Central Nacional Unimed
通过快速、准确的医疗账单分析为医疗保险客户提供保障
雨天打着伞行走的人

数百万巴西人依靠 Central Nacional Unimed (CNU) 提供的医疗保险服务,获取重要医疗服务、抵御意外风险支出。随着业务量的增长,CNU 开始使用电子内容,并简化了工作流程,将处理速度提高了 10%,以确保医疗账单按时支付。

业务挑战

随着企业医疗保险公司 CNU 的业务蓬勃发展,依赖人工分析医疗账单的做法缩短了处理周期,增加了成本,并有可能延误关键付款。

变革

借助 IBM Enterprise Content Management 软件驱动的数字化内容和自动化流程,CNU 每月可以比以往更快速、更准确地处理约 130 万份医疗账单。

结果 90%
降低管理成本,提高盈利能力
10%
更快地处理医疗账单,从而更及时地付款
35%
减少花在分析账单上的时间,让员工腾出时间承担更多工作
业务挑战案例
减轻账单处理的繁琐

Central Nacional Unimed (CNU) 向巴西一些最大的公司推销企业医疗保健计划、特殊福利和专门护理。CNU 主要服务于大型国家企业,至少在三个州开展业务,至少覆盖 300 名受益人(包括投保人和受抚养人)。它还与许多中小型企业合作。如今,CNU 在巴西拥有超过 160 万客户。

每月,CNU 平均要为受益人处理 130 万份医疗账单,其中 12 万份附有证明文件。这是一个复杂的过程,分析人员必须根据一系列因素对账单进行评估,如治疗天数、使用的服务和用品类型、诊断等,以决定是支付全部账单、部分账单,还是直接拒绝账单。

此前,CNU 主要依靠手动方法来评估医疗费用。这一过程不仅耗时,而且出错风险很高;所有这些都有可能导致 CNU 无法及时、准确地向医疗保健提供方报销费用。

随着业务量的稳步增长,CNU 知道手动处理账单的日子已经渐行渐远。

CNU 系统顾问 Felipe Garcia Rios 表示:“延误变得越来越常见,而且由于我们不得不雇用更多员工,成本也在上升。我们无法继续投入资源来解决这个问题,需要找到一种方法来提高处理效率。这将使我们能够更快地分析账单,并扩大规模以处理不断增加的工作量。”

自从引入 IBM Enterprise Content Management 解决方案以来,我们已将账单的平均处理时间缩短了 10%。 Paulo Januzzi 医疗保健与交流总监 Central Nacional Unimed
变革案例
走向数字化

CNU 彻底改变了医疗账单处理方法,采用 IBM Enterprise Content Management 解决方案来实现文档数字化和工作流程自动化。在不到六个月的时间里,该公司就将堆积如山的纸质文件转化为丰富的电子内容存储,并引入了先进的病例管理平台,从而简化了医疗账单的分析和处理。

Felipe Garcia Rios 指出:“其他供应商只能提供点解决方案的组合,而 IBM 能够提供完整的解决方案。我们在一个单一的集成平台上得到了我们想要的一切功能”。

如今,当 CNU 收到账单时,它会扫描文件,并使用 IBM® Datacap 解决方案自动捕获电子文件中的关键信息并编制索引。所有数字化账单都存储在中央 IBM® FileNet Content Manager 存储库中。

利用 IBM Case Manager 这个单一控制点,分析人员即可进行全面的医疗账单处理。用户可以在一个屏幕上查看与特定项目相关的所有信息,包括详细的程序和价格明细,以及原始医疗账单本身的副本。CNU 还建立了一系列任务工作流程,指导分析人员完成审核和处理账单所需的每一步。

Case Manager 平台与 FileNet Content Manager 和 CNU 的核心企业资源规划 (ERP) 系统无缝集成,使分析人员能够轻松访问有关支付、客户和提供方的大量数据。

“我们现在有了坚实的基础,可以继续拓展我们的业务,并为我们的合作伙伴和客户提供始终如一的优质服务。” Felipe Garcia Rios 系统顾问 Central Nacional Unimed
案例成果
做好准备,迎接业务增长

CNU 处理医疗账单的新方法极大地提高了分析人员的工作效率,并使他们能够以更加灵活的方式工作。

Felipe Garcia Rios 说道:“弃用纸张彻底改变了人们的工作方式。我们的分析人员不再需要翻箱倒柜地查找所需信息,他们只需进行简单的搜索,相关内容就会出现在他们的电脑屏幕上。而且,由于多人可以同时访问相同的文件,因此无需等待特定记录,分析人员可以立即投入工作。”

他继续说道:“通过更便捷的内容访问和更自动化的流程,我们的分析人员可以更有效地管理他们的工作量,并完成比以前更多的工作量。”

