确保自动化、集成的数字化未来
Aon Italy 利用 IBM Cloud Paks 实现保险和风险流程现代化
意大利城市全景图

2020 年春季,当新冠疫情导致企业停顿时,与许多公司相比,Aon Italy 做好了更充分的准备。几年前,该公司开始进行数字化转型,旨在实现核心流程自动化并支持员工远程工作。这种远见卓识使 Aon Italy 公司不仅度过了危机,而且蓬勃发展。IBM Cloud Pak® 和 Red Hat® OpenShift® 解决方案是推动转型的关键。

Aon Italy 是 Aon plc 的子公司,后者是一家跨国专业服务公司,为企业和消费者提供广泛的商业风险、再保险、退休、健康以及数据和分析解决方案。意大利分公司遵循与母公司相同的组织结构,在意大利各地设有 25 个办事处。

对客户满意度的强烈关注和对提高运营效率的永无休止的追求是 Aon Italy 持久成功的核心。2016 年,随着数字技术迅速改变行业面貌,该公司认识到采用数字技术的前景以及忽视数字技术的风险。

“我们希望保持在意大利的领先地位和市场份额,”Aon Italy 首席运营官 Giancarlo Baglioni 说道。“但是,世界在不断变化,新的竞争对手正在进入数字领域。我们需要开发和部署可以缩短上市时间、确保采用灵活性并帮助我们保持竞争力的应用程序,这样才能实现全面的数字化转型和对未来的新愿景。”

Aon Italy 也希望利用数据的力量。保险行业是数据驱动行业。客户信息或索赔详情等大部分数据高度敏感,并且受到政府法规的严格约束。数据还可以提供宝贵的见解,可用于改善客户体验或开发新的保险产品和服务。

自动化的优点

 

实现业务流程自动化,有可能减轻公司 1,600 名员工的工作负担

改善运营

 

在意大利的 25 个 办事处中经营 5 项业务

由于与客户和潜在客户的协作变得更加容易,我们在降低成本方面成效显著,在某些情况下还增加了收入。 Giancarlo Baglioni 首席运营官 Aon Italy

Aon Italy 将其转型计划分为多个阶段,首先从短期目标着手,实现核心承保流程自动化,减少代价高昂的人工错误,或实现医疗报销流程自动化,加快响应速度,从而在公司内部迅速取得成功,然后在中长期内将其重点扩展到客户和其他外部社区。为了实现这些目标,Aon Italy 需要自动化业务流程,简化工作流程,并对健康、风险和退休险种的应用程序和系统进行现代化整合。

自动化的容器化解决方案

Aon Italy 选择 IBM Cloud Pak for Business AutomationIBM Cloud Pak for Integration 作为自动化之旅的基础。IBM Cloud Paks 经过优化,可在任何云上的 Red Hat OpenShift 上运行,支持 Aon Italy 转型战略的三个关键组成部分:全面改革承保流程、实现 IT 环境现代化、遵守保险行业严格的合规性要求以及欧洲的 GDPR 法规。

Aon Italy 最初专注于其“集合”业务线的承保流程,该业务线专门为中小型组织及其附属机构提供定制保险计划。承保是一个复杂的端到端过程,是根据消费者的需求和情况评估风险并提供保险选择。当时,许多后端活动都是手动执行。客户在提交请求后可能需要三天时间才能收到保险报价。

为了实现自动化流程,Aon Italy 采用了多项 IBM 技术:

  • 使用 IBM Cloud Pak for Business Automation 中的工作流程功能,Aon Italy 能够评估和简化其数字工作负载,为后台员工提供工作流程和优先级的全面视图。

  • IBM Cloud Pak for Business Automation 的决策管理功能可帮助 Aon Italy 围绕定价等领域创建、自动执行和管理业务规则,使 Aon Italy 能够快速灵活地响应经济状况的变化,并为监管审计提供单一可信信息源。

