Rabobank
以简单、经济高效的方式管理多五倍的贸易伙伴,提高竞争力
四位高管围坐在会议桌旁交谈

Rabobank 创建了一个可扩展、安全、有弹性的平台,以支持其与所有贸易伙伴的电子数据交换 (EDI)。

业务挑战

随着敏捷竞争对手的崛起,Rabobank 希望通过外包非核心活动来保持其领先的市场地位,但如何才能经济高效地管理不断增长的贸易伙伴群呢?

变革

Rabobank 创建了一个可扩展、安全、有弹性的平台,以支持其与所有贸易伙伴的电子数据交换 (EDI)。

结果 可扩展的平台
无需升级即可实现至少三年 EDI 增长
轻松支持 400% 增幅的
贸易伙伴群
随着合作伙伴群体的扩大,
通过减少管理需求,可削减 30% 成本
业务挑战案例
精益求精以保持竞争力

随着消费者对银行服务消费的偏好从实体分行转向数字设备,新的颠覆者进入市场从未如此容易。老牌银行要想保持竞争力,就必须像初创公司一样灵活地调整自己的产品,同时又不能导致运营成本急剧失控。

Rabobank,一家总部位于荷兰的国际领先的金融服务供应商决定正面应对这些新挑战。

Rabobank 中间件专家 Carsten van den Bogert 解释道:“在荷兰,我们通过为客户提供满足其所有批发、零售和私人银行业务需求的一站式服务,赢得了市场领先地位。 随着银行业务转向线上,我们面临新机遇,可建立创新商业和零售服务,满足客户需求,但与此同时,这也让我们面临敏捷竞争对手的新威胁。”

制定外包战略

他继续说道:“为了保持我们的行业领先地位,我们的目标是将投资转向核心竞争力,例如产品开发和客户服务。 将打印银行对账单和创建信用卡等非核心功能外包给专业贸易伙伴是实现这一目标的强有力工具。

“我们意识到,实现我们的目标将意味着我们的贸易伙伴群将大幅增长。 过去,引入新合作伙伴是一个复杂且耗时的过程,需要长达三周的时间才能完成。 至关重要的是,我们以前的电子数据交换 [EDI] 系统缺乏支持目标消息量所需的可扩展性,尤其是内部和外部 Web 服务之间流量的预计增长。

“随着我们的贸易伙伴群体迅速增长,我们正在寻找一种网关,能够以安全、经济高效的方式管理文件和 FTP 传输的网络边缘活动。 易于使用至关重要,我们的目标是找到一种解决方案,使我们能够快速迁移现有的合作伙伴集成并加入新的合作伙伴。”

我们的集成平台正在帮助我们推动外包战略、专注于核心竞争力并为客户提供更高质量的服务。 Carsten van den Bogert 中间件专家 Rabobank
变革案例
选择 IBM Commerce 解决方案

为了解决这一挑战,Rabobank 决定通过标准化合作伙伴连接和自动化引入流程来构建一种新的贸易合作伙伴集成方法,并选择 IBM Sterling Commerce 解决方案来支持新的工作方式。

“除了高性能 EDI 处理之外,我们的全新 B2B 集成平台的关键要求之一是可用性,”Carsten van den Bogert 回忆道。 “我们知道许多集成(尤其是与支付处理器的集成)至少需要全天候正常运行时间。 由于我们某些信息具有敏感性,我们的目标是建立一个能够尽可能轻松遵守严格监管要求的平台。

“在我们考虑的所有供应商中,IBM 团队的概念验证演示给我们留下了最深刻的印象。 IBM 解决方案不仅使我们能够达到我们所寻求的可用性和性能水平,而且还能够与我们的 IBM Sterling Connect:Direct 应用程序环境完全互操作——这是业务的重要战略需求。”

Rabobank 与 IBM 的专家顾问团队合作,部署了 IBM Sterling B2B Integrator 作为其 EDI 消息处理平台,并使用 IBM Sterling File Gateway 来管理其 FTP 需求。 为了有效监控和管理端到端贸易合作伙伴集成解决方案,Rabobank 实施了 IBM Sterling Control Center 和 IBM DataPower Gateway。

