Ricoh
通过基于 IBM Cloud 的转型业务模式提供全球视频和网络会议服务
会议室办公桌前的一排空桌椅

Ricoh 提供世界一流的视频和网络会议解决方案:Ricoh 统一通信系统 (UCS)。 随着需求猛增,Ricoh 如何确保为其快速扩大的客户群提供流畅的声音和视觉服务? Ricoh 选择将 UCS 操作迁移到 IBM Cloud Bare Metal Server,利用近乎无限的可扩展性和容量。

业务挑战

Ricoh 在扩展视频和网络会议服务时需要确保可靠的服务质量和低延迟,并避免因硬件故障导致的系统中断。

变革

Ricoh 选择迁移到五个 IBM Cloud 全球数据中心的 IBM Cloud Bare Metal Server,以确保可靠的服务,并创建了一种利用冗余容量来消除中断的机制。  

结果 迁移
无需更改配置,即可将已迁移的视频传输到云端
确保
凭借 IBM Cloud Bare Metal Server,确保低延迟、高质量的服务
减半
迁移到 IBM Cloud 后三年的运营成本
业务挑战案例
保持优质服务

Ricoh 于 2011 年 8 月首次推出其视频和网络会议业务套件统一通信系统 (UCS),用户只需打开电源并按下按钮,即可开始会议。 令 Ricoh 高兴的是,接下来的几年里,企业用户数量迅速增加,工作量猛增。

“UCS 是一种对延迟非常敏感的服务,”Ricoh 云平台部门的 Naoki Umehara 说道。 “我们的数据中心位置离用户越近,我们可提供的视频和音频质量就越高。 我们只有两个数据中心,分别位于美国和日本,随着全球 UCS 用户数量的不断增加,提供稳定的服务已成为一项挑战。”

Ricoh 的基础架构由位于两个数据中心托管并通过 VMware vCenter Server 进行管理的私有云的 VMware vSphere 上的虚拟机组成。 随着服务需求的增加,Ricoh 开始遇到硬件故障导致的中断问题。

“我们的首要任务是提供全天候可用的超级稳定、高质量服务。 UCS 用于全球商业视频和网络会议,确保始终在线的服务交付至关重要。”Naoki Umehara 说道。

为了增强弹性并保持质量,Ricoh 计划在澳大利亚增加一个数据中心。 然而,考虑到与美国和日本的距离以及在多个地点运营数据中心的成本,Ricoh 挺担心延迟问题。

我们的首要任务是提供全天候可用的超级稳定、高质量服务。 UCS 用于全球商业视频和网络会议,确保始终在线的服务交付至关重要。 Naoki Umehara 云平台部 Ricoh
变革案例
全球解决方案

Ricoh 审查了其战略,并选择从数据中心转型试用商业云供应商。 该公司认为,其在澳大利亚开展新业务将是理想的第一步,同時其也研究了如何在尽可能少变更的情况下启用新的 UCS 服务。 Ricoh 研究了 IBM Cloud Bare Metal Server 产品,选择 IBM Cloud 墨尔本数据中心来扩展其 UCS 覆盖范围,并复制相同的 VMware vSphere 和 vCenter 堆栈,以便其应用程序能够像以前一样继续运行。

Ricoh 云平台部门的 Hiroyuki Kanda 表示:“我们发现数据包丢失和延迟没有问题,而这一直是我们主要担心的问题。 在测试了墨尔本数据中心和 Ricoh 本地数据中心之间的连接,并比较了底层工作负载和视频传输服务器后,我们发现 IBM CloudBare Metal Server 支持更高的负载并且管理起来更灵活。”

在墨尔本成功部署后,Ricoh 随后在阿姆斯特丹、华盛顿特区和首尔部署了更多服务器(见图)。 Ricoh 大部分用户在日本,对于日本国内的工作负载,现有私有云和 IBM Cloud 并行运行,直到向 IBM Cloud 东京数据中心迁移完成,以确保 Ricoh 过渡期间的持续服务。

“我们能够实现从本地虚拟机到 IBM Cloud Bare Metal Server 的平稳过渡,”Hiroyuki Kanda 说道。 “由于不需要更改应用程序配置,因此只需捕获映像、将虚拟机移动到 IBM Cloud 并更改 IP 地址即可。”

案例成果
稳定运行

由于 UCS 现在在 IBM Cloud 中运行,Ricoh 的过去三年的运营成本减少了一半。 Ricoh 以前需要处理较长的规划周期和评估容量,而现在能够在需要时按需部署附加物理服务器资源。

Hiroyuki Kanda 说:“自从采用 IBM Cloud 以来,我们采用了不可变的基础架构方法,即只要系统发生变化,就会自动重建基础架构,以帮助确保更高的稳定性、效率和可靠性。” “我们还通过 IBM Cloud 提供的大量 API 引入了自动化。 例如,我们创建了一种机制,在工作日上午 8:00 自动部署附加开发环境,而在晚上 8:00 相应缩减规模。 这可在我们需要时为我们提供容量,避免过度投资,并帮助我们削减成本。”