  • IBM Cloud Pak for Integration 的应用程序集成功能连接了整个企业(无论是销售、IT、财务还是其他部门)与后台承保相关的应用程序,消除了错误并将正确的数据连接到正确的流程和人员。

  • 机器人流程自动化功能用于后台活动。

利用 Red Hat OpenShift 上的容器化环境,Aon Italy 可以将敏感数据和应用程序保留在本地,同时利用多云环境的灵活性、速度和可扩展性来开展日常活动。该公司通过利用在任何云中运行的能力,能够更轻松地在各种 IT 环境中与众多外部合作伙伴和提供商进行交互。

成功实施后,该公司扩大了 IBM Cloud Pak 功能的使用范围。作为一家多品牌公司,AON Italy 提供跨不同领域(例如财富、汽车、建筑、法律和合规)的企业对企业解决方案,每个领域都有自己的数据存储库。IBM Cloud Pak for Business Automation 的人工智能驱动的内容管理功能提供从单访问点访问这些不同存储库的能力,并且符合 GDPR 要求。

通过 IBM Cloud Pak for Integration,Aon Italy 正在使用 API Management 功能来创建和公开 API 以供内部和外部使用,并使用消息队列功能在应用程序之间共享消息。

“通过 IBM Cloud Paks,我们将能够利用 IBM 的全栈能力,因为合并其他组件时,它们会彼此完全集成……对于 IBM 来说,这是一个与客户(尤其是与我们)保持长期关系的绝佳策略。” Giancarlo Baglioni 首席运营官 Aon Italy
人工智能驱动的前景

如今,Aon Italy 对其 IBM 实施方案非常满意。通过减少错误和节省时间,将以前的手动任务自动化和数字化为全公司带来了显著的效益。在承保过程中尤其如此,减少了方案生成的延迟并提高了数据质量,从而节省了成本并缩短了上市时间。更高质量的数据还增强了公司与提供商谈判以及与企业客户和合作伙伴建立、衡量和满足企业服务水平协议的能力。

Baglioni 表示:“由于与客户和潜在客户的协作变得更加容易,我们在降低成本方面成效显著,在某些情况下还增加了收入。因此,它能够很好地支持营销和销售活动。另外,由于各种活动所需的工作量减少,我们内部也受益匪浅。而且,此平台还节省了公司的时间,例如承保过程中生成示例报价以及为客户报销医疗费用。”

IT 基础设施的现代化继续推动 Aon Italy 的自动化转型。该公司开展的第一个容器化项目是重建其门户应用程序,用于在微服务 Kubernetes 环境中管理医疗报销。2020 年,Aon Italy 开始将其 IBM Cloud Pak for Business Automation 解决方案迁移到在 Red Hat OpenShift 上运行的容器化环境中。

“我们已经制定了一种微服务方案,”Baglioni 说。“下一个挑战是公开每个组件,以便我们可以重用它并将它重新分配给其他应用程序,这样,就能创建我们可以针对业务服务重用的核心组件的基线。虽然我们还不知道我们的企业混合云战略是什么,但我们希望我们的数据中心能够与位置无关。这样,就可以根据需要轻松迁移应用程序。”

该公司正在研究其他项目,以进一步利用当前拥有的 IBM Cloud Pak 功能,特别是与人工智能驱动的自动化相关的功能。每个月,该公司都会处理 30,000 多封通过通用电子邮件地址接收的电子邮件,而且这个数字还在不断增加。以前,打开、分析、路由或回复每封电子邮件的过程主要是手动进行。但随着数量的增加,员工很难跟上。

目前,Aon Italy 正在探索使用 IBM Cloud Pak for Business Automation 的 IBM® Process Mining 功能,深入了解流程并确定需要改进的领域,并将 IBM Robotic Process Automation 和数据采集功能与 IBM Watson 相结合,更好地理解每封电子邮件的内容并对其进行分类。“也许在第二步中,我们可以自动化后续行动。”Baglioni 表示,“对于我们 80% 以上的邮件,这些操作都非常简单,例如归档、回复是或否,或确认收到文档。”

