什么是流程映射?
深入了解 IBM 的流程映射解决方案 订阅 AI 主题最新消息
包含云朵、饼图、象征符号图形的拼贴插图
什么是流程映射?

流程映射是一种促进更好地了解流程并帮助组织确定改进领域的方法。

流程映射直观地表示工作流,使团队能够更清楚地了解流程及其组成部分。流程图种类繁多,您可能以不同的名字认识其中一个,例如作业图、详细流程图、文档图、高级流程图、渲染流程图、泳道、增值链图、价值流图、流程图、过程图、流程模型或工作流程图。这些可视化图表通常是公司业务流程管理 (BPM) 的组成部分。

流程图概述了流程中的各个步骤,确定了任务所有者并详细说明了预期的时间表。它们尤其有助于在利益相关者之间沟通过程,并揭示需要改进的地方。大多数流程图从宏观层面开始,然后根据需要提供更多细节。

IBM 被 IDC 评为领导者

阅读并了解为什么 IBM 在《IDC MarketScape:2023 年全球 AI 治理平台》报告中被评为领导者。

相关内容

注册获取有关 AI 数据存储的电子书

流程图的类型

流程图有几种不同类型。一些映射技术包括:

  • 基本流程图是提供流程基本详细信息(例如输入和输出)的直观图示。

  • 部署图也称为跨职能流程图,可显示不同团队之间的关系。此类图示通常使用泳道图来说明流程如何在全公司范围内流转,让人更容易发现瓶颈或冗余。

  • 详细的流程图显示流程的深入挖掘版本,包含所有子流程的详细信息。

  • 高级流程图,也称为价值链或自上而下流程图,显示流程的宏观视图,包括关键流程元素,如供应商、输入、流程、输出或客户 (SIPOC)。

  • 渲染流程图示可表示当前状态和/或未来状态流程,从而揭示流程中可能有待改进的方面。

  • 价值流地图 (VSM) 是一种精益六西格玛技术,记录为最终用户开发产品或服务所需的步骤。
流程映射符号

流程图使用可视化表示(如基本符号)描述流程中的每个元素。一些最常见的符号是箭头、圆形、菱形、方框、椭圆形和矩形。这些符号可以来自业务流程模型与符号 (BPMN) 或统一建模语言 (UML)(IBM 外部链接),它们是流程图的图形表示法。

大多数组织只需使用几个最常见的符号就能完成流程图示。其中一些符号包括:

  • 矩形用于表示特定流程及其活动和功能。

  • 箭头用于显示流程方向和步骤之间的连接。

  • 椭圆形通常用来表示流程的起点或终点。

  • 钻石用于表示决策点。流程将根据决策按照预定义的路径继续进行。

  • 一端圆角的矩形通常用作延迟符号,表示流程在继续之前暂停。
如何创建流程图

开发自己的业务流程图时,您需要利用此方法:

  1. 选择要关注的流程。为了产生最大的影响,您可能需要优先考虑难以实现成果的流程或影响客户满意度的流程。

  2. 让合适的人参与进来。召集对您希望优化的流程有深入了解的人员。这些主题专家 (SME) 将帮助您确定整个流程中的关键信息,例如利益相关者、步骤顺序、时间表、资源等。它们还可以突出一些可能影响效率的问题领域,如瓶颈和冗余。在流程的这一阶段,您希望记录流程的所有相关信息。

  3. 概述流程图。在此步骤中,您需要确定当前流程的起点和终点以及中间的步骤顺序。虽然详细程度可能有所不同,但通常包括有关输入、输出、指标和利益相关者的信息。

  4. 使用基本流程图符号来增强流程图示。利用基本流程图符号来细化当前流程图示。通常会使用流程制图软件来完成这一步骤。

  5. 获取反馈。与团队成员一起验证增强的流程图,以确认准确的流程文档,确保步骤不会重复或缺失。当利益相关者就当前状态下的流程步骤达成一致时,开始征求有关潜在流程优化的反馈。这可能涉及为简化目的而取消步骤,或为加强协作或保证质量而添加新的步骤。
  6. 实施并观察流程变更的影响。在将任何更改扩展到整个组织之前,与团队的部分成员进行概念验证 (POC)。这样可以最大限度地降低业务风险,并提供采纳更多反馈意见来优化流程的机会,使管理层能够更顺利地大规模过渡到新流程。对流程的定期监测将有助于随着时间的推移不断改进。

有关如何创建有效流程图的更多提示,请阅读此博客

为什么流程映射很重要?