正如医疗保健与交流总监 Paulo Januzzi 解释的那样,效率提高后,处理周期缩短,成本也大大节约:“自从引入 IBM Enterprise Content Management 解决方案后,我们分析医疗账单的时间缩短了 35%,账单的平均处理时间缩短了 10%。结果是,分析人员可以更及时地做出有关支付账单的决定,CNU 可以更快地支付医疗保健提供方的费用,帮助我们与这些合作伙伴保持积极的关系。”

“此外,通过最大限度地减少纸张的使用并进行其他流程改进,我们已经能够将管理成本削减 90%。这极大地提高了我们的利润。”

采用电子内容和工作流程使 CNU 得以突破增长停滞,使公司能够在不增加员工的情况下扩大运营规模,管理不断增长的业务量。

Felipe Garcia Rios 指出:“我们利用 IBM Enterprise Content Management 解决方案将医疗账单处理提升到了新的水平。团队的工作速度更快、更准确,我们能够在不增加人手的情况下处理更多的工作量。我们现在有了坚实的基础,可以继续拓展我们的业务,并为我们的合作伙伴和客户提供始终如一的优质服务。”

Unimed 徽标
Central Nacional Unimed

Central Nacional Unimed (CNU)(ibm.com 外部链接)代表巴西最大的医疗保健合作社 Unimed 销售和管理医疗保险计划。CNU 成立于 1998 年,为 167 万多名客户提供服务,拥有 1,400 多名员工。

采取后续步骤

要了解有关 IBM ECM 解决方案的更多信息,请联系您的 IBM 代表或 IBM 业务合作伙伴。



查看更多客户案例了解有关 IBM Analytics 的更多信息

脚注

 

© Copyright IBM Corporation 2017。IBM Corporation, Route 100, Somers, NY 10589. 美国出品,2017 年 3 月。IBM、IBM 徽标、FileNet 和 ibm.com 是 International Business Machines Corp. 在世界各地司法辖区的注册商标。其他产品和服务名称可能是 IBM 或其他公司的商标。以下网址的“Copyright and trademark information”部分提供了最新的 IBM 商标列表:ibm.com/legal/copytrade.shtml。本文档为自最初公布日期起的最新版本,IBM 可能随时对其进行更改。IBM 并不一定在开展业务的所有国家或地区提供所有产品或服务。本文档内的信息“按现状”提供,不附有任何种类的(无论是明示的还是默示的)保证,包括不附有关于适销性、适用于某种特定用途的任何保证以及非侵权的任何保证或条件。IBM 产品根据其提供时所依据的协议条款和条件获得保证。

Central Nacional Unimed
Keeping health insurance customers covered with fast, accurate medical bill analysis
Person with an umbrella walking in a raining day

Millions of Brazilians rely on health insurance from Central Nacional Unimed (CNU) to access vital medical care and safeguard against unexpected costs. With business volumes growing, CNU made the move to electronic content and streamlined workflows—speeding processing by 10 percent to ensure that medical bills are paid on time.

Business challenge

As corporate health insurer CNU’s business boomed, reliance on manual medical bill analysis slowed turnaround times and drove up costs—threatening to delay critical payments.

Transformation

CNU can process some 1.3 million medical bills a month more quickly and accurately than ever, thanks to digitized content and automated processes, driven by IBM Enterprise Content Management software.

Results 90%
lower administrative costs, boosting profitability
10%
faster processing of medical bills, resulting in timelier payments
35%
less time spent analyzing bills, freeing staff to take on more work
Business challenge story
Taking the pain out of bill processing

Central Nacional Unimed (CNU) markets corporate medical care plans, special benefits and specialized care to some of Brazil’s biggest companies. CNU primarily serves large national enterprises, operating in a minimum of three states and covering at least 300 beneficiaries (both policyholders and dependents). It also works with a number of small and medium-sized enterprises. Today, CNU has more than 1.6 million customers throughout Brazil.

Every month, CNU processes an average of 1.3 million medical bills on behalf of its beneficiaries, of which 120,000 come with supporting documents. The process is a complex one—analysts must evaluate the bill based on a number of factors, such as days spent in treatment, types of services and supplies used, diagnoses and more, in order to determine whether they will pay the entire bill, a portion of the bill, or if they will deny the bill outright.

Previously, CNU relied on largely manual methods to evaluate medical bills. Not only was the process time-consuming, it came with a high risk of error; all of which threatened to prevent CNU from reimbursing healthcare providers promptly and accurately.

With business volumes growing steadily, CNU knew that the days of manual processing were numbered.

Felipe Garcia Rios, Systems Consultant at CNU, elaborates: “Delays were becoming increasingly common, and costs were rising as we had to take on more staff. We could not afford to keep throwing resources at the problem, and needed to find a way to make processing more efficient. This would allow us to analyze bills faster and scale up to handle rising workload.”