对于 Aon Italy,从使用 IBM Cloud Paks 的过程来看,前景确实非常光明。“它确实让我们能够利用 IBM 的全栈能力,因为合并其他组件时,它们会彼此完全集成,”Baglioni 说道。"这样,我们就不必花费额外的资金来整合它们。对于 IBM 来说,这是一个与客户(尤其是我们)保持长期关系的绝佳策略。”

Aon Italy 徽标
关于 Aon Italy

Aon Italy外部链接(ibm.com 外部链接)是 Aon Plc 的意大利分公司,Aon Plc 是一家跨国专业服务公司,为该国 S&P 40 指数中的 28 家意大利集团、超过 8,000 家中小型企业和 700 多家公共管理公司管理风险和保险计划。该公司成立于 1982 年,总部位于意大利米兰,在全国设有 25 个办事处,拥有 1,200 多名员工。

采取下一步行动

如需详细了解本案例中介绍的 IBM 解决方案,请联系您的 IBM 代表或 IBM 业务合作伙伴。

查看更多案例研究 联系 IBM Swiss Re

季度末从容不迫

阅读成功案例
TD Ameritrade

发挥作用

阅读成功案例
MNG Kargo

通过提供的优化流程推动增长

阅读成功案例
法律

© Copyright IBM Corporation 2021. IBM Corporation, Hybrid Cloud, New Orchard Road, Armonk, NY 10504

美国出品,2021 年 12 月

IBM、IBM 徽标、ibm.com 以及 IBM Cloud Pak 是 International Business Machines Corp. 在全球许多司法辖区的注册商标。其他产品和服务名称可能是 IBM 或其他公司的商标。以下网站上的“Copyright and trademark information”部分中包含了 IBM 商标的最新列表:ibm.com/legal/copyright-trademark

Red Hat®、JBoss®、OpenShift®、Fedora®、Hibernate®、Ansible®、CloudForms®、RHCA®、RHCE®、RHCSA®、Ceph® 和 Gluster® 是 Red Hat, Inc. 或其子公司在美国和其他国家/地区的商标或注册商标。

本文档为自最初公布日期起的最新版本,IBM 可能随时对其进行更改。IBM 并不一定在开展业务的所有国家或地区提供所有产品或服务。

文中引用的性能数据和客户示例仅作演示说明之用。实际性能结果可能因具体配置和操作条件而异。本文档中的信息均“按原样”提供,不涉及任何明示或暗示的保证,包括适销性、特定用途适用性的任何保证,以及不侵权的任何保证或条件。IBM 产品根据其提供时所依据的协议条款和条件获得保证。

客户负责确保遵守适用的法律和法规。IBM 不提供任何法律咨询,也不声明或保证其服务或产品经确保客户遵循任何法律或法规。

Insuring an automated, integrated digital future

Aon Italy modernizes insurance and risk processes with IBM Cloud Paks
by Kristin Fern Johnson
6-minute read
Areal view of city in Italy

When COVID-19 brought businesses to a halt in the spring of 2020, Aon Italy was better prepared than many. Several years prior, the company embarked on a digital transformation in which it automated core processes and equipped its employees to work remotely. That foresight enabled Aon Italy not only to survive the crisis, but also to thrive. IBM Cloud Pak® and Red Hat® OpenShift® solutions were key to fueling the transformation.

Aon Italy is a branch of Aon plc, a multinational professional services firm that provides a broad range of commercial risk, reinsurance, retirement, health, and data and analytics solutions to businesses and consumers. The Italian branch follows the same organizational structure as its parent company, operating in 25 offices throughout Italy.

A strong focus on customer satisfaction and a never-ending quest for improving operational efficiencies lie at the heart of Aon Italy’s enduring success. In 2016, as digital technologies were quickly changing the face of the industry, the company recognized the promise of adopting — and the risks of ignoring — them.

