looking at ways to automate actions through conversation. At the time, the Clerk’s Office was fielding 33,000 calls a month, and its primary goal was to diminish incoming call volumes and increase customer satisfaction.

“We needed something with natural language that could understand what you’re saying, extract the important features and act on it. We created a chat agent that could, if you received an alert, allow you to roll traffic from one data center to the other with just a message in Slack,” says Judy. “When everybody saw the power of what that could do, the question became, ‘Could we positively impact customer service? Could we allow users to self-serve themselves somewhere from the service desk?’”

Judy recognized that the Clerk’s Office needed an intelligent, conversation-based, self-service solution that integrated within the existing infrastructure to support its customers and employees across multiple communications channels. Then he remembered taking an IBM edX course on creating an IBM conversational solution, much like a service desk bot.

“One of our design parameters is a solution must survive its creator, and for me to do that, I needed to find something that evolves. I couldn’t just give the product to a layperson and say, ‘Here, care for and feed this intelligent agent,’” recalls Judy. “It just wasn’t possible until I found IBM watsonx Assistant. With IBM technology, we saw how easy it was to transition this tool to somebody that’s not heavily technically inclined; it doesn’t take an expert to keep it going.

I ironed out the care and feeding of watsonx Assistant because it was very easy to transition the technology to a non-technical individual. I said, ‘Here’s my money; let’s go!’ Aaron Judy Chief of Innovation and AI Clerk of the Superior Court in Maricopa County
IBM watsonx Assistant lends a virtual hand just in time

Using IBM watsonx Assistant and Twilio Flex, which is cloud-based contact center software, the Clerk’s Office built a unified omnichannel contact center solution and brought it live within three months. The AI solution, which the team named Cleo, works alongside human agents to provide a more effective support experience for Maricopa County citizens. It uses natural language through omnichannel communications, including phone, web chat, text, social media channels and email. It can also be combined with voice technologies such as Alexa and Google.

By the time COVID-19 reared its head, the Clerk’s Office—with the insights it had previously gathered—was able to determine what services to provide citizens remotely and what actions to feature on its website.

“We actually launched as the office was locking down. They were telling us to stay home; lockdowns were happening,” recalls Judy. “So, I said, ‘Let’s be brave and launch because if nothing else, it will become a more important tool as we are all trapped in our homes.’ And we did just that.”

Thanks to Cleo’s sophistication, Judy and his team can make changes and pivot quickly in real time. The virtual agent is equipped with 151 intents and 3,500 nodes with what Judy describes as “umpteen thousand entities in the middle” that are organically collected from employees working within the courts.

“I started with a PDF that’s given to all employees from the courts, a Q&A worksheet of what you’re allowed to say to a customer,” explains Judy. “Because we are part of the court system, it cannot appear as if we’re giving legal advice. I can’t make anything biased. We also didn’t want just a frequently asked questions tool. Cleo is plugged-in to provide services. You can ask for directions to a facility and it understands where you’re coming from in town and suggests locations with shorter wait times.”

A few years ago, AI in government was still a scary thing, but Watson helped me build that trust. People knew Watson; they saw its capabilities on Jeopardy. I leveraged that social trust in the platform. Aaron Judy Chief of Innovation and AI Clerk of the Superior Court in Maricopa County
No dead ends

The positive results speak for themselves. So far, in 2023 alone, Cleo, powered by IBM watsonx Assistant, has held 15,569 conversations with a 95.78% containment rate, saving agents over 100 hours of call time. Cleo can answer most customer-facing questions, allowing agents to work on other things without having to press pause on tasks to answer the phone.

“Our ability to disperse and disseminate information was pivotal in that, especially with new policies, we were accepting things by mail that wasn’t previously an option,” explains Judy. “Customers also got answers quickly tailored to their specific needs in real time.”

“Part of our design parameters were no dead ends,” adds Judy. “If the customer had to start over just calling the main number to try to get help, that was automatically a bad experience to start. Everyone was really enamored by the potential of watsonx Assistant and Cleo answering these questions.”

If, by chance, someone starts with Cleo and it can’t help, it transfers the customer to the service center for an agent to pick up and continue the conversation. No more having to start over, as the solution saves the history of the conversation for a smooth handoff to a human.

As for the future and looking at the big picture, Judy and the team will continue their relationship with IBM and will work to expand on their audience reach, bolster their channel strategies and refine the Cleo experience. Additionally, the Clerk’s Office wants to ramp up its partnership with human resources by incorporating a curated instance of IBM watsonx Assistant into that area. 

“Cleo opened up many new channels to service citizen questions we were not addressing via the phone channel. We discovered that the phone channel fields distinct engagements that the text channels do not,” says Judy. “So rather than impact those users, we increased access to justice for many more. We are now refining Cleo’s voice experience to allow her to respond to questions via the voice channel. We are and will continue to do a lot of cool things.”

Clerk of the Superior Court logo
About Clerk of the Superior Court in Maricopa County

Located in Maricopa County, Arizona, the Clerk of the Superior Court (link resides outside of ibm.com) is focused on providing citizens and employees with progressive and efficient court-related records management and financial services. Its focus is for the justice system, legal community and public so they have fair and timely access to accurate court records and services.



IBM watsonx Assistant

Deliver consistent and intelligent customer care across all channels and touchpoints with conversational AI.

Lean more about IBM watsonx Assistant View more case studies Camping World

Driving a reimagined customer experience with an AI-powered virtual assistant

Read the case study
ABN AMRO

Just ask Anna

Read the case study
VIA Metropolitan Transit

Digital agent Ava guides San Antonio transit riders

Read the case study
Legal

© Copyright IBM Corporation 2023. IBM Corporation, New Orchard Road, Armonk, NY 10504

Produced in United States, September 2023.

IBM, the IBM logo, and IBM Watson are trademarks or registered trademarks of International Business Machines Corporation, in the United States and/or other countries. Other product and service names might be trademarks of IBM or other companies. A current list of IBM trademarks is available on ibm.com/trademark.

This document is current as of the initial date of publication and may be changed by IBM at any time. Not all offerings are available in every country in which IBM operates.

All client examples cited or described are presented as illustrations of the manner in which some clients have used IBM products and the results they may have achieved. Actual environmental costs and performance characteristics will vary depending on individual client configurations and conditions. Generally expected results cannot be provided as each client’s results will depend entirely on the client’s systems and services ordered. THE INFORMATION IN THIS DOCUMENT IS PROVIDED “AS IS” WITHOUT ANY WARRANTY, EXPRESS OR IMPLIED, INCLUDING WITHOUT ANY WARRANTIES OF MERCHANTABILITY, FITNESS FOR A PARTICULAR PURPOSE AND ANY WARRANTY OR CONDITION OF NON-INFRINGEMENT. IBM products are warranted according to the terms and conditions of the agreements under which they are provided.