此外,通过改用 IBM Cloud,Ricoh 还增强了系统稳定性并提高了可用性。 随着需求的增加,Ricoh 可添加更多服务器并部署虚拟机,以确保拥有足够的容量。 IBM Cloud 使 Ricoh 能够根据需要按需增加容量,并选择能够尽量提高服务质量的交付地点,而不是仅将投资资金投入到几个地理上遥远的大型数据中心。

在成功采用 IBM Cloud 的基础上,Ricoh 正在利用这些新功能。 Ricoh 计划创建一个自动化灾难恢复机制,在数据中心之间转移工作负载而不会中断服务。 “IBM Cloud 为我们提供了很多机遇,”Hiroyuki Kanda 说道。 “我们相信 IBM Cloud 将提供稳定、可靠、大容量视频和网络会议服务,并帮助我们在未来开发令人兴奋的新服务。”

Ricoh 徽标
Ricoh

总部位于东京 Ricoh(链接位于 ibm.com 外部) 在大约 200 个国家/地区开展业务,利用创新技术和服务增强数字工作场所的能力,使个人能够更智能地工作。 80 多年来,Ricoh 一直致力于推动创新,现已发展成为视频和网络会议、文档管理解决方案、IT 服务和工业系统的领先供应商。

采取后续步骤

要了解有关 IBM Cloud 的更多信息,请联系您的 IBM 代表或 IBM 业务合作伙伴,或访问以下网站:https://ibm.com/cloud

查看更多客户案例了解有关 IBM Cloud 的更多信息

脚注

© Copyright IBM Corporation 2018. 1 New Orchard Road, Armonk, New York 10504-1722 United States. 美国出品,2018 年 5 月

IBM、IBM 徽标、ibm.com 以及IBM Cloud 是 International Business Machines Corp. 在世界各地司法辖区的注册商标。其他产品和服务名称可能是 IBM 或其他公司的商标。ibm.com/legal/copytrade.shtml 上的“Copyright and trademark information”部分提供了 IBM 商标的最新列表。

IBM 并不一定在开展业务的所有国家或地区提供所有产品或服务。

文中引用的性能数据和客户实例仅作说明之用。实际性能结果可能因具体配置和操作条件而异。

以上所有引用或描述的客户实例的展示取决于部分客户使用 IBM 产品的方式以及他们可能取得的结果。实际的环境成本和性能特征会因具体客户配置和情况而有所不同。请联系 IBM,咨询 IBM 产品和服务详情。

客户负责确保遵守适用的法律和法规。IBM 不提供任何法律咨询,也不声明或保证其服务或产品经确保客户遵循任何法律或法规。

关于 IBM 未来方向、意向的声明仅仅表示了目标和意愿而已,可能会随时更改或撤销,恕不另行通知。

Ricoh
Delivers global video and web conferencing with a transformed business model based on IBM Cloud
Row of empty desk chairs at an office table in conference room

Ricoh offers a world-class video and web conferencing solution, Ricoh Unified Communication System (UCS). As demand soared, how could Ricoh ensure smooth sound and vision for its rapidly expanding customer base? Ricoh chose to migrate UCS operations to IBM Cloud bare metal servers, taking advantage of near-limitless scalability and capacity.

Business challenge

Ricoh needed to ensure reliable service quality and low latency as it expanded its video and web conferencing services, as well as avoiding system outages caused by hardware failure.

Transformation

Ricoh chose to migrate to IBM Cloud bare metal servers in five IBM Cloud global data centers to ensure reliable service, and created a mechanism to leverage redundant capacity to eliminate outages.  

Results Migrated
video delivery operations to the cloud without configuration changes
Ensured
low latency, high-quality service with IBM Cloud bare metal servers
Halved
operational costs in the three years since moving to IBM Cloud
Business challenge story
Maintaining quality service

Ricoh first offered its video and web conferencing business suite, Unified Communication System (UCS), in August 2011, enabling users to start a conference by simply powering on and pressing a button. To Ricoh’s delight, the following years saw a rapid increase in the number of business users, and workload soared.

“UCS is very much a delay-sensitive service,” says Naoki Umehara in Ricoh’s Cloud Platform Department. “The closer our data center locations are to our users, the higher the video and audio quality we can provide. We had only two data centers, in the United States and Japan, and it became challenging to provide stable services as the number of UCS users was increasing worldwide."

Ricoh’s infrastructure consisted of virtual machines on VMware vSphere in a private cloud hosted at the two data centers and managed using VMware vCenter Server. As service demand increased, the company began to experience problems with outages caused by hardware failures.

“Our foremost priority is to provide a super-stable, high-quality service that is available 24/7. UCS is used for global business video and web conferences, and ensuring always-on service delivery is essential,” says Naoki Umehara.

To build resilience and maintain quality, Ricoh planned to add a further data center, in Australia. However, there were concerns about latency, given the distance to the US and Japan, and about the cost of operating data centers in multiple locations.

