Taylor Made Media 的远程办公战略
BASE Media Cloud 和 IBM® Aspera 支持快速云迁移
多媒体室配有灯光、摄像头和电脑显示器

在“非特殊”时期,屡获殊荣的媒体制作公司 Taylor Made Media 在伦敦东区的创意中心开展工作,在整个过程中与全球客户密切合作。制作人与客户的关系紧密而透明,他们在每个阶段都要与同事和客户共享内容,这就需要快速、高效的工作流程和媒体交付解决方案。

当英国因新冠疫情流行而进入封控状态时,Taylor Made Media 的制作主管 Ian McGinty 急需为公司的新远程办公战略部署一个解决方案,因而找到了创新型托管云服务公司 BASE Media Cloud。BASE Media Cloud 为 BBC、COPA90、Formula E、ITV 和 Objective Media Group 等知名媒体品牌提供集成云存储和多云软件即服务 (SaaS) 解决方案。作为 Aspera 合作伙伴,BASE Media Cloud 使用 Aspera on CloudIBM® Cloud Object Storage 解决方案来提高媒体分发解决方案的效率。

由于员工被迫远程工作,Taylor Made Media 需要快速转变其本地部署存储和手动媒体工作流程。为了保持与客户和同事进行媒体交流的效率,该公司必须立即将所有媒体资产迁移到云存储解决方案中,这几乎是在一夜之间完成的。在封控的第一个周末,数据中心的访问受到限制,这给数据迁移带来了巨大挑战。

McGinty 说:“当我们需要在短时间内实施远程后期制作工作流程时,我们联系了 BASE,他们立即为我们进行了设置。一切就绪后,我们收到了一份关于如何浏览和操作该系统的教程,这让我们对如何使用该服务有了清晰的认识。”

大规模快速迁移

 

快速迁移 10TB 创意资产

快速云实施

 

新的云存储在 48 小时内启动并运行

当我们需要在短时间内实施远程后期制作工作流程时,我们联系了 BASE Media Cloud,它立即为我们进行了设置。一切就绪后,我们收到了一份关于如何浏览和操作该系统的教程,这让我们对如何使用该服务有了清晰的认识。 Ian McGinty 生产主管 Taylor Made Media

该公司有多个项目正在进行中,员工和自由职业者都在家,无法访问其位于伦敦的内部存储,因此需要一个快速解决这一问题的解决方案,同时尽量减少对熟悉的工作流程和过程的干扰。当务之急是有效地迁移资产,如样片、影片剪辑、音乐和动画文件,并通过云存储供所有利益相关者访问。由于每项资产都包含宝贵的客户内容,因此在寻找可提供即时访问备份、归档和文件共享功能的解决方案时,数据安全性、弹性和冗余性等因素都是关键考量因素。

为了确保快速、无缝地过渡到基于云的存储和远程工作,Taylor Made Media 需要一个培训要求最低的解决方案,并为全天候工作的创意人员提供持续的技术支持。由于这种情况具有时间敏感性,该团队希望合作伙伴能够提供个性化服务,并了解其业务和技术要求。同样重要的是,解决方案必须是模块化的,使公司能够适应未来的制作工作流程,并促进媒体资产管理和转码等相关服务,以便将来可能创建虚拟演播室。

在一个周末内移动 10 TB 数据

Taylor Made Media 与 BASE Media Cloud 建立了长期的合作关系,并曾就存储虚拟化问题进行过讨论,因此,Taylor Made Media 确信该公司能够提供迁移存储和数据工作流程所需的专业知识和支持。BASE Media Cloud 了解项目的迫切需求(在一个周末内迁移 10 TB 的数据),因此使用 Aspera on Cloud 和 IBM Cloud Object Storage 解决方案以及迁移和支持服务来进行大型数据迁移。

该决定是在周五做出的,Taylor Made Media 的员工在下周一就能实现无缝工作,通过其标准的家庭 IP 连接快速、远程地访问项目资料。由于公司伦敦生产设施的 IP 连接限制,硬盘驱动器被直接传输到英国的数据中心,并使用 Aspera on Cloud 将资产从那里迁移到 IBM Cloud Object Storage。

