主页 Case Studies Tricon Steamship Agency, Inc. 借助 IBM watsonx 编排高效的导入和导出
Tricon Steamship Agency, Inc. 和 IBM
密西西比河上的货船和拖船
引导业务流程以提高效率

浩瀚的密西西比河对美国以及国际经济命脉至关重要,每年有 5 亿短吨的国内和进口货物在河道两岸装卸。位于路易斯安那州巴吞鲁日的 Tricon Steamship Agency 在运送和出口各国供给食品方面发挥着关键作用。其随船代理熟练地在这条 2,350 英里的航道上操纵船只及其货物,并巧妙地穿梭于美国海关港口、海岸警卫队区域以及数十个锚地、码头、枢纽和粮仓的服务提供商构成的复杂系统中。船舶服务机构的运营中心管理船舶物流和端到端服务的交付,从供应申请和交付、政府、海关和货物文件的完成、船舶管理维护和船舶进入密西西比河之前、期间和之后的旅程中的货物保护服务。

虽然 Tricon 作为海事服务机构享有盛誉,但在表面看来,这家拥有四十年历史的企业所采用的运营和管理系统仍依赖于其小而精的团队的机构知识,以及资深员工对运营流程的微观管理。Tricon 深知,如果员工退休或离开公司,其知识资本将遭受损失,因此需要制定记录在案的自动化流程和下一步最佳行动方案,以实现急需的行业和流程知识共享,并促进新的运营和沟通效率。

最近,Tricon 转向生成式 AI (gen AI),以探索这项尖端技术如何能解决公司面临的独特挑战。截至目前,Tricon 的发现有望改变其运营方式,由此可能对其整个业务产生连锁反应,并扩展到航运业。

30 分钟 报告,缩短前位 4 小时 7 天 账户结算,改善之前为 30 天到 60 天
借助 watsonx Orchestrate,我们能做的不仅仅是自动执行任务。我们不仅是在转移工作负载。我们正在以前所未有的方式推动我们的业务向前发展,我们的行业亦然。 Mike Brown 首席执行官 Tricon Steamship Agency, Inc.
利用 AI 实现业务转型:迈向成功之旅

在 IBM 合作伙伴 ThisWay Global 主办的技术教育会议上,Tricon 的高层开启了生成式 AI 和自动化之旅。ThisWay 代表使用 IBM® watsonx Orchestrate 演示了该解决方案自动执行人力资源任务的能力。观众对附加功能的渴望几乎永无止境。“预定的会议结之后,我们花了三个小时与参与者一起研究 watsonx Orchestrate 和 ThisWayGlobal 提供的数据和建模功能。”ThisWay Global 创始人兼首席执行官 (CEO) Angela Hood 解释道。

当 ThisWay 在处理 Tricon 提供的业务和运营需求样本时,该机构的高层领导团队认可了 IBM watsonx Orchestrate 的变革性业务能力。“对我们而言,重点是找到一种方法,在不影响质量或有效性的情况下简化报告任务。”Tricon Steamship Agency 的首席执行官 Mike Brown 补充道,“watsonx Orchestrate 演示表明,我们可以消除手动数据输入、最大限度地减少错误并提高多个部门的流程速度。手动填写所需表格需要每个随船代理每周花费 4 小时,而借助 watsonx Orchestrate,相同的表格可在 30 分钟内自动完成。”随船代理和运营人员可以有更多时间投入到重要的客户服务计划中,而不是承担普通的职责。

从第一次征求建议,到离开密西西比河后结清最终发票,航运公司和船舶之间的及时沟通至关重要。“watsonx Orchestrate 的下一步最佳行动方案 [NBA] 功能可支持 Tricon 访问数据,并根据之前执行的任务或操作生成相关沟通内容。这变得非常重要,因为它让 Tricon 内部的更多人员更容易融入工作流程,同时始终遵守公司定义的操作流程、标准和模板。”Hood 谈到。

此外,watsonx Orchestrate 还提供预制功能,无需编码人员即可满足 Tricon 的独特要求。用户可以利用机器学习算法来训练和扩展自身能力,从而进一步简化新特性和功能整合。系统基于云技术,用户可以随时随地访问,有利于远程办公和船舶报告和通信。

从手动报告到利用基 gen AI 推动进步

通过在整个机构实施 watsonx Orchestrate 实例,Tricon 节省了时间和金钱,提升了效率和生产力,并提高了员工敬业度。员工现在可以专注于需要人类智慧和思考的更高级别职责,并因此提高工作满意度和组织绩效。

“我的一个主要痛点在于每天花太多时间执行单调的操作。”Brown 说,“采用 watsonx Orchestrate 之后,我可以将更多时间用于战略和创新。”领导团队还注意到,花在日常工作上的时间大幅减少,Brown 补充道:“我们的工作人员现在可以比以往更加迅速地响应市场变化,并提供更高水平的服务。”