Our foremost priority is to provide a super-stable, high-quality service that is available 24/7. UCS is used for global business video and web conferences, and ensuring always-on service delivery is essential. Naoki Umehara Cloud Platform Department Ricoh
Transformation story
A global solution

Ricoh reviewed its strategy and chose to switch from its own data centers to trialing commercial cloud providers. The company decided that its new Australian operation would be the ideal first step, and looked at ways to enable the new UCS services with as little change as possible. Ricoh investigated the IBM Cloud bare metal servers offering, and selected the IBM Cloud Melbourne data center to expand its UCS footprint, replicating the same stack of VMware vSphere and vCenter so that its applications would continue to run as before.

Hiroyuki Kanda in Ricoh’s Cloud Platform Department takes up the story: “We saw that there were no problems with packet loss and latency, which had been among our main concerns. After testing the connection between the Melbourne data center and Ricoh's on-premises data centers, and comparing the underlying workload and the video delivery servers, we saw that the IBM Cloud bare metal servers support higher loads and are more flexible to manage.”

After a successful Melbourne deployment, Ricoh followed with additional server rollouts in Amsterdam, Washington DC, and Seoul (see diagram). For the Japanese domestic workload, where a large portion of Ricoh’s users are based, the existing private cloud and IBM Cloud operated in parallel until the migration to the IBM Cloud Tokyo data center was complete, ensuring a continuous service as Ricoh made the transition.  

“We were able to achieve a smooth transition from on-premises virtual machines to IBM Cloud bare metal servers,” says Hiroyuki Kanda. “Since there were no application configuration changes needed, it was simply a matter of capturing the images, moving the virtual machines to the IBM Cloud, and changing the IP addresses.”

Results story
Stable operations

With UCS now running in the IBM Cloud, Ricoh has seen its operational costs halve in the last three years. Where the company had previously dealt with long planning cycles and assessing capacity, Ricoh is now able to deploy additional physical server resources on an on-demand basis whenever required.

“Since adopting IBM Cloud, we have adopted an Immutable Infrastructure approach in which infrastructure is automatically rebuilt whenever the system changes, to help ensure greater stability, efficiency and reliability,” says Hiroyuki Kanda. “We have also introduced automation through the wealth of APIs offered by IBM Cloud. For example, we created a mechanism to deploy extra development environments automatically at 8:00AM on weekdays, and then scale back at 8:00PM. This offers us capacity when we need it, avoids over-investment, and helps us cut costs.”

In addition, by switching to IBM Cloud, Ricoh has enhanced system stability and improved availability. As demand rises, Ricoh can add further servers and deploy virtual machines to ensure that it has sufficient capacity. Rather than commit investment capital to just a few large, geographically distant, data centers, the IBM Cloud enables Ricoh to increase capacity on demand, as and when required, and select delivery locations that will maximize service quality.

Building on the success of adopting IBM Cloud, Ricoh is taking advantage of the new capabilities. The company plans to create an automated disaster recovery mechanism, transitioning workload between data centers without service interruption. “IBM Cloud has opened a lot of doors for us,” says Hiroyuki Kanda. “We are confident that IBM Cloud will deliver stable, reliable, high-capacity video and web conferencing, and help us develop exciting new services in the future.”

Ricoh logo
Ricoh

Headquartered in Tokyo, Ricoh (link resides outside of ibm.com) operates in approximately 200 countries, empowering digital workplaces using innovative technologies and services, enabling individuals to work smarter. Ricoh has been driving innovation for more than 80 years, and is now a leading provider of video and web conferencing, document management solutions, IT services, and industrial systems.

Take the next step

To learn more about IBM Cloud, please contact your IBM representative or IBM Business Partner, or visit the following website: ibm.com/cloud

View more client stories or learn more about IBM Cloud

Footnotes

© Copyright IBM Corporation 2018. 1 New Orchard Road, Armonk, New York 10504-1722 United States. Produced in the United States of America, May 2018.

IBM, the IBM logo, ibm.com,and IBM Cloud are trademarks of International Business Machines Corp., registered in many jurisdictions worldwide. Other product and service names might be trademarks of IBM or other companies. A current list of IBM trademarks is available on the web at “Copyright and trademark information” at ibm.com/legal/copytrade.shtml.

Not all offerings are available in every country in which IBM operates.

The performance data and client examples cited are presented for illustrative purposes only. Actual performance results may vary depending on specific configurations and operating conditions.

All client examples cited or described are presented as illustrations of the manner in which some clients have used IBM products and the results they may have achieved. Actual environmental costs and performance characteristics will vary depending on individual client configurations and conditions. Contact IBM to see what we can do for you.

The client is responsible for ensuring compliance with laws and regulations applicable to it. IBM does not provide legal advice or represent or warrant that its services or products will ensure that the client is in compliance with any law or regulation.

Statements regarding IBM’s future direction and intent are subject to change or withdrawal without notice, and represent goals and objectives only.