业务流程制图的主要目的是协助组织更高效、更有效地完成特定任务或达成特定目标。这是通过提高决策和流程透明度来实现的,反过来又有助于找出流程内部和不同流程之间的冗余和瓶颈。流程图示会利用视觉提示和符号,因此便于将流程传达给广泛的受众。由此可以提高参与度,因为创建长篇文档对于所有者来说、使用长篇文档对于最终用户来说可能都比较繁琐。

通过利用流程映射软件中的预制模板,团队可以轻松协作并集思广益,以简化工作流程,从而实现业务流程改进。这样,企业也可以更好地应对特定挑战,例如员工入职和留任或销售额下降。

流程映射的一些具体优点包括:

  • 更好地启用情景测试和评估

  • 提高角色和职责的标准化程度和认知程度

  • 更容易识别流程中的薄弱环节

  • 提高团队绩效和员工满意度

  • 培训期间员工的学习曲线更短
相关解决方案
IBM Blueworks Live

查看和了解更佳业务流程的过程中,不再需要即时贴

深入了解 IBM Blueworks Live
IBM Cloud Pak for Business Automation

IBM Cloud Pak for Business Automation 是一组模块化的集成软件组件,旨在实现工作自动化并加速业务增长。

深入了解面向业务自动化的 IBM Cloud Pak
资源 充分利用业务流程制图的 5 个技巧

无论您是刚刚开始绘制组织内的流程图,还是尝试借鉴他人的经验,这里都有五条建议供您参考。

什么是流程挖掘?

了解有关流程挖掘的信息,这是一种对事件日志数据应用专门算法的方法,旨在确定有关流程如何展开的趋势、模式和详细信息。

采取后续步骤

通过 IBM Robotic Process Automation (RPA) 开启自动化之旅。它是一种 AI 驱动的解决方案,可帮助各组织利用传统 RPA 的易用性和速度对更多业务和 IT 流程进行大规模自动化处理。

深入了解 Robotic Process Automation 免费试用

Home Topics What is Process Mapping? What is process mapping?
Explore IBM's process mapping solution Subscribe to AI topic updates
Illustration with collage of pictograms of clouds, pie chart and graphs
What is process mapping?

Process mapping is a method that promotes a better understanding of processes and helps organizations identify areas for improvement.

Process mapping visually represents a workflow, enabling teams to understand a process and its components more clearly. There are various process maps, which you might know by different names, such as:

  • Flowchart
  • Detailed process map
  • Document map
  • High-level process map
  • Rendered process map
  • Swimlane
  • Value-added chain diagram
  • Value-stream map
  • Flow diagram
  • Process flowchart
  • Process model
  • Workflow diagram

These visual diagrams are typically a component of a company’s business process management (BPM).

A process map outlines the individual steps within a process, identifying task owners and detailing expected timelines. They help communicate processes among stakeholders and reveal areas of improvement. Most process maps start at a macro level and then provide more detail as necessary.

IBM named a leader by IDC

Read why IBM was named a leader in the IDC MarketScape: Worldwide AI Governance Platforms 2023 report.

Related content

Register for the ebook on AI data stores

Types of process maps

There are several different types of process maps. Some mapping techniques include:

  • Basic flowcharts are visual maps, which provide the basic details of a process such as inputs and outputs.

  • Deployment maps, also known as cross-functional flowcharts, display the relationships between different teams. These maps often use swimlane diagrams to illustrate how a process flows across the company, facilitating the identification of bottlenecks or redundancies.

  • Detailed process maps show a drill-down version of a process, containing details around any subprocesses.

  • High-level process maps, also known as value-chain or top-down maps, show a macro view of a process, including key process elements such as a supplier, input, process, output or customer (SIPOC).

  • Rendered process maps represent current state or future state processes to show areas for potential process improvement.

