主页 Case Studies Samsung Electro-Mechanics 以可信数据领先
使用 IBM Cloud Pak 将数据架构转变为强大的平台以支持生产核心电子元件
Samsung Electro-Mechanics 工厂鸟瞰图

Samsung Electro-Mechanics 成立于 1973 年,现已发展成为一家开发和生产核心电子元件并供应韩国乃至全球市场的公司。该公司专注于开发下一代有前景的新产品,最近基于在材料、多层薄膜成型和高频电路设计方面的核心技术,扩大了元件开发和生产,包括微芯片、摄像头和通信模块以及基板。

Samsung Electro-Mechanics 的愿景是扩展业务领域,即通过技术整合和融合打造世界一流的核心产品并不断开发新产品,同时尽早培育下一代未来增长业务,力争成为电子元件行业的龙头企业。

Samsung Electro-Mechanics 在全球市场上保持竞争优势的最重要因素是产品质量。众所周知,该公司采取极其严格的质量措施,因为客户要求达到非常高的质量水平,而在内部,该公司需要提高产量以增加营业利润。

为了满足这些内外部质量要求,Samsung Electro-Mechanics 打造最先进的数据平台以稳步推进数字创新,从而帮助提高生产力并降低复杂性。

数据集成、可观察性、主数据管理以及数据治理和安全性是 Samsung Electro-Mechanics 开发强大数据平台的关键决定因素,这是一个可扩展和连接的平台以支持其蓬勃发展的业务,即为世界各地的客户生产和供应核心电子元件。

>2,500

数据资产数量从 500 个增加到 2,500 多个

≤10

典型流程时间的改进天数(从 30 天减少到 10 天或更少)

基于 IBM Cloud Pak for Data 的平台将从多个来源生成的数据整理成系统化的资产,可以通过 API 在整个组织中轻松共享、搜索和利用这些资产。使用 IBM 的 Cloud Pak for Data 打造数据平台的最大优点是,为用户提供自助服务功能。 Sanghee Han 项目负责人 Samsung Electro-Mechanics
数据结构之旅

众所周知,Samsung Electro-Mechanics 积极采用尖端技术,并且已利用生产阶段生成的大量数据以获得洞察,从而提高产品质量。这包括使用数据监控仪表板查找并消除在生产过程中导致缺陷的因素,从而提高产品纯度。

Samsung Electro-Mechanics 拥有各种不同的生产系统,包括用于生产输入的生产执行系统 (MES)、设施数据系统以及用于质量评估的产量分析系统。然而,这些系统中生成的数据遍布整个组织并分散到不同的系统中,从而很难快速高效地找到、标准化和利用这些数据。由于在不同的系统中存在重复数据,其中还夹杂着个人信息和敏感信息,因此,情况变得更加复杂。需要进行严格的治理,才能利用各种不同的数据源以获得有用的洞察。

Samsung Electro-Mechanics 项目负责人 Sanghee Han 表示“由于没有分散数据的整合视图,每个负责人必须四处打听,找到数据的位置,向系统负责人解释他们需要什么数据,然后请求和接收数据。单独收集数据进行分析耗费大量时间,并且需要付出很多努力,因为需要使用包括个人网络在内的所有方法获取和分析数据。这使跟踪所需数据的明确访问权限和审批甚至变得更加困难。核实访问权限变化也同样耗费大量时间,有时会导致数据收集失败。”

Samsung Electro-Mechanics 评估了市场上所有领先的解决方案,并进行了概念验证以确定哪种平台能够提供与 Impala、SAP HANA、MS SQL 和 Oracle 等数据库和服务器的良好连接。它必须是可搜索的(可以直接提取和发送数据),最重要的是,可以根据 Samsung Electro-Mechanics 的分配系统和安全系统进行定制。

用户可以快速找到他们所需的数据,以他们所需的形式进行处理并立即加以利用,而不必要求开发人员提取数据,这可能需要数天的时间。这使用户能够将通常需要 30 天的任务缩短到 10 天甚至更短的时间。 Sanghee Han 项目负责人 Samsung Electro-Mechanics
深入洞察成为可能

带来的结果是什么?事实证明,IBM 的 Cloud Pak for Data 及其 Watson Knowledge Catalog 解决方案具有最高的可扩展性。Samsung Electro-Mechanics 项目负责人 Sanghee Han 表示“特别是,我们评估的大多数解决方案都存在问题,例如,仅限于处理元数据,我们必须购买额外的产品以进行数据沿袭,或需要处理数据而无法立即使用。仅 IBM 的 Cloud Pak for Data 不存在此类问题。”