“我们为每种船舶类型、特定货物或客户创建了运营基线以及各自的工作流程。”Brown 表示,“这将有助于为我简化流程。这可以帮助员工更好地了解每个事件和行动的商业后果,以及如何妥善报告。”

他继续说道:“从财务角度来看,我们可以根据信用报告中未出现的行业数据、公开数据和船舶特定数据来分析航运公司的信誉和风险。着有助于我们确保运输公司提前支付一定金额,特别是对于我们服务的外国船只。现在,我们的目标是在 7 天内结清发票,而过去需要 60 到 90 天。”

Tricon 的几个最为强大的业务优势不可估量。“我们甚至无法衡量我们将体验到的时间节约,这甚至还不是真正的优势。我们将拥有能够实现指数级改善的数据分析和流程。“Brown 总结道,“借助 watsonx Orchestrate,我们能做的不仅仅是自动执行任务。我们不仅是在转移工作负载。我们正在以前所未有的方式推动我们的业务向前发展,我们的行业亦然。”

Tricon Steamship Agency, Inc. 徽标
Tricon Steamship Agency, Inc. 简介

Tricon(链接位于 ibm.com 站外)是一家高端航运代理公司,为停靠美国墨西哥湾地区的船舶提供可靠、高效的运输解决方案。追求卓越和客户满意至上的精神为其赢得了行业领导者的美誉。凭借 40 多年的经验,公司在继续发展,并适应不断变化的市场条件。

ThisWay Global 徽标
ThisWay Global 简介

ThisWay(链接位于 ibm.com 站外)是一家推崇备至的 IBM 合作伙伴,也是备受赞誉的 AI 公司,致力于确保客户在创新方面处于领先地位,同时坚持最高的合规标准。通过支持企业利用技术和人员能力的附加价值,ThisWay 可提供变革性的解决方案,能够提高效率、挖掘有价值的洞察信息并产生有意义的成果。

摒弃重复

借助 IBM watsonx Orchestrate 的 AI 和自动化功能,您可以减少在日常事务上花费的时间,并将更多时间花在真正重要的事情上。

了解 IBM watsonx Orchestrate 查看更多案例研究
法律

© Copyright IBM Corporation 2024。IBM、IBM 徽标和 IBM watsonx 是 IBM Corp. 在美国和/或其他国家或地区的商标或注册商标。本文档为自最初公布日期起的最新版本,IBM 可能随时对其进行更改。IBM 并不一定在开展业务的所有国家或地区提供所有产品或服务。

插图中的客户示例展示了客户使用 IBM 产品的方式以及他们可能已取得的结果。实际性能、成本、节省情况或其他结果可能因具体运营环境不同而异。

Orchestrating efficient imports and exports with IBM watsonx
Tricon Steamship Agency, Inc. and IBM
A cargo ship and tugboat on the Mississippi River
Steering through business processes in search of efficiencies

The mighty Mississippi River is critical to the lifeblood of US and international economies, with 500 million short tons of domestic and imported goods loaded and discharged between its banks annually. Tricon Steamship Agency, located in Baton Rouge, Louisiana, plays a pivotal role in delivering and exporting those products that feed nations. Its onboard agents deftly navigate ships and their cargo throughout the 2,350-mile waterway and its intricate system of US Customs ports, Coast Guard areas and service providers across dozens of anchorages, docks, terminals and elevators. The operations hub of the vessel services agency manages ship logistics and the delivery of end-to-end services, from supply requisition and delivery, government, customs and cargo documentation completion, vessel husbandry maintenance and cargo protective services along the journey before, during and after the ship enters the Mississippi.

While Tricon has a stellar reputation as a maritime service agency, below the surface, the four-decade-old business navigates an operations and management system reliant on its small but mighty team’s institutional knowledge and often senior employees’ micromanagement of operational processes. Knowing its intellectual capital will be lost if employees retire or leave the company, Tricon needed documented, automated processes with the next best actions to enable much-needed industry and process knowledge sharing and to facilitate new operations and communications efficiencies.

Recently, Tricon turned to generative AI (gen AI) to explore how this cutting-edge technology can address the company’s unique challenges. What Tricon has found so far promises to transform its operations in ways that could have ripple effects across its business and extend to the shipping industry.

30-min reporting, reduced from 4 hours 7 day account settlement, improved from 30–60 day
With watsonx Orchestrate, we're not just automating tasks. We're not just moving workloads. We're propelling our business forward like we’ve never imagined—and neither has our industry. Mike Brown Chief Executive Officer Tricon Steamship Agency, Inc.
Transforming business with AI: a journey to success

During a technology education session sponsored by IBM Business Partner ThisWay Global, the Tricon senior leadership launched its generative AI and automation adventure. Using IBM watsonx™ Orchestrate, ThisWay representatives demonstrated the ability of the solution to automate human resource tasks. The audience’s thirst for additional capabilities was nearly insatiable. “After the scheduled session, we spent three hours with the participants examining the data and modeling capabilities available through watsonx Orchestrate and ThisWayGlobal,” explains Angela Hood, Founder and Chief Executive Officer (CEO) of ThisWay Global.

