什么是 IBM Cloudant?

IBM Cloudant® 是一个基于 Apache CouchDB的 JSON 数据库,作为完全外包的服务提供,具备高可用性。它利用自描述的 JSON“文档”存储模式,支持灵活、敏捷的应用开发。Cloudant 使用可以跨多个机架、数据中心、云提供商或设备的主-主(也称为“无主”)集群框架构建。

与传统数据库系统不同,所有数据副本都可用于读取和写入。Cloudant 具备 CouchDB 风格的复制和同步功能,是使用离线优先设计原则构建的移动和 Web 应用的理想选择,支持对设备上或浏览器中数据进行本机访问,并支持数据库处理同步到远程云端副本的操作。  

Cloudant 还为在线分析、临时全文搜索和高级地理空间查询提供实时索引。这些功能基于开放标准,包括:Apache CouchDB、Apache Lucene、GeoJSON 等。

Cloudant 可以管理哪些内容?

Cloudant 可处理软件和硬件配置、管理和扩展以及支持。当配置的吞吐量容量需要改变时,用户可以获得 IBM 保证的高可用性和灵活硬件扩展。

什么是 Cloudant Local?

我们建议使用与 Cloudant 完全兼容的 Apache CouchB™ 进行开发。Cloudant 团队将所有主要功能部件提供给开源社区。利用 Apache CouchDB™ 进行本地开发(链接位于 IBM 外部)。

什么是文档数据存储?

文档数据存储以 JSON 或 JavaScript 对象表示法表示,并且具有每个文档本身都是复杂数据结构的特征。文档可以包含各种数据类型的嵌套结构,包括其他对象。文档数据库的用户可以查询这些复杂的结构,检索或更新文档的一部分(或整个文档),而无需锁定数据库来执行此操作。通过每个文档唯一的主键(类似于键值存储中的键)来存储和检索文档。

为什么选择 JSON?

JSON 对开发人员极具吸引力的部分原因在于,其架构可以在没有数据库管理员干预的情况下快速发展。JSON 为持久存储 Java™ 或 JavaScript 对象提供了一个简洁的模型(归功于 JSON 与 JavaScript 的紧密联系)。这允许开发人员构建数据层解决方案,而无需使用 OpenJPA 或 Hibernate 等重量级持久性解决方案。最后,JSON 的数据建模有一点非常优雅而关系数据库无法复制的特性:与将关系数据库中的 N 个行存储为规范化对象相比,存储单个 JSON 文档来表示真实世界对象更为直观明了。

Cloudant 与 CouchDB 有何不同?

虽然 Cloudant 与 CouchDB API 兼容,但 Cloudant 与 Apache CouchDB 相比,主要功能的不同之处在于 Cloudant 已经对开源技术划分了不同层次,用于全文搜索和地理空间索引功能。IBM 还开发了自己的监控和操作系统,以确保高可用性和高性能。此外,Cloudant 工程师可以处理所有日常数据库监控和基础架构维护任务,因此您可以将更多时间用于构建应用,而无需担心数据库。  

Apache CouchDB 是一个活跃的开源项目,可以保护客户避免供应商锁定,是文档导向型数据库供应商的可靠替代方案。采用 Cloudant 和 CouchDB,任一方向的迁移都可以轻松实现。这两个系统共享一个通用复制协议,只需按一下按钮,开发人员就可以将其 Cloudant 数据的副本同步至远程 CouchDB 实例(反之亦然)。  

Apache CouchDB 于 2008 年 2 月进入 Apache 孵化器 (Apache Incubator),并于同年 11 月成为 Apache 顶级项目。访问 http://couchdb.apache.org/,获取下载资源、文档,并了解参与 Apache CouchDB 项目的方式。 

查看文档,了解 Cloudant 与 CouchDB API 端点之间的不同之处。

什么是离线优先 (Offline First) 架构?

离线优先架构可帮助构建无需连接互联网即可使用的应用,帮助获得用户青睐。此类应用旨在支持用户无需联网即可与您的应用进行交互,而不是将缺少联网作为错误状况。使用 Cloudant Mobile Sync,移动应用在网络连接不可用时也能够收集和读取数据。重新建立网络连接后,数据将与 IBM Cloudant 同步。  

Cloudant 可以与 Hoodie 和 PouchDB 无缝协作。Hoodie 是面向离线优先应用的开源 Node.js 后端。PouchDB 是开源 JavaScript 数据库,可在 Web 浏览器中运行,并可与 Cloudant 同步。这种互操作性支持跨任何实施 CouchDB 复制协议的数据存储系统进行无缝数据复制和同步,从而为各种各样的离线优先数据架构提供支持。阅读有关脱机优先的更多信息。

Cloudant 如何定价?

Cloudant 设有两种套餐:Lite 套餐和 Standard 套餐。Lite 套餐永久免费,提供 1 GB 的数据存储空间和有限的吞吐量。Standard 套餐分为四层,可以更精细地控制预配置的吞吐量。 

Cloudant 定价基于两个主要指标:

  • 预配置吞吐量容量
  • 数据使用情况

预配置吞吐量容量以每秒为单位衡量,在以下三个请求类之间分配:查找、写入和查询。查找是单个文档读取,写入包括文档和索引写入,查询包括对 Cloudant 索引的任何读取。查看 Cloudant 文档的最新更新,详细了解每个请求类分别由哪些 API 请求构成。数据使用包括主数据和索引。

客户端库是否可用于 Java、Python 和 Node.js 等广泛使用的语言?

