ARAUCO 了解更多信息

利用实时数据播下可持续增长的种子,提升绿色绩效

ARAUCO 是世界领先的可再生能源生产商之一,产品包括木材、工程木材和能源。为了增强竞争优势并提高环境绩效,ARAUCO 使用 IBM® Rapid Move for SAP S/4HANA® 来缩短获得高级分析功能所需的时间:帮助其提高效率、减少浪费和削减成本。

业务挑战

要在竞争激烈的环境中运营,效率对于 ARAUCO 至关重要。为了实现更快、更明智的决策,该公司瞄准了 SAP S/4HANA 的实时分析。

变革

为了加速从 SAP ERP 到 SAP S/4HANA 的迁移,ARAUCO 选择了来自 IBM Services™ 的 IBM Rapid Move for SAP S/4HANA,这是最佳实践、加速器和自动化的强大组合。

结果 显著
缩短迁移到 SAP S/4HANA 的时间,加快实现价值
决策者提供近乎实时的数据,有助于提高效率
支持
创新,从支持物联网的预测性维护开始
业务挑战案例
应对气候危机

世界森林是应对气候变化不可或缺的资产。森林也是 ARAUCO 商业模式的核心,正如 ARAUCO 首席信息官 Leandro San Miguel 所解释的那样:

“通过林地的可持续管理,我们的目标是建立基于可再生资源的经济,我们的业务流程反映了这一愿望。例如,我们将铣削木材、加工成纤维板等复合材料过程中产生的废品,转化为木颗粒:一种为我们的制造工厂提供动力的低碳燃料。”

竞争空间

ARAUCO 所在的行业中,高效运营对商业成功至关重要。

“每次因为不得不关停维护生产基地,而错过交货期限时,我们都会感受到对利润的影响,”Leandro San Miguel 说。“与此同时,森林火灾也是一个威胁。我们必须确保我们的种植园以预期的速度成熟——考虑到它们跨越数千公顷的土地,这是一项艰巨的任务——并平衡客户订单的即时性与林业发展的长期尺度。”

迎接挑战

近年来,ARAUCO 积极拥抱技术来应对这些挑战。ARAUCO 现在使用一批配备摄像头的无人机来监测森林,并确保树木茂盛。

“我们意识到技术还可以帮助我们改进制造流程,”Leandro San Miguel 解释道。“借助工业物联网设备,有望将我们的旧设备转变为智能工厂。目标是使用工业物联网数据来预测设备何时面临故障风险,并主动进行维护,最大限度地减少停机时间。”

ARAUCO 发现,从旧的 SAP ERP 平台迁移到内存 SAP S/4HANA 业务套件,可以将近乎实时的数据嵌入到其维护流程中,因而寻找了合作伙伴来帮助实现其目标。

变革案例
专家合作伙伴,一流的平台

在对多家解决方案集成商进行了全面审查之后,ARAUCO 选择 IBM Services 作为其新 SAP S/4HANA 解决方案的实施合作伙伴。

“我们选择 IBM Services 来引导我们完成转型之旅的关键原因之一,是他们采用独特的快速通道方法,从 SAP ERP 迁移到 SAP S/4HANA,”Leandro San Miguel 回忆道。“当 IBM 展示 IBM Rapid Move for SAP S/4HANA 方法时,我们立即认识到了其价值。”

他继续说道:“IBM 与转型软件公司 SNP Group 合作,创建了一种方法,其中包括影响评估、加速器和自动化数据转换工具。因此,与传统的手动方法相比,作为迁移到 SAP S/4HANA 的一部分的 Unicode 转换等基本任务得到了显著简化。”

ARAUCO 决定放弃本地系统,并使用 IBM Application Management Services for SAP Solutions,在云上部署新的 SAP 解决方案。

“我们的 SAP 解决方案必须全天候可用,”Leandro San Miguel 解释道。“借助适用于 SAP 解决方案的 IBM Cloud Managed Services,我们不仅可以安心地享受强大的服务级别协议,而且还无需管理支持新 SAP 解决方案的底层技术堆栈,从而能够专注于我们的核心竞争力。”

走向成功

通过遵循 IBM Rapid Move for SAP S/4HANA 中规定的方法,ARAUCO 有望实现向 IBM Cloud 中内存 SAP S/4HANA 套件的快速、低风险过渡。