Since introducing IBM Enterprise Content Management solutions, we have shortened the average processing time for bills by 10 percent. Paulo Januzzi Director of Healthcare and Exchange Central Nacional Unimed
Transformation story
Going digital

CNU overhauled its approach to medical bill processing, embracing IBM Enterprise Content Management solutions to digitize documents and automate workflows. In less than six months, the company was able to transform mountains of paper files into a rich store of electronic content and introduce an advanced case management platform that streamlines medical bill analysis and processing.

Felipe Garcia Rios comments: “Unlike other vendors, who could only offer a mix of point solutions, IBM was able to deliver the complete package. We got everything we were looking for in a single, integrated platform.

Today, when CNU receives a bill, it scans the document and uses an IBM® Datacap solution to automatically capture and index key information from the electronic file. All of the digitized bills are stored in a central IBM FileNet® Content Manager repository.

IBM Case Manager provides analysts with a single point of control for processing medical bills. From one screen, users can view all the information related to a particular item, including a detailed breakdown of procedures and prices, along with a copy of the original medical bill itself. CNU has also established a series of task workflows that guide analysts through every step they need to review and process a bill.

The Case Manager platform is seamlessly integrated with FileNet Content Manager and CNU’s core enterprise resource planning (ERP) system, giving analysts easy access to a wealth of data on payments, customers and providers.

"We now have the solid foundation we need to keep growing our business and deliver consistently excellent service to our partners and customers, who rely on us for cost-effective access to healthcare. Felipe Garcia Rios Systems Consultant Central Nacional Unimed
Results story
Gearing up for growth

CNU’s new approach to medical bill handling has supercharged the productivity of analysts and enabled them to work in a much more flexible way.

“Moving away from paper has completely changed the way that people work,” states Felipe Garcia Rios. “Our analysts no longer need to hunt through boxes and filing cabinets to find the information they need; all they have to do is perform a simple search and the relevant content will appear on their computer screen. And as multiple people can access the same documents simultaneously, there’s no need to wait around for specific records, so analysts can get right down to work.”

He continues: “With easier access to content and more automated processes, our analysts can manage their workload much more effectively, and get through a much higher volume of work than before.”

The efficiency gains have translated into shorter cycle times and impressive cost savings, as Paulo Januzzi, Director of Healthcare and Exchange, explains: “Since introducing IBM Enterprise Content Management solutions, we have reduced the time taken to analyze medical bills by 35 percent, and have shortened the average processing time for bills by 10 percent. The result is that analysts can make timelier decisions about paying bills and CNU can reimburse healthcare providers faster, helping us maintain positive relationships with these partners.

“What’s more, by minimizing our use of paper and making other process improvements, we have been able to cut administrative costs by 90 percent. This has delivered a huge boost to our bottom line.

Embracing electronic content and workflows has enabled CNU to break down the barriers to growth, enabling the company to scale up operations to manage rising business volumes without increasing headcount.

Felipe Garcia Rios notes: “We have taken medical bill processing to the next level with IBM Enterprise Content Management solutions. Teams are working faster and more accurately, and we have been able to handle a much higher workload without taking on additional staff. We now have the solid foundation we need to keep growing our business and deliver consistently excellent service to our partners and customers, who rely on us for cost-effective access to healthcare.”

Unimed logo
Central Nacional Unimed

The Central Nacional Unimed (CNU) (link resides outside of ibm.com) sells and manages health insurance plans on behalf of Unimed—Brazil’s largest healthcare cooperative. Established in 1998, CNU serves more than 1.67 million customers and employs over 1,400 people.

Take the next step

To learn more about IBM ECM solutions, please contact your IBM representative or IBM business partner.



View more client stories or learn more about IBM Analytics

Footnotes

 

© Copyright IBM Corporation 2017. IBM Corporation, Route 100, Somers, NY 10589. Produced in the United States of America, March 2017. IBM, the IBM logo, FileNet, and ibm.com are trademarks of International Business Machines Corp., registered in many jurisdictions worldwide. Other product and service names might be trademarks of IBM or other companies. A current list of IBM trademarks is available on the web at “Copyright and trademark information” at ibm.com/legal/copytrade.shtml. This document is current as of the initial date of publication and may be changed by IBM at any time. Not all offerings are available in every country in which IBM operates. THE INFORMATION IN THIS DOCUMENT IS PROVIDED “AS IS” WITHOUT ANY WARRANTY, EXPRESS OR IMPLIED, INCLUDING WITHOUT ANY WARRANTIES OF MERCHANTABILITY, FITNESS FOR A PARTICULAR PURPOSE AND ANY WARRANTY OR CONDITION OF NON-INFRINGEMENT. IBM products are warranted according to the terms and conditions of the agreements under which they are provided.