另一个优势是能够运行和扩展 SPSS,并通过 Jupyter 笔记本和 IBM Cloud Pak for Data 在仪表板上可视化数据。Samsung Electro-Mechanics 团队还在解决方案前端搭建一个门户,用于创建、添加、补充和控制他们所需的功能,例如,使用数据构建树,绘制数据地图以及包括其他安全功能。事实上,它可以根据公司需求进行定制,并且可以轻松与自身的系统结合使用,这是一个很大的优势。

尽管最初在导入资产或使用功能时遇到技术挑战,但与 Impala、SAP Hana、Oracle、MS SQL 和其他数据库服务器成功建立连接。IBM Korea 积极主动地提供技术支持,以使 Samsung Electro-Mechanics 团队能够解决技术问题。开发工作于 2021 年 10 月开始,第一阶段于 12 月开始测试。实际项目历时约 6 个月完成,并于 2022 年 4 月 22 日正式推出。

如今,基于 IBM Cloud Pak for Data 的平台将从多个来源生成的数据整理成系统化的资产,可以通过 API 在整个组织中轻松共享、搜索和利用这些资产。个人信息和敏感信息根据 Samsung Electro-Mechanics 的严格治理原则进行管理,并使用新生成的数据不断更新数据资产。这些数据资产的数量已从 500 个增加到 2,500 多个,并且仍在不断增长。

使用 IBM 的 Cloud Pak for Data 打造数据平台的最大优点是,为用户提供自助服务功能。用户可以快速找到他们所需的数据,以他们所需的形式进行处理并立即加以利用,而不必要求开发人员提取数据,这可能需要数天的时间。这使用户能够将通常需要 30 天的任务缩短到 10 天甚至更短的时间。

Samsung Electro-Mechanics 项目负责人 Sanghee Han 表示“有同事说,以前需要一周时间的工作现在一天就完成了。虽然所花的时间取决于数据类型,但整体员工生产力得到了提高,并且他们能够从数据中获得有用的洞察。在客户请求特定的数据时,我们的团队可以快速高效地找到、分析并提供数据,这不仅有助于提高我们员工的满意度,也有助于提高我们客户的满意度。

最重要的是,可以在数据湖中利用来自原材料系统的数据量显著增加,原材料系统数据占 Samsung Electro-Mechanics 数据总量的最大部分。现在不仅可以通过连接的门户搜索和利用结构化数据和文件,而且还可以搜索和利用图像和非结构化数据,这是该项目的另一个重要成果。”

Samsung Electro-Mechanics 计划在该项目取得成功的基础上继续扩展数据平台。连接到该解决方案的数据系统数量已从一开始的五六个增加到今天的 20 多个。虽然他们目前主要与数据科学家合作在 DataOps 方面使用该解决方案,但计划将该解决方案用于 MLOps 方面。

Samsung Electro-Mechanics 项目负责人 Sanghee Han 总结道“从零开始创建该解决方案并建立流程比我想象的更难,因为这种创新过程并不是我们每天都在做的事情,但我感到很有成就感,因为用户非常满意,而且他们的使用情况比我最初预想的要好。”

Samsung Electro-Mechanics 徽标
关于 Samsung Electro-Mechanics

Samsung Electro-Mechanics(ibm.com 外部链接)是一家跨国电子元件公司,总部位于韩国京畿道水原市。它是 Samsung 集团的子公司。2022 年,Samsung Electro-Mechanics 的营业收入为 94,246 亿韩元(约合 73 亿美元),净利润为 11,828 亿韩元(约合 10 亿美元)。

IBM Cloud Pak for Data System

开始免费试用 Cloud Pak for Data。亲自了解 IBM 如何将您的企业转型为数据驱动型企业。

开始免费试用 查看更多案例
法律

© Copyright IBM Corporation 2023。IBM Corporation, New Orchard Road, Armonk, NY 10504

美国出品,2023 年 9 月。

IBM、IBM 徽标、ibm.com、IBM Cloud Pak 和 IBM Watson 是 International Business Machines Corporation 在美国和/或其他国家或地区的商标或注册商标。其他产品和服务名称可能是 IBM 或其他公司的商标。有关 IBM 商标的最新列表,请访问 ibm.com/trademark