该解决方案的基础是 Aspera on Cloud 文件传输服务,而底层的 IBM Cloud Object Storage 具有内置擦除编码功能,可为 Taylor Made Media 提供更高的安全性、弹性和冗余性。组合后的 BASE Media Cloud-Aspera on Cloud 服务作为托管服务在英国的 IBM Cloud Data Center 内运行,直接连接到 IBM Cloud Object Storage 平台。

McGinty 说:“在首次联系 BASE Media Cloud 的几天内,我们就完成了远程工作的全部设置,我们的编辑和自由职业者团队可以愉快地共享素材并就多个项目进行合作。它使我们从完全的办公室工作过渡到完全的远程工作,几乎实现了无缝衔接,让我们可以坐在家中,从周一开始就几乎直接接续周五在办公室时的工作。”

在首次联系 BASE Media Cloud 后的几天内,我们就完成了远程工作的设置,我们的编辑和自由职业者团队可以愉快地共享素材并就多个项目进行合作。它使我们从完全的办公室工作过渡到完全的远程工作,几乎实现了无缝衔接,让我们可以坐在家中,从周一开始就几乎直接接续周五在办公室时的工作。 Ian McGinty 生产主管 Taylor Made Media
无缝协作和面向未来的工作流程

BASE Media Cloud 能够提供一种解决方案,利用 Aspera on Cloud 和 IBM Cloud Object Storage 解决方案将 Taylor Made Media 的存储集中到云中,同时确保远程创作人员能够访问宝贵的媒体资产并进行无缝协作。Taylor Made Media 的新远程工作战略增强了其工作流程,并创造了一种更具活力的工作方式,无论是在伦敦的工作室还是在家中办公。

Aspera on Cloud 与 IBM Cloud Object Storage 的整合使 Taylor Made Media 能够向客户提供高效的创意支持。除了 BASE Media Cloud 的技术和迁移支持外,它还保证了高效的工作流程,并在不确定的时期为 Taylor Made Media 的运营提供了未来保障。

优点:

  • 集中化流程:该解决方案为创意人员提供了一个访问文件的单一存储中心。
  • 高性能:利用家庭 IP 连接,通过云快速、安全地移动宝贵资产。
  • 灵活性:使员工能够在家中安全舒适地高效工作。
  • 面向未来:可增加更多存储空间,创建完全虚拟化的工作室。
Taylor Made Media 徽标和 Base Media 徽标
关于 Taylor Made Media

屡获殊荣的伦敦媒体制作公司 Taylor Made Media(ibm.com 外部链接)成立于 2010 年,为 Accenture、Barclays、Liberty Global 和 American Express 等一些世界领先品牌制作了大量影片。公司创意团队因其制作的影片深刻影响受众、显著增进客户品牌价值而声名远播。从概念到创意,该团队的品牌和广播经验可确保提供高价值的品牌内容。

关于 BASE Media Cloud

在整个媒体制作过程中,媒体文件的获取、处理和交付量不断增加,为了应对由此带来的日益严峻的挑战,BASE Media Cloud(ibm.com 外部链接)提供了一套现成的云服务,包括媒体存储、媒体资产管理、云编辑、文件传输、品牌渠道和内容分发。

完全托管的多云服务以即用即付的方式提供,减少了媒体客户的资本支出和运营成本,同时调整灵活的制作预算。

BASE Media Cloud 于 2015 年成立,至今已为数字媒体市场的多个客户提供服务,包括体育、在线视频、制作、后期设施、广播公司、代理商、游戏和教育。

阅读更多
小型工作室通过基于云的协作创建大型动画 为全球最大的啤酒酿造商提供快速可靠的数据迁移平台 为数据密集型媒体项目提供快速可靠的技术平台
脚注

© Copyright IBM Corporation 2021. IBM Corporation, Hybrid Cloud, New Orchard Road, Armonk, NY 10504

美国出品,2021 年 4 月。

IBM、IBM 徽标、ibm.com、Aspera 和 IBM Cloud 是 International Business Machines Corp. 在世界各地司法辖区的注册商标。其他产品和服务名称可能是 IBM 或其他公司的商标。www.ibm.com/cn-zh/legal/copytrade.shtml 上的“Copyright and trademark information”部分中提供了 IBM 商标的最新列表。

本文档为自最初公布日期起的最新版本,IBM 可能随时对其进行更改。IBM 并不一定在开展业务的所有国家或地区提供所有产品或服务。

本文档内的信息“按现状”提供,不附有任何种类的(无论是明示的还是默示的)保证,包括不附有关于适销性、适用于某种特定用途的任何保证以及非侵权的任何保证或条件。IBM 产品根据其提供时所依据的协议条款和条件获得保证。

Taylor Made Media’s remote work strategy

BASE Media Cloud and IBM® Aspera® enable rapid cloud migration
by Scott Clarabut
3-minute read
Multi-media room with lights, cameras and computer monitors

During “normal” times, the award-winning media production company Taylor Made Media works from its creative hub in East London, collaborating closely with clients globally throughout the entire process. With strong and transparent client relationships, producers share content with colleagues and clients at each stage, requiring fast, efficient workflows and media delivery solutions.