“我们与 IBM Services 的合作始于 IBM HANA 影响评估”,Leandro San Miguel 说道。“这个过程有助于我们在项目开始之前识别潜在的技术障碍,并制定有效的策略来克服这些障碍,这种方法让我们对 IBM 团队无缝过渡到 SAP S/4HANA 的能力充满信心。”

如今,IBM Services 正在与 ARAUCO 合作,通过升级关键组件(例如一步启用 Unicode 转换),帮助该公司准备其现有的本地 SAP ERP 环境,以便迁移到云。在 IBM Cloud 中为 SAP S/4HANA 建立测试、质量保证和生产环境后,IBM 将把数据转移到新平台中。

“通过在美国东海岸和西海岸的两个 IBM 数据中心之间镜像我们的数据,我们可以确保我们的 SAP 平台即使在一个站点发生故障时也能保持在线,”Leandro San Miguel 补充道。“借助 IBM Application Management for SAP Solutions,我们可以为全球六个国家/地区的运营提供可靠的 24/7 SAP 服务。”

使用 IBM Rapid Move for SAP S/4HANA,我们估计将大大缩短云转型之旅的时间表。 Leandro San Miguel CIO ARAUCO
RESULT 案例
引领革命

借助 SAP S/4HANA,ARAUCO 准备根据近乎实时的运营洞察做出决策,从而释放其数据的真正价值。

“技术是应对气候危机的有力方法,”Leandro San Miguel 说。“使用 IBM Rapid Move for SAP S/4HANA,我们估计与传统方法相比,我们将大大缩短云转型之旅的时间。”

他继续说道:“当我们使用 SAP S/4HANA 时,我们将获得有助于提高效率并提高利润绩效的功能。通过为工厂配备工业物联网 [IoT] 设备,我们将能够使用预测性维护来最大限度地提高资产的可用性,并降低代价高昂的延误风险。”

通往可持续未来的路线图

ARAUCO 与 IBM 密切合作,正在推动其数字化转型计划。除了在南美现有的制造工厂部署工业物联网 (IoT) 设备外,该公司还投资了 200 多项技术计划,其中包括建设下一代智能工厂。

“我们的商业模式是应对气候变化和全球人口增长挑战的可持续答案,”Leandro San Miguel 评论道。“通过维护健康的人工林,我们帮助捕获碳,为我们业务所在的国家获得更清洁的空气做贡献。通过使用实时数据管理我们的业务,我们确保以精益、具有成本效益的方式运营,从而提高利润、释放资金,投资于业务增长。”

他总结道:“借助 SAP S/4HANA 和 IBM Services,我们处于有利地位,可以将业务扩展到新的全球市场,并将可再生能源的益处带给世界各地更多的人。”

借助 SAP S/4HANA 和 IBM 服务,我们处于有利地位,可以将业务扩展到新的全球市场,并将可再生能源的益处带给世界各地更多的人。 Leandro San Miguel CIO ARAUCO
ARAUCO 徽标
ARAUCO

ARAUCO(链接位于 ibm.com 外部)成立于 1979 年,总部位于智利圣地亚哥,是一家木浆、工程木材和林业公司。该公司在北美、南美以及欧洲和南非拥有 47 个制造工厂,年收入相当于 57 亿美元。

采取下一步行动

要了解有关 IBM SAP 联盟的更多信息,请联系您的 IBM 代表或 IBM 业务合作伙伴,或访问:ibm.com/sap

要了解有关 IBM Services 的更多信息,请联系您的 IBM 代表或 IBM 业务合作伙伴,或访问: ibm.com/services/sap/s4hana

查看更多客户案例了解有关 IBM Services 的更多信息

SNP 集团总部位于德国海德堡,帮助组织转变业务模式并采用新技术。SNP Group 在全球拥有超过 1,350 名员工,其软件和服务使企业能够更轻松地使其全球业务应用程序实现现代化和优化,从而支持数据驱动的决策。要了解有关 SNP 集团解决方案的更多信息,请访问:snpgroup.com(链接位于 ibm.com 之外)。

查看 PDF (3.37 MB)
法律

© Copyright IBM Corporation 2020. 1 New Orchard Road, Armonk, New York 10504-1722 United States.