Carsten van den Bogert 评论道:“我们的零售银行组织现在使用 IBM 解决方案来处理各种事务,从高风险交易(例如为 ATM 订购现金和订购新信用卡)到低风险交易(例如打印银行对账单)。”

贸易伙伴快速增长

如今,Rabobank 已实现所需的可扩展、安全和弹性平台,将非核心功能外包给其信赖的合作伙伴,并专注于开发新服务以磨练其竞争优势。

“在短短几年内,我们的贸易伙伴已从 40 个增加到 200 多个,而我们的 IBM 平台使我们能够几乎毫不费力地适应这种扩张,”Carsten van den Bogert 说道。 “每天,我们平均会在 IBM 平台上传输约 300,000 个 Connect:Direct 文件,但我们信任该系统,可为我们提供足够的容量,从而满足我们至少在未来三年内的需求,而无需进行扩展。”
 

得益于 IBM 的专家帮助,我们的 EDI 迁移取得了巨大成功。 我建议开展类似项目的企业在设计过程的早期就让 IBM 架构师参与进来;他们的指导非常宝贵。 Carsten van den Bogert 中间件专家 Rabobank
案例成果
保证可用性

Rabobank 的 IBM 解决方案帮助其快速加入新的合作伙伴,并确保其关键连接全天候可用。

Carsten van den Bogert 评论道:“我们现在只需一周即可引入新的贸易伙伴,比以前加快 66%。 事实上,现在使用 IBM 解决方案建立新的合作伙伴是如此简单,以至于我们预测,在今年年底之前,我们将能够把引入时间缩短到一个工作日。

"更重要的是,我们的 B2B 集成平台全天候可用,这让我们完全放心;自 IBM 解决方案上线以来,我们从未经历过计划外停机"。

实现合规性具成本效益

Rabobank 正在使用其新的 B2B 集成平台来降低监管合规的成本和复杂性。

"Carsten van den Bogert 说:“IBM 解决方案提供了许多强大的功能,帮助我们简化合规流程。 "例如,IBM Sterling B2B Integrator 可默认执行 SSL 长密钥。 这可确保我们的所有合作伙伴都遵守最严格的监管标准,而且无需手动检查每个贸易合作伙伴的配置。

"在使用 IBM Sterling B2B Integrator 之前,我们需要手动检查和重新配置我们的系统,以确保每个合作伙伴都在按照美国国家标准与技术研究院 [NIST] 的安全标准使用正确的证书和加密——这是一个漫长的过程,每年至少需要 80 个小时。 由于 IBM 解决方案可以自动验证 NIST 安全标准,因此我们现在只需按一下按钮,就可以省去所有这些工作。”

为未来做好准备

Carsten van den Bogert 补充说:“利用 IBM 解决方案推动我们的 B2B 集成流程,我们可管理五倍数量的贸易伙伴,同时几乎保持成本不变。 我们估计,如果将我们以前的系统扩大到支持我们今天所支持的贸易伙伴数量,我们的运营支出将增加 30%——迄今为止,我们已成功避免了这些支出增加。

他总结道:“我们的 IBM B2B 集成平台正在帮助我们推动外包战略,专注于核心银行业务竞争力,并最终为我们全球的客户提供更高质量的服务。”

“Rabobank”一词写在一个人在橙色罗盘上行走的剪影图像下方
Rabobank

Rabobank(链接位于 ibm.com 外部)成立于 1972 年,总部位于荷兰乌得勒支,是一家提供全方位金融服务的银行,并以合作为运营原则。 如今,Rabobank 业务遍及全球 40 个国家/地区,拥有超过 48,200 名员工,为超过 880 万客户提供服务。

采取后续步骤

若要了解有关 IBM B2B 集成解决方案的更多信息,请联系您的 IBM 代表或 IBM 业务合作伙伴,或访问以下网站:ibm.com/software/products/en/category/b2b-integration

