什么是 NIST 网络安全框架?
黑色和蓝色背景
NIST 网络安全框架

NIST 网络安全框架提供全面的指导和最佳实践,帮助私营部门组织改善信息安全和网络安全风险管理。


什么是 NIST 网络安全框架?

美国国家标准技术研究院 (NIST) 是一个非监管机构,旨在通过推进测量科学、标准和技术来促进创新。 NIST 网络安全框架 (NIST CSF) 由标准、指南和最佳实践组成,可帮助组织改善网络安全风险管理。 

NIST CSF 的设计灵活,可与任何行业内任何组织的现有安全流程集成。 它提供了一个极好的起点,可以自此开始在美国几乎任何私营组织中实施信息安全和网络安全风险 管理。


NIST 网络安全框架的历史

2013 年 2 月 12 日,美国发布第 13636 号行政命令 (EO) —“改善关键基础设施网络安全”。 NIST 自此开始与美国私营部门合作,旨在“确定现有的自愿共识标准和行业最佳实践,以将其构建成网络安全框架”。这次合作带来了 NIST 网络安全框架 V1.0。

2014 年的《网络安全增强法案》 (CEA) 扩大了 NIST 在制定网络安全框架方面的工作范围。 如今,NIST CSF 仍然是美国所有行业中采用最广泛的安全框架之一。


NIST 网络安全框架核心结构

NIST 网络安全框架包括功能类别子类信息型参考。 

功能概述最佳实践的安全协议。 这些功能并非程序性步骤,而会“同时且持续执行,以形成一种解决动态网络安全风险的运营文化”。 类别和子类为组织内的特定部门或流程提供更具体的行动计划。 

以下为 NIST 职能和类别的示例:

  • 识别:为了防范网络攻击,网络安全团队需要深入了解组织中最重要的资产和资源。 识别功能包括资产管理、业务环境、治理、风险评估、风险管理策略和供应链风险管理等类别。
  • 保护: 保护功能涵盖开发和实施适当的保障措施和保护关键基础架构的许多技术和物理安全控制。  这些类别包括身份管理和访问控制、意识和训练、数据安全、信息保护流程和程序、维护和保护技术。
  • 检测: 检测功能实施了向组织发出网络攻击警报的措施。 检测类别包括异常和事件、安全持续监视和检测过程。
  • 响应:响应功能类别可确保对网络攻击和其他网络安全事件做出适当的响应。 具体类别包括响应规划、通信、分析、缓解和改进。
  • 恢复: 万一发生网络攻击、安全漏洞或其他网络安全事件,恢复活动会实施网络弹性计划,确保业务连续性。 恢复功能包括恢复计划改进和通信。

NIST CSF 的信息型参考在功能、类别、子类和其他框架的特定安全控制之间建立直接关联。 这些框架包括互联网安全中心 (CIS) 控制®、COBIT 5、国际自动化学会 (ISA) 62443-2-1:2009、ISA 62443-3-3:2013、国际标准化组织和国际电工委员会 27001:2013 以及 NIST SP 800-53 Rev. 4。

NIST CSF 不指导如何清点物理设备和系统,也不指导如何清点软件平台和应用程序;仅提供需要完成的任务的清单。 组织可以自行选择执行清单的方法。 如果组织需要进一步的指导,它可以参考其他补充标准中相关控制的信息型参考。 CSF 中有大量适用于网络安全风险管理需求的工具,供组织自由选择。


NIST 框架实现层

为了帮助私营部门组织衡量实施 NIST 网络安全框架方面的进展,该框架确定了四个实施层:

  • 第 1 层 — 部分: 组织熟悉 NIST CSF,并且可能已在基础架构的某些区域实施了某些方面的控制。 这些组织的网络安全活动实施 与协议一直是被动而非有计划的。 他们对网络安全风险的认识有限,缺乏实现信息安全的流程和资源。
  • 第 2 层 — 风险知晓: 组织更加了解网络安全风险,并在非正式的基础上共享信息。 它缺乏有计划、可重复、主动、组织范围的网络安全 风险 管理 流程。
  • 第 3 层 — 可重复: 组织及其高级管理人员意识到网络安全风险。 他们已经在组织内实施了可重复的网络安全风险 管理计划。 网络安全团队制定了行动计划,以监控和有效应对网络攻击。
  • 第 4 层 – 自适应: 组织目前具有网络弹性,并根据经验教训和预测性指标来防止网络攻击。 网络安全团队不断改进和推进组织的网络安全技术和实践,并快速有效地适应威胁的变化。 有组织范围的信息安全 风险管理方法,在决策制定、策略、程序和流程中了解风险。 适应性强的组织将网络安全风险 管理纳入预算决策和组织文化。

