Topic
7 replies Latest Post - ‏2013-06-13T14:20:37Z by brianpiper
brianpiper
brianpiper
4 Posts
ACCEPTED ANSWER

Pinned topic cplex with PGI compilers

‏2013-06-11T12:48:42Z |

I was hoping I could get some help or some insight for compiling CPLEX using the PGI (http://www.pgroup.com) compilers. I am not an expert in Linux and C++, but hopefully I can explain myself well enough to get some help.

I am using Cplex 12.4, C++ Concert API, and CentOS 6.4 on a 64 bit machine. Apparently, this is not one of Cplex's supported compilers, because when compiling using essentially the makefile that comes with CPLEX, I get an error like this:

/opt/ibm/ILOG/CPLEX_Studio124/cplex/include/ilcplex/cpxconst.h", line 98: catastrophic error:

#error directive: "Could not define CPXSIZE_BITS"
  #   error "Could not define CPXSIZE_BITS"

Looking at the header, I saw that if I added compile symbols __GNUC__ and _LP64, with the flags "-D__GNUC__" and "-D_L64", I could compile my program, but linking was a problem for some reason (linking works fine with the g++ compiler and Cplex on this machine). Here is an example of the linker error:

In function make_flow_constraints( (void))':
.. undefined reference to `IloExpr::__ct(IloEnv, double)'
.. undefined reference to `IloExpr::operator+=(IloNumVar)'
.. undefined reference to `IloExpr::operator-=(IloNumVar)'
.. undefined reference to `IloExpr::operator+=(IloNumVar)'
.. undefined reference to `__builtin_inf'

I tried to see if the there was somewhere else where the GNUC symbol was used, and after a quick "grep", I saw that I might want to define it as "-D__GNUC__=4", "-D__GNUC_MINOR=4" (this is the gnu c++ version on the machine), which MIGHT be fine with the PGI compilers, because they are (possibly) compatible with g++ in some way, but that resulted in a whole host of additional issues during compilation, like so:

"/opt/pgi/linux86-64/13.3/include/CC/stl/char_traits.h", line 125: error: this