转型整个制造产品组合的可持续发展报告工作
Celestica 如何整合并浏览 ESG 数据并简化报告工作
探索 IBM Envizi
一个人在山中看着瀑布

对于全球制造业来说,由于需要监测和审计的国际场所往往非常广泛,因此环境、社会和治理 (ESG) 报告工作可能特别复杂繁琐。

越来越多的企业开始使用 IBM® Envizi ESG Suite 等可持续性软件,协助整合、浏览 ESG 数据并克服报告挑战。

Celestica 是为全球顶尖创新公司提供设计、制造和供应链解决方案的领导者,在全球拥有 20,000 多名员工,在 15 个国家/地区的 50 多个场所开展业务。Celestica 提供从产品设计到寿命终止管理在内的端到端产品生命周期服务,服务航空航天和国防、通信、企业、健康科技、工业、资本设备和能源等诸多市场。

Celestica Celestica 以其在产品开发的每个阶段(从绘图板到全面生产和售后服务)都能提供全球专业知识而闻名。

下载此个案研究

数字化可减少错误

 

编译数据并将其转换为可用的输出,助力消除手动数据输入中的错误。

提高数据质量

 

自动化复杂计算和报告活动形成可审计的数据。

集中数据

 

所有场所的人员都可以将数据输入 IBM Envizi ESG Suite 并将其编译并转换为可用的输出。

现在,每个场所的员工都可以将数据输入 IBM Envizi ESG Suite,并将其编译并转换为可用的输出。人很容易犯错误,因此数据管理软件有助于减少错误。 Jessica Peixoto 可持续发展经理 Celestica Inc.
Celestica 在可持续发展领域的领导地位

Jessica Peixoto 在 Celestica 加拿大多伦多总部担任可持续发展经理,负责管理企业的温室气体 (GHG) 减排战略,并监督 Celestica 的综合报告要求。

“包括与我们的全球设施合作,减少能耗、使用可再生能源,并使用 IBM Envizi ESG Suite 跟踪企业环境数据”,Peixoto 说。

Peixoto 参与了 Celestica 的一系列可持续发展项目,亮点项目包括实施基于科学的目标,在企业设施中增加可再生能源的使用以及参与联合国全球契约。

她在将 Celestica 的数据传播为可行的结果方面发挥了至关重要的作用,并于 2019 年荣膺 Corporate Knights(ibm.com 外部链接)“加拿大 30 位 30 岁以下可持续发展领袖”。十多年来,Celestica 一直将可持续发展融入业务的各个方面,推动可持续发展旅程已成为全公司的共同承诺。

Peixoto 指出,最近高级管理层在可持续发展目标推进方面的工作(包括董事会提名和公司治理委员会内的 ESG 监督)正体现了这一承诺。

Peixoto 认为这些举措是重要的里程碑,解释说:“这种治理模式将渗透到每个团队,实现可持续发展与业务的各个方面的挂钩。”

高级管理层对公司脱碳和可持续发展之旅的参与度呈现出大幅上升趋势。高管正联合可持续发展经理积极参与制定公司可持续发展工作的战略优先事项,这种做法表明了推动减排的紧迫性。

在可持续发展领域的领导地位以及全公司推动可持续发展的承诺也使 Celestica 在 Corporate Knights“加拿大 50 位最佳企业公民”榜单中名列前五(ibm.com 外部链接),表彰了公司在 21 项指标上领先于不同行业的其他组织。

转变报告流程

从手动数据输入到现在在屡获殊荣的可持续发展商业出版物中排名靠前,Celestica 实现了公司可持续发展工作的显著转变,包括报告流程。

公司许多设施曾经采用电子表格收集和捕获全球数据,需要手动完成相关计算。“这已经是很多年前的事了,但似乎有很多错误。这个过程非常乏味”,Peixoto 说。

IBM 软件助力企业简化了整个流程。特别是,Celestica 发现,编排合理的排放系数和有用的输出(例如排放总量和各种废物流的报告)降低了报告工作的难度。

“如果没有这套软件,我们就不得不从世界各地收集各种单位的数据,并手动编译”,Peixoto 说。“现在,每个场所的员工都可以将数据输入 IBM Envizi ESG Suite,并将其编译并转换为可用的输出。人很容易犯错误,因此数据管理软件有助于减少错误。”