查看更多客户案例了解有关 IBM Watson Customer Engagement 的更多信息

脚注

© Copyright IBM Corporation 2016。IBM Corporation, IBM Systems, Route 100, Somers, NY 10589. 2015 年 7 月在美国制作。IBM、IBM 徽标、ibm.com 和 DataPower 是 International Business Machines Corp. 在世界各地司法辖区的注册商标。其他产品和服务名称可能是 IBM 或其他公司的商标。ibm.com/legal/copytrade.shtml 上的“Copyright and trademark information”部分提供了 IBM 商标的最新列表。Connect:Direct 和 Sterling Commerce 是 IBM International Group BV(一家 IBM 公司)的注册商标。 本文档为自最初公布日期起的最新版本,IBM 可能随时对其进行更改。IBM 并不一定在开展业务的所有国家或地区提供所有产品或服务。文中引用的性能数据和客户实例仅作说明之用。实际性能结果可能因具体配置和操作条件而异。用户自行负责评估和验证任何其他产品或程序与 IBM 产品和程序搭配运行的情况。本文档内的信息“按现状”提供,不附有任何种类的(无论是明示的还是默示的)保证,包括不附有关于适销性、适用于某种特定用途的任何保证以及非侵权的任何保证或条件。IBM 产品根据其提供时所依据的协议条款和条件获得保证。

Business challenge

With nimble competitors on the rise, Rabobank aimed to maintain its leading market position by outsourcing non-core activities—but how could it manage a growing trading partner base cost-effectively?

Transformation

Rabobank created a scalable, secure and resilient platform to support its electronic data interchange (EDI) with all its trading partners.

Results

Scalable platform

enables at least three years of EDI growth without upscaling

Supports 400% increase

in trading-partner base with ease

30% cost avoidance

achieved by reducing management requirements as partner base grows

Business challenge story

Get lean to stay competitive

As consumer preferences for consumption of banking services shift from bricks-and-mortar branches to digital devices, it has never been easier for new, disruptive players to enter the marketplace. For established banks to remain competitive, they must adapt their offerings with the agility of nimble startups without sending operational costs spiraling out of control.

Rabobank, a leading international financial services provider based in the Netherlands, decided to tackle these new challenges head on.

Carsten van den Bogert, Middleware Specialist, Rabobank, explains: “In the Netherlands, we have won a market-leading position by offering our customers a one-stop shop for all of their wholesale, retail and private banking needs. As banking moves online, there are new opportunities to build innovative commercial and retail services to delight our customers—but at the same time, it opens us up to new threats from agile competitors.”

Building an outsourcing strategy

He continues: “To maintain our industry leadership, we aim to redirect investment to our core competencies such as product development and customer service. Outsourcing non-core functions such as printing bank statements and creating credit cards to specialist trading partners is a powerful tool to achieve this objective.

“We realized that achieving our goal would mean dramatic growth in our trading partner base. In the past, onboarding new partners was a complex and time-consuming process that took up to three weeks to complete. Crucially, our previous system for electronic data interchange [EDI] lacked the scalability we needed to support the targeted message volumes—especially the projected increase in traffic between internal and external web services.

“With our trading partner base growing rapidly, we were looking for a gateway that could manage our edge-of-network activity for file and FTP transfers in a secure, efficient and cost-effective way. Ease-of-adoption was essential, and we targeted a solution that would enable us to rapidly migrate our existing partner integrations and onboard new partners.”

Our integration platform is helping us to drive outsourcing strategy, focus on core competencies and deliver higher-quality services to customers.

—Carsten van den Bogert, Middleware Specialist, Rabobank

Transformation story

Selecting IBM Commerce solutions

To solve the challenge, Rabobank decided to build a fresh approach to trading partner integration by standardizing its partner connections and automating its onboarding process, and selected IBM Sterling Commerce solutions to support the new way of working.

“In addition to high-performance EDI processing, one of the key requirements for our new B2B integration platform was availability,” recalls Carsten van den Bogert. “We knew that many integrations— especially with payment processors—would require nothing less than 24/7 uptime. And because of the sensitive nature of some of our messages, we targeted a platform that would make it as easy as possible to comply with stringent regulatory requirements.