建立 NIST 框架网络安全风险管理计划

NIST 网络安全框架提供有关如何建立或改进信息安全风险管理计划的分步指南:

  1. 划分优先级和范围: 清除了解项目范围,并确定优先事项。 建立高级业务或任务目标和业务需求,并确定组织的风险承受能力。
  2. 适应: 评估组织的资产和系统,并确定组织可能会接触到的适用法规、风险方法和威胁。
  3. 创建当前档案:当前档案 是组织当前如何管理风险的快照,由 CSF 的类别和子类定义。
  4. 进行风险评估:评估运营环境、新出现的风险和网络安全威胁信息,以确定可能影响组织的网络安全事件的概率和严重性。
  5. 创建目标档案:目标档案代表信息安全团队的风险管理目标。
  6. 确定、分析、明确差距的优先级:通过确定当前和目标档案之间的差距,信息安全团队可以创建行动计划,包括可衡量的里程碑事件和填补这些差距所需的资源(人员、预算和时间)。
  7. 实施行动计划:实施第 6 步中定义的行动计划。

NIST CSF 与 IBM Cloud

IBM 拥有大量关于如何采用 NIST 网络安全框架的资源。 IBM 还提供各种安全框架和风险评估服务以帮助评估组织的安全状态。

企业可以使用 IBM 的安全框架和风险评估服务来识别漏洞以降低风险。 这些服务提供网络监控和管理,并增强隐私、安全选项和安全风险识别。

IBM 还可以帮助使安全标准和实践与云环境中的 NIST CSF 保持一致。

注册一个 IBM ID 并创建 IBM Cloud 帐户


相关解决方案

安全框架和风险评估服务

IBM 治理、风险与合规服务对照您的业务需求和目标来评估现有的安全监管措施。

What is the NIST Cybersecurity Framework?
Explore IBM's NIST solution Get Customer and Employee Experience updates
Illustration with collage of pictograms of clouds, mobile phone, fingerprint, check mark
What is the NIST Cybersecurity Framework?

The NIST Cybersecurity Framework (NIST CSF) provides comprehensive guidance and best practices that private sector organizations can follow to improve information security and cybersecurity risk management.

The National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST) is a non-regulatory agency that promotes innovation by advancing measurement science, standards and technology.

The NIST CSF is flexible enough to integrate with the existing security processes within any organization, in any industry. It provides an excellent starting point for implementing information security and cybersecurity risk management in virtually any private sector organization in the United States.

Cost of a Data Breach

Get insights to better manage the risk of a data breach with the latest Cost of a Data Breach report.

Related content

Register for insights on SAP

History of the NIST Cybersecurity Framework

On 12 February 2013, Executive Order (EO) 13636—"Improving Critical Infrastructure Cybersecurity"—was issued. This began NIST’s work with the US private sector to "identify existing voluntary consensus standards and industry best practices to build them into a Cybersecurity Framework." The result of this collaboration was the NIST Cybersecurity Framework Version 1.0.

The Cybersecurity Enhancement Act (CEA) of 2014 broadened NIST's efforts in developing the Cybersecurity Framework. Today, the NIST CSF is still one of the most widely adopted security frameworks across all US industries.

NIST Cybersecurity Framework core structure

NIST Cybersecurity Framework includes functions, categories, subcategories and informative references

Functions give a general overview of security protocols of best practices. Functions are not intended to be procedural steps but are performed “concurrently and continuously to form an operational culture that addresses the dynamic cybersecurity risk.” Categories and subcategories provide more concrete action plans for specific departments or processes within an organization. 

Examples of NIST functions and categories include:

  • Identify: To protect against cyberattacks, the cybersecurity team needs a thorough understanding of the organization's most important assets and resources. The identify function includes categories such as asset management, business environment, governance, risk assessment, risk management strategy and supply chain risk management.

  • Protect: The protect function covers much of the technical and physical security controls for developing and implementing appropriate safeguards and protecting critical infrastructure. These categories are identity management and access control, awareness and training, data security, information protection processes and procedures, maintenance and protective technology.

  • Detect: The detect function implements measures that alert an organization to cyberattacks. Detect categories include anomalies and events, security, continuous monitoring and detection processes.