对于许多负责内部报告和外部报告框架的可持续发展经理来说,数据管理和准确性是个难题。IBM Envizi ESG Suite 通过实现复杂计算的自动化,解决了这个难题,从而企业可以将精力集中在其他活动上,例如目标设定和其他战略优先事项。

Peixoto 正是如此,她专注于设定目标并完成最新的可持续发展报告,详细介绍 Celestica 的战略和宏大可持续发展目标,包括:

  • 到 2025 年,相较 2018 年基准年,范围 1 和范围 2 温室气体绝对排放量减少 30%。
  • 到 2025 年,相较 2018 年基准年,范围 3 温室气体绝对排放量(燃料和能源相关活动、货物采购和服务、上下游运输和分销等)减少 10%。
与联合国可持续发展目标和 GRI、SASB 和 TCFD 等报告框架保持一致有助于提高企业透明度,并推动解决全球面临的许多问题。 Jessica Peixoto 可持续发展经理 Celestica Inc.
制造业中的 ESG 挑战

制造业面临一些特有的可持续发展挑战,例如使用大型工业设备和必要的暖通空调系统,以及供应链物流排放和材料浪费。

“与联合国可持续发展目标和 GRI、SASB 和 TCFD 等报告框架保持一致有助于提高企业透明度,并推动解决全球面临的许多问题”,Peixoto 解释道。

ESG 和可持续发展报告的未来

制造业的 ESG 和可持续发展才刚刚开始。Peixoto 认为行业将更加关注能源效率并进一步减少温室气体排放。

“工厂将有更多的可再生能源选择,但也需要为电动汽车行业和其他智能能源产品制造更多部件”,Peixoto 说。

ESG 的其他要素与可持续性同样重要。例如,多元和包容性是 Celestica 和整个行业日益关注的焦点,这将继续推动变革议程。

Peixoto 对其他可持续发展领导者的建议很简单:保持热情、不断学习。

“可持续发展/气候变化领域的科学、战略和标准在不断发展,因此必须不断扩充个人的知识库和组织的举措”,她说。“对自己所做的事情保持热情也同样重要。”

如需查看 Celestica 的最新可持续发展报告,请访问其网站(ibm.com 外部链接)。

Celestica Inc. 徽标
关于 Celestica Inc.

Celestica(ibm.com 外部链接)为全球领先品牌提供支持。秉持以客户为中心的方法,Celestica 与众多市场中的领头羊合作,为他们最复杂的挑战提供解决方案。

作为设计、制造、硬件平台和供应链解决方案领域的领导者,Celestica 在产品开发的每个阶段(从绘图板到全面生产和售后服务)都提供全球专业知识和洞察。公司总部位于安大略省多伦多。



接下来:
探索 IBM Envizi Downer Group

通过转变其可持续性数据捕获和脱碳战略,Downer Group 能够快速确定哪些有效,哪些无效。

阅读成功案例
Melbourne Water

Melbourne Water 简化了其可持续发展报告,以创建单一的能源使用和 ESG 绩效记录系统。

阅读成功案例
Growthpoint Properties

满足项目干系人对主动披露范围 3 排放的要求。

阅读成功案例
法律

© Copyright IBM Corporation 2022. IBM Corporation, New Orchard Road, Armonk, NY 10504

2022 年 12 月在美国制作。

IBM、IBM 徽标和 ibm.com 是 International Business Machines Corp. 在世界各地司法辖区的注册商标。其他产品和服务名称可能是 IBM 或其他公司的商标。以下网站上的“Copyright and trademark information”部分中包含了 IBM 商标的最新列表:http://www.ibm.com/cn-zh/legal/copytrade