When the UK went into lockdown due to the COVID-19 pandemic, Ian McGinty, Head of Production at Taylor Made Media, approached innovative managed cloud services company BASE Media Cloud with the urgent need to deploy a solution for the company’s new remote working strategy. BASE Media Cloud provides integrated cloud storage and multicloud software-as-a-service (SaaS) solutions to high-profile media brands like BBC, COPA90, Formula E, ITV and Objective Media Group. As an Aspera partner, BASE Media Cloud uses Aspera on Cloud and IBM Cloud® Object Storage solutions to increase efficiencies in media distribution solutions.

As staff were forced to work remotely, Taylor Made Media needed to quickly shift from its on-premises storage and manual media workflow. To maintain the efficiency of media exchange with clients and colleagues, it had to immediately migrate all media assets to a cloud storage solution, almost overnight. Restricted access to data centers during the first weekend of lockdown posed significant data migration challenges.

“When we needed to implement a remote post-production workflow at short notice, we reached out to BASE who got us set up immediately,” says McGinty. “As soon as everything was online, we were given a tutorial on how to navigate and operate the system which gave us a clear insight into how we would use the service.”

Digital artist space in home studio/office

Rapidly migrated

10 TB

of creative assets

New cloud storage up and running within

48

hours

When we needed to implement a remote post-production workflow at short notice, we reached out to BASE Media Cloud, which got us set up immediately. As soon as everything was online, we were given a tutorial on how to navigate and operate the system, which gave us a clear insight into how we would use the service.
Ian McGinty
Head of Production, Taylor Made Media

With several projects in progress and both staff and freelancers based at home with no access to its on-premises storage in London, the company needed a quick-turnaround solution with minimum disruption to familiar workflows and processes. It was imperative that assets like rushes, and editing, music and animation files be migrated efficiently and made accessible to all stakeholders through cloud storage. With each asset containing valuable client content, factors such as data security, resiliency and redundancy were all key considerations in finding a solution that would provide instant access backup, archive and file sharing capabilities.

To ensure this fast and seamless transition to cloud-based storage and remote working, Taylor Made Media needed a solution with minimal training requirements and continuous technical support for creatives working around the clock. With the time-sensitive nature of the situation, the team wanted a personalized service from a partner that understands its business and technical requirements. It was also important that the solution be modular to enable the company to future proof its production workflows and facilitate adjacent services such as media asset management and transcoding for the potential creation of a virtual studio in future.

Woman in studio at home with sound recording equipment
Vlogging studio equipment at home
Within a couple days of first contacting BASE Media Cloud we were completely set up for remote working and our team of editors and freelancers were happily sharing footage and collaborating on multiple projects. It has made our transition from entirely office-based to entirely remote-based working pretty much seamless, allowing us to pick up from our homes on the Monday almost exactly where we had left off in the office on the Friday.
Ian McGinty
Head of Production, Taylor Made Media.
Moving 10 TB of data in a single weekend
Within a couple days of first contacting BASE Media Cloud we were completely set up for remote working and our team of editors and freelancers were happily sharing footage and collaborating on multiple projects. It has made our transition from entirely office-based to entirely remote-based working pretty much seamless, allowing us to pick up from our homes on the Monday almost exactly where we had left off in the office on the Friday.
Ian McGinty
Head of Production, Taylor Made Media.

Based on its long-standing relationship with BASE Media Cloud and previous discussions about virtualizing its storage, Taylor Made Media was confident that the company offered the expertise and support needed to migrate its storage and data workflows. Understanding the project’s urgent requirement — migrating 10 TB of data over a single weekend — BASE Media Cloud used the Aspera on Cloud and IBM Cloud Object Storage solutions alongside its migration and support services for the large data migration.