2020 年 4 月在美国制作。

IBM、IBM 徽标、ibm.com 以及 IBM Security 是 International Business Machines Corp. 在世界各地司法辖区的注册商标。其他产品和服务名称可能是 IBM 或其他公司的商标。以下网址的 “Copyright and trademark information” 部分中包含了最新的 IBM 商标列表: ibm.com/legal/copytrade.shtml。

IBM 并不一定在开展业务的所有国家或地区提供所有产品或服务。

文中引用的性能数据和客户实例仅作说明之用。实际性能结果可能因具体配置和操作条件而异。

以上所有引用或描述的客户实例的展示取决于部分客户使用 IBM 产品的方式以及他们可能取得的结果。实际的环境成本和性能特征会因具体客户配置和情况而有所不同。请联系 IBM,咨询 IBM 产品和服务详情。

用户自行负责评估和验证任何其他产品或程序与 IBM 产品和程序搭配运行的情况。

客户负责确保遵守适用的法律和法规。IBM 不提供任何法律咨询,也不声明或保证其服务或产品经确保客户遵循任何法律或法规。

© 2020 SAP SE。保留所有权利。此处提到的 SAP、R/3、SAP NetWeaver、Duet、PartnerEdge、ByDesign、SAP BusinessObjects Explorer、StreamWork、SAP HANA 以及其各自的徽标是 SAP SE 在德国和其他国家的商标或注册商标。 这些材料由 SAP SE 或 SAP 附属公司提供,仅供参考,不作任何形式的陈述或保证,并且 SAP SE 或其附属公司不对这些材料的错误或遗漏承担责任。本文档或任何相关演示文稿以及 SAP SE 或其附属公司的战略以及未来可能的开发、产品和/或平台方向和功能均可能发生变更,并且 SAP SE 或其附属公司可能随时进行更改出于任何原因,恕不另行通知。

Business challenge

Operating in a competitive environment, efficiency is crucial for ARAUCO. To enable faster, better-informed decision-making, the company targeted real-time analytics from SAP S/4HANA.

Transformation

To accelerate the migration from SAP ERP to SAP S/4HANA, ARAUCO selected IBM Rapid Move for SAP S/4HANA from IBM Services™—a powerful combination of best practices, accelerators and automation.

Results

Significant

reduction in time to migrate to SAP S/4HANA, cutting time-to-value

Delivers

near-real-time data to decision-makers, helping to boost efficiency

Supports

innovation, beginning with IoT-enabled predictive maintenance

Business challenge story

Taking on the climate crisis

The world’s forests are indispensable assets in the fight against climate change. They are also at the very heart of the ARAUCO business model, as Leandro San Miguel, CIO at ARAUCO, explains:

“Through the sustainable management of forestland, our goal is to build an economy based on renewable resources, and our business processes reflect this aspiration. For example, we convert the waste products from milling lumber into composite materials like fiberboard, and into wood pellets: a low-carbon fuel that powers our manufacturing plants.”  

Competitive space

ARAUCO operates in an industry where operating efficiently is crucial for commercial success. 

“Every time we miss a delivery window because we have to shut down a manufacturing site for maintenance, we feel the impact at the bottom line,” says Leandro San Miguel. “At the same time, forest fires are a threat. We must ensure that our plantations are maturing at the anticipated rate—a tough task considering they span thousands of hectares of land—and balance the immediacy of customer orders with the long timescales of forestry.”  

Rising to the challenge

In recent years, ARAUCO has embraced technology to address these challenges. ARAUCO now uses a fleet of camera-equipped drones to monitor its forests and ensure that its trees are thriving. 

“We realized that technology could also help us to enhance our manufacturing processes,” explains Leandro San Miguel. “The availability of industrial IoT devices promised to transform our old equipment into smart factories. The goal was to use industrial IoT data to predict when equipment was at risk of failure, and perform maintenance proactively to minimize downtime.”

ARAUCO saw that moving from its older SAP ERP platform to the in-memory SAP S/4HANA business suite would enable it to embed near-real-time data into its maintenance processes, and looked for a partner to help achieve its goal.  

Transformation story

Expert partner, best-in-class platform

After a thorough review of multiple solution integrators, ARAUCO selected IBM Services as its implementation partner for the new SAP S/4HANA solution.

“One of the key reasons that we chose IBM Services to steer us through our transformation journey was their unique, fast-track approach to moving from SAP ERP to SAP S/4HANA,” recalls Leandro San Miguel. “When IBM presented their IBM Rapid Move for SAP S/4HANA approach, we immediately recognized the value.”

He continues, “In collaboration with transformation software company SNP Group, IBM has created a methodology that includes impact assessments, accelerators and automated data conversion tools. As a result, essential tasks such as Unicode conversion as part of the move to SAP S/4HANA are streamlined dramatically compared to traditional, manual approaches.”