  • A value stream map (VSM) is a lean Six Sigma technique that documents the steps required to develop a product or service for a user.
Process mapping symbols

Process maps use visual representations, such as basic symbols to describe each element in the process. Some of the most common symbols are arrows, circles, diamonds, boxes, ovals and rectangles. These symbols can come from the Business Process Model and Notation (BPMN) or Unified Modeling Language (UML) (link resides outside IBM), which are graphical methods of notation for process maps.

Most organizations need to use only a few of the most common symbols to complete a process map. Some of these symbols include:

  • A rectangle is used to represent a specific process and its activities and functions.

  • An arrow is used to show both the direction of flow and the connection between steps.

  • An oval is often used to show the beginning or end points of a process flow.

  • A diamond is used to indicate a decision point. The process continues by following a predefined path depending on the decision.

  • A rectangle with one end rounded is often used as a delay symbol, showing a pause in the process before the flow continues.
How to create a process map

When developing your business process map, you’ll want to use this methodology:

  1. Choose a process to focus on: To make the biggest impact, you might want to prioritize a process that’s struggling to achieve outcomes or a process that impacts customer satisfaction.

  2. Get the right people involved: Gather those who have deep knowledge of the process that you’re looking to optimize. These subject matter experts (SMEs) will help you determine the critical information within the entire process, such as stakeholders, sequence of steps, timelines and resources. They can also highlight some of the problem areas, such as bottlenecks and redundancies, which might compromise efficiency. During this stage of the process, you want to document all relevant information around the process.  

  3. Outline the process map: During this step, you’ll want to determine where the current process starts and ends and the sequence of steps in between. While the level of detail can vary, information around inputs, outputs, metrics and stakeholders are typically included.

  4. Use basic flowchart symbols to enhance the process map: Refine the current process map by using basic flowchart symbols. Process mapping software is generally used to complete this step.

  5. Get feedback: Validate the enhanced process map with team members to confirm accurate process documentation, helping to ensure that steps are not repeated or missing. When stakeholders have agreed on the process steps within the current state, start to solicit feedback around potential process optimizations. This can involve the elimination of steps for simplification purposes or the incorporation of new ones to allow for more collaboration or quality assurance.
     
  6. Implement and observe the impact of process changes: Conduct a proof of concept (POC) with a subset of the team before scaling any changes broadly across the organization. This minimizes the risk to the business, and it provides the opportunity to incorporate more feedback to optimize the process, enabling management to shift to a new process at scale more smoothly. Regular monitoring of processes enables continuous improvement over time.
Why is process mapping important?

The primary purpose of business process mapping is to assist organizations in becoming more efficient and effective at achieving a specific task or goal. It does this by providing greater transparency around decision-making and process flow that in turn helps to identify redundancies and bottlenecks within and between processes.

Because process maps use visual cues and symbols, they make it simpler to communicate a process to a broad audience. This can lead to increased engagement, as long-form documentation can be more tedious for both owners to create and for users to interact with.

By using premade templates within process mapping software, teams can easily collaborate and brainstorm ways to streamline work processes, enabling business process improvement. In doing so, businesses can also better address specific challenges, such as employee onboarding and retention or declining sales.

Some specific benefits of process mapping include:

  • Better enablement for scenario tests and assessments.

  • Increased standardization and awareness of roles and responsibilities.

  • More straightforward identification of vulnerable aspects of a process.

  • Efficient team performance and employee satisfaction.

  • Shorter learning curve for employees during training.
Related solutions
IBM Blueworks Live

Ditch the sticky notes on the way to seeing and understanding better business processes.

Explore IBM Blueworks Live
IBM Cloud Pak® for Business Automation

IBM Cloud Pak for Business Automation is a modular set of integrated software components designed to automate work and accelerate business growth. 

Explore IBM Cloud Pak for Business Automation
Resources What is process mining?

Learn about process mining, a method of applying specialized algorithms to event log data to identify trends, patterns and details of how a process unfolds.

Take the next step

Start your automation journey with IBM Robotic Process Automation (RPA). It’s an AI-driven solution that helps you automate more business and IT processes at scale with the ease and speed of traditional RPA. 

Explore Robotic Process Automation Try for free