“We wanted to maintain our leadership and market share in Italy,” says Giancarlo Baglioni, Chief Operating Officer for Aon Italy. “But the world was changing, and new competitors were entering the digital arena. We needed to embrace a full digital transformation and a new vision for the future by developing and deploying applications that could reduce time to market, ensure adoption flexibilities and help us stay competitive.”

Aon Italy also wanted to harness the power of its data. The insurance industry is data driven. Much of that data is highly sensitive — such as customer information or claim details — and falls under tight governmental regulations. Data can also provide invaluable insights that can be applied to improving the customer experience or developing new insurance products and services.

Man using digital tablet

Automates business processes, potentially easing the workloads of the company’s

1,600

employees

Operates 5 lines of businesses out of

25

offices in Italy

We are seeing great results in terms of cost reduction, as well as in some cases revenue increases, due to easier collaboration with clients and prospects.
Giancarlo Baglioni
Chief Operating Officer, Aon Italy

Aon Italy divided its transformation initiative into phases, starting with short-term goals that could produce quick, internal wins — by automating its core underwriting process to reduce costly manual errors or its medical reimbursement process to speed response times, for example — then extending its focus to clients and other external communities in the middle-to-long term. To achieve those goals, the company needed to automate its business processes, streamline its workflows, and modernize and integrate its applications and systems across its health, risk, and retirement lines of business.

Businesspeople having a meeting
Businessman uses digital tablet in city twilight
IBM Cloud Paks allow us to take advantage of the full stack at IBM, because when you incorporate additional components, they are fully integrated with each other … It’s a great strategy on IBM’s part for maintaining long-term relationships with clients — especially with us.”
Giancarlo Baglioni
Chief Operating Officer, Aon Italy
An automated, containerized solution
IBM Cloud Paks allow us to take advantage of the full stack at IBM, because when you incorporate additional components, they are fully integrated with each other … It’s a great strategy on IBM’s part for maintaining long-term relationships with clients — especially with us.”
Giancarlo Baglioni
Chief Operating Officer, Aon Italy

Aon Italy chose IBM Cloud Pak for Business Automation and IBM Cloud Pak for Integration as the foundation of its automation journey. Optimized to run on Red Hat OpenShift on any cloud, the IBM Cloud Paks supported three key components of Aon Italy’s transformation strategy: an overhaul of its underwriting processes, modernization of its IT environment, and adherence to the insurance industry’s stringent compliance requirements as well as Europe’s GDPR regulations.

Aon Italy initially focused on the underwriting process within its “Affinity” business line, which specializes in customized insurance programs for small-to-medium organizations and their affiliates. Underwriting — assessing risk and offering insurance options based on consumers’ needs and circumstances – is a complex, end-to-end process. At the time, many of the back-end activities were manual. It could take three days for a customer to receive an insurance quote after submitting a request.

To automate the process, Aon Italy employed several IBM technologies:

  • The workflow capability in IBM Cloud Pak for Business Automation enabled Aon Italy to evaluate and streamline its digital workloads, providing a comprehensive view of workflows and priority ranking for back-office employees.
  • The decision management capability in the IBM Cloud Pak for Business Automation helped the company create, automate and manage business rules around such areas as pricing, enabling it to quickly and flexibly respond to shifts in economic conditions and providing a single source of truth for regulatory audits.
  • The application integration capability of IBM Cloud Pak for Integration connected back-office underwriting-related applications across the enterprise — whether in sales, IT, finance, or other departments — eliminating errors and connecting the right data to the right processes and people.
  • Robotic process automation capabilities for back-office activities.
  • With an environment containerized on Red Hat OpenShift, Aon Italy could keep its sensitive data and applications on premises, while taking advantage of the flexibility, speed, and scalability of a multi-cloud environment for day-to-day activities. The ability to operate in any cloud also provided the company much greater ease in interacting with its many external partners and vendors in a wide range of IT environments.