几分钟内即可快速上手 Cloudant

NoSQL 数据库外包服务,可使应用数据更接近其所需的所有位置,进而实现无中断的脱机或联机数据访问。

Next Steps

* IBM 云计算服务由 IBM 美国公司在中国境外提供给客户使用,某项具体服务的可用性将受限于您所在国家法律、法规的监管要求。

IBM 专家为您服务(工作日9:00-17:00)

What is Cloudant?

Cloudant is a JSON database, based on Apache CouchDB, delivered as a fully-managed, highly-available service.  It leverages self-describing JSON “document” storage schemas to allow for flexible and agile application development.  Cloudant is built using a master-master (also known as, “master-less”) clustering framework that can span multiple racks, data centers, cloud providers, or devices.

Unlike traditional database systems, all data replicas are available for both reads and writes. Cloudant’s CouchDB-style replication and sync capabilities make it ideal for mobile and web apps built with Offline First  design principles like having native access to data on the device or in the browser, and letting the database handle sync to remote copies in the cloud. 

Cloudant also delivers real-time indexing for online analytics, ad hoc full-text search, and advanced geospatial querying. These features are based on open standards including: Apache CouchDB, Apache Lucene, GeoJSON, and others.

What does IBM Cloudant manage for me?

Cloudant handles software and hardware provisioning, management and scaling, and support. A users receives guaranteed high availability of the database and elastic scaling of the hardware as a user's provisioned throughput capacity needs change.

What is Cloudant Local?

Cloudant Local packages the always-on technology of Cloudant with streamlined DBaaS operations tooling and all the institutional knowledge that Cloudant developer-operators have acquired over the years to put the power of DBaaS in the privacy of your own data centers. Get the developer edition here.

What is a Document data store?

Document data stores are represented in JSON, or JavaScript Object Notation, and have the characteristic that every document is itself a complex data structure. Documents can contain nested structures of various data types, including other objects. Users of a document database are able to query into these complex structures, retrieving or updating portions of the document (or the entire document) without the need to lock down the database to do so. Documents are stored and retrieved via a primary key that is unique to every document (similar to the key in a key-value store).

Why JSON?

Part of JSON’s immense appeal with developers stems from its schema which can rapidly evolve without intervention by database administrators.  JSON offers a simple and elegant model for persisting Java or JavaScript objects (thanks to the tight affinity that JSON has with JavaScript). This allows developers to construct a data layer solution without the need for heavy-weight persistence solutions such as OpenJPA or Hibernate. Finally, there is an elegance to JSON’s data modeling that relational databases cannot replicate: storing a single JSON document to represent a real-world object is much more intuitive than storing N numbers of rows in a relational database as a normalized object.

How is Cloudant different than CouchDB?

While Cloudant is API-compatible with CouchDB, the primary difference in functionality between Cloudant and Apache CouchDB is that Cloudant has layered additional open- source technologies for full-text search and geospatial indexing capabilities. We have also developed our own monitoring and operations systems to ensure high availability and performance. Further, Cloudant engineers handle all the ongoing database monitoring and infrastructure maintenance, so you can spend more time building your app and less time worrying about your database. 

Apache CouchDB is an active open-source project, protecting customers against vendor lock-in as a reliable alternative to document-oriented database vendors. With Cloudant and CouchDB, the migration path in either direction is simple. The two systems share a common replication protocol, which lets developers synchronize copies of their Cloudant data to a remote CouchDB instance (or vice versa), at the push of a button. 

Apache CouchDB entered the Apache Incubator in February 2008 and became an Apache Top-level Project in November of the same year. Visit http://couchdb.apache.org/ for downloads, documentation, and ways to become involved with Apache CouchDB.

What is Offline First architecture?

Offline First architecture is building your app to delight users without requiring a connection to the internet. Instead of assuming the lack of connectivity is an error condition, the app is designed to provide users the opportunity to interact with your app without connection. Using Cloudant Mobile Sync, mobile apps can collect and read data even if network connectivity is unavailable. When the connection is re-established, the data will be synced with IBM Cloudant. 

Cloudant works seamlessly with Hoodie and PouchDB. Hoodie is an open-source Node.js back end for Offline First applications. PouchDB is an open source JavaScript database that works in web browsers and can sync with Cloudant. This interoperability enables seamless data replication and syncing across any data store that implements the CouchDB Replication Protocol, powering endless varieties of Offline First data architectures.

How does Cloudant pricing work?

Cloudant has two plans: Lite and Standard. The Lite plan is perpetually free and offers XYZ, and the Standard plan has four tiers that allow for more granular control over provisioned throughput capacity. The Standard plan allows for 20GB of data storage free and charges XYZ.

Cloudant pricing is based on two major metrics:

  •    Provisioned throughput capacity
  •    Data usage

The provisioned throughput capacity is a per-second metric and is broken out between three request classes: lookups, writes, and queries. Lookups are single doc reads, writes include doc and index writes, and queries include any read to a Cloudant index. See the latest updates to the Cloudant Documentation for details on what API requests make up each of these request classes. The data usage consists of both primary data and indexes.

Are client libraries available for popular languages like Java, Python, and Node.js?

  • There are also several open source libraries available for most commonly used programming languages.  

Get started on Cloudant in minutes

A managed NoSQL database service that moves application data closer to all the places it needs to be — for uninterrupted data access, offline or on.