本文档为自最初公布日期起的最新版本,IBM 可能随时对其进行更改。IBM 并不一定在开展业务的所有国家或地区提供所有产品或服务。

以上所有引用或描述的客户实例的展示取决于部分客户使用 IBM 产品的方式以及他们可能取得的结果。实际的环境成本和性能特征会因具体客户配置和情况而有所不同。无法提供通用的预期结果,因为每个客户的结果将完全取决于客户的系统和订购的服务。本文档内的信息“按现状”提供,不附有任何种类的(无论是明示的还是默示的)保证,包括不附有关于适销性、适用于某种特定用途的任何保证以及非侵权的任何保证或条件。IBM 产品根据其提供时所依据的协议条款和条件获得保证。

Home Case Studies Samsung Electro-Mechanics Leading with trusted data
Using IBM Cloud Pak to transform data architecture into a robust platform to support production of core electronic components
Aerial view of Samsung Electro-Mechanics factory

Founded in 1973, Samsung Electro-Mechanics has evolved into a company that develops and produces core electronic components and supplies them not only in Korea but also globally. Focused on the development of promising new products for the next generation, the company recently expanded component development and production to include microchips, cameras and communication modules, and substrates based on its core technologies in materials, multilayer thin-film molding, and high-frequency circuit design.

Samsung Electro-Mechanics has a vision to expand its business portfolio by making the world class of its core products and continuously developing new products through technology integration and convergence, while fostering the next generation of future growth businesses at an early stage to become the No. 1 company in the electronic components industry.

The most important aspect for Samsung Electro-Mechanics to maintain its competitive edge in the global market is the quality of its products. The company is known to pursue extreme quality measures because its customers demand very high-quality levels, and internally, the company needs high yields to increase operating profits.

In order to meet these internal and external quality demands, Samsung Electro-Mechanics is steadily promoting digital innovation by building a state-of-the-art data platform that helps improve productivity and reduce complexity.

Data integration, observability, master data management, and data governance and security were the key determiners at Samsung Electro-Mechanics in developing a robust data platform that was scalable and connected to support its burgeoning business of manufacturing and supplying core electronic components to clients all over the world.

>2,500

number of data assets has grown from 500 to more than 2,500

≤10

days for improvement in typical process time (from 30 days to 10 days or less)

The platform based on IBM Cloud Pak® for Data organizes data generated from multiple sources into systematic assets that can be easily shared, searched, and utilized through APIs across the organization. The best part about building a data platform with IBM's Cloud Pak for Data is to provide users with self service functions. Sanghee Han project lead Samsung-Electro Mechanics
Journey to data fabric

Widely known as an active adopter of cutting-edge technologies, Samsung Electro-Mechanics already utilizes a lot of data generated during production stage to gain insights to improve the quality of its products. This included data monitoring dashboards to find and eliminate factors that cause defects in the manufacturing process to increase product purity.

Samsung Electro-Mechanics has a diverse range of manufacturing systems, encompassing the Manufacturing Execution System (MES) for production inputs, facility data systems, and yield analysis systems for quality assessment. However, the data produced in these systems sprawl across the organization that were scattered on different systems made it difficult to locate, standardize and utilize quickly and efficiently. The situation was further complicated with duplicate data residing across different systems with cases of personal and sensitive information mixed in. Strict governance was required to utilize the diverse data sources to gain useful insights.

“Since there was no integrated view of the scattered data, each person in charge had to ask around, find the location of the data, explain to the person in charge of the system what they needed, and then request and receive the data. Collecting the data individually for analysis was time consuming and took a lot of effort as it was necessary to use all methods, including personal network, to obtain and analyze data. This made it even more difficult to track clear access rights and approvals for the desired data. Verifying changes in access right was just as time consuming which at time, led to failure in collecting data,” said Sanghee Han, project lead, Samsung-Electro Mechanics.

Samsung Electro-Mechanics reviewed all the leading solutions in the market and conducted proof of concepts on which platform would be able to provide good connectivity with databases and servers such as Impala, SAP HANA, MS SQL and Oracle. It had to be searchable—data could be pulled and sent directly—and above all, customizable according to Samsung Electro-Mechanics' distribution systems and security systems.

Users can quickly find the data they need, process it in the form they want, and utilize it immediately, instead of having to ask developers to pull data that would have taken days. This has allowed users to complete tasks that typically took 30 days to 10 days and less. Sanghee Han project lead Samsung-Electro Mechanics
Incisive insights made possible

The outcome? IBM's Cloud Pak for Data and its Watson Knowledge Catalog solution proved to be the most scalable. “In particular, most of the solutions we reviewed had problems such as it is limited to handling metadata only or we had to purchase additional products for data lineage or data needed processing and could not be used immediately. Only IBM's Cloud Pak for Data doesn’t have any issues like these” said Sanghee Han, project lead, Samsung-Electro Mechanics.