    After this successful implementation, the company expanded its use of IBM Cloud Pak capabilities. As a multi-brand company, AON Italy offers business-to-business solutions across diverse disciplines — such as wealth, automotive, construction, legal and compliance — each with its own data repositories. The IBM Cloud Pak for Business Automation’s AI-powered content management capability provides access to these disparate repositories from a single point of access and is GDPR compliant.

    And with IBM Cloud Pak for Integration, Aon Italy is using API management capability to create and expose APIs for internal and external consumption, as well as the message queueing capability to share messages between applications.

    An AI-powered outlook

    Today, Aon Italy is very happy with its IBM implementation. Automating and digitizing previously manual tasks has reaped significant benefits companywide through error reduction and time savings. This is especially true in the underwriting process, where reduced delays in proposal generation and improved data quality have resulted in cost savings and faster times to market. Higher quality data also enhances the company’s ability to negotiate with suppliers and to establish, measure and meet enterprise service level agreements with corporate customers and partners.

    “We are seeing great results in terms of cost reduction, as well as in some cases revenue increases, due to easier collaboration with clients and prospects,” says Baglioni. “So it supports marketing and selling activities very well. We also are benefiting internally from the reduced effort needed for various activities.” In addition, the platform saves the company time areas like example quote generation in the underwriting process and medical reimbursement to clients.

    Modernization of its IT infrastructure continues to drive Aon Italy’s automation transformation. The first containerization project the company undertook was to rebuild its portal application for managing medical reimbursements in a microservices Kubernetes environment. And in 2020, Aon Italy began moving its IBM Cloud Pak for Business Automation solution into a containerized environment running on Red Hat OpenShift.

    “We’ve established a microservices approach,” says Baglioni. “The next challenge is to expose each component so we can reuse it and reassign it to other applications, thereby creating a baseline of core components we can reuse for business services. While we don’t know yet exactly what our corporate hybrid cloud strategy will be, we want our datacenters to be location-independent. That way it will be very easy to move our applications as needed.”

    The company is looking into additional projects to take further advantage of its current IBM Cloud Pak capabilities, particularly those related to AI-powered automation. Every month, the company processes 30,000+ emails that come in through generic email addresses — and the number is increasing. Previously, the process for opening, analyzing and routing or responding to each email was largely manual. But as the volume increases, employees struggle to keep up.

    Currently, Aon Italy is exploring the use of the IBM® Process Mining capability of IBM Cloud Pak for Business Automation to derive insights into the process and identify areas for improvement, and the IBM Robotic Process Automation and data capture capabilities to automate the process combined with IBM Watson to better understand and classify the content of each email. “And perhaps in step two, we could automate follow up actions,” says Baglioni. “For more than 80% of our mail, those actions are very easy, such as archiving, replying yes or no, or confirming receipt of documents.”

    For Aon Italy’s evolution using IBM Cloud Paks, the future looks very bright, indeed. “It really allows us to take advantage of the full stack at IBM, because when you incorporate additional components, they are fully integrated with each other,” says Baglioni. “We don’t have to spend additional funds to integrate them. It’s a great strategy on IBM’s part for maintaining long-term relationships with clients — especially with us.”

    Aon Italy logo
    About Aon Italy

    Aon ItalyExternal Link is the Italian branch of Aon Plc, a multinational professional services firm that manages risk and insurance programs for 28 Italian groups in the country’s S&P 40 index, over 8,000 small and medium-sized businesses, and more than 700 public administration companies. Founded in 1982, the company is headquartered in Milan, Italy, and has over 1,200 employees in 25 offices throughout the country.

    Solution components
    Aon Italy logo
    About Aon Italy

    Aon ItalyExternal Link is the Italian branch of Aon Plc, a multinational professional services firm that manages risk and insurance programs for 28 Italian groups in the country’s S&P 40 index, over 8,000 small and medium-sized businesses, and more than 700 public administration companies. Founded in 1982, the company is headquartered in Milan, Italy, and has over 1,200 employees in 25 offices throughout the country.

    Solution components