When ThisWay addressed a sampling of business and operations requirements provided by Tricon, the agency’s senior leadership team recognized the transformative business capabilities of IBM watsonx Orchestrate. “It was important for us to identify a method to simplify reporting tasks without compromising quality or effectiveness,” adds Mike Brown, CEO of Tricon Steamship Agency. “The watsonx Orchestrate demo showed we could eliminate manual data input, minimize errors and increase process velocity across multiple departments. The manual completion of required forms takes each onboard agent four hours a week—with watsonx Orchestrate, the same forms are completed automatically in 30 minutes.” Onboard agents and operations staff members have additional time to devote to vital customer care initiatives rather than mundane responsibilities.

Timely communication between shipping companies and ships is critical from the first request for proposal through the close out of the final invoices after departure from the Mississippi. “The next best action [NBA] capabilities of watsonx Orchestrate enable Tricon to access data and generate relevant communications based on the task or action previously performed. This becomes incredibly important because it makes it easier for more people in the Tricon organization to be part of the workflow while consistently adhering to the operational processes,  standards and templates defined by the company,” cites Hood.  

Additionally, watsonx Orchestrate provides prefabricated abilities that may be tailored to meet Tricon’s unique requirements without the need for coders. Users can train and expand their abilities utilizing machine learning algorithms, making incorporating new features and functions more streamlined. Because the system is cloud-based, users can access it anywhere and anytime, which facilitates remote work and ship-based reporting and communications.

From manual reporting to using gen AI for advancement

By implementing watsonx Orchestrate instances across the agency, Tricon saved time and money, boosted efficiency, increased productivity and improved employee engagement. Employees can now concentrate on higher-level duties that require human ingenuity and thought, resulting in better job satisfaction and organizational performance.

“One of my primary pain points was spending too much time doing monotonous operations daily,” says Brown. “After adopting watsonx Orchestrate, I can devote far more time to strategy and innovation.” The leadership team also noticed a considerable decrease in the time spent on routine jobs, as Brown continues, “Our crews can now respond more swiftly to market changes and deliver superior service levels than previously.”

“We’ve created an operational baseline for each ship type, specific cargo or customer and created a workflow for each,” states Brown. “This is going to help streamline that process for me. It can help the employees to better understand the commercial consequences of every event and action and how to report that properly.”

He continues: “From the financial perspective, we can analyze a shipping company’s creditworthiness and risk based on industry, public and ship-specific data that doesn’t appear on a credit report. It helps us ensure that shipping companies pay the right amount in advance, especially for foreign vessels we serve. Now, we aim to close out invoices in seven days versus the 60 to 90 days it took in the past.”

Several of the most powerful benefits to the Tricon business are immeasurable. “We can't even measure the time savings we’ll experience—and that’s not even the true benefit. We’re going to have data analytics and processes that are exponentially better,” Brown concludes. “With watsonx Orchestrate, we're not just automating tasks. We're not just moving workloads. We're propelling our business forward like we’ve never imagined—and neither has our industry.”

Tricon Steamship Agency, Inc. logo
About Tricon Steamship Agency, Inc.

Tricon (link resides outside of ibm.com) is a premier shipping agency offering dependable and efficient transport solutions for ships calling the U.S. Gulf region. Its dedication to excellence and client satisfaction has earned it a reputation as an industry leader. With over 40 years of experience, it continues to develop and adapt to changing market conditions.

ThisWay Global logo
About ThisWay Global

ThisWay (link resides outside of ibm.com), an esteemed IBM Business Partner, is an acclaimed AI firm committed to ensuring customers lead the charge in innovation while upholding the highest standards of compliance. By enabling businesses to harness the synergy of technology and human capability, ThisWay delivers transformative solutions that boost efficiency, unveil valuable insights and yield meaningful outcomes.

Ditch the repetition

With the AI and automation capabilities of IBM watsonx Orchestrate, you can spend less time on the mundane and more on what really matters.

Learn about IBM watsonx Orchestrate View more case studies
Legal

© Copyright IBM Corporation 2024 IBM, the IBM logo, and IBM watsonx are trademarks or registered trademarks of IBM Corp., in the U.S. and/or other countries. This document is current as of the initial date of publication and may be changed by IBM at any time. Not all offerings are available in every country in which IBM operates.

Client examples are presented as illustrations of how those clients have used IBM products and the results they may have achieved. Actual performance, cost, savings or other results in other operating environments may vary.