“Of all of the vendors we considered, the IBM team’s proof of concept demonstrations impressed us the most. As well as enabling us to achieve the levels of availability and performance we were looking for, the IBM solution was fully interoperable with our IBM Sterling Connect:Direct® application landscape—an important strategic requirement for the business.”

Working together with an expert team of consultants from IBM, Rabobank deployed IBM Sterling B2B Integrator as its platform for EDI message processing, with IBM Sterling File Gateway to manage its FTP requirements. To enable effective monitoring and management of the end-to-end trading partner integration solution, the company implemented IBM Sterling Control Center and IBM DataPower® Gateway.

Carsten van den Bogert comments: “Our retail banking organization now uses the IBM solution for everything from higher-risk transactions—such as ordering cash for ATMs and ordering new credit cards—to lower-risk transactions such as bank statement printing.”

Explosive trading partner growth

Today, Rabobank has achieved the scalable, secure and resilient platform it needs to outsource non-core functions to its trusted partners, and focus on developing new services to hone its competitive edge.

“In just a few years, we have grown from 40 trading partners to more than 200—and our IBM platform has enabled us to accommodate that expansion almost effortlessly,” says Carsten van den Bogert. “Today, we are transferring on average around 18,000 EDI messages and 300,000 Connect:Direct files per day on the IBM platform—and we are confident that the system will provide us with sufficient capacity to serve our needs for at least the next three years without scaling up.”
 

Our EDI migration has been a great success, thanks to the expert assistance we received from IBM. I would recommend businesses embarking on similar projects engage IBM architects early on in the design process; their guidance is invaluable.

—Carsten van den Bogert, Middleware Specialist, Rabobank

Results story

Assured availability

Rabobank’s IBM solutions are helping it to onboard new partners rapidly, with the assurance that its critical connections are available around the clock.

Carsten van den Bogert comments: “We can now onboard new trading partners in just one week—66 percent faster than before. In fact, setting up new partners using the IBM solution is now so straightforward that we predict that we will be able to reduce our onboarding times down to just one working day before the end of the year.

“Better still, we have complete peace of mind that our B2B integration platform is available 24/7; since the IBM solution went live, we have experienced no unplanned downtime.”

Cost-effective compliance

Rabobank is now using its new B2B integration platform to reduce the cost and complexity of regulatory compliance.

“The IBM solution offers a number of powerful features that are helping us to streamline our compliance processes,” says Carsten van den Bogert. “For example, IBM Sterling B2B Integrator can enforce long SSL keys by default. This ensures that all of our partners adhere to the most stringent regulatory standards, and eliminates the need to check each trading partner configuration manually.

“Before IBM Sterling B2B Integrator, we needed to check and reconfigure our systems manually to guarantee that each partner was using the correct certificates and encryption according to National Institute of Standards and Technology [NIST] security standards—a lengthy process that required at least 80 hours per year. Because the IBM solution automatically validates NIST security standards, we can now eliminate all of this work at the touch of a button.”

Ready for the future

Carsten van den Bogert adds: “With IBM solutions driving our B2B integration process, we can manage five times the number of trading partners while almost keeping our costs flat. We estimate that scaling out our previous system to support the number of trading partners we support today would have increased our operational spend by 30 percent—a figure that we have successfully avoided to date.”

He concludes: “Our IBM B2B integration platform is helping us to drive our outsourcing strategy, focus on core banking competencies and ultimately deliver higher-quality services to our customers around the world.”

business logo

About Rabobank

Founded in 1972 and headquartered in Utrecht, the Netherlands, Rabobank is a full-range financial services provider that operates on cooperative principles. Today, the bank is active in 40 countries worldwide, employs more than 48,200 people and serves more than 8.8 million clients.

Solution components

  • IBM DataPower Gateway

Take the next step

To learn more about IBM B2B integration solutions, contact your IBM representative or IBM Business Partner, or visit the following website: ibm.com/software/products/en/category/b2b-integration

 

View more client stories or learn more about IBM Watson Customer Engagement