  • Respond: The respond function categories ensure the appropriate response to cyberattacks and other cybersecurity events. Specific categories include response planning, communications, analysis, mitigation and improvements.

  • Recover: Recovery activities implement plans for cyber resilience and ensure business continuity in the event of a cyberattack, security breach or other cybersecurity event. The recovery functions are recovery planning improvements and communications.

The NIST CSF's informative references draw a direct correlation between the functions, categories, subcategories and the specific security controls of other frameworks. These frameworks include:

  1. The Center for Internet Security (CIS) Controls®
  2. COBIT 5
  3. International Society of Automation (ISA) 62443-2-1:2009
  4. ISA 62443-3-3:2013
  5. International Organization for Standardization and the International Electrotechnical Commission 27001:2013
  6. NIST SP 800-53 Rev. 4

The NIST CSF does not tell how to inventory the physical devices and systems or how to inventory the software platforms and applications; it merely provides a checklist of tasks to complete. An organization can choose its own method on how to perform the inventory.

If an organization needs further guidance, it can refer to the informative references to related controls in other complementary standards. There is plenty of freedom in the CSF to select the tools that best suit the cybersecurity risk management needs of an organization.

NIST Framework implementation tiers

To help private sector organizations measure their progress toward implementing the NIST Cybersecurity Framework, the framework identifies four implementation tiers:

  • Tier 1 – Partial: The organization is familiar with the NIST CSF and might have implemented some aspects of control in some areas of the infrastructure. Implementation of cybersecurity activities and protocols has been reactive versus planned. The organization has limited awareness of cybersecurity risks and lacks the processes and resources to enable information security.

  • Tier 2 – Risk informed: The organization is more aware of cybersecurity risks and shares information on an informal basis. It lacks a planned, repeatable and proactive organization-wide cybersecurity risk management process.

  • Tier 3 – Repeatable: The organization and its senior executives are aware of cybersecurity risks. They have implemented a repeatable, organization-wide cybersecurity risk management plan. The cybersecurity team has created an action plan to monitor and respond effectively to cyberattacks.

  • Tier 4 – Adaptive: The organization is now cyber resilient and uses lessons learned and predictive indicators to prevent cyberattacks. The cybersecurity team continuously improves and advances the organization’s cybersecurity technologies and practices and adapts to changes in threats quickly and efficiently. There is an organization-wide approach to information security risk management with risk informed decision-making, policies, procedures and processes. Adaptive organizations incorporate cybersecurity risk management into budget decisions and organizational culture.
Establishing a NIST Framework cybersecurity risk management program

The NIST Cybersecurity Framework provides a step-by-step guide on how to establish or improve their information security risk management program:

  1. Prioritize and scope: Create a clear idea of the scope of the project and identify the priorities. Establish the high-level business or mission objectives, business needs and determine the risk tolerance of the organization.

  2. Orient: Assess the organization’s assets and systems and identify applicable regulations, risk approach and threats to the organization.

  3. Create a current profile: A current profile is a snapshot of how the organization is managing risk as defined by the categories and subcategories of the CSF.

  4. Conduct a risk assessment: Evaluate the operational environment, emerging risks and cybersecurity threat information to determine the probability and severity of a cybersecurity event.

  5. Create a target profile: A target profile represents the risk management goal of the information security team.

  6. Determine, analyze and prioritize gaps: By identifying the gaps between the current and target profile, the information security team can create an action plan, including measurable milestones and resources (people, budget, time) required to fill these gaps.

  7. Implement action plan: Implement the action plan defined in Step 6.
Related solutions
Governance, risk and compliance services

Governance, risk and compliance services from IBM help you evaluate your existing security governance against your business requirements and objectives.

Explore governance, risk and compliance services
IBM Concert

Simplify and optimize your application management and technology operations with generative AI-driven insights.

Explore Concert
Resources What is network security?

At a foundational level, network security is the operation of protecting data, applications, devices and systems that are connected to the network.

What is cybersecurity?

Cybersecurity technology and best practices protect critical systems and sensitive information from an ever-growing volume of continually evolving threats.

Take the next step

Establish governance structures that increase cybersecurity maturity with an integrated governance, risk and compliance (GRC) approach. IBM Active Governance Services (AGS) integrates key cybersecurity and organizational data points into a centralized solution, providing key capabilities across people, processes and technology.

Explore GRC services