本文档为自最初公布日期起的最新版本,IBM 可能随时对其进行更改。IBM 并不一定在开展业务的所有国家或地区提供所有产品或服务。

文中引用的性能数据和客户实例仅作说明之用。实际性能结果可能因具体配置和操作条件而异。本文档内的信息“按现状”提供,不附有任何种类的(无论是明示的还是默示的)保证,包括不附有关于适销性、适用于某种特定用途的任何保证以及非侵权的任何保证或条件。IBM 产品根据其提供时所依据的协议条款和条件获得保证。

客户负责确保遵守适用的法律和法规。IBM 不提供任何法律咨询,也不声明或保证其服务或产品经确保客户遵循任何法律或法规。

Transforming sustainability reporting across the manufacturing portfolio

How Celestica consolidates and navigates ESG data and streamlines reporting

6-minute read
Waterfall with hiker looking at it

For the global manufacturing industry, environmental, social and governance (ESG) reporting can be particularly complicated and cumbersome given the often extensive portfolio of international sites requiring monitoring and auditing.

Increasingly organizations are utilizing sustainability software, such the IBM® Envizi Sustainability Performance Management suite, to help consolidate and navigate their ESG data and to overcome these reporting obstacles.

Celestica, a leader in design, manufacturing and supply chain solutions for the world’s most innovative companies, has over 20,000 employees worldwide and operates in over 50 sites across 15 countries. Providing end-to-end product lifecycle services from product design through to end-of-life management, Celestica supports a range of markets, including aerospace and defense, communications, enterprise, healthtech, industrial, capital equipment, and energy.

Celestica is known for its ability to bring global expertise to every stage of product development — from the drawing board to full-scale production and after-market services.

Aerial view on green pine forest.

Compiles and transforms data into usable outputs and helps

eliminate

errors from manual data entry

Automation of complex calculations and reporting

produces

finance-grade, auditable data

Now, individuals at each of our sites can input data into the IBM Envizi Sustainability Performance Management suite and have it compiled and transformed into usable outputs. It is very easy to make mistakes on your own, so data management software helps alleviate some of those errors.
Jessica Peixoto
Sustainability Manager, Celestica Inc.

Sustainability leadership across Celestica

Celestica 2020 sustainability highlights

Based out of Celestica’s head office in Toronto, Canada, Jessica Peixoto is a Sustainability Manager who has been instrumental in managing the organization’s greenhouse gas (GHG) emissions reductions strategies, whilst also overseeing Celestica’s comprehensive reporting requirements.

“This includes working with our global facilities to reduce energy usage and implement renewable energy, and to track our environmental data using the IBM Envizi Sustainability Performance Management suite,” says Peixoto.

Peixoto has been involved in a number of exciting sustainability projects with Celestica, but some highlights include implementing a science-based target, increasing the use of renewable energy in its facilities and participating in the United Nations Global Compact.

She plays a crucial role in disseminating Celestica’s data into actionable results, having been recognized as a “Top 30 Under 30 Sustainability Leader in Canada” by Corporate KnightsExternal Link in 2019. This commitment to advancing Celestica’s journey is shared company-wide, with Celestica having integrated sustainability into all aspects of the business for over 10 years.

Peixoto notes that most recently this has been reflected in the implementation of sustainability objectives into its senior management levels, including ESG oversight within the Nominating and Corporate Governance Committee on the Board of Directors.

Describing these initiatives as major milestones, Peixoto explained that: “This governance model will trickle down into each team, tying sustainability into all aspects of the business.”

C-suite involvement in an organization’s decarbonization and sustainability journey is experiencing a sharp upward trend. Executives are now actively involved in setting strategic priorities for the organization’s sustainability efforts alongside sustainability managers — a welcomed approach indicating the urgency to deliver increased emissions reductions.

This corporate leadership and Celestica’s company-wide commitment to driving sustainability has also earned Celestica a top five spot in the Corporate Knights “Best 50 Canadian Corporate Citizens,” External Link a significant accomplishment that sees it ranking ahead of other organizations across different industries based on 21 indicators.