An added advantage was the ability to run and scale SPSS® and visualize data on dashboards through Jupyter notebooks with IBM's Cloud Pak for Data. The team at Samsung Electro-Mechanics also built a portal on the front end of the solution to create, add, complement, and control the functions they needed, such as constructing trees using data, drawing data maps, and including additional security features. The fact that it could be customized to the company's needs and was easy to use in conjunction with its own systems, was a big advantage.

Connecting with Impala, SAP Hana, Oracle, MS SQL and other database servers were successful despite initial technical challenges in importing assets or using functions. The active involvement of IBM Korea in providing proactive technical support enabled the Samsung Electro-Mechanics team to solve the technical issues. Development work began in October 2021 with the first phase open for testing in December. The actual project took about 6 months to complete with the official roll-out on 22 April 2022.

Today, the platform based on IBM Cloud Pak for Data organizes data generated from multiple sources into systematic assets that can be easily shared, searched, and utilized through APIs across the organization. Personal and sensitive information is managed according to Samsung Electro-Mechanics' strict governance principles, and the data assets are continuously updated with newly generated data. The number of these data assets has grown from 500 to more than 2,500 and is still growing.

The best part about building a data platform with IBM's Cloud Pak for Data is to provide users with self service functions. Users can quickly find the data they need, process it in the form they want, and utilize it immediately, instead of having to ask developers to pull data that would have taken days. This has allowed users to complete tasks that typically took 30 days to 10 days and less.

“Some colleague said what used to take a week can now be done within a day. While time taken is dependent on data type, the overall employee productivity improved and they are able to derive useful insights from it. In cases of specific data requested by customers, our team can find, analyze and deliver the data quickly and efficiently which has contributed to the satisfaction of not only from our employees but also our customers.

“To top it off, the amount of data that can be utilized in the data lake from the raw material system, which accounts for the largest part of Samsung Electro-Mechanics' data corpus, has increased significantly. It is now possible to search and utilize not only structured data and files, but also images and unstructured data through the connected portal, which is another significant result of this project,” said Sanghee Han, project lead, Samsung-Electro Mechanics.

Samsung Electro-Mechanics plans to continue to expand the data platform based on the successful outcome of the project. The number of data systems connected to the solution has grown from five or six from the start to more than 20 today. While they are currently using it mainly on the DataOps side in cooperation with data scientists, there are plans to use it for the MLOps side. 

"It was harder than I thought to create it from scratch and set up the process because this kind of innovation process is not something we do every day, but I feel very rewarded because the users are very satisfied and using it better than I expected at first," concluded Sanghee Han, project lead, Samsung-Electro Mechanics.

Samsung Electro-Mechanics logo
About Samsung Electro-Mechanics

Samsung Electro-Mechanics (link resides outside of ibm.com) is a multinational electronic component company headquartered in Suwon, Gyeonggi-do, South Korea. It is a subsidiary of the Samsung Group. In 2022, Samsung Electro-Mechanics earned KW 9,424.6B (USD 7.3B) in revenue with a net income of KW 1,182.8B (USD 1B).

IBM Cloud Pak for Data System

Get started with a FREE trial of Cloud Pak for Data. See for yourself how IBM can transform your business into a data driven enterprise.

Get started with a free trial View more case stories
Legal

© Copyright IBM Corporation 2023. IBM Corporation, New Orchard Road, Armonk, NY 10504

Produced in United States of America, September 2023.

IBM, the IBM logo, ibm.com, IBM Cloud Pak and IBM Watson are trademarks or registered trademarks of International Business Machines Corporation, in the United States and/or other countries. Other product and service names might be trademarks of IBM or other companies. A current list of IBM trademarks is available on ibm.com/trademark.

This document is current as of the initial date of publication and may be changed by IBM at any time. Not all offerings are available in every country in which IBM operates.

All client examples cited or described are presented as illustrations of the manner in which some clients have used IBM products and the results they may have achieved. Actual environmental costs and performance characteristics will vary depending on individual client configurations and conditions. Generally expected results cannot be provided as each client’s results will depend entirely on the client’s systems and services ordered. THE INFORMATION IN THIS DOCUMENT IS PROVIDED “AS IS” WITHOUT ANY WARRANTY, EXPRESS OR IMPLIED, INCLUDING WITHOUT ANY WARRANTIES OF MERCHANTABILITY, FITNESS FOR A PARTICULAR PURPOSE AND ANY WARRANTY OR CONDITION OF NON-INFRINGEMENT. IBM products are warranted according to the terms and conditions of the agreements under which they are provided.