The decision was made on a Friday and Taylor Made Media’s employees were working seamlessly by the following Monday, accessing rushes and project materials quickly and remotely via their standard home IP connections. Due to IP connectivity restrictions at the company’s London production facility, the hard drive was transferred directly to the UK-based data center, using Aspera on Cloud to migrate the assets from there to IBM Cloud Object Storage.

The foundation of the solution is built on the Aspera on Cloud file transfer service, while the underlying IBM Cloud Object Storage, with built-in erasure coding, provides Taylor Made Media with increased security, resiliency and redundancy. The combined BASE Media Cloud–Aspera on Cloud service runs as a managed service inside IBM Cloud data centers in the UK, directly connected to the IBM Cloud Object Storage platform.

“Within a couple days of first contacting BASE Media Cloud we were completely set up for remote working and our team of editors and freelancers were happily sharing footage and collaborating on multiple projects,” says McGinty. “It has made our transition from entirely office-based to entirely remote-based working pretty much seamless, allowing us to pick up from our homes on the Monday almost exactly where we had left off in the office on the Friday.”

Seamless collaboration and future-proof workflows

BASE Media Cloud was able to deliver a solution that has centralized Taylor Made Media’s storage in the cloud using the Aspera on Cloud and IBM Cloud Object Storage solutions, while ensuring that remote creatives can access valuable media assets and collaborate seamlessly. Taylor Made Media’s new remote working strategy has enhanced its workflows and created a more dynamic way of working, whether from the studio in London or from home offices.

The integration of Aspera on Cloud with IBM Cloud Object Storage has enabled Taylor Made Media to maintain its efficiency in delivering creative support to clients. Alongside BASE Media Cloud’s technical and migration support, it guarantees efficient workflows and future-proofs Taylor Made Media’s operations at an uncertain time.

Benefits:

  • Centralized processes: the solution provides a single storage hub for creatives to access files.
  • High performance: provides fast and security-rich movement of valuable assets via the cloud using home IP connections.
  • Flexibility: enables staff to productively work from the safety and comfort of their homes.
  • Future-proofed: potential to add more storage space and create a fully virtualized studio.
  • Taylor Made Media logo and Base logo next to each other
    About Taylor Made Media

    Founded in 2010, London-based multi-award-winning media production company Taylor Made MediaExternal Link has produced numerous films for some of the world’s leading brands, including Accenture, Barclays, Liberty Global and American Express. Its team of creatives is known for creating films that influence audiences and add value to clients’ brand messaging. From concept to creative, the team’s brand and broadcast experience ensures the delivery of high-value brand content.

    About BASE Media Cloud

    To meet the increasing challenges brought about by the rising volumes of media files being acquired, processed and delivered throughout the media production process, BASE Media CloudExternal Link offers a suite of ready-made cloud services comprising media storage, media asset management, cloud editing, file transfer, branded channels and content distribution.

    The fully managed multicloud services are offered on a pay-as-you-go basis, reducing its media customers’ capital expenditure and operational costs, while adjusting to flexible production budgets.

    BASE Media Cloud was launched in 2015 and has since gone on to service multiple clients across the digital media market, including sports, online video, production, post facilities, broadcasters, agencies, gaming and education.

    IBM Solution components
    Taylor Made Media logo and Base logo next to each other
    About Taylor Made Media

    Founded in 2010, London-based multi-award-winning media production company Taylor Made MediaExternal Link has produced numerous films for some of the world’s leading brands, including Accenture, Barclays, Liberty Global and American Express. Its team of creatives is known for creating films that influence audiences and add value to clients’ brand messaging. From concept to creative, the team’s brand and broadcast experience ensures the delivery of high-value brand content.

    About BASE Media Cloud

    To meet the increasing challenges brought about by the rising volumes of media files being acquired, processed and delivered throughout the media production process, BASE Media CloudExternal Link offers a suite of ready-made cloud services comprising media storage, media asset management, cloud editing, file transfer, branded channels and content distribution.

    The fully managed multicloud services are offered on a pay-as-you-go basis, reducing its media customers’ capital expenditure and operational costs, while adjusting to flexible production budgets.

    BASE Media Cloud was launched in 2015 and has since gone on to service multiple clients across the digital media market, including sports, online video, production, post facilities, broadcasters, agencies, gaming and education.

    IBM Solution components