Transforming the reporting process

From manual data entry to now ranking highly on an award-winning sustainability business publication, Celestica has significantly transformed its sustainability efforts, including its reporting processes.

Global data for its many facilities were once gathered and captured in spreadsheets, where calculations needed to be done manually. “This was many years ago, but it seems like there were many errors. It was a very tedious process,” Peixoto says.

IBM software has helped streamline the whole process. In particular, Celestica found that reporting has become easier through well-organized emissions factors and useful outputs such as emissions totals and reporting on different waste streams.

Female engineer showing the production plan to a worker on her digital tablet.

“For us, without the software, we would have to collect data from all around the world, in different units, and compile it manually,” says Peixoto. “Now, individuals at each of our sites can input data into the IBM Envizi Sustainability Performance Management suite and have it compiled and transformed into usable outputs. It is very easy to make mistakes on your own, so data management software helps alleviate some of those errors.”

Data management and accuracy is a relatable challenge for many sustainability managers who are accountable for internal reporting but also external reporting frameworks. The IBM Envizi Sustainability Performance Management suite eliminates this challenge by automating complex calculations, so organizations can focus their efforts on other activities, such as target setting and other strategic priorities.

Peixoto is doing just that by focusing on setting targets and completing the latest sustainability report detailing Celestica’s strategies and aspirational sustainability goals, which include:

  • Reducing absolute Scope 1 and Scope 2 GHG emissions by 30% by 2025 from a 2018 base year.
  • Reducing absolute Scope 3 GHG emissions from fuel and energy-related activities purchased goods, and services, and upstream and downstream transportation and distribution 10% by 2025 from a 2018 base year.

  • Aligning with the UN Sustainable Development Goals and reporting frameworks like the GRI, SASB and TCFD all help to make companies more transparent and work to solve many of the issues faced globally.
    Jessica Peixoto
    Sustainability Manager, Celestica Inc.

    ESG challenges in manufacturing

    The manufacturing industry has some unique sustainability challenges, such as the use of large industrial equipment and necessary HVAC systems, as well as supply chain logistics emissions and material waste.

    “Aligning with the UN Sustainable Development Goals and reporting frameworks like the GRI, SASB and TCFD, all help to make companies more transparent and work to solve many of the issues faced globally,” Peixoto explains.

    The future of ESG and sustainability reporting

    For the manufacturing industry, ESG and sustainability are just getting started. Peixoto foresees an increased focus on energy efficiency and a greater reduction of GHG emissions.

    “There will be more renewable energy options at sites, but also a need to manufacture more items for the EV industry and other smart energy products,” says Peixoto.

    Just as important as sustainability are the other elements of ESG. For example, diversity and inclusion are an increased focus for Celestica and the industry as a whole, which will continue to drive the agenda for change.

    Peixoto’s advice for other sustainability leaders is simple: stay passionate and keep learning.

    “The science, strategies and standards within the sustainability/climate change realm are constantly evolving, so it is important to keep growing your knowledge base and your organization’s initiatives,” she says. “But it’s just as important to maintain a passion for what you do.”

    To view Celestica’s latest Sustainability Report, please visit its website.

    Celestica Inc. logo
    About Celestica Inc.

    Celestica External Link enables the world’s best brands. Through its unrivalled customer-centric approach, Celestica partners with leading companies in numerous markets to deliver solutions for their most complex challenges. A leader in design, manufacturing, hardware platform and supply chain solutions, Celestica brings global expertise and insight at every stage of product development — from the drawing board to full-scale production and after-market services. The company’s headquarters are in Toronto, Ontario.

    Solution component
    Celestica Inc. logo
    About Celestica Inc.

    Celestica External Link enables the world’s best brands. Through its unrivalled customer-centric approach, Celestica partners with leading companies in numerous markets to deliver solutions for their most complex challenges. A leader in design, manufacturing, hardware platform and supply chain solutions, Celestica brings global expertise and insight at every stage of product development — from the drawing board to full-scale production and after-market services. The company’s headquarters are in Toronto, Ontario.

    Solution component