ARAUCO decided to move away from on-premises systems and deploy the new SAP solution on cloud using IBM Application Management Services for SAP Solutions.

“Round-the-clock availability for our SAP solutions is a must,” explains Leandro San Miguel. “With IBM Cloud Managed Services for SAP Solutions, we not only gain the peace of mind that comes with robust service-level agreements, we are also liberated from the need to manage the underlying technology stack that supports the new SAP solutions, freeing us to focus on our core competencies.”  

On track for success

By following the approach laid out in IBM Rapid Move for SAP S/4HANA, ARAUCO is on track to achieve a fast and low-risk transition to the in-memory SAP S/4HANA suite in the IBM Cloud.

“Our engagement with IBM Services began with the IBM HANA Impact Assessment,” says Leandro San Miguel. “This process helped to identify potential technical roadblocks before we began the project, and formulate effective strategies to overcome them, an approach that gave us great confidence in the IBM team’s ability to deliver a seamless transition to SAP S/4HANA.”

Today, IBM Services is working with ARAUCO to help the company to prepare its existing on-premises SAP ERP environment for the move to the cloud by upgrading key components, such as enabling Unicode conversion in a single step. After standing up test, quality assurance and production environments for SAP S/4HANA in the IBM Cloud, IBM will move data into the new platform.

“By mirroring our data between two IBM data centers on the eastern and western coasts of the USA, we can ensure that our SAP platform stays online even in the event of an outage at one site,” adds Leandro San Miguel. “Thanks to IBM Application Management for SAP Solutions, we can offer dependable, 24/7 SAP services to our operations in six countries worldwide.”  

Using IBM Rapid Move for SAP S/4HANA, we estimate that we will cut the timeline for our cloud transformation journey significantly.

Leandro San Miguel, CIO, ARAUCO

Results story

Leading the fight

With SAP S/4HANA, ARAUCO is poised to unlock the true value of its data by making decisions based on near-real-time insights into operations.

“Technology is a powerful way to combat the climate crisis,” says Leandro San Miguel. “Using IBM Rapid Move for SAP S/4HANA, we estimate that we will cut the timeline for our cloud transformation journey significantly compared to traditional methodologies.”

He continues, “When we go live with SAP S/4HANA, we will gain capabilities that will help lift our efficiency and drive performance on the bottom line. By instrumenting our factories with industrial internet-of-things [IoT] devices, we will be able to use predictive maintenance to maximize the availability of our assets and reduce the risk of costly delays.”  

With SAP S/4HANA and IBM Services, we are in a strong position to expand our business into new global markets, and bring the benefits of renewables to more people around the world.

Leandro San Miguel, CIO, ARAUCO

Roadmap to a sustainable future

In close collaboration with IBM, ARAUCO is driving ahead with its digital transformation program. In addition to deploying industrial internet-of-things (IoT) devices across its existing manufacturing facilities in South America, the company is investing in more than 200 technology initiatives, which include the construction of next-generation smart factories.

“Our business model is a sustainable answer to challenges of a changing climate and a growing global population,” comments Leandro San Miguel. “By maintaining healthy forest plantations, we help capture carbon and contribute to cleaner air for the countries we operate in. And by managing our business with real-time data, we ensure that we operate in a lean, cost-efficient way that strengthens our margin and frees up capital for investment in business growth.”

He concludes, “With SAP S/4HANA and IBM Services, we are in a strong position to expand our business into new global markets, and bring the benefits of renewables to more people around the world.”

business logo

About ARAUCO

Founded in 1979 and headquartered in Santiago, Chile, ARAUCO is a wood pulp, engineered wood and forestry company. With 47 manufacturing facilities across North and South America as well as Europe and South Africa, the company generates annual revenues equivalent to US$5.7 billion.

Take the next step

To learn more about the IBM SAP Alliance, please contact your IBM representative or IBM Business Partner, or visit: ibm.com/sap

To learn more about IBM Services, please contact your IBM representative or IBM Business Partner, or visit: ibm.com/services/sap/s4hana 

View more client stories or learn more about IBM Services

Headquartered in Heidelberg, Germany, SNP Group helps organizations transform their business models and embrace new technologies. Employing over 1,350 people worldwide, SNP Group’s software and services make it easier for businesses to modernize and enhance their global business applications: enabling data-driven decision-making. To learn more about solutions from SNP Group, please visit: snpgroup.com